Skip to main content
Internet Archive's 25th Anniversary Logo

Full text of "History of Glendale and vicinity"

See other formats



4)T ^ 

























MAY 24 '23 



IN WRITING THE STORY of an individual life the biographer 
has one great advantage in knowing just where to begin. It oc- 
casionally happens that it appears worth while to give the world some 
account of the ancestors of his subject, but this is not strictly one of 
the requirements of the writer's task. There may be some slight 
doubt as to the exact time the individual first opened his eyes and 
beheld the world, but there is rarely room for doubt as to the time and 
the date when the world first noticed the advent of the individual, 
thanks to the natural instinct or desire of fond parenthood. 

But the community is different. A city may have come into 
existence legally as a municipality on a certain date, but that in itself 
means very little, while on the contrary the story of the years preced- 
ing its putting on the habiliments of a city and the acts and incidents 
leading up to that climax, are more likely to possess considerable 
interest. And, as the biographer sometimes considers it desirable to 
set forth the ancestry of his subject, so the historian endeavors to 
account for certain characteristics in the subject of his story by 
delving into the past. 

Every community has some distinct characteristic, something 
individual to itself which is quite possibly a birthright, inherited and 
not acquired. This individual quality may not be such as to be 
readily recognized, but it exists. The present it is true is the only 
thing alive, speaking materially, but it is of great importance that 
the present does not forget the past from which it sprung, for jiossibly 
it may find something in the dead past that will make more worth 
while the living present, something that will answer questions that 
are often asked but have not before been answered. And so in 
writing the story of Glendale and the surrounding community, the 
present historian will take the reader back for something over a cen- 
tury, and endeavor to present a picture of the beginning of civilization 
in this locality, assuming, rather liberally perhaps, that the European 
was the importer of civilization to our California coast. 

The story of any progressive community is interesting particu- 
larly to the people who are a part of it and whose interests are bound 
up in it. but the story of a city that has been evolved from the sage- 
brush and cactus within such a brief space of time, as is comprised in 
the era covering the growth and development of Glendale from the 
time of its christening to the present, is in itself something of a 
romance and possesses more than local interest to any one who is a 
student (jf human development. Of the pioneers and their successors 
it may well be said in the words of the poet, "they builded better than 
thev knew." 


The pioneers did not think of building a city; their object was to 
create homes for themselves and their children, and their ideas of 
home were based upon the Biblical conception of living under one's 
own vine and fig tree, with all the outdoor spaces in which to realize 
their dreams of rural independence and prosperity. But they be- 
longed to an age that will stand forth in history as characterized by a 
feverish desire for accomplishment in things both material and spirit- 
ual, and in which desire has been followed swiftly by fruition; and this 
spirit took possession of them until, with constantly increasing vision, 
they reached out toward an ideal in which the city beautiful, and pro- 
gressive in the highest sense, became crystallized into a living fact, 
with a still increasing demand upon their ideals and energy which 
gives promise of yet greater achievements. 

While engaged in this work, the writer has often been reminded 
by his inner mentor, of his indebtedness to others, and here wishes to 
freely acknowledge the weight of the obligation. In preparing the 
introductory history he has cc)nsulted the works of Bancroft, Guinn, 
McGroarty, Willard and others, and appreciates the labor involved by 
the research of each of them, and through which they have rendered 
service to posterity, which should bring them all honor, whether they 
have received other recompense or not. To the "old settlers" who 
have gladly delved into the storehouses of their memories and to the 
more recent comers who have so cheerfully given assistance, the 
writer renders thanks. Particular mention should be made of the 
help given by Mr. George B. Woodberry and Mr. E. D. Goode for the 
use of invaluable "Minute" and "Scrap" books. 


Discoveries on the California Coast 7 

The Rancho San Rafael Appears 13 

Don Jose Maria Verdugo and His Son Julio 20 

The Period of Juljo Verdugo and the Mexican \^'AR 30 

Julio Verdugo, His Family and Activities 40 

The Passing of the Sage Brush Period 32 

The Story of Tropico 77 

The Transportation Question <53 

The Water Question 113 

The Municipality of Glendale 129 

Newspapers of Glendale 1S3 

Banking Institutions of Glendale 191 


The Schools of Gi.endale 197 

Post Offices of Glendale 214 

Improvement Associations, Chambers of Commerce. Etc 218 

Libraries 224 

The Telephone in Gi.endale 228 

Sanitariums and Hospitals 231 

Patriotic Organizations 237 

Churches 240 

Fraternal Organizations 257 

Women's Clubs 266 

Other Clubs, Associations, Etc 274 


The Professions 278 

Interviews and Afterthoughts 286 

Biographies 301-476 




The stur\' of every community in California is so closely related 
to the history of California as a whole, that it seems quite proper here 
to take a brief glance at the salient points of early California history, 
[)articularl)' in reference to the work of early discoverers along the 
coast, and to the work of development and settlement which, in itself, 
fonns a chapter of thrilling interest, and although many times told 
is not yet familiar to a very large proportion of our people. 

After Columbus had made known to the world the existence of a 
great continent to the westward, it was the work principallj^ of the 
adventure seeking Spaniards that rapidly extended that knowledge. 
To these adventurers, by land and sea, there was no danger too great 
to be bravely met and no obstacle the conquest of which they 
hesitated to attempt. 

Twenty-one years after the great discovery by Colunibu,';. Vasco 
Nunez de Balboa (Who is said to have voyaged from Spain as a stow- 
away) stood "upon a ]ieak in Darien" and beheld the world's greatest 
ocean at his feet. The splendid harbor, the Bay of Panama, afforded a 
gathering place for the adventurers of that and another century or 
two, and an outfitting point for the galleons that soon were traveling 
the highways of the newly found ocean, making frequent trips to the 
Philippines, and up and down the coast of the country that was pres- 
ently to be known as California. A ])arty of mutineers under one 
Jiminez, sailed out from the mainland and discovered Lower Cali- 
fornia in 15v^3. It was for many years thought that this discovery 
was an island and early maps show it as such. Voyages of discovery 
in attempts to circumnavigate the "island" took the voyagers up the 
Gulf of California, and led later to the establishment of a chain of 
Missions for a stretch of 700 miles, along the eastern shore of the gulf 
on Mexico's mainland. 

It was about the year 1535 that the name of California was 
a])plicd to the supposed island. Fifty years after Columbus sighted 
San Salvador, and gave to Spain an opportunity to conquer a new 
world and open it up to civilization, a hardy Portuguese, Juan 
Rodriguez Cabrillo, sailing under the flag of Spain, fixed for three 
hundred years the title to California in the Spanish crown. In 


September, 1542, he sailed out of the port of Navidad, on that memor- 
able voj-age which resulted in placing his name high among the navi- 
gators of his time, added California to the list of Spain's possessions 
with the group of islands off its coast and where on one of the latter 
(San Miguel), his earthly journeyings ended. 

It was on September 28, 1542, that Cabrillo entered a bay which 
he named San Miguel, and which he descril)ed as a "land locked and 
very good harbor" — a description of the Bay of San Diego which has 
been allowed to stand undisputed until the present. It was his suc- 
cessor, Viscaino, after a period of sixty years, who entered the same 
bay and rechristened it San Diego. On October third, Cabrillo sailed 
18 leagues northward, discovering the islands of Santa Catalina and 
San Clemente. On October eighth, he crossed the channel between 
the islands and the mainland and anchored in a body of water that he 
called the "Bay of Smokes," which proved to be the present-day 
harbor of San Pedro. From there he sailed six leagues up the coast 
and arrived at Santa Monica Bay, and went from there to San Buena 
Ventura. It seems to be doubtful whether he went ashore at any 
of these places owing to the difficulty in making a landing. Sailing 
out to sea from Ventura he discovered the Santa Barbara islands, 
and then went northward and cast anchor in the Bay of Pines 
(Monterey). October 17, 1592. 

He continued northward as far as latitude 40° when he was 
turned back by the storms encountered, reaching his newly discovered 
island of San Miguel where he died three or four months later, as a 
result of injuries received in the course of his adventures. His suc- 
cessor, Juan Rodriguez, resuming the voyage after the passing of his 
chief, discovered Cape Mendocino and reached the coast of Oregon. 

Then appeared upon the scene that picturesque Englishman, Sir 
Francis Drake, patriot or pirate, whichever you choose. He sailed 
from England on December 13, 1577, with a fleet of five ships to cir- 
cumnavigate the globe, a feat which he accomplished after three 
years; a voyage which was characterized by one perilous adventure 
aker another. For the truth of history it must be stated, however, 
that the greater peril in a great number of cases was that experienced 
by the unfortunate Spanish vessels that he encountered and the 
equally unfortunate cities along the Spanish-American coast which 
he looted and destroyed. It was his boast, when he sailed along the 
coast of California, that his vessel was ballasted with Spanish 
treasure of which he took enough back to England, to serve as unmis- 
takable evidence of the success of his enterprise and to establish him 
in the good graces of his king. 

He was unfortunate at the outset of his expedition, as it is 
recorded that when he had passed through the Straits of Magellan 
he had only one vessel left of the original five with which he sailed. 
This craft was originally known as the Pelican, liut was re-christened 
the "Golden Hind" by Drake, who seems to have had the courage and 
the skill that guaranteed success even with the small crew that could 
be accommodated on a vessel of one hundred tons burden. It can be 
imagined that with a craft of this size he did not burden himself witli 


prisoners from the numerous vessels that he plundered ; the hospi- 
tality of the insatiable ocean was ever ready to be supplied. 

Drake had not much to do with the discovery and settlement of 
California, and his voyage is principally notable for the narrow escape 
he had from making really important discoveries, notably that of the 
Bay of San Francis which he so narrowly missed. On June 17, 1579, 
having sailed a thousand leagues northward from Nicaragua, he 
entered Sir Francis Drake's Bay, a few miles above San Francisco, 
remaining there thirty-six days. He made some sort of a claim on 
this part of the coast in the name of England, but it was not backed 
up in any effectual way and was barren of practical results. 

In September, 1595, Viceroy Conde de Monte Key contracted 
with one Sebastian Viscaino to engage in a pearl fishing expedition, 
but by some evolutionary process, this scheme was exchanged for one 
of more importance to the world and resulted in Viscaino getting 
fitted out for the discovery of harbors and bays of the coast of the 
South Sea as far as Mendocino. It was in November, 1602, however, 
when he set sail on his memorable voyage. He reached the Bay of 
San Miguel on November tenth of that year and re-christened it San 
Diego. On December fifteenth he arrived at the Bay of Pines, to 
which he applied the name of Monterey in honor of the Viceroy. 

He seems to have tarried there long enough to get some knowl- 
edge of the country, its productions and of the natives who inhabited 
the country along the coast. Viscaino appears to have been not only 
a bold mariner but a man of vision, for he made a report on the 
country which would have done honor to a twentieth century Cham- 
ber of Commerce. He recommended its colonization, which recom- 
mendation was, after delay of a few years, ultimately adopted but not 
acted upon, owing partially to the death of Viscaino, who passed 
away with his life dream unrealized; but due more likely to the in- 
ability of the Spanish authorities to push their brilliant initiatives to 
a successful conclusion. Had this recommendation of Viscaino been 
successfully followed up, it would have changed the entire history 
of our country and have given to the Pacific Coast the honor of being 
the site of the first settlement of Europeans in the territory now 
known as the United States. The fact is almost unbelievable that 
after Viscaino for a period of 160 years, Spanish galleons sailed up 
and down the highways of the Pacific, to and from the Philippines 
and never entered a harbor on the California coast. It seemed as if 
the knowledge of the existence of the land discovered by the venture- 
some sailors of Spain had entire!}- faded from the recollection of the 
generations that succeeded them. 

The Jesuits who had constructed the missions along the Mexican 
coast of the Gulf of California, finally got into such disfavor with the 
Spanish authorities, that a decree was issued for their banishment. It 
was not at once enforced, but the government finally succeeded in 
getting the most of them shipped out of the country, the decree being 
put into efifect b\' (jovernor Caspar de Portola. who had been ap- 
pointed for that purjjose. The Jesuits were succeeded by the Francis- 
cans and to this circumstance, California is indebted for the new era in 


its development which now began after such a long period of neglect. 

At this point appears upon the scene Father Junipero Serra, 
whose story of sacrifice and achievement is familiar to all Califor- 
nians, as the builder of the missions, and the principal figure in the 
tardy effort of the Spaniards to Christianize the natives and develop 
the resources of the country which Cabrillo, Viscaino and other dis- 
coverers had presented to the Spanish crown two centuries before. 

Father Serra had arrived in Mexico in 1749, and had demon- 
strated his ability and enthusiasm in mission work. He was selected 
by Jose de Galvez as president of California Missions and arrived at 
Loreta, Lower California, in 1768, accompanied by fifteen associates 
who were distributed to the various missions which Father Keno and 
the other Jesuits had founded around the Gulf of California. The de- 
cree banishing the Jesuits having been enforced and the Franciscans 
put in charge of the existing missions, Galvez turned his attention to 
the Christianizing of Alta California, no doubt urged on to it by the 
enthusiastic Serra. It was decided to send expeditions to Monterey 
and San Diego, two of them overland and another by sea. Father 
Serra accompanied one of the former under the command of Captain 
Rivera y Moncado and a start was made on March 24, 1569. Later, 
however, Father Serra attached himself to the company commanded 
by de Portola and was, therefore, in the last of all the expeditions to 
arrive at San Diego, when that party caught their first sight of that 
beautiful bay on July 1, 1769. 

As if to make up as far as possible for the long delay in taking up 
the work of civilization, both the holy father and the militarj' com- 
mander lost no time in starting the work that they left Mexico to ac- 
complish. On the fourteenth of July, Portola started for Monterey 
with his company of 62 persons, and on July sixteenth the Mission 
of San Diego was founded, the first place of worship erected in the 
Pacific territory of Imperial Spain, to be followed by that wonderful 
string of missions which were nearly all completed during the life of 
Father Junipero Serra, and around which cluster so much of the glory 
and romance, and some of the shame of California's early history. 

John Steven McGroarty in the wonderful Mission Play has set 
forth so man)' of the incidents in the life of this holy Franciscan 
priest, and particularly his first experiences at proselyting the natives, 
that only a few more lines are required here to complete the outline of 
this brief chapter covering that period. The record of the location left 
by Cabrillo of the Bay of Monterey (or Bay of Pines as he called it), 
proved to be inaccurate, and as a consequence the expedition of Por- 
tola failed to locate that harbor, and although it had in November, 
1769, discovered the Bay of San Francisco, returned in a condition 
of great discouragement to San Diego, reaching there January 24, 

During the absence of this party, Father Serra had a very dis- 
couraging time at his new Mission. The Indians refused to be 
friendly and consequently were not converted. Provisions became 
scarce and when Portola returned, he decided to go back to Mexico 
at once. To this Father Serra strenuously objected and finally ob- 


tained from his commaiicling officer an extension of one more day he- 
fore sailing. He fell on his knees and wrestled with the Lord until 
at the end of his day of grace, his eyes fixed on the western horizon, 
were gladdened by sight of the sails of a relief ship which had been 
sent out from Mexico. From this time on, the work of the missions 
prospered and the neo])hytes were in a few years numl>ered by sev- 
eral thousand, with flocks and herds covering the hills and valleys 
of the "new world." 

Having acquired additional details as to the location of Monterey, 
Portola, on the seventeenth of April, 1770, with a party of 20 soldiers 
under command of I.ieut. Pages, started again for the lost harbor. 
On May twent}-fiiurth, they re-discovered the object of their search 
and on May thirty-first, the ship San .\ntonio, commanded by Capt. 
Juan Perez, the first sail that was ever spread over the waters of that 
bay, entered the harbor of Monterey. From that time forward for a 
half century or more, Monterey was the chief city of California. 

The Founding of S.^n Gabriel .\nd Los An'gele.s 

There were at the opening of 1771 only two European settle- 
ments in California, San Diego and Monterey. Felipe de Neve, the 
jjrogressive governor of .-\lta California, having been instructed by his 
superiors in 1776 to make observations of the country with regard to 
its agricultural and other possibilities, recommended that two pueblos 
be established, one on the Rio de Porciuncula CLos Angeles), and the 
other on the Rio de Guadalupe (near San Jose), and Don Fernando de 
Rivera y Moncado, was instructed to begin a campaign in L<nver Cal- 
ifornia for volunteer settlers in the cities to be founded. 

The government offered what might be considered very alluring 
inducements to these settlers in the payment of money and grant of 
lands for homes, but the desire for the ownership of homes does not 
seem to have been developed as yet in the minds of the few Euro- 
peans who had come to .^.merica, probably because they had been 
drawn from their home countries in the first place by the love of ad- 
venture; and the building up of homes, associated as it always has 
been more or less with the expenditure of laborious effort, did not 
appeal to their ideas of independent indolence, .^t any rate, after nine 
months' labor he only procured fourteen pobladores (settlers) to join 
his expedition. To these prospective settlers the government had 
agreed to pay $116.00 yearly for two years and to provide them with 
stock and tools and to buy from them their products. 

Father Serra had gone out a little ways from Monterey in 1770. 
and founded his favorite mission at El Carmelo. From his headquar- 
ters there he had sent orders to Fathers Somera and Cambon at San 
Diego, to establish a mission in a certain location to the northward 
and call it San Gabriel. The two priests promptly obeyed orders and 
left San Diego with a guard of ten men. On August 17, 1771, they ar- 
rived at the site previously selected and planted the emblem of their 
faith. Three or four mission buildings on different sites are said to 
have been constructed until the present site was finally determined on 


for a permanency. The party which arrived at the site of the mission 
consisted of eleven famihes and the military escort; but from this 
small nucleus San Gabriel soon developed into one of the most popu- 
lous and successful of the missions. It became a place of importance 
as a stop-over on the Kings Highway from Monterey to San Diego, 
Governor de Neve making it his headquarters very frequently when in 
the southern part of his territory. 

It was from San Gabriel that, on September 4, 1781, the gov- 
ernor led out a small body of people marching westward eight miles 
to a point previously selected for the building of a pueblo to be known 
as Pueblo de Neustra Senora La Reina de Los Angeles. The city was 
founded with much ceremony, religious and military. The pioneer 
settlers on that memorable day were eleven families, none of the mem- 
bers of which could read or write. At this distance of time it may be 
unkind to do so, but there is a strong temptation to call them "a job 
lot" of first families. Certainly they were a cosmopolitan body and in 
that respect were typical of the great city that was to grow from that 
small beginning. It is as little as posterity can do for them to attempt 
to keep their names from disappearing from the records of memory, 
so here they are: Navarro, a Mestizo; Villavicencio and De Lara, 
Spaniards; Miranda, nationality unknown; Rosas, Vanegas and 
Rodriguez, Indians; Quintero, negro; Camero and Moreno, mulattoes. 

Father Crespi who passed through this section in 1769, with Por- 
tola on their way to Monterey, had described it as being "the best lo- 
cality of all those we have seen for a Mission, besides having all the 
resources required for a great town," which indicates that he had in 
him the stuff that prophets are made of and however spiritual he may 
have been, was not without worldly wisdom and good judgment. It 
was this same Father Crespi also, who on the journey above alluded 
to and in the diary descriptive of the same which he wrote, describes 
the Arroyo Seco as a "dry" river and gave to the stream it opened into 
the name of Rio de Porciuncula after the name of a town in Italy. 
The names of the pueblo (city) and of the river, in the process of time 
became reduced to more acceptable every-day nomenclature. 

A pueblo consisted of three square leagues of land to be distrib- 
uted among settlers for house lots and "sowing land." The pueblo of 
Los Angeles centered around the square that is now known as the 
"Plaza," and was intended to extend a league outward from that 
center in the four directions, north, south, east and west. There was 
plenty of trouble in after years about the actual boundaries as surveys 
at that time were largely guesswork and natural objects, a hill, a 
mountain or a tree were considered the proper corner marks. 

As a matter of fact, the Rancho San Rafael at the junction of the 
Arroyo Seco and the Los Angeles river ran down into the original 
pueblo with a sharp triangular projection, quite a distance. The grant 
to the Rancho San Rafael antedated the grant to the pueblo about 
two years, and being dated October, 1784, was the first of a long list 
of grants of land given by the Spanish governors beginning with Gov. 




In 1784 the San Rafael Rancho appeared on the pages of history. 
Lieutenant Fajes. whose name is found previous to this time as being 
a lieutenant of Catalonia volunteers, had become governor. It is fair 
to assume that he had his favorites among the soldiers under his com- 
mand. It is not quite clear whether among these was one Jose Maria 
Berdugo, but it is most probable that this was the case, and he must 
certainly have stood well with the governor to be the first one to se- 
cure a grant of land from him, for the San Rafael Rancho heads the list 
in point of time of the hundreds granted under the Mexican regime. 
The governor, having no established precedent to guide him, exercised 
his own judgment as to these grants and after giving them appealed 
to his superiors for confirmation which was not given until Governor 
Rorica confirmed some of them in 1798, the San Rafael among others. 
It is probable, therefore, that the so-called grant of 1784 was merely a 
permit granted under certain conditions. The ranch was also known 
as "La Zanja," and under the latter name it was occupied by Berdugo 
under permit from Gov. Borica, which allowed him to settle there with 
his relatives and family and property. 

A sort of general confirmation of the granting of lands was given 
in 1786 by Commanding General Ugarte, the conditions being that 
they should not exceed three leagues square in extent and must be 
beyond the four league limits of the pueblos. They were not to injure 
the missions in any way; a stone house was to be built and the occu- 
pant of the ranch was to raise and keep at least 2,000 head of stock. 
There was also some requirement as to producing a certain amount of 
grain yearly, "two fanegas of maize or wheat for a fondo de proprias," 
to be spent for the good of the community. It is quite possible that 
all of these requirements were not complied with, but they must have 
been in a great measure effective as the number of live stock on the 
ranches rapidly increased. 

The country in the neighborhood of the settlements in a few 
years became well stocked with horses, cattle and sheep, but there 
was a scarcity of manufactured goods as intercourse with other parts 
of the world was only maintained by water and the sailing vessels of 
that period could not, even if their captains wished, conform to any- 
thing that even suggested regularity in schedules. It is related that 
upon one occasion a man who owned a thousand head of cattle and 


horses came into the Mission San Gabriel and begged cloth for a shirt, 
as there were none to be had at pueblo or presidio. This was in 1795. 

In order to get a proper perspective of conditions at this period, it 
is advisable to compare this beginning of the development of civiliza- 
tion on the Pacific coast with the history that was being made else- 
where. The Revolutionary War had ended by the surrender of Corn- 
wallis, in 1781, although the treaty of peace between Great Britain 
and the newly created United States was not signed until 1783, the 
year before the Rancho San Rafael was given over to Jose Maria Ber- 
dugo. By this treaty the complete independence of this country had 
been granted ; Florida had been re-ceded to Spain and the remainder 
of the country east of the Mississippi and south of the great lakes had 
been declared to belong to the United States. Washington had deliv- 
ered his farewell to the army the previous year. Over in France the 
revolution was hatching and Napoleon Bonaparte had not yet been 
heard of outside of his native Corsica. Daniel Boone and other pio- 
neers were blazing the waj' for civilization in Kentucky and else- 
where, and the great Louisiana Territory stretching from the Gulf of 
Mexico to Oregon, was to the white man practically unknown. 

Manuel Nieto was awarded a rancho about the time that the 
Rancho San Rafael was bestowed upon Berdugo. l^ut he lost it, al- 
though he had been its recognized owner for a number of years, 
through a decision of the United States Land Commission which was 
upheld by the Supreme Court. Other land granted to Nieto also ap- 
])ears to have been taken from him on the plea of the missions that it 
was needed by the Indians attached to the San Gabriel Mission. The 
mission authorities were practically supreme during this period and 
they were very jealous of the rights of the natives who had come 
within the mission fold. It is related tliat in 1797, the Rancho Encino 
belonging to Francisco Reyes, with its buildings which he had placed 
upon it, was appropriated for the use of the Mission San Fernando. 

In 1795 the San Rafael Rancho was visited by a party seeking a 
site for another mission. In this same year the region between San 
Buena Ventura and San Gabriel was explored by a party composed of 
Father Santa Maria. Alfred Cota. Sergt. Ortega and four men. in ac- 
cordance with orders issued by the Governor. They reported that the 
Encino Rancho then held by Reyes was well adapted for mission pur- 
poses but the natives thereabouts did not seem to be desirous of being 
civilized and had no use for missionaries. Among the places visited 
was "Tuyunga" where the "Pagans" were found to be cultivating 
land on their own account. 

In 1795 there were about sixteen ranches held provisionally in the 
neighborhood of Monterey and Los .'Vngeles by a like number of men 
and upon these ranches were several thousand head of live stock. At 
the end of the century there were eighteen missions and four presid- 
ios, the latter without settlers, who when obtained would enable the 
government to establish the presidios as pueblos giving to each of the 
settlers house lots and land for grain. Of the three pueblos estab- 
lished up to this time, there were attached to all something over one 
hundred families, each of whom held four acres of land subject to 


certain conditions, among whicli was the stipulation that tlie property 
was not to be hypothecated. There were some twenty or thirty men 
raising cattle on lands to which they had no legal title but the use of 
which was allowed them by some form of permit. Some of these lat- 
ter (lid, however, subsequently obtain titles. In 1800 the white popula- 
tion in the state did not e.\ceed 600. exclusive of the soldiers. There 
being such a small number of whites to draw upon and the desire of 
the Spanish government being to do everything possible to develop 
this great territory, it may readily be imagined that it was not dif- 
ficult for any white man to get hold of public land. 

At this time and upon this scene enters Jose Maria Berdugo (the 
"B" in the evolution towards English presently giving way to "V"), 
Corporal or Captain of "the San Diego Company." alluded to by Ban- 
croft as a "retired Corporal" of that company and yet again referred 
to elsewhere as "Captain of the Guard at San Gabriel." One may 
easily imagine this "Soldier of the King," as legend says he delighted 
to call himself, scouting on horseback over the country round about 
the Mission at which he was stationed and developing a very natural 
desire to be the possessor of some of its unused broad acres. No 
doubt he made himself familiar with the streams that water it, par- 
ticularly the Arroj'o Seco; originally referred to as Arroyo Hondo 
(deep arroyo), and the Los Angeles river, and when he made specific 
application for the grant which he received from Governor Fages on 
October 20, 1784, it is noticeable that the former was well within 
the scope of it while the latter formed its western boundary. Not 
much is known of Jose Maria Berdugo. Bancroft tells us that he was 
acting Captain of the Guards at San Gabriel until he retired in 1784. 
lUit there are of record several facts that lead us to logically infer 
that the family was rather numerous for that time. The record of his 
marriage as found in the archives at San Gabriel is as follows : No- 
vember 7, 1779. Joseph (?) Maria Berdugo (son of Juan Diego Ber- 
dugo and Maria Ygnacia Carrillo, natives of the Royal Presidio of 
Loreto), and Maria de la Encarnacion, daughter of Ygnacio Lopez, 
native of Sinaloa. 

Bancroft tells of one Juan Diego X'erdugo and his wife Ygnacia 
Concepcion Carilla, at San Diego in 1776. These were evidently the 
parents of Jose Maria, and there appears on the records at San Ga- 
l)riel the names of several other members of the Verdugo family who 
were contemporaries of the grantee of the San Rafael Rancho, who 
must have been related to him. One of these was Joaquin Verdugo 
whose marriage to Guadeloupe Buelna occurred September 23, 1798, 
and who died Januar\' 25, 1832, less than a year after the death of 
Jose Maria. The family appears to have been one of importance, nu- 
merically at least, at the close of the century. 

.\nother soldier bearing the same family name was Sergeant 
Mariano Berdugo w'ho came north with Moncada on the expedition 
of 1769. He seems to have acquired considerable military fame, hav- 
ing enlisted at Loreta in 1766, ser\ ing seven years each in the capacity 
of private, corporal and sergeant. He served in several Indian 
campaigns and his name appears on the Register at San Diego as hav- 


ing acted in the capacity of godfather at the first baptism celebrated 
there. He was Commander of the Guard at San Luis Obispo in 1773 
and Sergeant at Monterey in 1787 when he was evidently discharged. 
His first wife was a Lugo and the second was a member of the Es- 
pinosa family. This is more than appears on record in regard to Jose 
Maria. But it is fair to assume that he stood well in the estimation of 
his superior, the governor, who having been a military man himself, 
probably knew Berdugo while both were in the army and thought 
well enough of him to confer upon him the first prize when he began 
to distribute his favors. 

He is alluded to briefly during the following thirty or forty 
years, from time to time, and appears to have accumulated much live 
stock and to have produced considerable grain. 

On October 20, 1797, it is on record that he was granted permis- 
sion to pasture his cattle at Arroyo Hondo on a guarantee that no 
harm be done to the natives, this location being one and a half leagues 
from San Gabriel on the road to Monterey. This was probably the 
road that passes through what is now South Pasadena from San Ga- 
briel. On November 12, 1798 he petitioned Gov. Borica for permis- 
sion to settle on his property at "La Zanja" and on January 12, 1798. 
the permission was granted for him to go there with his family and 
relatives, and in addition to other requirements he was to raise sheep 
as well as horses and cattle. This was two years after the ranch had 
been visited, as previously related, by the party seeking a mission site, 
and it is probable that Berdugo's delay in settling on the property 
awarded to him, was caused by some uncertainty as to whether the 
land would be taken for mission purposes or not. In 1801 there was 
a call sent out for a list of the ranches that could be relied upon to 
furnish grain for export, and the Rancho San Rafael was one that 
responded favorably. The grain was probably wanted for shipment 
to Mexican ports as with San Bias in Lower California a very irregu- 
lar traffic was maintained. 

For a few years affer the founding of Los Angeles, there were 
not many additions to the number of the pueblo citizens from the 
outside except retired soldiers from the Mission at San Gabriel who 
appear to have in a number of instances, upon being relieved of their 
military duties, retired with their families to private life in the new 
city. We learn from the will of Jose Maria Berdugo, which will be 
presented further on in this history, that he came to San Gabriel 
from Loreto and it is probable that he had already been married to a 
native of Lower California some considerable time before coming 

Quoting from W'illard's History of Los Angeles: "By 1790, the 
number of householders had increased from 9 to 28 with a total popu- 
lation of 139." The same author also states that among the names of 
the twenty new families, are a number that are now common in 
Southern California, among them such as Garcia, Figueroa, Domin- 
gues, Pico, Reyes, Ruiz. Lugo, Sepulveda and Verdugo. The "first 
citizens" who founded the pueblo seem not to have made much more 
history after the formal start of the cit}', except in the criminal 


records which show that several of them proved to be undesirables, 
one or two being formally expelled as having moral characteristics 
which made them quite unfit for the responsibility of good citizenship. 
But the rci)resentatives of the families named above seem to have 
been a quite different type of citizens, for their descendants have as a 
rule played an honorable part in the development and upbuilding of 
the state during the century and a (luarter that has elapsed since that 
time. It is evident, therefore, that the retired Captain of the Guard 
became a citizen of the pueblo very early in its history. 

Bancroft says that the name appears frequently in the early 
records chiefly in connection with farming operations, which indi- 
cates that he did not let all of his acreage lie idle. He raised stock 
and grain and evidently planted a vineyard and followed the example 
of primitive people throughout history from Noah's time to the pres- 
ent, of converting grapes into wine, as his last Will and Testament 
indicates that he left some behind to make glad the hearts of his 
friends. It meant work to produce a crop of grain or to bring a vine- 
yard into bearing in 1800. in Southern California. 

It is difficult to imagine the conditions then existing in the newly 
discovered country. In Bible times there was nothing more primi- 
tive. To form a mental picture (jf the threshing of grain by piling it 
on a floor and driving horses over it until it was threshed and then 
winnowing it by throwing it against the wind, does not require as 
much of an effort in the present day as it does to imagine the farmer 
turning over the ground with a wooden plow, and yet by such means 
did Don Jose Maria Berdugo and his sons carry on the farming op- 
erations which enabled them to get results which no doubt in their 
day fixed the retired Captain of the Guard in the opinion of a host of 
dependents, as considerable of a personage. 

For the first twenty years of the century there was comparative 
peace in California and the pioneers were left pretty much alone to 
care for their flocks and herds and carry on their limited agricultural 
operations without intrusion from the world outside. But about 
1820 the foreigners began to dribble in on the occasional vessels that 
reached the coast and a few years later tliey began to arrive overland, 
much to the wonderment and consternation of the natives, and it must 
be admitted that subseqent events proved that their alarm at this in- 
vasion of the "gringoes" was well founded. 

Joseph Chapman was about the first white man to arrive from the 
-Atlantic side of the continent, coming in 1820 and proving to be a 
verj' useful citizen, aiding materially in building the Plaza church in 
Los Angeles. Then followed John Tem])le in 1829, Abel Stearns in 
1828. John J. Warner in 1829 and so on. A great many of these early 
comers married Spanish women and some of their descendants are 
[)rominent today in our community. 

When the 19th century opened, the work of civilization in Cali- 
fornia had scarcely begun. The white settlers were clustered around 
the missions in the vicinity of Monterey, Los .'\ngeles and San Diego. 
One authority states that there were in Los Angeles 315 families at 
this time, but it is probable that the most of them were Indians. 


The efforts of the Mexican government to secure settlers appear 
to have been made in sincerity, but were not followed by much suc- 
cess, and upon the Franciscans more and more as time went on de- 
pended the continuation of all efforts to develop the country which 
with all of its natural resources had been thrown by Providence into 
the lap of Spain. The fathers took good care of their neophytes, 
looking well after both their physical and spiritual needs, but they 
were zealous about the upbuilding of the church and cared little about 
affairs of state, and seem to have become rather independent and in 
the end of their era of power were not looked upon as being specially 
loyal to the Crown. They seem to have been able to develop in the 
natives a certain measure of effectiveness which enabled them to be 
more or less self sustaining as long as under the church's paternal 
control, but quickly lapsed towards their original condition as soon 
as this was removed, as it was later when the government took over 
the missions. The country had become well stocked with cattle, 
horses and sheep and grain were produced to some extent, but the 
lack of manufactured goods was seriously felt. The houses of even 
the most prosperous ranchers were poor affairs. One of the stipula- 
tions imposed upon the holder of the land grants was that a house 
should be erected that should cost $200.00. 

The patent to the ranch was granted by the United States under 
date of January 28, 1882, almost a full century after the date of the 
first grant. The patent begins by reciting the fact that a petition had 
been filed by Julio and Catalina Berdugo (the heirs of Jose Maria), 
dated October 21, 1852, with the commissioners appointed to hear 
and settle private land claims in the state of California; that on Sep- 
tember 11, 1855, the commission rendered its decree, to wit: the claim 
is therefore valid and it is therefore decreed that the same be con- 
firmed; that the land is the same formerly decreed to Don Jose Maria 
Berdugo, formerly known by the name of "Zanja" and now known as 
San Rafael and is located about a league and a half from the Mission 
San Gabriel. Then apparently quoting the brief description set forth 
in the petition, the patent goes on to say: Commencing at the source 
of the Arroyo Hondo, which arroyo crosses old road running frt)m the 
Mission of San Gabriel to Monterey at distance of about one and a 
half leagues from said Mission, said boundary line running from 
source of said arroyo down said stream to mouth at river, then up 
river to the place where said river issues from the sierra to the moun- 
tain called Cahuenga; thence in a northerly direction from said moun- 
tain to the Cerrito Colorado and from thence to the place of begin- 
ning. The patent then proceeds to state that "whereas there has 
been deposited certain notes, certificates of advertising, plot of sur- 
vey in words and figures as follows"; all being dated Surveyor Gen- 
eral's office, San Francisco, Cal., February 4, 1871. At this point be- 
gins a description of the ranch which leaves nothing to guess work 
but which follows the boundaries of the propert}' minutely, beginning 
as follows: "Beginning at a post at S. E. corner of station No. 79 
of Rancho La Canada and station No. 11 of Rancho San Pascual 
standing on west of the bottom land of the Arroyo Seco from which 


a sycamore tree 10 inches in diameter bears 85° \V.. 28 links distant; 
thence down the Canada of the Arroyo Seco along line of Rancho San 
Pascual — thence leaving the line of the Ranch San Pascual meander- 
ing down the center of the arroyo S. 34° 15' \\'., 4 chains to stake, 
etc, etc., to Pneblo lands; thence meandering up river to station in 
Rancho Los Feliz to corner of Rancho La Providencia ; thence along 
line of Rancho La Providencia. leaving which line it crosses the road 
from Mission San Galsriel to Monterey, course east and west, ascends 
steep brushy mountains to top of sharp red peak called 'Serrita Col- 
orado" (red mountain), thence descending over brushy hills north to a 
live oak tree ten inches in diameter standing on the south side of the 
Canada at the foot of the mountain in the east side of the Puerte Suelo 
of Tejunga at corner number 13 of Rancho Tejunga and corner num- 
ber one of Rancho La Canada; thence along the southerlj- line of 
Rancho La Canada along foot of the mountain on the south side of 
the canon." 

There are a few thousand more words of descrii)tion following 
the above the conclusion being as follows : "Thence crossing La Can- 
ada de los Bergudos south 67 degree ?iO minutes east at forty chains, 
leaves Canada thence over brushy brown hills 344 chains to the place 
of beginning, containing 36,403.21 acres and designated on the plats 
of public surveys as Lot 46 in Township of one North of range 12 

In witness whereof 3d day of February, 1871. 

SHERMAN DAY, U. S. Surveyor Gen. for California. 

In conclusion the patent "gives and grants to Julio Berdugo and 
Catalina Berdugo the tract of land described in said survey," and is 
signed by the President, Chester A. ;\rthur, by W'm. II. Crook. Sec- 
retary and S. \V. Clark, Recorder of the (ieneral Land Office. 

The above extract from the copy of the patent is given in detail 
as of interest in one or two particulars to all who are interested in 
the property. It indicates that however loosely the ranch might have 
been described at the time the grant was given and for many years 
afterwards, there is no looseness in the methods of the Land Com- 
mission and that the survey contains all the details that can be re- 
quired in bomuling the property. It ties the San Rafael down to its 
adjacent ranches, Los Feliz, La Providencia (Hurliank), La Canada 
and San Pascual (Pasadena), and touches the pueblo of Los .\ngeles. 
A matter in which the curious minded might be interested, is how- 
many of the trees used as hitching posts for this description written 
fifty years ago, are still standing and how much has their diameters 
increased since the surveyors of that day submitted them to the metes 
and bounds of the tape line. 



By the treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, made public by President 
Polk in May, 1848, Mexico ceded to the United States all the terri- 
tory north of tlie Gila river including California and Arizona and the 
same treaty made provisions for admitting to citizenship of the United 
States such Mexicans residing in the ceded territory as desired to so 
change their allegiance. In 1824 Mexico had passed a law providing 
for the validation of land grants to her citizens, but even under this 
and similar laws the titles to many of the grants were imperfect. In 
March, 1851. Congress passed "an Act to ascertain and settle the 
private land claims in the state of California." This law provided 
for a Board of Commissioners to receive petitions for confirmation, 
and declared that "all lands, claims to which have not been presented 
to said commission within two years after date of this act, shall be 
deemed held and considered part of the public domain of the United 

Under the provisions of this act and after a vast amount of work 
by the commission, a large number of claims were approved as was 
that to the Rancho San Rafael, but other claimants were not always 
so fortunate. In one case, that of Dominguez to the Rancho Los 
Virgenes, through failure to petition or by some other technicality, 
title was lost by the owner although it had been his home for many 
years and his right to the property under Mexican rule was undis- 
puted. In accordance with the provisions of this law, the Berdugos 
filed their petition on October 21, 1852. The Board of Commissioners 
dismissed all appeals and confirmed the title in June, 1857. Just why 
the delay in issuing the patent was permitted, is unexplained, ex- 
cept possibly by the fact that the matter was not being pushed by 
anyone interested and the naturally slow movement of governmental 

From 1784 to 1882 is a long stretch of time, lacking only two 
years of a century, in which to work out the confirmation of a deal 
in real estate, and quite possibly if the ranch had not up to this time 
begun to pass out of the possession of the original owners, the patent 
would still be under the heading of "unfinished business." 

There was a Mariano Verdugo whose relationship to Don Jesus 


Maria of "Los \'erflugos," is unknown, hut he was a personage of 
some importance. He is alluded to as "Sergeant Mariana de la los 
Verdugo," and held lands for stock raising purposes near Cahuenga 
from 1787 to 1810. A grant was issued to him for the Rancho Por- 
tezuelo, described as being situated "about four leagues from Los 
Angeles on the main road." This appears to have been one of nu- 
merous grants which were not confirmed. Willard states in his his- 
tory of Los Angeles that Mariano Verdugo was third alcalde of Los 
.'Angeles about 1800. It is quite probable that the land which was 
given to him was an "over-lapping" grant included in the San Rafael 
or another of the larger grants, as the surveys of that day were pretty 
much guesswork. It is said that one of the methods of measuring 
land was for two horsemen to take a long riata of rawhide, one of 
them at each end, and measure from the saddle. In addition to the 
other uncertainties which this method resulted in. the stretching of 
the raw hide, particularly if green, would result in plenty of trouble 
for the real surveyor who followed their course in later years. This, 
with the loose descriptions of properties, led to litigation which at 
one time appeared to be endless and the wonder is that order was 
ever brought out of such a state of chaos. 

The first description of the Rancho San Rafael, or, "Zanja" which 
we encounter in the archives, is beautifully brief; it is therein de- 
clared that "it is four leagues from Los Angeles across the river." It 
was in 1836 when written titles began to be issued and from that time 
forward there was an abundance of work for the lawyers although it 
was twenty years or more later that the members of the legal fra- 
ternity began to come in, in great numbers, and found a fine field for 
their professional services. Maps issued about the beginning of the 
century show "Los Verdugos" as one of the points worth noting. 

The location of the first of the Verdugo houses is uncertain. 
There have been residences from jacales to adobes at various places 
all the way from the Los Angeles river over as far as Garvanza, the 
weight of evidence being in favor of a location near the river, princi- 
pally because of the fact that proximity to the water supply would be 
considered a prime essential in selecting the first location. Later, 
when the property began to be developed, water ditches would be con- 
structed and the canyon stream be utilized and carried anywhere that 
it might be needed down into the valley and around the foothills to 
the westward, where it is very probable one or more houses were 
built at a comparatively early date. 

The jacales were cheap temporary places of residences, con- 
structed of brush or willows principally, with a thatched roof which 
in some instances was covered partially at least, with brea from the 
tar pits between Los Angeles and the ocean. Some of the adobes 
were never completed as far as a roof of any permanence was con- 
cerned, probabl)' being used only for summer residences. This seems 
to have been the case with some of the adobes constructed by Julio 
Verdugo who succeeded his father, Jose Maria, in 1832. The house 
which Julio built on the top of the hill at Garvanza, and the remains 


of which were in evidence until fifteen or twenty years ago, is said 
by an old resident who remembers it well, to have been deficient in 
this particular. This was the "new house" which Jacob Elias al- 
luded to in his testimony in the foreclosure suit in 1865, when he 
testified that the lumber in it was one of the things he had furnished 
the defendant. The old settler alluded to above expresses doubts 
as to any lumber having been used in the structure, but there were 
corrals constructed in connection with it in which lumber might have 
been used. The "old house," frequently alluded to in the testimony 
taken at the trial just referred to, appears to have been located near 
what is now Kenneth Road, being one of several adobes which were 
still standing in that vicinity when the writer of this first knew the 
Rancho San Rafael in the earl}- eighties. 

The "old settler" again testifying, informs us that previous to 
1870, when the present owner came into possession, there was another 
adobe house on the Judge Ross property, and this gives rise to un- 
certainty as to whether this was the one alluded to by Julio Verdugo 
when he testified in 1865 to having "built a house on the hill" in Ver- 
dugo Canyon or whether he referred to the adobe which is still stand- 
ing and being used as a residence "near the cienegas" in that vicin- 
ity. The latter phrase would however seem to fix the existing struc- 
ture as the house built by Julio in 1835. 

The period between 1800 and 1820 was, probably, the most peace- 
ful that the few citizens of Spanish descent experienced in California. 
Their wants were few and nature supplied their necessities with but 
small efifort on their part. They raised small quantities of corn and 
other grains, beans and a few other vegetables. They planted vine- 
yards about their houses and made wine. There were fish in the sea 
and in the mountain streams and bear and deer in the nearby hills 
and mountains and smaller game in large numbers, including wild 
fowl on the lagoons toward the ocean. They had flocks and herds 
that were numbered by thousands. Fear and faction had not begun 
to plague them and around them was the "climate of California" with 
air of purity and sunshine as genial as the world anywhere bestows 
on man. 

From the beginning of the third decade of the century, however, 
until the country came under the "Stars and Stripes," the history of 
California appears to consist of a recital of the story of one petty 
revolution after another, as the numerous would-be leaders strove 
among themselves to gain power. 

Between Monterey in the nurtli and Los Angeles in the south 
there was unceasing rivalry, the former being the first cai)ital of the 
country and its people being unwilling to give up their i)olitical su- 
premacy after the Mexican authorities had decreed that llos Angeles 
should be the seat of government. Mention of the Verdugo family 
does not appear in connection with any of these disturbances, until in 
1846 "Los Verdugos" is mentioned as a place of rendezvous for some 
of the forces that oflfered a feeble resistance to the .Americans under 
Fremont. It seems to follow, therefore, that the retired Captain of 


the Guard having laid aside the weapons of war confined his efforts to 
the arts of peace for the lialance of his natural life. 

From 1830 to 1840 the missions, their ])roperty, their converts and 
practically all of their wonderful accomplishments during the half 
century of their history, under the policy of the Mexican government 
of giving "freedom" to the natives and property to the government, 
melted away and became little more than a rememhrance with the re- 
mains of ruined mission structures up and down the coast of Cali- 
fornia to remind those of us who came along after them of the fact 
that once the)' were. Thousands of cattle were butchered for their 
hides when it became apparent to the padres that they were doomed 
to confiscation by the state, and it is said that in the two years, 1834 to 
1836, a hundred thousand cattle from the Mission San Gabriel alone, 
were slaughtered. .And the Indians disappeared as promptly, scatter- 
ing over the country as vagabonds loosened from restraint and the 
guiding power of the padres that had lifted them temporarily from 
their low estate; they passed quickly from the scene where his- 
tory was being made, perhaps too rapidly. An investigation by an 
.American named Hartwell in 1839 showed that 25.000 of the natives 
had disappeared up to that date. 

Early in the century trouble occurred between the padres aiul the 
people of Los Angeles over the water question, the first instance on 
record, to be followed all down through the years to the present date 
by controversies over that most prolific cause of trouble in a dry land. 
The mission authorities had diverted the water of the Los Angeles 
river from its bed near Cahuenga for irrigation of the mission lands. 
The Governor decided that all the water belonged to the colonists and 
the dam was ordered to be removed. The independence of Mexico had 
been achieved in September, 1821, and the Spanish flag came down 
from its position over the capital at Monterey and elsewhere in Cali- 
fornia, but the change did not affect matters greatly in California 
either for better or worse. Land transfers continued to be made by 
word of mouth. When written titles came into vogue about 1835 or 
1836 there still was no such thing as a book of records. The trans- 
action would be about as follows: 

.Antonio Lopez petitions the Honorable Prefect, with a lot of po- 
lite verbiage, to the effect that he needs to enlarge his domain by 
a'^out 500 varas and that he denounces the land lying in the rear of 
Antonio Reyes. The Prefect makes a notation on the petition to let 
the second Justice of the Peace report on the foregoing. The Justice 
examines the property and interviews the neighbors to see if there are 
any objections. The land is surveyed and finally tlie claim is ap- 
proved and the new owner put in possession. All of the ])apers in the 
case, with liberal notes on the margins, constitute an "Expediente" 
and are stored in the office of the Prefect. A great many of these 
papers passed into the possession of the United States, and great 
numbers wound up in the waste paper receptacles and were lost. 
When land was transferred the early custom was for the seller to i)ut 
the new owner in possession by passing to him a handful of the earth 


from his newly acquired real estate. Other things than real estate 
were sometimes transferred, as for instance the following from the 
records shows: "May 30, 1849, Francisco Villa being old, gives his 
two daughters to L. Victor Prudhomme and wife, and if party of 
second part wishes to get rid of them they agree to return them to 
me, or to the Judge if I be dead." 

Leon accepts the gift and promises to comply with the conditions. 

Jose Maria Verdugo is supposed to have been retired from mili- 
tary service about 1784, "invalided," but the 48 years of what was 
evidently an active life (taking the conditions into consideration), that 
elapsed before he departed from the scene of his human activities, 
would seem to indicate that he fully recovered his health, although he 
was probably something of an invalid during the last few years of his 
life, as in the will that he made on August 13, 1828, the fact of illness 
is set forth in the preamble. He died April 12, 1832. 

The will, of which the copy that follows is a translation, is an 
intensely human document. One infers from the phraseology that it 
may have been written by some "good padre," who took care to get 
into it expressions of the religious faith of the testator, which the 
latter no doubt willingly subscribed to although not literally dictating 
them. Although the will was contested on behalf of the two married 
daughters, it withstood all attacks upon its validity and was finally 
approved by the court in 1836. In this document it will be noticed 
that the family name is spelled in several cases with a "B" and it will 
be found so written generally in the records up to about 1860. But in 
the will the signature is written "Verdugo" which is no doubt the 
original name of the family, but was Mexicanized by others. 

For almost half a century the retired soldier enjoyed the patri- 
mony bestowed upon him by his monarch and his last will and testa- 
ment gives evidence of this prosperity, for he owed no man, but others 
v.ere owing him for the products of his herds, fields and vineyards. 
In the days when the government had cause to call upon its loyal cit- 
izens to furnish their quota of grain, the owner of the San Rafael 
rancho was always found named among those who could be depended 
on to furnish that which was needed. He died and his mortal remains 
were interred in accordance with his desires in the sacred resting 
place at the Mission San Gabriel, where probably his wife, Encarna- 
cion, preceded him and where scores of his descendants have since 
been interred. The thousands who succeeded him and covered so 
many of the broad acres of his domain with vine clad and rose em- 
bowered homes with the comforts and luxuries of an era, foremost in 
the files of time, may well pause for a moment to shape in their 
thoughts a hope that the masses, the vigils and the lying in state, 
may have efTectuall)- guided his spirit in its flight to the land that is 
fairer than even the fair one that he lorded over here. 

The following is the record of his interment at San Gabriel : 

En 13 de April de 1831 an el cementerio de la Iglesia de la Mis- 
ion del Arcangel San Gabriel, di sepultura eclesiastica al cadaver de 
un adulto llamado Jose Maria V^erdugo, Cabo invalide retirado que 


habia sido de la Caompania dc Caballerda de San Diego, el cual tnurio 
aver habieiido recibido los Santos Sacramentos de Penitencia, Eu- 
caristia y Extreinauncion. 

V para que conste lo firme, 

Will of Jose Marlv Verdugo 
(As recorded in the Spanish Archives of Los Angeles County; translated 

for this history.) 

In the Name of God and his Most Holy Mother, Our Lady, con- 
ceived in grace without original sin : 

Be it known and manifest by this Written Testament and my last 
will, that I, Jose Maria Berdugo, Sargento retired invalid from the 
company of the Port of San Diego, neighbor of the town of Los An- 
geles, native of the Preside of Loreto, widower of the deceased Maria 
Encarnacion Lopez, being ill but of sound mind and memory, and 
therefore considering that it is natural for men to die, and that in 
this case it is possible at any hour and will arrive without one's 
knowing when, believing firmly, as I do believe, in the Mystery of the 
Holy Trinity, Father, Son and Holy Ghost, three distinct persons and 
one true God; and in all that which our Holy Mother Church be- 
lieves and confesses; the Most Holy Mary being iny intercessor and 
advocate, as it was asked and has been all iny life, I arrange and 
make my Testament in the following forin : 

First — Committing my soul to God, it is my will that my body 
be interred with the service of the Franciscan Fathers in the Church 
of San Gabriel, with mass sung while the body is lying in state; if it 
be possible, not burying ine during the afternoon, or that it be said 
for me the following day, with vigil according to the custom of the 
Church and as my executors inay direct. 

Item — it is my will that three nine day masses be said for me, 
where they can say them, and that alms be given for their value, 
and that the religious anniversary of my death be observed. 

Item — it is my will that all my legitimate debts be paid with- 
out deductions. 

Item — I do not owe any one anything. 

Item — I declare that Jose Maria Aguilar owes me, as it has been 
set forth in the annatacion dated the 13 of August of this year, the 
sum of 174 pesos. 

Item — the retired chief commander Antonio Maria Castro owes 
nie the sum of 75 pesos on the two barrels of aguardiente which I gave 
hiin at 75 pesos two reales. 

Item — Teodosio Flores owes me the sum of 170 pesos and a lead 
mule; the money is for aguardiente. 

Item — Teodoro Silbar owes ine nine jiesos for a horse. 

Item — Ylario Ruiz, four pesos for a young bull. 

Item — Seargeant Ygnacio Sesena owes me 24 pesos for three fat 
cows, an ox and a calf. 

Item — Jose /\ntonio Tapia owes me 16 pesos for two cows and a 
big bull. 


Item — Domingo Romero owes me 30 pesos in silver. 

Item — Francisco Maria Alvarado owes me 72i pesos for a barrel 
of ag'uardiente. 

Item — The company of San Diego owes me the sum of 1554*4 
pesos of my fortune since the year 1825 and what more accrues to the 
present year. 

Item — I declare that I have four children living; Maria Josefa, 
Maria Ygnacia. Julio and Catalina; and one more dead, named Maria 

Item — I declare that I have put under their control — first, for my 
daughter Maria Antonia, whom I gave thirty cows and three bulls, a 
horse, ten yearling lambs and the necessarj' trappings. 

Item — To Maria Ygnacia twenty fresh cows and their suckling 
female calves, and twenty more with hulls, a horse and the necessary 

Item — She furthermore received from her god-father in May, 
1814, a hundred and seventy-five head of cattle as it is set forth in 
their receipt under the same date. 

Item — Julio Antonic^ Jose Maria received 126 cows and 88 bulls, 
45 young bulls, a herd of 25 mares. 

Item — Maria Josefa received at her first marriage, which she con- 
tracted with her deceased husband, Jose Antonio Lugo, a silver 
mounted bridle with one bit, 6 horses, 2 mares, a pair of spurs and a 
bridle because at that time I had no more — and having contracted a 
second marriage with citizen Pedro Feliz I gave her some garments 
of new cloth and the proper clothes, and at my death it is my will that 
she be given ten cows, her two sons having received : Francisco Lugo 
thirty eight horses, a horse broken to saddle with its pack saddle and 
saddle bags, and a mare — and for Juan Lugo a lead horse, a herd of 
twenty-five mares, six foals, two lead mules. 

Item — I declare that it is my will that to my daughter Catalina 
be given five hundred head of cattle of all kinds, the iron brand and 
the sale of a herd less 43 head and 122 head of horses, which are 
those that survive. 

Item — It is mj' will that she l)e given a two room house, the gran- 
ary, six and a half yoke of oxen. 

It is my will that my son Julio be given six empty pack saddles, 
a large still, two pistols and two shot guns. 

Item — I declare that from my income from the warehouses of 
the Presidio of -San Diego there be taken five hundred pesos for the 
repose of my soul, the rest to be divided equally between Julio and 

Item — I declare that it is my will that the vineyard belong to my 
daughter Catalina and the fruit trees to divide in equal parts between 
Julio and Catalina. 

Item — I declare that it is my will to leave to my grandchildren, to 
Rafael and Maria .Antonia Longina, ten cows to each one and a bar- 
rel of aguardiente, if in the meantime they do not marry. 

Item — I declare that to my son Julio be given a barrel of aguar- 
diente, in the meantime to benefit from the fruit from his orchard. 


Item — I declare that it is my will to leave to my son Julio the 
small crucifix. 

Item — I declare and name as my executors my children, in the 
first place Julio and in the second Catalina, and it is my will that they 
as such execute hy Testament to whom and to each one jointly I 
give the right and power to that it required if it appears to them hest 
to dispose of and sell my goods at public auction if it he necessary. 

Item — I declare that it is my will that the rancho which the na- 
tion bestowed upon me, called San Rafael, belong to my son Julio 
and Catalina. so that they may enjoy it and profit from it with the 
blessing of God. 

Being witnesses Sergeant Jose Antonio Pico, and the Chief Com- 
mandante Juan Maria Marron, and the soldier Jose Pio Marales, and 
the Notary Public, and that it may l^e legal I sign it the thirteenth 
day of August, 1828. 



First Witness. 


Second Witnesses. 
Rancho OK San Rafael, 5th of Sept., 1829. 

The time having passed which has from the date of this my 
testament up to the present, I have to add to it the following clauses 
which I dictate in the presence of the constitutional Judge of the 
Town of Los .\ngeles and of the witnesses here present, citizens Ti- 
burcio Tapia and Cornelio Lopez : 

Item — I declare that it is my will that to my daughter Catalina be 
given five hundred head of cattle, paying first for the repose of my 
soul as I have ordered and the rest which my Testament recites. And 
furthermore I order that there be given to my daughter Maria Vgna- 
cia ten head of cattle and that the rest of said herd be divided equally 
between my children Julio and Catalina. 

Item — I declare it is my will that as soon as all the debts are col- 
lected which are in my favor in this testament, that my two desig- 
nated children, Julio and Catalina, take from them each one his half. 

Item — I declare that the citizen Jose Maria Aguilar has fifteen 
jiesos to his credit with me, nine in reales. and si.x in two bushels of 
beans, the which are to be deducted from the 74 pesos which is owed 
me according to my testament. 

Item — I declare that in the same wa\- citizen Teodosio Flores 
has to his credit fifty pesos of the sum of one hundred and seventy 
pesos which appears in my testament, and also he satisfied the lead 
mule which was set forth as owing. 

Item — Finally, I declare these last clauses to be added to my 
Testament, made the 13th of August, 1828, the which I declare as 
valid for all time, and recommend to my executors to comply with 
that which is set forth in it, and implore at the same time the ac- 


credited authorities here present (united with the designated wit- 
nesses and with citizens Jose Antonio Carrillo. whom I have named so 
that he may take the place of secretary or notary) with whom au- 
thorization, and signatures this constitutes my last will in the 
customar_v terms. 

]3ecause of the physical incapacity of my respected father. Julio 

Guillermo Cota, Constitutional Judge of the Town of Los An- 
geles, Upper California, Certify that citizen Jose Maria Verdugo, 
owner of the Rancho of San Rafael, finding himself seriously ill and 
in his right mind, after having received the Sacraments of the extreme 
unction and penitence dictated of his own will the five clauses which 
precede and are added to his testament which he made the 13th of 
August, 1828. having been present with me and the witnesses, here 
present, citizens Tiburcio Tapia and Cornelio Lopez, and as notary 
in the said act citizen Jose Antonio Carrillo, for the aforesaid Jose 
Maria \"erdugo. and in order that the said clauses shall function and 
have the proper authority, there sign it with me, the three said 
citizens, in the Rancho of San Rafael owned by him. in the joint 
presence of lulio, Maria Ygnacia and Catalina, his children, the fifth 
of September, 1829. 

Present, Tiburcio Tapia, 
Present, Cornelio Lopez. 
As Notary in the act, Jose Antonio Carrillo. 

En el Pueblo de Nuestra Senora de Los .Angeles (In the town of 
our Lady of the Angels) the 12th of January 18.^1 — the constitutional 
Judge of said town, citizen Vicente Sanchez — In virtue of citizen Jose 
Maria Verdugo of the Rancho of San Rafael having presented him- 
self to me by means of his son Julio Verdugo, so that there might 
be deducted from his written testament the sums of fifty-four pesos 
which citizen Teodosio Flores has paid him, and fifteen pesos which 
citizen Domingo Romero paid from the sums which are set forth as 
owing in the said testament according to the resjiective clauses and 
so that the said reduction shall be valid for all time and in all cir- 
cumstances I attest the present at the request of the said Verdugo 
as has been said, his son Julio signing it with me because of his physi- 
cal inability. beft)re the witnesses here present, Jose Paloniares and 
Jose Antonio Carrillo. 

Present, Jose Palomarez, 
Present, Jose Antonio Carrillo. 


In the Town of our Lady of the Angels, the fourth of the month 
of July, 1831 — The Constitutional Judge of said town. I order that a 
copy of this document be made and that it remains in the archives of 
this Tribunal whose agency was used; and so that it may be legal for 
business the present is signed and returned to the interested executor 


to the original of which the witnesses attest who sign behnv. The 
present document remains in this tribunal and the original of it is 
handed over to the interested party. 


I agree with the original testament which is found in the pos- 
session of Julio Berdugo. to whom it has been given. 

This Testament is faithfully copied and corrected on these six 
sheets of common paper of absolute lack of that stamped with 
the seal, and I authorize and sign it in the City of Los Angeles the 
thirteenth day of April eighteen hundred thirty six, with witnesses 
present because of lack of a Notary Public. 
Challenged — Juan Maria Morron — not legal. 

Present, Narciso Botello, 
Present, Francisco F. Alvarado. 




With the passing of their father, Julio and Catahna Verdugo 
came into possession of a principality, large enough to have been 
called a "Kingdom" in eastern countries in times not long gone by. 
They did not keep possession undisputed, however. The will was at- 
tacked by the married daughters, Josefa and Ignacia. but was sus- 
tained by the courts. Julio gave testimony later at a foreclosure trial 
that these two daughters had received their portion during their 
father's life. Ygnacia had become the wife of Juan Feliz and it was 
1836 when the contest brought by her and her husband was decided 
against her. The will of Jose Maria was not recorded until April 
13, 1836. Conditions at that time in California were much as they 
had been for a decade or more. Written documents in business 
transactions were just coming into use. but the large majority of the 
people could not read nor write, their signatures being given by 
mark in the presence of witnesses and no doubt a great many im- 
portant transactions were consummated without the parties inter- 
ested being aware of what they were doing. The country was still 
given over to one revolution after another, but they were singularly 
free from casualties. A disgruntled factionist would proceed to 
"raise an army" consisting of a hundred men or so and make a 
demonstration which would compel the governing authority to take 
notice of him. The armed forces would march out to meet each other 
with all the serious appearances of real war, but as soon as they got 
close enough to really do each other any damage, a commission would 
be appointed to hold a peace conference, usually resulting in the 
settlement of differences for the time being. 

In 1830, Manuel \'ictorio had been appointed governor and ap- 
pears to have been a pretty bad one, antagonizing the best citizens, 
some of whom he put in jail without cause. Among those so im- 
prisoned was one Jose Maria Avila who had a large number of 
friends and an imperious disposition. Some of his friends organized 
a revolt, among them being Pio Pico. Juan Bandini and other citizens 


of that class wlin induced the cununaiidante at San Diego to join 
them with fifty soldiers who marched to Los Angeles and joined the 
insurgents. They released Avila and recruited an army of over 200 
men. Gov. Victoria was in the north and started south to meet the 
rebels. The forces met at Cahuenga and probably would have settled 
matters in the usual harmless manner had it not been for the revenge- 
ful feeling of Avila towards X'ictorio personally. He sought out the 
governor and attacked him, wounding him with a pistol shot. One 
of the governor's supporters then shot Avila and killed him. This 
tragic affair brought the revolution to a close and the revolutionists 
dispersed to their various homes. The governor was taken to San 
Gabriel where he was treated surgically by the useful Joseph Chap- 
man, who seems to have practiced surgery as well as the art of the 
carpenter, and presently recovered. Thinking, however, that he was 
going to die. \'ictorio abdicated aiul turned the government over to 
Echendia who had formerly been governor. V'ictorio was then 
shipped out of the country, Los Angeles lending the sum of $125.00 
for that laudable purpose. 

On January 10, 1832, a legislative assembly was called to meet in 
Los Angeles. This body resolved to support Echendia for governor, 
but he was absent from the city and when communicated with did 
not seem desirous of the honor. Pio Pico who then resided at San 
Diego, had a number of friends in the assembly and when they were 
unable to get a satisfactory answer from Echendia, they elected Pico 
governor. As soon as Echendia heard of the selection of another for 
the position he developed a desire to possess the office and when an- 
other "revolution" threatened the peace of the community, Pico re- 
signed after having been governor three weeks. This was the first ap- 
pearance in the lime light of Pio Pico, who in the next few years was 
a conspicuous figure in southern California political affairs and who 
at all times appears to have been a lover of peace although forced 
into positions at times where it might appear otherwise. He was 
more or less of a local character, being at one time a land holder in 
the San Rafael ranch and a familiar figure on the streets of Los An- 
geles until he died some time in the eighties. Meanwhile at Monte- 
rey, Zamorrano was acting governor of the state without the acquies- 
cence of the Angelenos who had for some time been more or less re- 
bellious and prone to "go it alone." Both governors now began to 
raise armies, but the spirit of compromise gained the ascendency and 
it was finall)' decided to divide the state between the contending as- 
pirants, Zamorrano taking all north of San Fernando and Echendia 
what was left south of that jilace ; I^os .'\ngeles did not give much al- 
legiance to either of the rival rulers, still playing true to form. 

In 1833, Figueroa was appointed governor by the Mexican gov- 
ernment, and upon his arrival the other governors disbanded their 
armies and seem to have retired to private and ])eaceful life. Fig- 
ueroa appears to have been a governor of ability. During his term 
the missions were finally secularized, the decree abolishing them 
having passed in August, 1833. The missions at that time owned 
twenty-four ranches. The Mission San Gabriel alone extended from 


the San Bernardino mountains to the sea embracing a million and a 
half acres. Guinn is our authority for stating that it took a thousand 
acres of fertile land to support one Indian under mission management, 
this statement being based upon the fact that there never was at the 
San Gabriel more than 1,701 Indians. The missions were monopoliz- 
ing the land, and the people were beginning to demand that the mo- 
nopoly cease, as it was not working for the development of the coun- 
try. The decree had been to a great extent anticipated by killing off 
the cattle at the missions by wholesale and otherwise disposing of 
such property as could be got rid of to any advantage. The same 
authority states that the deaths among the Indians under the mis- 
sions always outnumbered the births, the usual result of attempting 
to force the aborigines of any country to accept the conditions of 
civilization, which alwajs includes the living witliin houses. 

Within a decade after the Indians were released from mission 
control it was officially stated that they were "utterly depraved," 
hence the conditions locally with this large numl)er of natives roam- 
ing over the country, can be better imagined than described. Many 
of them became dependent upon the proprietors of the ranchos, 
and drifted into a state of virtual bondage more or less voluntary. 
The Verdugo family had its share of these "retainers" and even within 
the last score of years two or three of them survived and were rather 
familiar figures as they traveled afoot along the Verdugo Road. 

A decree was issued by the Mexican congress. May 23, 1835, by 
which it was attempted to make Los Angeles the state capital and for 
the following ten years there was a contest going on nearly all the 
time between the north and south, or between Monterey and Los 
Angeles, as the former did not during that time acknowledge the 
right of the southern city to assume the authority that the Mexican 
government had conferred upon her. It was during the incumbency 
of Governor Juan Bautista Alvarado at Monterey, that Commodore 
Ap Catesby Jones, commanding a United States fleet of four war 
vessels, captured Monterey and hoisted the Stars and Stripes over 
the capital there, holding possession from October 9 to October 
21, 1842, when, finding that the information that had led him to 
take action in taking possession of the country for the United 
States, had no official foundation, he backed down as gracefully as 
possible, and the flag of Mexico was again hoisted. Commodore Jones 
with his vessels had been in the harbor of Callao, Peru, when 
hearing that a British fleet lying in the harbor at the same time was 
about to sail, he jumped at the conclusion that they were about to 
capture California, and he determined to forestall them. Conditions 
were such at the time that his suspicions were not as illogical as 
might appear at this distance of time. Commodore Jones went to 
Los Angeles to meet the governor and fix matters up, which he ap- 
pears to have done very successfully as he is said to have left there 
"with flying colors." 

In December, 1843, Micheltorena became governor at Los An- 
geles, and during the most of his term was contending with .\lvarado 
at Monterey for the honor of being the chief executive of the state. 


The Battle of Cahuengfa took place within sight of the present 
city of Glendale. and doubtless was witnessed from "Los Verdupos," 
as it was from all the hills near Los Angeles, causing much excite- 
ment in that city. Alvarado and Castro in the north had rebelled 
against the government of Micheltorena in Los Angeles. While 
the governor was in the north, the rebels slipped around his army 
and came south, capturing Los Angeles. The army that took the 
capital numbered ninety men when it started southward but accu- 
mulated strength as it progressed towards the capital, being joined 
by the Picos and other natives of the better class, as Micheltorena 
and his army were everywhere uni)opular. The pass in the Cahuenga 
hills seems to have been a favorite meeting place for contending mili- 
tary forces at that time. 

On the 20th of February, 1843, the armies met on the southern 
edge of the San Fernando valley about 15 miles from Los Angeles. 
Each army numbered about 400 men. Micheltorena had 3 pieces of 
artillery and Castro two. They opened on each other at long range 
and seem to have fought the battle throughout at very long range. 
A mustang and a mule were killed. There were a number of Ameri- 
cans with Castro, who were lured away by what would now be termed 
skilful propaganda on the part of some of their countrymen of the 
opposite party ; this weakened the army from the north considerably, 
but does not seem to have helped Micheltorena greatly as he is re- 
ported to have turned back through the pass and to have come 
around to the Feliz ranch by the river. A few more shots were fired 
in his general direction and then he surrendered. After this battle 
Micheltorena was shipped back to Mexico and Pio Pico became 
governor, being appointed by President Herrera in 1S45. 

In June, 1846, at Sonoma, the Bear Flag republic was born, last- 
ing for forty-five days. Commodore Sloat raised the Stars and 
Stripes at Monterey on Jul\- 7, 1846. and California passed into the 
possession of the United States, as his action, unlike that of Com- 
modore Jones, had the sanction of the government at Washington. 
Southern California, however, did not acknowledge the new flag that 
floated over the northern city, still remaining loyal to Mexico. Gov. 
Pico who had started north to oppose Castro before the change in 
flags occurred, now joined forces with the latter to fight the "in- 
vaders." The junction of their forces was made at Santa Margarita. 
Castro had been military commander at Monterey, in association 
with Gov. /Mvarado, and seems not to have harmonized with the 
more pacific Pico. They started on a march south but the army soon 
disintegrated for on July 27, 1846, Pico issued a proclamation call- 
ing upon his people to "abstain from all acts of violence." 

Prof. Guinn, in his History of California, takes occasion to speak 
of Pico as follows: "Pio Pico deserved better treatment from the 
Americans than he received. He was robbed of his landed posses- 
sions by unscrupulous land sharks and his reputation defamed by 
irresponsible historical scribblers." Castro was left in command of 
the "army" which he claimed consisted of only one hundred men. 
Among the many legends that have l>een woven into alleged his- 


torical sketches of the San Rafael ranch, there is one to the effect 
that the peace treaty which achieved the cessation of a state of war 
in Cahfornia between the two governments, was signed at the home 
of the Verdugos. This story misses the truth by a few miles only, 
and it may be worth while to briefly relate the historical facts, as the 
locality in which Glendale is situated did furnish the stage for some 
of the last acts of the war. 

General (then Captain) John C. Fremont, arrived in Monterey 
in January. 1846, having comjileted his march overland and arrived 
in the San Joaquin valley with sixty-two men. Fremont's mission 
was a peaceful one but the susjiicious Castro ordered him out of the 
country and the Americans after a brief delay began their march 
northward. They had almost reached the Oregon line when on May 
ninth they were overtaken by a messenger bearing government des- 
patches for Fremont, who upon receiving them turned about and 
marched southward, reaching Sacramento and encamjjing. On July 
seventh, Commodore Sloat raised the Stars and Stripes at Monterey. 
Castro at that time was at San Jose and upon receiving the news he 
called his men together, announced that he was off for Me.xico, and 
told them they could go to their homes, which permission was 
promptly followed by the action suggested. 

All was now quiet in the north, but the south was not )'et sub- 
jected. Commodore Stockton, who had superseded Sloat, organized 
an expedition to proceed to Southern California and take over that 
])ortion of the country. Fremont's forces, which had been recruited 
at Monterey to 120 men, was a part of this expedition, and was sent 
south by steamer to San Diego. 

Gov. Pio Pico had left Los Angeles, in June, on an expedition 
against the rebellious Castro at Monterey, and was with his army at 
San Luis Obispo when he heard the news of the capture of Monterey. 
As previously mentioned, Castro had joined Pico and they attempted 
to act together to oppose the common enemy, without success, the 
old jealousies prevailing as usual. Pico, at Santa Barbara, issued a 
proclamation calling on all able bodied men to rally to the defense 
of their country against the invader and taking occasion to allude to 
the invading forces in very uncomplimentary terms. They did not 
rally to any great extent, however. Pico followed up this proclama- 
tion on July twenty-seventh (Guinn) with another in which he took 
i|uite a different stand, advising the peo])le to abstain from all acts 
of violence toward the invaders. Castro had not gone to Mexico, as 
he had announced his intention of doing, but was now at Los 
Angeles, where, with .\ndreas Pico, he was endeavoring to raise 
and drill an army of defense. This "army" consisted of aI)out 300 
men. poorly armed and equipped. 

Commodore Stockton sailed for San Pedro, where he arrived on 
August sixth, with 360 sailors and marines; these he began to drill 
in military maneuvers in preparation for a march to Los .\ngeles. 
Castro sent to Stockton the usual "commission" asking for a cessation 
of hostilities, which can scarcely be said to have be.gun, but Stock- 
ton refused to consider any proposition and sent the commissioners 


hack empty handed. The situation was now entirely hopeless for 
the Cal'fornians, so hoth Pico and Castro cleared out, the former 
going to the Santa Margarita ranch, near Capistrano, where he was 
concealed by his brother-in-law, Dt>n Jnhn Forster, while Castro 
resumed his trip to Mexico where he ultimately arrived. Stockton 
resumed his march on Los Angeles on August eleventh; he had four 
jiieces of cannon drawn by oxen, and a good brass band. Fremont 
who had gone to San Diego with his battalion of 170 men. was now 
supplied with horses and. on August eighth, started north to jc)in 
Stockton, having an army of 120 men. having left a guard of 50 
men at San Diego. It took Stockton three days to march to Los 
Angeles from San Pedro and on August 13. 1846, having joined Fre- 
mont on the outskirts of the city, the combined forces of over 500 
men, entered the city without opposition. 

On .August seventeenth, Stockton issued a prficlamation as "Coin- 
mander in chief and governor of the territory of California" inform- 
ing the people that the country now belonged to the Lhiited States. 
Four days after the capture of Los Angeles, the Warren, Captain 
Hull commander, anchored at San Pedro. She brought official notice 
of the declaratinn of war between the United States and Mexico. 
Then for the first time, Stockton learned that there had been an 
official declaration of war between the two countries. United States 
officers had waged war and taken possession of California upon the 
strength of a rumor that hostilities existed between the two countries. 
( Guinn.) 

This looks like the end oi trouble, but it was only a beginning. 
Stockton left Los .-\ngeles for the north on September second, leaving 
Captain Gillespie to hold the town with fifty men. Fremont also 
went north. Gillespie tried to rule by martial law, but his ridiculously 
inadequate force made it impossible for him to maintain his authority 
over a conglomeration of trouble makers such as coinposed a large 
])ortion of the population of Los Angeles at that time, and in addition 
to that element was a considerable body of the better class of natives, 
who were inspired by a naturally resentful feeling against the in- 
vaders. On September twenty-second a body of Californians at- 
tacked the garrison at three o'clock in the morning and were repulsed 
with loss of three men. The next day there were six hundred men on 
horseback in an attacking party, armed witjh shot guns, lances and 
having a piece of artillery. The Americans intrenched on Fort Hill 
kept the Californians at a distance 1))' occasional rifle fire and shots 
now and then from a rusty cannon. 

In this connection occurs the story of the ride of John Brown, 
locally known at the time as Juan Flaco or Lean John. Colton in 
his "Three Years in California," says: "Brown rode the whole dis- 
tance (Los Angeles to Monterey) of four hundred and sixty tniles in 
fifty-two hours, during which time he did not sleep. His intelligence 
was for Comm(jdore Stocktf)n. and in the nature of the case, was not 
committed to paper, except a few words rolled in a cigarette fastened 
in his hair. But the commodore had sailed for San Francisco and it 
u as necessary he should go one hundred and f(.)rly miles further. He 


was quite exhausted and allowed to sleep three li^urs. Before day he 
was up and off on his journey." He had left Los Angeles on Septem- 
ber twenty-fourth at 8 P. M.. and on the mornini^ nf the twenty-ninth 
was, according to Captain Gillespie's account of the ride, lying in the 
bushes on the edge of San Francisco Bay. waiting for an early morn- 
ing boat. In leaving Los .\ngeles he had been discovered by the be- 
siegers, was fired on, his horse killed. Flaco carried his spurs and 
riata to Los Virginese. a distance of 27 miles afoot, where he secured 
another mount. This noble ride availed nothing for the beleaguered 
Americans however, their situation becoming more desperate daily. 
Finally Flores, commanding the Californians. issued an ultimatum de- 
manding surrender within twenty-four hours, and on September 
thirtieth, the Americans capitulated, being allowed to march out of 
the city with colors flying and proceeded to San Pedro where they ar- 
rived in due time. 

Upon receiving Gillespie's message, by messenger Juan Flaco. 
Gillespie ordered Captain Mervine to go to San Pedro at once. Sev- 
eral days' time were lost, however, and it was October first when Mer- 
vine and his men sailed out of San Francisco bay, arriving at San 
Pedro on October seventh. The combined forces of the Americans 
began the march on Los Angeles on C^ctober eighth, with about 300 
men. The Californians harassed the Americans all along their route, 
being in possession of a cannon which they handled very efficiently. 
After proceeding inland several miles, and having a number of men 
wounded, the Americans finally retreated back to their vessels. This 
affair was known as the Battle of Dominguez Ranch. The .\merican 
losses were four men killed and five or six wounded. The dead were 
buried on an island in the harbor, named at that time "Dead Man's 
Island." The Californians during this battle were commanded by 
Jose Maria Flores, who after the fight returned to Los .\ngeles. called 
the departmental assembly together and was elected governor in the 
absence of Pico. He held office until January S, 1847. 

The defeat of Mervine showed the .Americans that conditions in 
the south required more strenuous efforts than had been put forth 
heretofore to pacify the natives, and Fremont, under orders from 
Commodore Stockton proceeded to recruit a sufficient number of men 
to form a regiment. His headquarters were at Monterey and he had 
now attained the rank of lieutenant colonel. C"astro had been made 
commandante of the Mexican forces with headcpiarters at San Luis 
Obispo. On October sixteenth, a body of scouts on their way to 
Monterey, to join Fremont, encountered a part of Castro forces at 
Hncinalitos and a fight occurred in which there were a dozen men or 
so killed on each side. On January second following there was a fight 
at Santa Clara without any fatalities. Stockton sailed for San Pedro 
where he arrived on October 23, 1846. having in ail a force of about 
800 men. The fact was afterwards disclosed that the Mexican forces 
opposing him did not number more than a hundred or two hundred at 
most. The Californians maneuvered their horsemen so skilfully, 
that the careful Stockton seems to have imagined himself opposed by 
an invincible army, and on October thirty-first he loaded his forces 


on board the Congress and sailed for San Dicf^o, evidenti)' plannin.^' 
to march from that place to Los Angeles some other day. 

Meantime Fremont had been recruiting in the north until he had 
an army of about 450 men. witii wliich force he began his march 
southward on November twenty-ninth to co-operate with Stockton. 
General Kearney, marching to San Diego from the cast with ai)Out 
80 men. had been attacked at San Pasqual by a force of the Califor- 
nians. under .'\ndreas Pico, and in the battle that ensued lost three of- 
ficers and 15 dragoons killed, with seventeen dragoons wounded; his 
force would probably have been annihilated had not reinforcements 
reached him from San Diego, at which place Kearney and his forces 
arrived, without anj' further fighting, but after enduring great hard- 
ships. He had been sent from l^ort Leavenworth to take ])ossession 
of New Mexico, which was accomplished without a battle. The affair 
at San Pasqual was for the Americans the most serious battle that oc- 
curred during the war. 

On December twenty-ninth. Stockton began the march to Los 
Angeles with Kearney second in command, the force numbering about 
500 men. At San Luis Rey a messenger came into camp from Flores 
asking for the customary conference. Stockton refused to accede to 
the proposition and demanded that Flores and his army surrender, 
which proposal was also rejected. On January eighth, the .Xmericans 
having reached the crossing of the San Gabriel river, south of Los 
Angeles, encountered the enemy in considerable force. A fight oc- 
curred there and another on the following day at "the ^^csa." In these 
two battles the Californians lost three men killed and had several 
wounded, the .'\mericans losing about an e<|ual ntunbcr. The Cali- 
fornians were short of good powder to which fact tlieir opponents 
owe the good fortune of escaping with so small a loss. On January 
tenth while the .Americans were encamped along the river on the out- 
skirts of the town, a delegation came into camp with a proposition to 
surrender which was accepted, and the next day Stockton's forces 
entered Los Angeles. 

Fremont Cfiming down from the north reached a point a few 
miles north of San b'ernando on January 11. 1S47. Here he received 
news of the capture of Los .^ngeles, and camped on the above named 
date at the San Fernando mission. That night a friemlly Californian, 
Jesus Pico set out from the mission to find the army of the Califor- 
nians. and here we get our local coloring; he found them "encamped al 
V^erdugas." (Guinn.) The probability is that this cncanipnient was at 
the adobe residence in the Canyon, as it seems reasonable to suppose 
that that location would I)e preferred for a military encani])ment 
rather than at the other adobe house, situated on the mesa, on what is 
now Verdugo Road, which Julio had built in 1835. 

Although Julio, as far as our knowledge goes, had no military 
record, not being mentioned in the accounts of the various revolutions 
that periodically occurred, he, no doubt, was in (]uite natural sym- 
pathy with his countrymen in their opposition to the invading Amer- 
icans. Pico was detained at the Verdugos while the leaders were 
summoned for a council, word being sent to them by horsemen to San 


Pasqual Raiicho (Pasadena) and otlier points near at hand. General 
F"lores. governf)r and cotnmandante. seems to have been able to read 
handwritinsj on a wall whatever he may have lacked in educational 
adornments, and upon receivings Pico's communication, and listening 
to him when he advised surrender, heard a sudden call to duty else- 
where and left the same night lor Mexico, where he held a position in 
the regular army. He was accompanied by several other officers and 
thirty privates. Before leaving he conferred the command of the 
army upon General Andreas Pico, who immediately appointed two 
commissioners, Francisco Rico and Francisco de la Guerra, to return 
with Jesus Pico to Fremont's camp and confer as to a treaty of peace. 
Fremont appointed similar commissioners. Major P. B. Redding, 
Major Wm. H. Russell and Capt. Louis McLane. On the return of 
his commissioners to camp, Gen. Pico appointed two others, Jose 
Antonio Carrillo, and Augustin Olvera. and moved his army over to 
Cahuenga, to which point Fremont had also moved, and there in a 
deserted ranch house on January 13. 1847. the treaty of peace was 

Under the terms of the treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo (a small 
town near the City of Mexico), the rights of American citizenship 
were accorded to all Californians who were willing, and had the usual 
qualifications, to receive them. The majority of the better class of 
natives swore allegiance to the Stars and Stri])es. but it is doubtful 
whether they gained any material benefit from the change in flags. 
They were given a stable government in exchange for one of frequent 
changes, each one based upon the last "revolution" and in that re- 
spect the change should have been a boon of some value. But the old 
regime had its merits and if the landed proprietors regretted its ])ass- 
ing and failed to hail the new conditions with enthusiasm, who shall 
say them nay ? 

The revolutions were usually bloodless and served to break 
the monotony of a life that needed something in the way of excite- 
ment to flavor it. The people were generous to a fault, and practiced 
the virtue of hospitality with a free handed grace that can never exist 
outside of a country whose people are more or less primitive. There 
were occasional crimes of violence and very few of a nature that can 
be described as sordid or shameful. 'i"he great misfortune of the 
people in passing under the control of the United States, was their 
ignorance of the language and of the laws. They were entirely at the 
mercy of the lawyers and this is not meant for a reflection upon the 
members of that profession, but as a mere statement of facts. 

The owners of land had to take ste])s to have their titles con- 
firmed by the new government and instances occurred in which they 
lost title to property which they had occupied for years without chal- 
lenge from any one. It was necessary for them to obtain legal advice 
ancl to execute legal papers, the meaning of which was unknown to 
them except through interpreters who. admitting their honesty, were 
not always themselves capable of rightly explaining the intricacies of 
the law. And when it came to paying the lawyers, what more natural 
than that it should be done by executing a deed to a piece of land 


when the owner had more than he knew what to do with? I'.ut tlie 
loan sharks were the most terrible enemy of the California land 
owner. It was easy to borrow money and so terribly hard to pay. 

For years the prevailing rate of interest was three per cent a 
month, compounded of course upon non-paj-ment. The records are 
full of the sad story which shows how one landed proprietor after 
another saw his broad acres slip away from him. Those who 
fought foreclosure through the courts fared the wt)rst, fur the case 
usually went against them and that terrible three per cent was run- 
ning all the time. Looking over the old records one finds many an 
interesting story bearing on this subject. Here is the record of one 
mortgage, or rather the opening chapter, for the sequel is unknown. 
It is given here to afford a glimpse of transactions in this line seventy 
years ago. being one of many. 

In Alarch. 1849, Pedro Dominquez borrows of John Temple 350 
ounces of gold dust of good quality and Troy weight for the sum of 
$3,500 in silver. The document securing the loans set forth that the 
borrower intends to use the greater part of it to ])ay his debts, after 
which he will owe no one. To secure this he states his desire to .give 
a most firm writing, desires to pay the 330 ounces and further de- 
sires to be compelled to do so. For this purpose he mortgages the 
Rancho San Pedro; said Temple to lay claim to the same so that 
when term expires, if claim is not paid, he may take action. He 
further states his intention of going to the "Bonanza Gold Mines." 
.'\s the Dominguez family still held the Rancho San Pedro after this 
transaction, the inference is that I'cdro was more lucky than the av- 
erage borrower. 




Julio, coming into possession of the ranch (with his sister) about 
1832, was at that time about 45 years old. He had married Maria 
Jesus Romero and probably the greater number of their numerous 
offspring had already appeared upon the scene of action. The num- 
ber of their children, who reached maturity, appears to have been 
eleven, nine sons and two daughters. The sons are frequently al- 
luded to in the testimony of their neighbors, in association with their 
father in carrying on their, for that time, rather extensive farming 
operations. They not only raised crops of barley, wheat, corn, beans 
and hay but had large herds of cattle and horses. It is quite proljable, 
that in 1835, when Dana visited San Pedro in the good ship ".\lert" 
taking on hides and tallow, as related in "Two Years Before the 
Mast," he helped to load some of the products of the San Rafael 
ranch. And Don Julio was a builder also. He built a house "on the 
hill at the Garbanzos" in 1833 and 1834. He built cattle pens also and 
put in a garden and vineyard, and planted corn and wheat. This 
house, on the hill top, lietween Garvanza and Eagle Rock, was quite 
a conspicuous object until a few years ago when it was obliterated 
by the overwhelming march of improvement. 

We have his testimony also as to other building: "On the hill, at 
that portion called the Cienega, I also built a house and pens and kei)t 
a dairy there. This was in 1835. I also had improvements on the 
southern part at the place called the Talaga. Five years ago (this 
was in 1865), my wife built a house at the Porto-suelo, the place 
where we now live." The house in the "Cienega" appears to be the 
old adobe standing in Verdugo Canyon and while speaking of 
house, he continues: "The house built at the small hill near the Cien- 
ega is still there and rented to Mr. Lanfranco. It is (jf adobe. We 
lived at the .house with the family over four years. I was living in 
the bottom when the flood came and we were forced out. The gar- 
dens have been there eight or nine years." He als.> speaks of having 
lived at the "Loma." 

It is possible that this is an error, and thai the word should be 
"Toma" the place on the river where the water was diverted. The 
house at Portosuelo. built by the wife of Julio, was on the Verdugn 


Road, on the east side, near the residence now occupied and lielons;ing 
to Mrs. Rohde, in the southeast corner of the city of Glendale. This 
was the residence of Julio and his family from the time it was built, in 
1860, until his death in 1S76. It was occupied after the father's death 
by one of his sons. Jose Maria, until about 1S''0. when the faniii\' 
moved to .San Gabriel where Jose was accidentall\- killed on the rail- 
road. Others of the family lived in the house lunil it was sold to Mr. 
Rohde about 1910. Only a frajjment of it remains. This was the 
"homestead" of 200 acres awarded to Julio in 1869. when the rest of 
the ranch was sold under foreclosure of nn>rt£]:ag:e, as will presently be 
related. The homestead was on both sides of X'crducfo Road, there 
being 98 acres on the west side and 202 acres on the cast, the latter 
property being principally hill-iand. 

The level land on the west side of the road was left in small lots 
to the children, there being between seven and eight acres in each al- 
lotment as a rule. On one of these pieces was the home f)f Joaquin 
Chabolla, who had married Julio's daughter, Maria .Antonia Longina 
Maxima, who was born March 15, 1824, and baptized at San Gabriel 
on the day following. .At this date Mrs. Chabolla is still alive, living 
with a relative in Verdugo Canyon. The Chabolla home was lc)cated 
west of Verdugo Road. Maple street now running through it. Mrs. 
Chabolla lived there until the property was sold about 1912. The 
others of these small homesteads, passed into possession of the set- 
tlers, who came into the valley in the '80's. 

In Bancroft's history, we find the following reference to Julio: 
"Julio, son of Jose Maria, alcalde at San Rafael Raiicho in '31, '33, '36 
and Juez de Campo, '40." The position of Juez de Canipo, was an 
honorary one conferred upon the possessor of the title by his fel- 
low citizens, at their annual rodeos, when the cattle were counted 
and separated, his duty consisting in acting as judge in the settle- 
ment of the numerous disputes that arose upon such occasions. This 
Judge of the Camp practically administered the duties of his office in 
the saddle, and holding the position testified to the belief of the par- 
ties interested, in the ability and fairness of the incumbent. 

This office was purely honorary under Mexican rule, but the 
United States government about 1850 attached to the position a sal- 
ary of $100 a year, scarcely enough to buy the official the expensive 
saddle with which he often bestrode an inexpensive horse. The an- 
nual rodeos were important affairs, the horses and cattle being gath- 
ered together to be identified as to ownership by their brands and dis- 
tributed to their respective owners. In driving ilieni in to a com- 
mon center where the judge was awaiting them, there was oppor- 
tunity given for skilful displays of horsemanshij). and as these af- 
fairs were as much a matter of pleasure as of business, there was al- 
ways a large number of spectators present to applaud any particidar 
display of skill among the riders, all of whom were born to the saddle. 
Then the day's events were appropriately wound up by music ami 
the dance. 

Until 1860 land had no particular monetary value and the change 
about that period came gradually. In 1863. Dr. (3riFfin bought a 


large portion of East Los Angeles for 50 cents an acre. As late as 
1866 lots on Spring Street sold for $50 each. In that year Jotham 
Bixby bought 27,000 acres in the neighborhood of Long Beach for 
$125,000. The railroad from Los .Vngeles to San Pedro was completed 
in 1869. It really stopped at Wilmington, however, the extension to 
San Pedro being made some ten or twelve j-ears later. In 1852. 
Captain J. D. Hunter, who had come into California with the Ameri- 
can forces, having turned his attention to the arts of peace, began 
the manufacture of bricks in Los Angeles and built the first brick 
house in that city, on the corner of Third and Main street. This was 
the property exchanged by Hunter for land in the San Rafael ranch. 
In 1862, a "great flood" occurred and the following year was marked 
by a disastrous drouth, when cattle died by thousands and some are 
reported as having been sold for a price of .37 cents per head. In 
1868, another disastrous flood occurred. 

Under the first grant of 1784 Vcrdugo claimed all the land lying 
between the Los Angeles river and the Sierra Madre, which took in 
the Rancho La Canada, but under date of May 12. 1843, Governor 
Micheltorena issued a grant to Ygnacio F. Coronel, of the "Rancho 
La Canada or Canada Atras de la Verdugos. which was later con- 
firmed to Benjamin Hayes and Jonathan R. Scott on February 16, 

Julio brought suit against Scott and Hayes to have the property 
restored to him. with the result that it was given back to Catalina 
and himself, in its entirety, by deed of December 21, 1857. La Canada 
was held in common by Julio and Catalina. Then, in 1861, they di- 
vided the ranches between them, Catalina taking all north of a cer- 
tain line, the language of the deed on this point being, "Catalina 
Verdugo shall have, hold and possess all that portion known as Ca- 
nada Atras de Verdugo and San Rafael which are situated north of 
a certain line, beginning at a point on the easterly side of the Los 
Angeles river, nearly opposite the house of Antonio Feliz (now Grif- 
fith Park) in the ]jotrero a short distance above the point where the 
hills which form the chain called the Cahuenga approach the said 
river; thence north 79° 50' East to the top of a round hill near the 
main road from San Gabriel; thence east to the Piedra Gorda (the 
Eagle Rock) and from thence to the Arroyo Seco. 

Julio and his sister appear to have kept their heritage intact 
until about 1855 when a portion was acquired, ajjparently under a 
tax sale, by Lewis Granger, a lawyer of that period, and was, by 
Granger, sold to J. D. Hunter. The i)roperty he acquired in the 
Rancho San Rafael was about 2.700 acres. An adobe house stood on 
the i)roperty, on the hill where Verdugo Road and San Fernando 
Road form a junction near the school building, now known as the 
Washington school. The Hunter family occupied the adobe for a 
short time until a new house was built near the ri\er. l)ut two or three 
small frame residences have been occupied by the younger generation 
of the family in the same neighborhood until very recently. 

In December, 1855, Julio and Catalina conveyed to J. L. Brent, 
that portion of the ranch along the river since known as "Santa Eu- 


lalia." Brent was another lawyer who liad the X'erdugos for his 
clients and is well spoken of by his contemporaries as a lawyer of 
repute. A portion of this property, some seven hundred acres, was 
sold by I'rent to Heath who convened it to \V. C. R. Richardson, 
August 16, 1868. Another tract was sold by the Verdugos to |. D. 
Hunter by deed of April 10, 1866. This gave Hunter a large acreage 
both in the southeasterly portion along the river, and also in the 
northwest and joining the Provideiicia ranch. On January 12. 1858, 
J. L. Brent transferred to J. R. Scott a tract of land described as 
"between the Sierra de la Verdugos fm the north and the river of 
Los Angeles on the south to the west of a line drawn 21.06 chains 
from the southwest corner of house of Fernando Verdugo, course 
northwest; with right to convey water." The legal documents of 
that time making these conveyances were generally written in Sjian- 
ish and as often as otherwise the signature was by mark. 

It is noticeable that except in one or two cases. Don Julio wrote 
his signature to the many documents that he issued. The property 
descriptions depended usually upon natural objects to tie down the 
variation of lines. Here is a good example: "April 10, 1860. C'atalina 
and Julio Verdugo, and Maria Jesus Romero de Verdugo (Julio's 
wife) conveyed to J. D. Hunter for a consideration of $400.00 a piece 
of land described as follows : The southeast corner of the Rancho 
San Rafael beginning on the river of Los Angeles at the southeast 
corner of tract ccjnveyed to J. L. Brent by Julio and Catalina X'erdugo 
June 5, 1858, thence along the lioundary line of said P.rcnt to the 
northeast corner thereof where there is a spring, or "aguage," and a 
little arroyo enters the same and forms a junction thereto and follow- 
ing the meanderings of the same Arroyo de la Cherro in a northeast 
direction, to a point where the .\rroyo del Cal through its mouth to 
the Arroyo Seco, or Hondo, thence along the last mentioned arroyo 
to the ancient Toma de agua. or city dam of the pueblo de Los An- 
geles in the river Los .Angeles, the same being the southeast corner of 
said rancho, thence up the river to place of beginning." Reference 
has been made to the division of the property between Catalina and 

In the various documents referring to this division, there is a va- 
riation in the description of the line on the north side of which wag 
Catalina's and on the south Julio's portion. The following is that 
given in the deed executed April 3, 1861. The document starts out 
by reference to the grant by (jovcrnor Micheltoreno to A. F. Coronel 
of the property described as "Rancho Canada Atras de los Verdugos," 
afterwards confirmed to Hayes and Scott, and re-conveyed by the lat- 
ter to the Verdugos under order of court. There is excepted the three 
conveyances, viz.: to Brent, Scott and Hunter, Commencing at a 
point on the east side of the Los Angeles river, nearly opposite the 
house of Antonio Feliz (now Griffith Park), in the jiotrero a short dis- 
tance above the point where the hills that form the chain called the Ca- 
huenga approaches said river; thence north 79° 50' east passing a 
small alder where a pile of stones is deposited and a stake driven ; 
thence north 76° 45' east passing through a corral to a Ir)ne alder on 


the southern slope of the hills of the northeasterly side of the valley; 
thence south 86° 40' east 9 chains to a point on the portosuelo; 
thence due east across the valley called the Encino Gacho to a very 
large round stone called the "Piedra Gorda" ; thence due east to the 
waters of the Arro^-o Seco where a stake is driven. 

During the '60's property was transferred, to and fro, within the 
family with monotonous frequency. August 2, 1864, the name of 
Teodoro Verdugo is found on the records for the first time, as hav- 
ing conveyed to him by his Aunt Catalina, property described as 
follows: "Bounded on the south by a sycamore tree; on the east by 
the Cuchilla of Francisco Maria to the Sierra Madre; on the north 
and west by another cuchilla of old rancho to beginning." Then on 
August 14, 1867, Teodoro re-conveyed this property to Catalina. This 
seems to have been land in Verdugo Canyon, and the sycamore tree 
to be the one still standing near the City reservoir. May 22, 1868, 
Catalina, for a consideration of $2,000, conveyed to C. V. Howard a 
one fourth interest in her entire holdings in both ranches, and in 
August following she deeded to Teodoro property rather loosely 
described as bounded on the north by the Sierra Madre ; on the east 
by the Arroyo Seco; on the south by the Los Angeles river and on 
the west and northwest by the Los Angeles river and the Rancho 
Providencia. "containing six leagues more or less." In a deed Novem- 
ber 30, 1868, appear as grantees the names of Julio's sons as follows : 
Teodoro, Pedro, Quirino, Jose Maria, Chrysostimo, Rafael, Guilermo. 
Victorio and Fernando. 

The available wealth of the California rancher consisted in cattle 
principally. There was an annual slaughtering on all the big ranches 
in the fall of the year, a thousand or more being butchered at a time 
for the hide and tallow. Hides were worth two or three dollars 
apiece and tallow brought six or eight cents a pound. It was a pre- 
carious business, the outcome depending entirely upon weather con- 
ditions which no man can control and consequently there were "lean" 
and "fat" years. The floods and drouth no doubt brought misfor- 
tune to Don Julio and drove him to the risky expedient of borrowing 
money at the ruinous rate of interest then prevailing, for the records 
disclose the following: "Julio Verdugo to J. Elias, January 2, 1861 — 
Julio Verdugo and Maria Jesus Romero de Verdugo, borrow 
$3,445.34, mortgaging all of the interest in the following described 
property: bounded on the north by the Sierra Madre. on the east by 
the Arroyo Hondo, south by the river Los .\ngeles and west by the 
lands of Jonathan R. Scott now cultivated by him, excepting lands 
sold to J. D. Hunter and J. L. Brent with appurtenances. Intended 
to secure a certain note in the words and figures following: $3,445.37 
Los Angeles, December 6. 1860. Two years after date, without gfrace, 
I promise to pay to the order of Jacob Rlias $3,445.37, for value re- 
ceived, with interest at 3 per cent per month until paid, which inter- 
est to be paid each and every three months, and if not so paid to be 
added to the principal and become a part thereof and draw same in- 
terest as principal debt. 

"This conveyance is also intended as a security to said party of 


second part in case he shall be obliged to protect his interest in mort- 
gage by the payment of any taxes, etc.. it having been agreed tliat 
party of first part shall pay all taxes on said property and on this 
mortgage, and if said payment shall be well and truly made, then, 
these presents shall be null and void. But if default be made in the 
jiayment of said delit, or any part of it becomes due, then it shall be 
lawful for the party of the second part, and he and his heirs or ex- 
ecutors are authorized to sell the premises and every ])art thereof, 
rendering the over-plus, if any, to parties of the first part. (Signed) 
Julio Verdugo." 

The original note is written on unofficial pajier and bears the 
signature of the maker in a scarcely legible hand, and it is noticeable 
that the signature of his wife is not attached. It was the contention 
of the plaintiff, when foreclosure proceedings were started promptly 
upon expiration of the two j'ears, that as the prf)perty was held in 
common, the signature of the wife was not legally required, and the 
claim appears to have been considered valid by the court. From this 
time on for the next eight or nine years, the court records bear testi- 
mony to the activities of the Verdugos in transferring and re-trans- 
ferring their property from one to the other within the family. 

On April 13. 1861, an agreement was entered into between Julio 
and Catalina that they hold in common the rancho La Canada the 
whole of which said rancho was on December 21. 1857. conveyed to 
Julio Verdugo and Catalina Verdugo bj- J. R. Scott, that the said 
Catalina Verdugo shall have, hold and possess all that portion, 
known as Canada Atras de Verdugo and San Rafael, which is situ- 
ated north of a certain line, the description of the line being as here- 
tofore been given, and which ran from the northwesterly corner 
on the river, easterly along the southern base of the nearest range 
of mountain and hill, across the mouth of Verdugo Canyon on to the 
Arroyo Seco by way of the Eagle Rock. There was much conflict- 
ing testimony given at the trial, the defense endeavoring to prove 
that the division of the property had been made as between Julio and 
Catalina, while the plaintiff introduced a good deal of testimony to 
show that it was held in common. Probably the best witness for 
Julio was Juan .Mvarado who testified that he had known the de- 
fendants since childhood and that he had personally made the di- 
vision in his cai>acity as First Regidor in 18.12 or 18,1,1. 

lie testified that the line of division was a round rock on a round 
hill on to the mouth of the potrero; Julio took the southern part. 
Julio was at the running of the line; I do not remember if Catalina 
came out. Catalina and Julio both agreed as to the line and were 
content. The i)otrero is over the river right in front of the house of 
Feliz. Julio testified: My sister Catalina now living, never married. 
The ranch was divided between me and Catalina because the other 
heirs had received their inheritance. It was divided on August 17, 
1832. My father decided the property should be divided in his life- 
time and after his death I applied to the authorities and order was 
made to divide it. 1. \'. .'\lvarado went out. The line went near the 


mouth of the potrero of the Feliz's to the hill situated near the Mis- 
sion road and from thence to Piedra Gorda. I am 77 years old and 
m}' sister Catalina three years younger (this was June 1865). 

On my part, in place called the Garbanza, I built a house and cat- 
tle pens; I began the work in 1833. I put in a garden and vineyard 
and sowed and planted corn there. The house was finished; I and 
my wife occupied it. My son William was born there. I was fre- 
quently at the house of my sister and always left some one at the 
house with her. On the hill at that portion called the Cienega, I also 
built a house and pens and kept a dairy there. This was in 1835. It 
is in the southern part and on that set apart to me in the division. 
I had also improvements on the southern part at the place called the 
Telaga. Five years ago my wife built a house at the Porto Suelo 
the place where we now live. Previous to going there I lived at 
the Loma ( ?) and the Garbanza. I have never left these places un- 
occupied. I and my sister staid with each other frequently. I have 
never to my knowledge signed any paper that ranch was not di- 
vided. The deed of April 13, 1861. was not so interpreted to me. I 
have had my separate part since 1832. My father died April 12. 1832 
(the San Gabriel record say.s 1831). He directed in his will that 
rancho be divided between me and Catalina. My sons now live in 
the house built by me at the Garbanza. The first house there was 
built of brush and then we made adobes and put them up. It is the 
same house now standing. The house built at the small hill near the 
Cienega is still there and is rented to Mr. Lanfranco. It is of adobe. 
We lived at the house with the family over four years. I was living 
in the bottom when the flood came and we were forced out. The gar- 
dens had been there eight or nine years. My legal adviser from 1851 
to 1861 was Mr. Brent, and until he went away. I told Brent about 
the division and he asked me for a piece of the southern part. 

J. D. Hunter testified that he had known the land since 1855. At 
the time the greater part of the Verdugo family lived in the old house 
of the ranch in the northwest part. When he went to see Julio in 
1860 he found him living in a jacale. The old ranch house would 
fall north of the partition line. Had seen cultivated land in the south 
part of the rancho since 1860. Saw no house in 1860, there were three 
or four jacales. 

Cyrus Lyons testified that he lived at the Providencia ranch, 
and had known the San Rafael since 1850. The Verdugos lived in 
the old ranch house then. Had been ])resent at many of the rodeos 
and escojidas which Julio gave on the ranch; his own stock was 
there and he had to go after them. The first fields he ever saw Julio 
and sons at work on were in the northwest part of the ranch near 
Scotts line. Had seen other cultivations near the Porto Suelo and 
Piedra Gorda, of which were corn, barley and beans. There was a 
vineyard near the old ranch house which Julio and boys worked. 
A. F. Coronel testified that he had known the lands since 1840; when 
he first knew the ranch Julio lived in the old house, near mouth of 
the Canada. He still lived there in 1833. At present he lixed in the 


new house two or three miles southeast of the old, which is north of 
the partition line of 1861. Knew J. L. Rrent intimately; he spoke 
and understood Spanish and was a lawyer of repute. 

Saw cultivated fields near Julio's present residence for the first 
time last year. He was part owner of La Canada until sold to Scott 
and remembered a lawsuit that X'erdugo hrouji^bt ajjainst them for 
trespass. Was County Assessor for several terms previous to 1860; 
Julio made returns of the whole rancho for assessment, but it was 
always understood that it belonjfed to brother and sister. Was Colin- 
dente for several years. Never heard of any partition of the rancho. 

Manuel Garfias. a resident of San Pascual, testified he had 
known the San Rafael for twenty years. In 1843 Julio and family 
lived in the old ranch house. Julio and wife lived there until 1859. 
There was a vineyard and fields of grain near the old ranch house 
which were worked by Julio and his sons. Jacob Elias, the plaintiff, 
testified. Knew lands since 1852 or 1853. Julio, his wife and Catalina 
lived in the ok\ ranch house. Knew where the new house was. Was 
there at the time of the barley crop in August or September, 1861. 
Was no house there then. Had seen plantations west of the old house 
towards San Fernando. The oldest boy worked fields on his own 
hook, the others worked with their father. Had generally bought 
what grain they had to sell. Julio's new house is about three miles 
from the old ranch house. Never saw corrals or fields near the place 
of the new house until 1858. 

The note sued on was given for a bill for goods, for money paid 
for taxes, for provisions and seeds. A part was to pay for lumber 
used in Julio's new house at the Porto Suelo. Always dealt with 
Julio, never with Catalina. The mortgage was not signed by Julio's 
wife because I did not present it to her to sign. Mr. Drown (his at- 
torney) said that the point was settled by the Supreme Court, and 
that the signature of the wife was unnecessary if the property was in 

Manuel Uominguez told of his acquaintance with the ranch and 
the Verdugo family since 1850, and of fields towards San Fernando in 
the West. He was Prelect in 1832 and 1833. He did not know of any 
partition of the ranch. 

Francisco Sepulveda, a son-in-law of Julio, testified that lie had 
known the ranch for twenty years, and that Julio worked fields on 
both sides of the partition line, and lived at the old house at times, 
perhaps, for a year at a time. Julio used to sow on the north side of 
the line whenever he took a fancy. 

Jose Sepulveda testified that Julio lived in various places on the 
ranch and could scarcely be said to have a permanent home. Other 
testimony showed that Julio made his home frequently in jacales lo- 
cated where the crops were to be gathered. 

At another time Elias testified that he had been engaged in mer- 
chandising in Los Angeles for twelve years, i)ut was absent in Europe 
from 1858 to 1860. Julio and Catalina occupied the lands in com- 
mon, and resided together in the old house situated in the northwest 
part of the ranch, from 1852 to 1861. He was frequently at the ranch 

48 glendalp: and vicinity 

during the time of planting and harvesting, furnishing Julio with 
money for seeds, taxes, etc., taking in payment whatever produce he 
had to dispose of. 

The Judge of the court, Pablo de la Guerra. seems to have been in 
sympathy with the defendant Verdugo. and gave a decision in his 
favor, against the plaintiff, which was unsatisfactory to the plaintiff 
and an appeal was taken to the supreme court and in October, 1866. 
the judgment was reversed on the ground that, "We consider the 
demonstration that the occupation was joint and not several from 
1832 to 1861, when there was a formal partition by deed, so far com- 
plete as to justify a reversal." 

The findings of the Court on April 30, 1864, shows that the de- 
cree awarded Elias the sum of $10,795 and goes on to state that, Julio 
and Catalina Verdugo had I)een in possession and had made division 
before the lands came under the United States government; that 
Catalina resided on the north half containing the old family resi- 
dence. That Julio moved to, and built on. and resided with his wife 
and family on the southern half; that the same was duly recorded as 
their homestead in April, 1861. Court finds that plaintiff is entitled 
to foreclosure on La Canada ; defendant to a homestead on San Ra- 
fael. Then, the Court adds an opinion: "Under the Me.xican gov- 
ernment and law a parole division of land followed by pt)Ssession was 
as binding as one made in writing. That under the customs and 
usages, as they prevailed in California, it is within the knowledge of 
the court that division of ranches among heirs were seldom reduced 
to writing. They were nearly always verbal and when followed by 
possession were always considered valid and binding on the parties. 

There were seldom any fences or enclosures to mark the division 
of estates. There were few law books and less lawyers in California 
while the country was under the Mexico government. The country 
was governed to a great extent by custom. Contracts and even sales 
of real estate were generally verbal resting on custom and the good 
faith of the primitive people. Under such a system, it cannot well 
be doubted that a division of land by parole was as valid as it would 
have been by written instrument in due form." — Pablo de la Guerra. 
District Judge. 

Appeal seems to have been made principally on the grounds that 
defendant should not have been awarded the homestead. Judge de la 
Guerra denying the motion for a new trial and being overruled by 
the higher court as stated above. The case was tried and tried again. 
On June 3, 1865, another decision awards Elias the sum of $15,955.02, 
with interest from May 26. 1865, at three jier cent a month. Then fol- 
lowed more legal battling until the final decision of February 4, 1869, 
by which the plaintiff was awarded the siun of $56,878.21 and an or- 
der for sale of the projierty issued. 

Lawyers fees and other charges swelled this total to $58,750. 
for which amount the property was sold to .Alfred B. Chapman on 
March 8. 1869, by Thomas Sanchez, Sheriff. By stipulation it was 
agreed that the purchaser should deed back to Verdugo a homestead 
of 200 acres surrounding the residence that he occupied at that time. 


By this conveyance to liiiii 1)\ Chapman. Julio retained 98 acres of 
level land on the west side ol X'erdiigo Road, and 102 acres, mostly 
hilly on the east-side opposite, wiiere iiis luiuse stood. 

Althougfii the mortgage given by Julio purported to cover all his 
interest in both La Canada and San Rafael ranches, it is evident that 
his interest in the former was not recognized by the court in render- 
ing final judgment, although the interest of Catalina (who had not 
joined in the mortgage) was concecled. The property afterwards 
owned and occupied by the family in Verdugo Canyon was acquired 
by transfer from Catalina to Teodoro, a son of Julio. This include<i 
the old homestead at the "Cienega" where the old adobe still stands. 

There were several instances where deeds were given by brother 
and sister, and the heirs of Julio, followed, almost immediately, by 
filing of suits to set the same aside, in some instances with apparent 
success, but the record is so confused by these contradictory trans- 
actions that the ultimate outcome is difficult to trace. Even the 200 
acres did not remain intact for any considerable time, as a portion 
of the allotment on the west side of the road passed into the posses- 
sion of C. V. Howard, one of the Verdugo attorneys. 

Within a year after the final decision, by the way, Howard was 
shot and killed in Los .\ngeles by Dan Nichols. 

Don Julio continued to live in the adobe built by his wife at 
Porto Suelo. for seven years after the loss of the bulk of his princely 
estate; remembered by Judge Ross, Sam Hunter, Jose Olivas and a 
few of the surviving pioneers of that time, as a picturesque character 
generally described as traveling on horseback around the valley 
dressed in the quaint costume of the Spanish cabellero, and making 
almost daily visits to Los Angeles, usually accompanied by one or 
more of his sons, similarly mounted but not so consjiicuously 


About the first transfer we find in the records, made l)y Julio 
Verdugo, is one written in Spanish by which for a consideration of 
$4,000 Verdugo deeds to J. ll. I'rcnt, the Rancho .Santa F.ulalia, on 
December 18, 1855. This does not appear to convey all of the ranch, 
however, for another transfer api)ears, dated January 5, 1858, also to 
Brent, conveying "a part of the Rancho Santa luilalia." The first 
deed is signed by Julio only. The second names a consideration of 
$2,000 and is signed by Julio and Catalina, the latter by mark. 

On January 11, 1858, the record of a deed appears conveying cer- 
tain lands to J. R. Scott, consideration $2,000. This document is 
signed by Julio, Catalina and Maria Jesus Romero (Julio's wife), the 
two latter by mark. 

January 12, 1858, J. L. Brant deeded to J. R. Scott, land described 
as follows: "Between the sierra de la Verdugos on the north and the 
river of Los Angeles on the south to the west of a line drawn 21.06 
chains from the southwest corner of house of Fernando Verdugo 
course northwest ; with right to convey water." 

On January 11, 1858, J. R. Scott conveyed to Julio and Catalina 


Verdugo, for a consideration of $2,000, Rancho La Canada, conveyed 
to Coronel by Micheltoreno in 1843. This transfer appears to have 
been the outcome of a suit against Coronel, brought by Verdugo who 
claimed both La Canada and San Rafael by the grant of 1784, but 
which was given to Coronel by Governor Micheltoreno, in apparent 
disregard of the first grant. 

On November 15, 1853, Jose Desidero Ybarra and Maria de Jesus 
Belerina Lorenzana, executed a document giving F. Melius and J. R. 
Scott the right to build a zanja and conduct water to a mill, the lo- 
cation of which is uncertain. 

August 10, 1864, Catalina deeded to one Carabajal for a con- 
sideration of $100 land described as follows : Bounded on the east by 
the road of the Arrastraderos, on the west by the river, on the south 
by certain place called La Lomita. The north boundary to com- 
prise a certain place called Las Tunas and from there to the "Eva- 
bija" and from thence to the house of Fernando Verdugo and the 
river of Los Angeles. This was re-conveyed by Carabajal to Ver- 
dugo on August 14, 1867. 

On August 14, 1867, Teodoro \'erdugo conveyed to Catalina his 
undivided half interest in property described as follows: Bounded on 
the south by a sycamore tree near fence of party of first part; on 
the east by the cuchilla of Francisco Maria to the Sierra Madre; on 
the north and west by another cuchilla of old rancho to beginning — 
being same tract conveyed to first party by deed August 2, 1864. This 
all came back to Teodoro by deed given by Catalina, under date of 
August 24, 1868, when she conveyed t<> him land bounded "On the 
north by the Sierra Madre; on the east by the Arroyo Seco; on the 
south by the Los .Angeles river ; on the west and northwest by Los 
Angeles river and Rancho Providencia, descrilsing both ranches, con- 
taining six leagues more or less." 

November 30, 1868, Julio's nine sons gave a deed to C. V. Howard 
''their attorney) "all right, title and interest" in both ranches. 

June 21, 1870, Catalina deeded to C. E. Thorn, "the undivided 
half of each ranch." Thoin afterwards deeded back certain portions, 
comprising an excess of what was intended to be conveyed in the first 

Julio's wife, Maria de Jesus, died April, 1872, aged 98 years. 
And on January, 1876, passed the sou! of Don Julio, his body being 
carried to the Church of the Archangel at San Gabriel where it was 
interred with the numerous members of his family of the same and 
preceding generations that had gone liefore. According to his own 
word he was 88 years old at the time of his death, but the San Ga- 
briel record bears evidence of uncertainty as is shown by the follow- 
ing extract : "Julio Verdugo, die 14 Enero de 1876 hijo Jose Ma. 
Verdugo and I'lncarnacion de Lopez, native of Mexico a la edad 
de 80 anos." 

Catalina V^erdugo was born at San Gabriel in 1782, and died 
June 1, 1871. She never married. During the last few years of her life 
she was blind as the result of smallpox. Her property. La Canada, 
escaped foreclosure when the San Rafael was lost to Julio. She made 


a large number of conveyances and in several instances brought suit 
to cancel the same. In the suit brought in March, 1870. asking for a 
partition of the ranch among various claimants, it was stated that 
there were involved some thirty conveyances made bj' Catalina and 
four or five by Julio. It would seem that eventually Catalina had 
nothing left, but her kindness to her favorite nephew Teodoro to 
whom she had conve3-ed a tract of about 2,700 acres, secured her a 
home and care in her old age as she testified in the case above men- 
tioned, that Teodoro had tal<en care of her, "although he had a large 
family of his own." 

Teodoro was living in the adobe in Verdugn Canyon in 1870 
and probably for a considerable number of years, previously, re- 
maining there with his family until his death in 1904, after which his 
estate was divided among the heirs, whr) dis])osed of it from time to 
time, with the exception of a small portion on Verdugo Canyon Road, 
upon which a new house was erected in which resides the widow of 
Teodoro and his youngest daughter, Mrs. Bullock. 




The period covered by the succeeding sub-division of this work 
is alluded to as "The Municipality of Glendale" but the development 
of the section now covered b)- the city antedates the creation of the 
municipality by about 25 years. The story of this development be- 
gins about 1880. Southern California at this time was just starting 
to grow and the decade then beginning was marked by an astonish- 
ing increase, not only in population, but also in the material develop- 
ment of the country, that outranked all precedent. This is indicated 
to some extent by the fact that the assessed valuation of the county 
of Los Angeles outside the city was about $20,000,000 in 1880, and 
this had risen in 1887 to $63,000,000. This last named year, however, 
witnessed the collapse of the "boom," and in 1890 values had almost 
gone back to their starting point. But the influx of people although 
greatly decreased in number did not cease, for although the tourist 
crop was almost negligible for several years, the home builders con- 
tinued to come in steadily. 

The Southern Pacific railroad connecting San Francisco with Los 
Angeles had been completed in 1876, but had no appreciable effect 
upon conditions in the south as compared with the completion of that 
line to a connection with the Santa Fe System in 1881. The author of 
this work speaks from personal recollection of this period as he trav- 
eled over this route in June, 1881. At that time the Southern Pacific 
rails were laid to Deming, New Mexico, where connection was made 
with the Santa Fe system, a change of cars being necessary; it was 
also necessary that time ])ieces be changed from Midwest to Pacific 
coast time, and vice versa, a difference of two hnurs; standard time 
not having at that time been adopted. 

Los Angeles had then a population of about 10,000 people, but a 
change was soon noticeable on the streets of the sleepy town, as new 
faces were seen on the streets daily. One of the elements entering 
into the great influx of people during this period was the competition 
between the railroad companies which culminated in the rate war of 
1886. Trans-continental fares were as low as twenty-five dollars one 


way for several iiionths and duriiiuf one crazy week they went down 
to one dollar for transportation between Kansas City and Los An- 
greles. This rate actually held for only one day but for several days 
the ticket agents sold tickets for almost any price that the traveler 
cared to pay. The accommodations furnished during this period were 
not such as in themselves would lure anyone to leave the comforts 
of home and take to the rail in search of a pleasant experience. In 
three years of this period, from 1884 to 1887, ])roperty values in the 
county increased 300 per cent. New town-sites were started in every 
direction and the greatest wonder in connection with the matter is 
that so many of them ct)ntinued to not only exist but to prosi)er as 
quite a number of them have. Glcndale was not a "borun" town, but 
it had its experience in fluctuating values. 

M. ].. Wicks was, in 1880. a I-os Angeles attorney who although 
apparently having fair success in the practice of his profession, was 
also a gentleman of vision, and early in the boom era began to specu- 
late in real estate and the records, from 1881 to 1887, show that in 
the number of real estate transactions during that period he was well 
along in the race for leadership. 

The writer remembers Mr. Wicks as a smof)th spoken gent'eman, 
typical of the southern state from whence he came. When last heard 
from he was residing in Ventura county and if he still lives is the last 
of the quartette. Wicks, Wright, Hodgkins and Watts, to survive. 
These four men opened up the valley in which Glendale now stands, 
to settlement. E. T. Wright was a surveyor, at one time serving as 
County Surveyor. He had an oRice, at the period spoken of, in the old 
Downey Block, at the junction of Temple and Main Streets, torn 
down to make way for the Federal building now standing there. As 
a surveyor, doing a large business in that line, Mr. Wright had ex- 
ceptional chances for posting himself upon "good things" in the way 
of land investments and he and Mr. Wicks were the two most active 
members of the combine. C. H. Watts was a Pasadena capitalist 
and Mr. E. II. Hodgkins was also a retired capitalist of Los .'\ngeles, 
lured out of retirement by the ])rospects of fortune getting, which 
were never much better than at the time spoken of. 

The subdivisions made by these men appear on all the maps of 
Glendale, particularly in the eastern portion and in the Tropico sec- 
tion. Before alluding further to their particular work along this line, 
however, it may be well to refer to a few of the early settlers who 
preceded these sidjdividers. On the San Fernando Road were located 
John W. Cook, an old Indian fighter who died about 1915, John Hodg- 
son and Robert Devine. All of these men had consideral)le acreage. 
Cook and Hodgson being on the north side of the road and Devine on 
the south. Hodgson was a G. A. R. veteran, a good quiet citizen who 
took no part in public affairs. Robert Devine was a pioneer of '49, a 
sturdy Irishman, respected by all who knew him. 

W. C. B. Richardson was living with his family in a commodious 
two-story house l.ietween the railroad and the river in the center of his 
Santa Eulalia ranch which he had owned since 1868, having purchased 
the seven hundred and more acres for $2,500. 


On what is now Glendale avenue extending west to Central was 
the acreage belonging to H. J. Crow, improved by orange orchards 
and on which at that time (1880) the now immense eucalyptus trees 
were probably five years old. On the foothills between Verdugt) 
Canon and Casa Verdugo were the ranches of C. E. Thorn and E. M. 
Ross, with a large acreage already planted to citrus and other fruit 
trees. Westward of these ranches was the home of Fernando Sepul- 
veda, a son-in-law of Julio Verdugo, and further westward the "San- 
chez place."' On both of these stood then the original abode build- 
ings, and on both were orchards of bearing fruit trees. On the more 
easterly one. the "Casa \^erdugo," alone, survives the adobe build- 
ing. On what is now West Broadway, near the San Fernando Road, 
was the Bulb's place of forty acres and near to it also in the vineyard 
of 120 acres which these two and John Woolsey had planted on the 
shares for Andrew Glassell, were the homes of Woolsey and I'eter 
Bachman. .\long \'erdugo Road were a few places of small acreage, 
occupied by several members of the \^erdugo family and relatives. 
One of these on the east side of the road by a large rock, was the 
original homestead of Julio Verdugo, occupied in 1880 by his son. 
Jose Maria \'erdugo II. then a man of about 65 years of age. On the 
west side of the road a little further north was the home of Joaquin 
Chabolla, whose wife was a daughter of Julio, and who at this time 
(1922) still survives, the last of her family, at an age of nearly 100 

A picture of the section that became Glendale is that given by 
one of the pioneers, Mr. Wesley H. Hullis. who as a boy came to the 
valley in 1880, with his father P. H. Bulbs, and other members of the 
family, occupying forty acres on West Broadway near San Fernando 
Road : "It didn't take long to count all the houses that were then in 
sight. We could see two adobe houses over on the Los Feliz ranch, 
then there was a four-room house on the Crow ranch (Lomita Park 
now). On the Thom and Ross ranches were two board houses. 
West of Thom's was the adobe house of Fernando Sepulveda and still 
further west the 'Sanchez ])lace' where there was another adobe. 
J. W. Cook and the Hunters were living, the first on San Fernando 
Road and the others near the river and at the junction of \'erdugo 
Road and San Fernando. 

"That is about all I can recall except some small houses occupied 
by Mexicans over about 'Portosuelo' along V^erdugo Road. H. J. 
Crow had orchards of pear, peach and seedling orange trees, four or 
five years old. The eucalyptus trees that now stand along Lomita 
Avenue, were at that time I should judge, about ten years old. The 
family of J. F. Dunsmoor moved in soon after we arrived ; they occu- 
pied a house that stood under a big oak tree between the railroad 
track and the river. The school house was on Verdugo Road at about 
the corner of Wilson Avenue. The Dunsmoor boys furnished one 
horse and I another and a wagon and after clearing a road through 
the cactus we drove to and from school. This was in 1881 ; the 
teacher was a Miss Levering who boarded at Dunsmoores. About 
two years after this we were very much disgusted one day to find that 


they had built a store right in (Uir road at what is imw Glendale 
Avenue and Wilson; we had to clear out more cactus to get around it. 
Roy Lanternian (now 'Dr.') was one of the pupils at the Verdugo 
Road school ; he rode on horseback between the school house and his 
home at La Canada. 

"W'e used to have a good deal of trouble with a buncli of Chileans 
who lived over near the river. There was several families of them 
and they had accumulated in some way a hundred head of horses, 
cattle and other stock. Their horses ran wild and every now and then 
my father would catch one on his land and make the owner pay a dol- 
lar to get it again. They didn't like him at all. 

"One morning I saw a jirocession coming down the road tuw.-irds 
Los Angeles, that certainly made an odd picture. It was the exodus 
of the Chileans; they had all their live stock, humans and otherwise, 
driving the animals along in a cloud of dust with two or three carts 
drawn by oxen loaded with their possessions. They disappeared in 
the dust toward Los Angeles and we never heard of them afterwards 
and we were certainly glad to have them go." 

The story told of hfiw Mr. Bullis and some others acquired their 
land is interesting : 

Mr. Andrew Glassell owned a large tract of land l)uunded on the 
east by Central .\venue and extending to the I^os Angeles river. Of 
this land there were si.x forty-acre tracts east of the Southern Pacific 
Railroad, and four others on the west side of the railroad tracks. Mr. 
(ilassell entered into contracts covering the six pieces east of the rail- 
road, with P. H. Bullis, Peter Bachman and John \\'oolsey; and with 
[. F. Dunsmoor and Mike Hayes on the other side covering the 160 
acres there. In accordance with these contracts each of the five men 
named was to plant, care for and bring into bearing forty acres of 
vineyard within four years. Mr. (jlassell furnished the vines. Each 
was to receive when his part of the contract was fulfilled, a deed to 
an adjoining forty acres of land. It was also provided that in case 
the plantings were not a success, the land to be given for the work 
was to be in proportion to the number of growing vines, as for in- 
stance if only seventy-five per cent of the vines grew, the land re- 
ceived by the planters was to be seventy-five per cent of the forty 
acres, etc. The plantings by Mr. Bullis were so successful that at 
the end of two and a half years his planting was 100 ]jer cent perfect, 
and Mr. Glassell presented him with a deed to his forty acres. 

This forty acres was the most northerly portion of the tract along 
Broadway; adjoining it on the south was the forty acres planted l)y 
John Woolsey, and below that the forty planted by Peter Bachman. 
These two last named also made good and received their deeds. ( )n 
the other side oi the track J. E. Dunsmoor received something less 
than forty acres and Mr. Hayes failed entirely. 

The property that Hayes planted was bought by George 1'". 
Woodward about 1884. Mr. Woodward was a G. .\. K. veteran and 
an active worker, practicularly in the church, among the pioneers. 
He was appointed a member of the Los Angeles police force abnut 
1886 and after twenty years of service was retired, a few j'cars ago. 


and still survives. One of the early settlers was J. \V. C. IJuchanan, 
who had five acres of land adjoining the school house, .\fter his 
death this propertv was sold to Mr. Richardson for $1,500. This was 
about 1898. 

It was into this valley under the conditions described above that 
Wicks, Wright, Watts and Hodgkins came early in 1883. On March 
fourth of that year Benjamin Dreyfus, of Anaheim, conveyed to the 
four persons named above, a tract of land containing 8,424.3.^ acres ex- 
cepting only a small tract formerly conveyed to one Wilson; the pur- 
chase price being $50,000, of which sum $12,500 was paid down and 
the balance in tuo years. This land was classified as follous: 

A — Under the city ditch (described above) 195 acres. Under 
Verdugo water, 305 acres, each acre of this 500 being rated as irriga- 
ble land at $50 an acre. 

B — In front of H. J. Crow (now Lomita Park) and adjoining the 
above, and in vallcv west of land of Beaudrv, 1300 acres, eacli acre 
rated at $13.00. 

C — Other land, about 6,400 acres, to be rated at $1.30 per acre. 
Seller to give deeds on above basis at above rate. All mineral and 
coal rights reserved. 

Dreyfus reserved to himself 30 or 40 acres along the railroad 
under city ditch at $60, an acre. On April 10, 1883. Dreyfus made 
another transfer U> the quartette of a tract containing 1.357.10 acres. 
This was "on the east side of the rancho"; also another tract of 
368.35 acres, and yet another of 436.39, this last being the hills along 
the west side of \'erdugo Road reaching over westerly into the Tro- 
pico section. The consideration for the above was $2,810.43. The low 
valuation placed upon most of the property conveyed by Dreyfus 
as above, was due to the fact that the decree of partition had allotted 
all the water of the X'erdugo canyon stream arising in the "Cienega on 
the West side of the Verdugo canyon" to the naturally irrigable 
lands of the ranch and the high lands not so capable of irrigation from 
open ditches were considered practically valueless. These hill lands 
(or more correctly "bench"' lands) were offered by the new t)wners 
in 1883 at a price of from $5 to $12 per acre with but little demand. 
The price for the other lands, fixed bv the new owners, was about 
$100 per acre. 

On May 28, 1883, M. L. Wicks acquired from \'alentine Mand 
500 acres "and one twentieth of the water of Verdugo Canyon." This 
was the property adjfiining the Thom ranch on the west and included 
the former property of Rafael \'erdugo de Sepulveda, a daughter of 
Julio Verdugo, with the old homestead known in later years as "Casa 

This property w as later sold to George Baugh, a retired Church 
of England clergvman, who in turn sold it to J. D. Bliss, who built the 
large house now standing on the i)roperty and sold it to Mr. James 
McMillan of the Pacific f^lectric Company. 

On August 4, 1883. .Mr. Wicks acquired from J. U. Hunter, 30^? 
acres adjoining the above named property on the west, described as 
"being the west half of (except the north 50 acres) a tract of land 


conveyed by A. Briswalter t<> X^nlentiiie Mand Se]iteml)er 6. 1882." 
This conveyance included the "Sanchez Place," a well improveil j)rop- 
erty on which was another adobe residence in jjood condition, which 
was occupied for several years thereafter by the successive owners 
of the property, among which the writer remembers the names of 
Elijah Taylor and Mr. Sinjjleton. This property was further de- 
scribed as being- "bounded on the north and west by the pro()erty of 
Beaudry and Burbank." The consideration was named as $9,000. 

September 6, hSSo. Watts, Hodgkins and Wright conveyed to 
Wicks a three-fourths interest in Lots 44 and 60 of Watts subdivision 
of 88.50 acres with water rights. Mr. Wicks had a proper apprecia- 
tion of the value of \'erdugo Canyon water rights and profited there- 
by. He acquired some acreage to which no water rights had been as- 
signed and so transferred and divided his accumulated water shares 
that some of his land deeded to him and Iiis associates by Dreyfus 
and rated as belonging to Class B. \alued at $1,^.00 an acre, at once 
moved automatically into Class A at $50 an acre. 

It was the latter part of 1883 when the influx of settlers began 
to move into the valley. One of the first transfers b)- Wicks to a 
pioneer of that period was on December tenth when he sold a large 
tract of land to Martha F. Morgan; this was on what is now Colum- 
bus Avenue in the vicinity of the school house. Dr. J. S. Morgan was 
a well known physician in Los Angeles, and in active practice until a 
sliort time before his death in 1921. On Decemlier twelfth Wright 
sold ten acres to Lewis Riley, in the Tropico district. Mr. Riley was 
one of the active "first settlers" of that time. In 1884 among transfers 
made by him, were those to Le Maire in North Glendale, to Duncan. 
Dubois, Butterfield, Darracolt, Chandler, Sanders. Casterline and 
Siddons. He also sold to Col. A. S. Moore in that year, a tract of land 
at the west end of what is now known as Palmer .Vvenue, although 
originally the street was known as Moore .Avenue. Col. Mc)ore de- 
served more than the naming of a street in his honor. He was a 
wounded veteran of the Civil War, almost incapacitated by his in- 
juries physically, but mentally active and jiublic spirited. He was the 
first president of the V'erdugo Canyon Water Company, and its prin- 
cipal organizer. He died in 1920 at Balboa Beach. 

Land was being sold also by the other partners. .Among the 
transfers of 1885, were those from Wright to W. G. Watson and to 
J. E. Fiske. Mr. \\'atson secured a home at that time on the southeast 
corner of Verdugo Road and Colorado street. Mr. Fiske bought on 
Le.xington Avenue, west of Verdugo Road, afterwards subdividing 
his property. He was a teacher of vocal music and is remembered 
by some of the survivors of those "early settlers" as a man of fine 
presence and a singer of unusual excellence. 

Wright also sold al)out this time a ten-acre tract on Windsor 
Road, east of Adams Street, to W. G. Shaw, whose wife is a sister of 
Mr. J. M. Banker, well known in Cjlendale. Mr. Shaw had been a 
member of the, at that time, well known firm of Willcox and Shaw, 
with an office on Spring Street, Los .Angeles, successful dealers, who 
were about the first in their line of business ti> offer the public lots in 


Hollywood. He took an active part in Glendale affairs and after- 
wards moved to Denver from which place he and family have recently 
returned to California. 

The initial activity of the four men referred to above, resulted in 
the sale of other lands outside the acreage covered by their transac- 
tions. In 1880, J. C. Sherer had bought five acres on \'erdugo Road 
near the present city's southeastern corner, of Santiago Juvero for 
fifty dollars an acre. A short time afterwards he bought an additional 
12 acres adjoining his first purchase, from Cynthia J. Dunsmoor, wife 
of C. H. Dunsmoor who later became County Clerk. For this he 
paid $100 per acre. In the spring of 1883 he moved on to his purchase 
and about the same time. Mr. S. I. Mayo bought and occujiied with his 
family a twelve-acre piece adjoining on the north and about the same 
time Mr. S. C. Hollenbeck bought and moved on to another twelve- 
acre tract on the south. 

These three pieces of property were located on the 200-acre tract 
of land deeded back to Julio Verdugo by A. B. Chapman, when the 
latter acquired Verdugo's remaining interest in the ranch when it 
was sold to satisfy a mortgage in 1869. The original Julio Verdugo 
homestead was on the east side of the road opposite the three proper- 
ties named. This adobe house was built by Julio's wife in 1835. this 
portion of the valle}' being known at that time and up to the time of 
the movement in real estate here spoken of, as Porto Suelo. 

One morning in 1883 one of the new settlers on his morning 
horseback ride into Los Angeles, where he was employed, was startled 
at discovering on a slight hillside along the X'erdugo Road, near the 
present crossing of the Eagle Rock car line, the Ixxly of a Mexican. 
The man looked so natural that the first impression of the traveler 
was that here was another drunken man sleeping oflf the effects of a 
night's carousal. An examination of the body disclosed the fact that 
the man was dead. Mounting his horse again the ])asser-by rode on 
towards Los Angeles and soon met Dr. Reini Xadeau. then the Coro- 
ner of the County, hurrying out to the scene. The Coroner's inquest 
developed the storj'. The dead man was named Garcia, a wood cut- 
ter from the hills who had on the daj- previous driven his team into 
the city with a load of wood, probably grease wood roots, for sale. 
He disposed of his wood and was in possession of a twenty-dollar 
piece when in the evening he on returning stopped at the "Summit 
Saloon" on the San Fernando Road. There he met a neighbor, one 
Martinez, who lived in \'erdugo canyon near the Judge Ross property. 
Garcia's exhibition of his gold piece aroused desire in the heart of his 
neighbor to possess it and as they rode homew ard in the dusk of the 
evening, he shot Garcia through the heart, took the body out oi the 
wagon, placed it on the roadside and drove off with the dead man's 
team and money. The case against Martinez was so plain that he was 
presently convicted and was soon afterwards hanged in the old jail 
yard at the corner of Spring and Franklin Streets, .\nother criminal, 
one Silvas was hanged at the same time, these being the last official 
hangings that took place in Los Angeles, the law soon afterwards 
being changed requiring that executions be at the penitentiary. It 


was a year or two later that a rage crazed man named Craig killed his 
wife in the Hunter ranch house near the river and then hurrying 
into Los Angeles went to the home of her parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. D. 
Hunter, and shot and killed both of them. The latter shooting took 
place at a little house on North Broadway, still standing near the 
Hospital of the University of Southern California. Craig was hanged 
at San Quentin. In 1898, Pedro Lopez, stepfather of J. D. Olivas, 
was shot and killed one Sunday morning as he sat in a chair in front 
of his house on Verdugo Road, by an assassin who rode by in a buggy 
and emptied the contents of a shotgun into the old man's body. What 
the assumed provocation was, is not now recalled. In the minds of 
the jurors, it was imaginary if it existed at all. The punishment 
meted out to the murderer, one Leiva, was a sentence of fifteen years 
in the penitentiary from which he was released some years ago. 

One more instance of crimes of violence that occurred about this 
period, will suffice to show that the valley was not as peaceful in the 
early eighties as might be inferred, if the historian passed such affairs 
by and spoke only of the growth and development of the community. 
At this time "Colonel" G. J. Griffith was residing at his homestead on 
the Los Feliz ranch (Griffith Park), enjoying the lite of a country 
gentleman, keeping a pack of hounds with which he hunted wild- 
cats in the hills, and coursed jack rabbits through where Glendale 
now stands. Dr. Sketchley had introduced ostriches to Southern 
California from South Africa, and associated with him in some capac- 
ity was a man named I'eauchamp, who met Col. Griffith and suc- 
ceeded in interesting him and others in the establishing of an ostrich 
farm at Griffith Park. For a brief time the venture seemed to promise 
success, a narrow gauge railroad was built connecting the "farm" 
with Los Angeles and for a season the place was a popular Sunday 
resort. The venture collapsed, however, and went the way of other 
"boom" enterprises along about 1887. 

It is probable that his business reverses affected Beauchamp's 
mind and he conceived the idea that Griffith had wronged him and he 
took measures to secure revenge. Being familiar with the daily habits 
of the latter, he met him one afternoon as he was driving home along 
Buena Vista Street, near the Catholic cemetery. His intented vic- 
tim saw him in time, however, to make a quick get-a-way, escaping 
by way of the cemetery fence. Beauchamp fired one barrel of his 
shotgun at Griffith's retreating figure, doing no particular damage. 
Whether he thought his object accomplished and his enemy dead or 
not, will never be known to mortal, for he fired the other barrel at his 
own head with terribly fatal effect. At the Coroner's jury it was 
shown that Beauchamp had loaded one barrel with buckshot and the 
other with bird shot apparently in doubt as to whether he wanted to 
kill or only slightly injure his man. At any rate it was evident that 
Griffith's life was saved by the fact that the charge of bird shot was 
the one sent after him instead of the more deadly contents of the 
other barrel. 

Although the greater part of the valley was covered with sage 
brush, cactus and similar growth, there were here and there cleared 


spaces of several acres in extent on which crops of barley were grown, 
and after harvest time sheep were g^razing. The roads were a mere 
succession of parallel wagon tracks running in the same general direc- 
tion, deep dust in summer and mud in winter. On the adobe soil 
rank crops of wild mustard grew, the golden bloom of which in its 
season gave brightness and beauty to the landscajjc. Here and there 
where conditions were favorable there were clumps (»f live oaks and in 
the canyons a few sycanu)re trees showed the ajiproach of moisture 
to the surface. 

In Verdugo Canyon, the a|)i)earance of nature was much as it re- 
mains today except for the few acres of vineyard, which the Verdugos 
had planted, and the small pieces of cultivated ground where beans, 
melons and a few other vegetables were grown. 

On May 31. 1870, .\. H. Chapman deeded to O. W. Childs a one- 
eighth interest in that portion of the ranch which he had acquired at 
foreclosure sale and in a subsequent division o( their interests, Childs 
acquired a tract in the choicest section of the ranch, containing 371 
acres, known ever since and of record as the "Childs Tract." The 
well known "Childs Tract line" which runs straight through Glendale 
from Windsor Koad northward, was the eastern boundary of this 
tract. In 1876, jirobably because of financial stringency, he disposed 
of a half interest in it to I. W. Hellman, the well known banker. In 
1882 this property was subdivided into lots, containing each ten 
acres, except where in the westerly tier a variation from this rule was 
necessary owing to the northeasterly trend of the w-esterly line, 
which was the easterly boundary of Glendale Avenue, the old "Ca- 
mino del Astradero." 

This tract has played such an important part in the history of 
Glendale that its development may properly be taken as typical of 
the growth of the surrounding neighborhood in the lively days of the 
middle eighties. Chance brought together in Los .Angeles a trio of 
home seekers from the middle west, E. T. Byram, B. F. Patterson 
and G. W. Phelon. Mr. Phelon was the first to pass away without 
seeing anything mure than the opening cha])ter of the story in which 
he played an important part, but the other two survived him several 
years, each being an active particijjant in the work of planting or- 
chards and vineyards and building homes and later in bringing into 
being the city in the surprising growth of which both played imjjor- 
tant parts and in which they took a well justified pride. 

May 10, 1883, Hellman and Childs sold to the three men named 
above thirteen pieces of land in the tract aggregating 123 acres, with 
appurtenant water rights in the water of Verdugo Canj'on. The con- 
sideration named was $10,593. On May 2i. 1883, Childs and Hellman 
sold to J. C. Ivins, for a consideration of $6,800. seven other lots in 
the tract consisting of 70 acres. In Uecember, 1886, Ivins sold this 
piece of land to Byram, Patterson & Miller for $15,300. This was on 
the eastern side of the tract and was subdivided by the jjurchasers 
and became of record as the Byram, i'atterson & Miller tract. 

In October, 1885, L. C. Miller bought lr)ts 21 and 25, at this time 
being the southeast corner of .Adams and Colorado streets, building 

Byrain Ktsidence in ly.2() and (above) 
in 1897. 


the house that still stands and occupying it with his family until 
they moved away, selling to R. Williams and others. 

In 1883, S. E. Chase and family arrived from Rochester, New 
York, purchasing from Childs and Hellman ten acres on Glendale 
Avenue^ located at what is now the northeast corner of Mai)le street. 
This property afterwards passed into the possession of Wilmot Par- 
cher, the first "Mayor" of Glendale. Mr. Chase was one of the active 
citizens of the community, serving for some time as Road overseer, 
of the district. He died several years ago leaving a widow who still 
survives, and two sons, one of whom is Dr. R. E. Chase, the well 
known phjsician, the other Mr. W. E. Chase of Los Angeles. 

Another property owner in the Childs Tract about that time v>as 
Mr. E. B. Rivers, who afterwards established the well known Los 
Angeles firm of Rivers Brothers. 

.An early settler on the cast side was Mr. (i. W. Benson \vho had 
a number of acres at what is now the eastern boundary line of the 
city. Among other improvements made by Mr. Benson was the 
sinking of one of the first successful wells in the valley. 

The names mentioned heretofore are of those who came to the 
\ alley, of which the original Glendale was a part, in 1883 and before. 
From this time on it will be too great a task to attempt to give the 
names of the pioneers, as they came too rajjidl}'. The pioneers of 
the same era, who settled in what was later known as Tropico, will 
be found mentioned in the "Story of Tropico." In mentioning the 
names of the men who were the heads of the families, and who did 
so much to start the settlement on the career of development which 
has never since ceased, the historian can do no less in justice to 
the wives and daughters of these pioneers, than to say that in every 
way possible they gave the fullest and most cheerful support to the 
work of general welfare and upbuilding. It was indeed principally 
through their initiative and intelligent efforts that the churches were 
established and their houses were thrown open to public entertain- 
ments for the benefit oi these institutions, which were in the days of 
their early histor}- (juite a burden, though willingly borne, upon their 
small membershi]). 

These early settlers not only cleared their lands of underbrush 
and the wild natural growth generally, but nearly all of thein had 
visions of a pleasant and profitable existence supported by the output 
of vineyard and orchard, and the vision soon caused a veritable illus- 
tration of that poet's dream where the "desert blossomed as the 
rose." The fifty foot lot was as yet unknown, although they s.jon be- 
came sufficiently numerous as the days of the "boom" ai)proached and 
burst upon the quiet almosphere oi the rural communit}-. Hut during 
the first decade of the settlement nearly every home was surrounded 
by orchards, princijially of peach, apricot and prune with a lesser 
acreage of oranges and lemons, the latter principally along the foot 
hills. But the raising of fruit was never a profitable business in the 
valley and those who actually made mrmey out of it were the few who 
not only produced it but peddled it as well, quite a number of the 


growers carrying their produce to the early morning market of Los 

There were a few large fruit drying plants in the valley, the 
"plants" consisting of a large number of wooden trays, six by three, 
and a box for sulphuring the fruit, these being moved from place to 
place yearly. The output of dried peaches, prunes and apricots was 
quite large for several years. 

In 1892, '93 and '94 a co-operative drying concern was operated 
by the growers. The first year it was fairly successful but this was 
a period of very low prices all over the country and the last year of 
its operation, there was practically no market for the fruit and the 
"Union" went out of business, the growers failing in many cases to 
realize anything on their crops. The "drying field" for this concern 
was on the south side of Broadway (then Fourth Street) opposite the 
present location of the City Hall, where trays were, at the height of 
the season, spread over two or three acres of ground. 

A report of this organization for 1894 shows fruit handled as fol- 
lows: Apricots, green fruit 228,606 pounds, making when dried, 41,- 
809 pounds, netting the grower for the green fruit $8.80 a ton. Peaches 
325,112 pounds green, 46,093 dried; netting the grower $5.57 per ton 
for the green fruit. Prunes, 52,093 green, 19,793 dried ; net to grower 
$16.37 per ton. 

In the present era of high prices it is difficult to realize that in 
the years mentioned the retail price of dried fruit in the markets of 
the middle west was from five to seven cents a pound. 

The "Glendale Improvement Society" is alluded to elsewhere, 
but we find much more in its brief record than the long drawn out 
but successful efiforts to secure transportation between the settlement 
and Los Angeles. Among the membership of this organization, the 
following names appear under date of September, 1886: E. T. Byram, 
R. F. Patterson, L. \V. Riley, I. M. Clippinger, A. S. Hollingsworth, 
H. N. larvis, H. H. Rubens, J. D. Lindgren, J. W. C. Buchanan, A. A. 
Wolf, H. J. Crow, I. D. Hullis, S. A. Ayres, A. S. Gilbert, J. F. Duns- 
moor, J. C. Sherer'. L. C. Miller, W. G. Watson, S. I. Mayo, G. W. 
Woodward, G. W. Barber, Mrs. E. M. Bowler. 

Even at that early date the society appointed a committee to see 
about getting the name "Mason" changed to "Glendale." 

The interests of the fruit growers were being looked after, as a 
ctimmittee was working on the problem of ridding the apple and pear 
trees of the "San Jose Scale," a pestiferous insect which threatened to 
destroy the trees named. This scale is not yet e.xtinct in California, 
but it has been generally eradicated by the use of sprays. 

On June 6, 1887, the society was debating the proposition of A. J. 
Wheeler and brother to establish a newspaper in the valley, a resolu- 
tion being adopted unanimously that the society get behind the proj- 
ect, pledging the enterprise financial support. As an earnest of such 
support the sum of $80.00 was pledged on the spot. Soon after this 
date the Glendale Encinal was established as mentioned in the chapter 
on newspapers. Work was also done by the society in planting shade 
trees along the streets, the committee recommending grevilla and 

1 lie (.Kiiilali.- lloul uiidir Coiislructioii. and the Same 
Building MOW (1922) as the Glciidalc Sanitarium. 


pepper trees, many of them being planted. Publicitj- was evidentlj' 
desired and the value of advertising- appreciated, for the society is 
stated to have received a bill from the Los Angeles Herald as "balance 
due for write-up of the valley." 

In February, 1888. the question of securing a daily mail was a 
live issue, the service at that time being only tri-weekly; it was some 
time before this agitation produced results, as in that case and many 
others at that time it was necessary to raise a sum of money before 
the object desired was secured. By this time other names, some of 
which are still familiar to Glendale people, are found on the member- 
ship roll: E. D. Goode, H. H. Davenport, E. V. Williams, J. M. 
Banker, G. F. Button and N. C. Burch. 

Even at that time the idea of securing a public park was dis- 
cussed but no results appear. By this time the "boom" was on in 
Glendale. In 1887. Messrs. Ross. Thorn, Ward. Ryram. Patterson and 
Crow created the "Town of Glendale," by pooling their lands and 
plotting the same. The "Town" extended to First Street (Lexington) 
on the north, the Childs Tract on the east, and east of Glendale 
Avenue was bounded on the south by Fifth (Harvard) Street; cross- 
ing the avenue it took in the Crow property (Lomita Park), the 
southerly line of which extended from about two hundred feet south 
of the present Maple street south westerly to Central Avenue which 
was the western boundary. 

In the City Hall of Glendale hangs one of the maps of the town 
site. It is a lithographed production in colors and is ornamented by 
cuts of the three comparatively new houses that were than to be 
seen on Crow's portion of the plot. The owner of the land had do- 
nated the lots on condition that the recipients of the deeds build the 
houses. On the margin of the map is the legend that informs the 
reader that Glendale is in one of the finest sections of Southern Cali- 
fornia, only six and a half miles from the Court House (in Los An- 
geles). It further asserts that a fine hotel is to be erected near the 
center of the plot at once and that the Los Angeles and Glendale Rail- 
road will be completed and running trains in six months. "Two 
stages run daily between the tract and the office of Ben Ward, No. 4 
Court Street." 

Both of these promises were fulfilled although their enterprise 
seriously embarrassed the men back of it and sent H. J. Crow into 
bankruptcy, from which he never recovered either financially or phys- 
ically and he passed away two or three years later. 

The hotel was built by Messrs. Thorn, Ross and Crow at a cost 
of $60,000. This sum would not serve to construct and equip much of 
a building at present prices, but in 1887, it was enough to erect a 
structure that was commodious and ornate as well. It was well fur- 
nished and that it was not a successful venture was in no way the 
fault of its projectors, but a natural result of the i)assing of the 
"boom" which occurred very shortly after its completion and left in 
its wake the wrecks of many finished and a lesser number of uncom- 
pleted edifices of a similar character all over Southern California. 


When it was sold finally, about 1905, the owners received salvage 
from the wreck of their venture, about $4,000 each. 

The Crow property of 200 acres passed into the hands of O. S. 
Bond under foreclosures, the southern half of it being sold by him to 
H. C. Goodell, including nearly all the improvements, consisting of 
orchards and buildings. The northern half including the hotel build- 
ing and about 400 lots, was sold to J. A. Merrill at a price of about 
forty dollars per lot. 

The center of Glendale at this time was at the corner of Glendale 
Avenue and Third Street (now Wilson). Here on the southwest 
corner was the two-storj^ frame building built by George F. Dutton, 
the upper story being used as a public hall when occasion demanded ; 
the lower story being occupied by the general merchandise store and 
post-ofifice, conducted by Geortje F. Dutton, who was the postmaster. 
Dutton was succeeded by Elias Ayers in 1892, to whom he sold 
building and business. 

The Glendale Hotel building had been turned into a seminary, 
and the following brief sketch of that institution, fits in here. 

St. Hilda's Hall, a "School for Girls," opened in the Glendale 
Hotel building February 3, 1889, under the rectorship of Rev. Thomas 
Haskins, who acted as rector and teacher of Ancient History and the 
Bible. In the latter part of 1890, or early in 1891, he was succeeded 
by Rev. John D. Easter, who became a resident of Glendale and Rec- 
tor of St. Marks church. The school opened with about thirty pupils 
and three resident teachers; a number of other instructors who taught 
special subjects came out from Los Angeles on certain days. 

Miss Ruth Ryram who was a pupil at St. Hilda's kindly furnished 
the writer of this history with a copj^ of the "Register" of the school 
for 1893-94. At that time Miss K. V. Darling was the principal. The 
"Corps of Teachers" as published in this "Register" is an impressive 
one, indicating that the institution was prepared to teach the pupils 
everything that was deemed necessary to equip the young ladies for 
high and useful stations in life. The frontispiece of the "Register" is 
an excellent picture of the seminary building as it then appeared sur- 
rounded by trees and shrubbery evidently only two or three years old. 

The school was discontinued after having been conducted about 
four years by the Episcopal Diocese of Southern California, not hav- 
ing been a financial success. It was, however, a valuable asset to the 
community in which it was located, being a leading influence in shap- 
ing the moral, religious and social life of the people. Rev. John D. 
Easter while connected with the institution was active in local aflfairs 
and being a man of high educational endowments, and a public 
speaker of unusual ability, achieved general popularity. 

The Hotel building, which after being vacated as a seminary, re- 
mained in the possession of a keeper. Mr. R. G. Doyle, who occupied 
it with his family, remained unused until it passed into the possession 
of the Battle Creek people in 1905. This building and about five acres 
of ground had been bought by J. A. Merrill, in connection with other 
property acquired at the same time as told elsewhere ; he sold it to 


L. C. Brand for $10,000 cash and Brand sold it to the Battle Creek 
institute for $12,000. 

There were no other improvements of anj" consequence in the 
neighborhood of what is now Broadway and Glendale Avenue. A 
small frame building stood on the southwest corner which had been 
used as a depot and real estate office in the latter days of the "boom" 
(1887), but it remained vacant from that time until removed. 

The northwest corner of Broadway and Glendale Avenue, as now 
known was a hole in the ground, having at one time been used for a 
reservoir to supply the Crow ranch. That corner was bought by 
John Mulder in 1905, who secured the old school house on Broadway 
when it was sold to make way for a new structure, he paying $550 for 
the same, and moving it on to his lot. where it was built over for 
store purposes. Mulder conducted a pool room there for some time, 
until put out of business, after which it was used as a drug store; the 
portion on Glendale Avenue above the corner being occupied in June, 
L905, by the Bank of Glendale for a few months until that institution 
moved to the corner of Glendale Avenue and Wilson. After being 
vacant for about a 3'ear that building became the home of the Glendale 
News from 1907 until 1913. 

The new century opened upon Glendale to find it a community of 
homes, the most of which were set in the midst of orchards and shrub- 
bery, inhabited by a people who. while enjoying the pleasures of life 
in the country, were progressive in spirit and having the most en- 
thusiastic faith in the future importance of their town, were alive to 
the necessity of making a constant eiTort to advertise its merits to the 
world, and to build a foundation that might well serve the require- 
ments of the superstructure in the years to come. 

There has rarely been a period in Glendale's existence when an 
improvement society, board of trade or chamber of commerce was not 
functioning, although it often happened that there were scarcely 
enough members in attendence at the meetings to form a quorum. 
One of these organizations came into being on May 21. 1902, when 
about twenty people met to form an improvement association. 

The meeting was called to order by Dr. D. W. Hunt, who was 
elected chairman, Mr. E. D. Goode, secretary. Mr. J. A. Merrill, of 
Highland Park, who had recently become the owner of the hotel and 
a large number of lots around that institution, was the principal 
speaker at the meeting. The society met again May twenty-fourth to 
effect a permanent organization, the place of meeting being the hotel 
building. Thirty-four members signed the roll. Dr. Hunt was 
elected permanent chairman and E. D. Goode permanent secretary. 
J. F. Mclntyre was elected treasurer. 

Mr. Mclntyre was at that time the proprietor of the Lumber yard 
on Glendale Avenue now conducted by the Litchfield Lumber Com- 
pany. He sold that business in 1905 to E. W. Pack who carried on 
the business for several years until he sold out to the present owners. 

On May 24. 1902. the Improvement .'\ssociation organized per- 
manently with thirty-four members. It seems appropriate to put into 


a more or less permanent record the names of these members as fol- 
lows: D. W. Hunt. F. G. Taylor. ]. W. Penn, Thos. R. Warren, G. M. 
Penn. Thos. Gillette, C. D. Thorn, Mrs. D. W. Hunt, Mr. and Mrs. 
E. D. Goode, Mrs. Eva Gilson, J. W. Merrill, R. D. List, Edgar Lea- 
vitt, Mrs. B. M. Fiske, Mrs. L. E. Peck, W. H. Peck, E. J. Vavvter, 
Mr. and Mrs. E. W. Pack. F. W. Mclntyre, Mrs. Alice Avers, H. C. 
Goodell. Miss Cora Goodell. Mrs. A. B. Geisler, W. H. Witham, E. T. 
Byram, R. M. Byram, E. W. Smith, F. M. Beers. Mrs. M. S. Duncan, 
P. W. Parker, Miss Judson Harris, Prosser Penn, J. F. Mclntyre, J. L. 
Whitaker, Elias Ayers, Mrs. Adeline S. Wing, J. C. Sherer. 

At the meeting of June twenty-fourth, Dr. Hunt is reported as 
speaking at length about the donation by the people of the sum of 
$750.00 for the purchase of a site for the High School. He stated that 
it was proposed to secure two and a half acres of land (now the south- 
east corner of Brand and Broadway) to be donated to the High School 
district. He further stated that six citizens had guaranteed this sum 
and called on the citizens to contribute. 

At this meeting a transportation committee was appointed, "to 
secure better facilities for getting in and out of the city." Mr. Elias 
Ayers passes into history as the father of the Glendale Fire depart- 
ment, by reason of the fact that at that time he suggested the secur- 
ing of fire fighting apparatus and the laying of water mains for com- 
mon protection. At the meeting of July eighth a communication was 
read from the Tropico Improvement .Association, inviting the mem- 
bers of the Glendale society to attend the anniversary meeting of the 
Tropico organization on July fourteenth next to participate in the 
second anniversary of the formation of that society. 

It is told elsewhere, in the chapter on "Transportation," how 
these two organizations worked together in securing the right of way 
and promoting the building of the Pacific Electric railway into Trop- 
ico and Glendale. .An effort was made to form a union of the two 
societies, but they could not agree to do anything more than work 
harmoniously and separately. 

Mrs. Edgar W. Pack suceeded Mr. Goode as secretary in August, 
the former having resigned. The record discloses the fact that the 
shortage of houses at this time, was felt to be a serious drawback 
to the upbuilding of the settlement. The service given by the Salt 
Lake Railway company was very unsatisfactory and the transporta- 
tion committee was earnestly at work but without success in trying to 
secure some improvement. In October, 1902, Mrs. Pack tendered her 
resignation as secretary on account of intended removal from Glen- 
dale, Mr. W. P. Penn being her successor. 

At the meeting of November eleventh two names were added to 
the membership roll of individuals who became rather conspicuously 
identified with the history of the community, Mr. G. U. Moyse and 
Mr. Theodore D. Kanouse. 

The name of Mr. Lorbeer, principal of the public schools, appears 
frequently in the records of the society as an active committee 
worker. The records disclose the fact that the value of advertising 
was fully appreciated, as from time to time diflFerent persons were ap- 


pointed as correspondents for the Los Angeles newspapers, which 
seem to have been at that time as chary of giving- anything of the 
kind free, as they have been known to be since. 

The receipt of a quaint communication from George Rice and 
Son, well known printers of Los Angeles, is noted, calling attention 
to the fact that the firm had never been paid for some folders printed 
for a defunct "Board of Trade," but soliciting the patronage of the 
then active organization along similar lines. 

On March 5. 1903. the society received a visit from delegates of 
the Tropico Improvement Society, consisting of Miss Cora R. Hick- 
man and Messrs. Imler and Eshelman. who "were welcomed by Mr. 
Kanouse in one of his happy speeches." Under the management of 
the association there was held on April ninth and tenth of this year a 
two day session of the "Farmer's Institute," the sessions I)eing held 
in the G. A. R. hall on Glendale .Avenue, Tropico. 

The controlling spirit of these meetings was Professor Cook of 
Claremont College, a very interesting and capable man, who after- 
wards became the Chief of the Horticultural department of the state. 
-As related in the chapter on "Transportation." the society about this 
time took up the electric railway proposition, in conjunction with the 
Tropico organization, pushing the same ultimately to a successful 

At the meeting of October first it was reported that the Tropico 
association had proposed and endorsed the name of Brand Boulevard 
for the new thoroughfare along the tracks of the electric road. The 
Glendale society at a later meeting endorsed this action. 

In January, 1904. Mrs. Lillian S. Wells was appointed secretary 
of the association, Mr. Penn having resigned. During the many years 
of her residence in Glendale, Mrs. Wells, of Canyon Crest, was one of 
the most progressive workers in the growing community, being at 
the front in every campaign for civic betterment, giving much of her 
time, and best efforts, to the building up of the public library and 
similar objects. A prominent memlier of the organization at this time 
was Mr. Ernest Braunton, who had lately come into the valley and 
while residing there was active in its public enterprises. 

In May, 1904, the association made a contract with George K. 
Byram to set shade trees along Fourth (Broadway) Street from Glen- 
dale Avenue to Central. The public school situation was being in- 
vestigated and it was recommended that a bond issue be presented to 
the people asking for the sum of ten thousand df)llars to erect a new 
school building in place of the old one on Broadway. The bond issue 
was authorized and the building was erected which stood on the 
Broadway site until 1920, when the present structure was built. 

On June 3, 1904, it was announced that Mr. L. C. Brand had 
donated a lot on "Fourth street west of Central Avenue" for the con- 
struction of a building and its occupancy by the Home Telephone 
Company. The telephone company was located there for a consider- 
able time, the location being, however, considered quite out of town. 
as indeed the lone building presented a solitary appearance. 

The society had been working for several weeks on a ten thou- 


sand edition of a folder descriptive of Glendale, at a cost of $173.00, 
and the same were reported ready for delivery in August, two thou- 
sand copies being sent to the World's Fair at St. Louis. At the meet- 
ing of September second it was announced that the Hotel property 
had been sold to the Battle Creek people and a resolution was 
adopted welcoming the new institution. On September ninth a Mr. 
Bourland was present at the regular meeting and announced his in- 
tention to establish a newspaper in the town. No action appears to 
have been taken. 

In February, 1905, Mr. George B. Woodberry succeeded Mrs. 
Wells as Secretary of the association. In March, of 1905, the subject 
of storm water was frequently up for discussion. During that season 
the Verdugo Canyon stream had overflowed its banks and ran down 
Brand Boulevard doing some damage to the streets. Flood water 
from Sycamore Canyon had also escaped from its channel and did 
some slight damage on the east side of the settlement. In conse- 
quence of this it was resolved to petition the supervisors to establish 
a storm water district and that body went so far as to start proceed- 
ings, which were never completed. 

At meeting of January 19, 1906, Mr. R. A. Blackburn was elected 
secretary to succeed Mr. G. B. \\'oodberry. For the previous several 
months the society had been wrestling with the incorporation of the 
settlement into a "City," and now that this matter had been brought 
to a successful issue by the election of February seventh, the mem- 
bers of the association evidently were willing and glad of an excuse 
to rest upon the record made and the work accomplished, and the 
Glendale Improvement Association after its meeting of February 16, 
1906, having accomplished its work, quietly ceased to exist, after the 
custom of its kind. 

At this time, just previous to the incorporation of the city, Glen- 
dale had two banks, one on the corner of Third Street and Glendale 
Avenue and the other on Brand Boulevard north of Fourth Street. 
The brick two-story building on Brand Boulevard, in which the bank 
was located, was known as the Masonic Hall building, as the Masons 
occupied the second story for a lodge room with a few small offices 
which they rented to physicians. The building had been erected by 
a corporation formed by a few local people, but had been transferred 
to Mr. Brand a short time before the bank opened in 1905. This was 
the only brick business block in the town. The High School was a 
two-story frame building on the southeast corner of Brand and 
Fourth Streets. 

There was one important section of the valley which through all 
the formative years of the City of Glendale was unwilling to acknowl- 
edge itself as a part of either Glendale or Tropico, but the most of 
which territory has by the logic of events finally become a part of 
Glendale; this was the territory along the base of the Verdugo moun- 
tain looking down over the growing settlement spreading over the 
valley below. The more easterly portion found a local name by 
adopting that which described the old adobe residence near the head 


of Brand Boulevard, "Casa Verdugo,'" although with innre truth to 
history it might be called "Casa Sepulveda." 

The westerly portion along Kenneth Road was in general terms 
alluded to as "North Glendale," although giving no evidence of taking 
any particular pride in that designation. 

During his short term as minister in the Presbyterian Church 
about 1895. Rev. Eugene R. Mills, was residing in a two-story house 
which he had built on top of the hill, now occupied by the beautiful 
home of Mr. and Mrs. Mattison B. Jones. 

About 1887, Mr. E. J. Valentine moved into this section occupy- 
ing the property on which Mrs. Valentine still resides. A. P. Kerchoff 
had acreage on West Broadway and took part in neighborhood mat- 
ters, particularly in regard to the water question, which was in those 
times always a live issue. 

Mr. Henr}' Anderson, whose acreage was on the corner of Pacific 
and Kenneth was active in affairs of the neighborhood being manager 
of the Glendale Fruit Growers Union, elsewhere spoken of for one 
season. He afterwards was one of the vice presidents of the Mer- 
chants National Bank in Los Angeles. 

Mr. David Buesser had ten acres on the corner of Pacific and 
Sixth street. Mr. Buesser claims to have planted the first orchard 
of navel orange trees in the valley. Previous to that time all of the 
orange trees planted were seedlings. Up towards Burbank Mr. J. F. 
Truman had in the latter eighties located on the acreage which he 
still resides on although some of it has been sacrificed to supply the 
demand for "town lots." 

In 1903. Mr. D. E. Fuller settled on ten acres at the head of Cen- 
tral Avenue and became active in local matters. Mr. Fuller still 
resides on the acreage which has also been reduced to supply the 
demands of other home builders. 

In 1900. the Bliss brothers bought out George Baugh's acreage. 
adjoining the western boundary of the C. E. Thom property, and 
erected the two-story house that was later occupied by Mr. J. S. Mc- 
Millan when he acquired the property. 

About 1905, Mr. C. M. Walton came to Casa Verdugo. locating on 
Central Avenue. Mr. Walton entered upon a development pro- 
gram that added several residences to that neighborhood and in the 
meantime built up a large business in raising fancy poultry, being 
followed in that line, on a less ambitious scale by many of his neigh- 

About the same time Mr. Albert Dow arrived and purchasing 
the property on the southwest corner of Central Avenue and Kenneth 
Road, now owned by Mr. David Black, made many improvements 
that added greatly to the natural attractiveness of the section. 

Dr. S. S. Black and Mr. W. E. Reynolds were also early settlers 
on Kenneth Road, and their acreage is now being subdivided. 

Mr. Dan Campbell came into the valley with the advent of the 
Pacific Electric Railway and has ever since been an active figure in 
the building up of the community, building up on a sightly elevation 


at the base of the mountain the beautiful home in which he and his 
family still reside. 

Mr. Arthur Campbell lives near by. He was the active manager 
of the first telephone company in Glendale, and also the superinten- 
dent of the Consolidated Water Company before it passed under the 
control of the City of Glendale. 

One of the early settlers, who came in about twenty-five years 
ago, was Mr. E. H. Sanders, who planted an orchard and otherwise 
improved his twenty-acre place on Kenneth Road and sold to John 

Mr. Alex Mitchell came in about the same time and has been 
active in building up that section, as an active dealer in real estate and 
as a worker for all objects calculated to advance the interests of the 

One of the more recent settlers in this section is Mr. Charles H. 
Toll, the well known banker, whose beautiful home is one of the at- 
tractive features of Kenneth Road. 

At the head of Grand View Avenue on Glendale's westerly 
boundary is the splendid home of Mr. L. C. Brand, who for the past 
fifteen or more years has been a resident there, having built up and 
developed the beautiful property on the base of Mount V'erdugo Ifiok- 
ing down over the valley which owes much of its development to the 
fact that, with Mr. H. E. Huntington, Mr. Brand was responsible for 
the bringing of the electric railroad to Glendale. 

Mr. Brand's property is still outside the Glendale city limits, but 
during the past five years almost all of this territory has been annexed 
to the city and is at present reaping its reward for its enterprise and 
the foresight of its pioneers. Among the latter, should be mentioned 
Mr. M. D. Learned, owner of considerable acreage which he cultivated 
with success for several years before the city encroached upon it. 
Mr. Learned has played a prominent part in the civic activities of re- 
cent years which preceded and accompanied the marvelous develop- 
ment of this section. 

This is the story of the era in which the sage brush gave way to 
orchards and homes. The conditions which the writer has attempted 
to picture above, seem in the retrospect to be much further removed 
from the present than they are in fact, so great is the contrast. 

But who shall say that the time of i)ioneering. the endurance of 
hardships, through lack of quick transportation and all that this im- 
plies, and the absence of the features of city life which now seem in- 
dispensable, were things that constituted failure in the happier ele- 
ments of living. 

There was a neighborliness that seems to be missing in the pres- 
ent day swift movement of life's expanding ])rogram ; there was a 
neighborly kindness that finds no compensation in the service ren- 
dered by concentrated efficiency through organized public machinerj'. 
But it bred the "divine discontent" that calls for a movement for- 
ward, and so it passed. 



Since November. 1917, Tropico has been officially a part of Glen- 
dale; for six years immediately precedinjf it was an independent 
municipality, but always the two communities have been naturally 
one geographically and by common interests, divided only by a line 
that was mostly imaginarj'. 

Both sections had a common origin, Glendale Avenue being one 
of the common thoroughfares running through and connecting the 
two places, Tropico being on both sides of the southerly extremity of 
that road, bounded on the south by the Southern Pacific Railway 

The early history of Glendale is the early history of Tropico, for 
in 1883 when the development of this portion of the San Fernando 
Valley begun, neither place had a local habitation and a name. Before 
the subdivision of the Rancho San Rafael by Wright, Wicks, Hodg- 
kins and Watts in 1883, there were improved ranches along the foot- 
hills on the north where Thorn anfl Ross had jilanted their orchards 
along about 1870 with the Sanchez and Sepulveda places adjoining 
on the west, dating a little further back. To the south along the Los 
Angeles river was the Ranclio Santa Eulalia belonging to W. C. B. 
Richardson, something over 700 acres, acquired bj' Richardson of 
Samuel M. Heath in 1868 and adjacent to this property in tiie early 
'80's were the homes of Robert Devine, J. W. Cook, James Hodgson, 
Sheriff H. M. Mitchell and a few others. In the interval between 
these two extremes was the ranch of H, J. Crow, who acquired a 
tract of over 600 acres there about 1870 and had set out an orange 
orchard and planted eucalyptus trees which have since acquired some 
importance as the guardians and landmarks of Lomita .\venue. On 
the San Fernando road at its junction with the Verdugo road, the 
Hunter family had been established since 1860. When settlers came 
into the valley in 1883, there was the natural neighborliness that 
characterizes pioneering everywhere and it led the people of the 
entire community to get together and attempt to accomplish certain 
things for the general welfare. 

The first and temporary center of their activities was the new 


school building (on the site of the present Cerritos Avenue school) on 
Glendale Avenue, where the first church services were held and where 
there were frequent evening meetings for counsel among neighbors. 

It was at the schoolhouse one evening in 1883 that a meeting was 
held at which Mr. George D. Howland. principal of the school, was 
made chairman. No minutes of this meeting have been preserved, 
but Mr. Howland remembers that the meeting was well attended and 
it was decided that the name of the new settlement should be "Glen- 
dale." Previous to that time the settlement along the river had been 
locally known as Riverdale, and the name of the school district was 
"Sepulveda," so it may safely be inferred that both of the last men- 
tioned names were suggested, as was also "Etheldene," this sug- 
gestion being credited to Mrs. A. S. Moore, wife of Col. Moore, living 
at the east end of "Moore Avenue" as it was later known, and still 
later as "Palmer Avenue." There was no suggestion at that early 
date of boundary lines and if such limitation had been suggested, 
"Glendale" would probablj' have included all of the territory between 
Los Angeles and San Fernando, all of which was open to preemp- 
tion as to nomenclature. 

It is evident therefore that at that time "Tropico," being as yet 
otherwise unnamed, was a part of Glendale without protest and by a 
somewhat informal vote of its citizens. A few months later the 
entire community united to erect a building in which to hold religious 
services, and erected the first church in the valley, a small frame 
structure located on the west side of Glendale Avenue at what is 
now the northwest corner of Windsor Road. This was a neighbor- 
hood, and not a denominational enterprise, and it was clearly under- 
stood that it was to be independent of any sect and open to the preach- 
ing of the Gospel by any one who felt a "call." It was conducted on 
this basis for a short time until a reverend gentleman, by the name 
of Stevens, who was the only resident preacher in the neighborhood, 
succeeded in organizing a congregation under the control of the M. 
E. Church. 

As soon as possible after this occurred, the Presbyterians organ- 
ized and built a church on the present site of the G. A. R. hall on 
Glendale Avenue. Adjoining, or very near to the Presbyterian church, 
Mr. A. S. Hollingsworth resided and carried on a small general store. 

In 1886, a postoffice was established at the store of Mr. Hollings- 
worth, and as is told elsewhere, was given the name of "Mason" by 
the postofiice authorities, with Mr. Hollingsworth as postmaster. All 
of these events were gradually working to break up the complete 
harmony which at first existed in the community, as individual ambi- 
tions began to pull in different directions, seeking a center around 
which things might revolve. 

Then, in 1887, the Glendale Townsite was put upon the map, 
starting a center at Glendale Avenue and Third Street, and this was 
followed by the removal of the Presbyterian church to "Glendale." 
The attempt to pull the activities of the entire community from the 
lower end of the avenue a mile or more up hill, proved to be physi- 
cally and morally impossible and the strain broke the settlement in 


two. Then, in May, 1887, the Southern Pacific company established 
its depot for Glendale and called it "Tropico." 

Thus Tropico came into being and Glendale practically retired 
to the northern end of the avenue, the one community splitting into 
two pieces which from that time forward until the consolidation of 
1917, had frequent spasms of disagreement. The division lines of the 
school districts gave a partially official line of demarkation. and the 
same being adopted by the city of Glendale as its southerly boundary 
when that city incorporated in 1906, a point half way between Ninth 
and Tenth Streets (renamed Windsor and Garfield respectively) be- 
came the recognized division between the two neighliors. 

Previous to 1905, a general store, a blacksmith siiop. meat store, 
livery stable and a few small concerns constituted the business dis- 
trict of Tropico, gathered together near the foot of Central Avenue 
along the San Fernando Road. In 1905. the frame structure in which 
the general store had been conducted gave way to a two-story brick 
block erected by John A. Logan, who opened therein a large general 

Within the year another brick building was erected on the same 
side of the street by Peter Gabaig, and the "sleepy village" soon found 
itself awake and calling for all the luxuries demanded by a newly 
awakened and ambitious community. The Tropico Art Tile Works 
was established in 1904, beginning at once to employ a large number 
of people and has continued ever since, a constant output of high 
class products, equalled in quality by only a few other similar estab- 
lishments in the United States. 

Allusion is made elsewhere in this work to the raising of straw- 
berries, which for a number of years was carried on so successfully 
in the valley about Tropico. Glendale and Burbank. Hut Tropico 
was the head as well as the center of this industry. The office of 
the Strawberry Growers' Association, with its shipping depot, was 
located here and some of the best producing fields were in the imme- 
diate vicinity. From a pamphlet issued by the Tropico Improvement 
Association in 1904, we quote the following: "In the winter markets 
of New York, Philadelphia. Boston and other eastern cities, Tropico 
strawberries have sold at higher prices than berries from any other 
section of the state or from any other section of the entire country. 
From April to November, the shipments are great to outside points, 
as far as Colorado and Texas and the quality of the berries grown at 
Tropico creates a constant and ever increasing demand." The busi- 
ness prospered and added greatly to the prosperity of the community 
for three or four years, but the Japanese gradually secured control of 
it and in their eagerness to get rich quick they allowed the growers' 
association to go to pieces, and competition among the growers suc- 
ceeded co-operation, with disastrous results. But Tropico contin- 
ued to grow, home makers being attracted to the place by its prox- 
imity to Los Angeles and its natural beauty. 

This growth was most noticeable, of course, after the comjile- 
tion of the Interurban railway in 1904. giving a means of transporta- 
tion to and from Los Angeles which was the culmination of the 


efforts of years of hard work on the part of t!ie pimieers and their 
immediate successors. 

First of all, by reason of years of residence, age and service, W. 
C. B. Richardson may properly be named. As a pioneer and as the 
owner of the largest single piece of property in the vicinity, Mr. 
Richardson easily gained the right to be alluded to as Tropico's first 
citizen, and who was always among the first to contribute to every 
worthy local cause. 

Samuel Hunter, who still resides in the vicinity, has the distinc- 
tion of being the oldest white settler in point of residence, in the 
valley, dating back to 1860. 

Robert Devine. who died in 1919, was the owner of forty acres 
on the south side of San Fernando Road, having located his family 
there in 1882. 

Edward Ayers, one of the settlers who came in 1883, had also 
been a miner in early days on the Coast. He was a man of fine char- 
acter and possessed a remarkable fund of native humor and neigh- 
borly kindness that endeared him to all his acquaintances. His 
widow, Mrs. Mary Ayers, shared with him many years of pioneering 

Samuel Ayers located in Tropico in 1883 also, and in the early 
times of its history was an active worker in all movements for the 
progress of the community. Mrs. Minnie Ayers, his widow, is still 
a resident of Tropico, and with her husband was always a worker for 
community welfare, particularly with the Presbj'terian church. 

One of the most active realty dealers in the valley during the 
"boom" of the late '80's was I. M. Clippinger. a resident of Tropico. 

N. C. Burch was a prominent resident of this section for many 
years until his death which occurred in 1920. Mr. Burch was an 
attorney at law and an old newspaper man. He served as City Clerk 
of Tropico and also conducted the Tropico Sentinel. 

But it is useless to attempt to call the roll of the pioneers, for 
as the writer attempts to name one, a procession of others begins to 
troop across the field of memory. Their names will be recalled by 
their few contemporaries who survive them. Are they all shades, or 
does it happen that even one of them survives? There appear in the 
procession to pass review, Dunsmoor, Woodard, Hogaboom, Peck- 
ham, Wilkinson, Buchanan, Marsh, Thompson, Gabaig, Light, Cook, 
Hodgson, Erskine, Rice, Hobbs, Hollingsworth, Chandler, Hickman, 
Imler, Gilbert, Riley, Jarvis, Bullis. G. W. Woodard, for many years 
a police officer in Los Angeles and now retired, resides in the latter 
city. W. H. Bullis, one of the youngest of the company as measured 
by birthdays, but old in years of residence and usefulness, is still 
among us. 

Possibly one or two of the others named may with justice resent 
being classed among the "shades." But living or dead, the names be- 
long to Tropico. In the case of others the family name is kept alive, 
by very much alive descendants of the pioneers. It can readily be 
seen from this imperfect sketch so far, that the Tropico section, al- 
though covering a somewhat limited area as compared with the rest 

Residence of Ktlvvard Avers about IS'IO 
A Partial V'ievv of the Santa l':ulalia Ranch about 1900. 
Tropico's Blue Ribbon Float, at Los Angeles, in 1901. 


of Glendale, furnished even more than its average quota of settlers 
and home builders who were in at the beginning, in the making of the 
Glendale of today. 

By 1910, there were a considerable number of business establish- 
ments in Tropico, with the number of residents constantly increasing. 
In that year the Bank of Tropico was organized and a Chamber of 
Commerce was enlivening the community. 

The number of commuters who traveled daily between their 
places of business in Los Angeles and their Tropico homes, had in- 
creased to a considerable company, and it was not unnatural that 
they should as a rule favor the closer relationship of their doulile 
interests which they thought would follow the annexation of Tro])- 
ico to the great and growing city, just over the hills and daily draw- 
ing nearer. And so when it became apparent that some sort of polit- 
ical machinery was necessary with which to accomplish the things in 
the way of public improvements that were becoming more insistently 
necessary, there was considerable agitation for annexation to Lns 
Angeles among the class of citizens alluded to. On the other hand, a 
very considerable numl)er of people were equally anxious to become 
a part of the city of Glendale, which had for the past few years been 
giving a demonstration of rather successful home rule, and stress was 
placed upon the fact that the two sections were intended by nature 
to become one. There was still a third class composed of those who 
hesitated about taking the important step in either direction. The 
result was that for a year or two the subject was kept alive by a con- 
stant agitation which was bound, sooner or later, to be brought to an 

The unvarnished relation of the conditions preceding the birth of 
the official City of Tropico, can give but a faint idea of the feelings of 
the people at the time. There were the three parties as stated; the 
Los Angeles annexationists, the independent city party and the pro- 
ponents of annexation to Glendale. The latter were located princi- 
pally in the northeast section of the district, east of Brand Boulevard 
and adjacent to Glendale. Their ambition to join Glendale, naturally 
had the sympathy of the people of that city and was not discouraged 
by the city officials. They put into circulation a petition to the Glen- 
dale trustees asking that an election be called to decide the question 
of annexation. This petition having the number of signatures re- 
quired by law. there was nothing for the Glendale officials to do but 
to call the election, fixing the date of March 21, 1911. The district 
proposed to be annexed, was bounded, approximately, on the west by 
a line drawn between Brand Boulevard and Central Avenue, on the 
south by the Southern Pacific Railroad and followed an irregular 
course northeasterly up over the hills and out to a point in the Glen- 
dale city southern boundary line, some 2,000 feet west of Verdugo 
Road. This would have taken in the Forest Lawn cemetery and 
everything on the east side of a line drawn a short distance west of 
Brand Boulevard. The situation was serious. 

The Tropico Sentinel had just been started on its journalistic 


career by H. W. Melrose and its pages fairly glowed with patriotic 
appeals to the citizens of Tropico to defend their altars, while the 
Board of Trade, under the leadership of Mr. Frank Davis, was func- 
tioning vigorously, and mass meetings were affording an outlet for 
the indignant protests of the citizens who objected to the union with 
Glendale. But all this would not have prevented the City of Tropico 
from annihilation, even before its birth, had not some one conceived 
the brilliant idea of starting a legal back fire to make harmless the 
schemes of the enemy. This was done by starting a petition and se- 
curing the legally requisite number of signatures, asking the Super- 
visors of the County to call an election to vote upon the proposition 
of creating the City of Tropico. This action was pushed with such 
vigor and promptness that the County authorities received the peti- 
tion and called an election to take place on March fifteenth, five days 
before the date of the Glendale annexation election. The territory cov- 
ered by the annexation petition was included in the district described 
in the petition for the City of Tropico, with the exception of the cem- 
etery and a few residences in that vicinity. By the vote on March 
15, 1911, Tropico was admitted into the honorable family of California 
municipalities, and when the newly elected trustees held their first 
meeting on March seventeenth, one of their first acts was to instruct 
their city attorney to institute proceedings to enjoin the City of Glen- 
dale from annexing any of Tropico's territory at the election to take 
place three days hence. No legal steps were necessary, however; 
the city attorney of Glendale advised the trustees of that city that the 
election would have to be held according to call, but that regardless 
of the result, the City of Tropico would no doubt be entitled to exist 
as determined by the election of the fifteenth. The election came of! 
on the twentieth as called, the inhabitants of the district voting 
99 to 55 in favor of annexation. Their vote was too late to be of 
effect and by a narrow margin of five days the new city came into 

The officers elected were the following: Trustees, C. A. Ban- 
croft, John Hobbs, E. W. Richardson, C. C. Rittenhouse, Daniel 
Webster; clerk, S. M. Street; treasurer, John A. Logan. The 
Board of Trustees held its first meeting on March 17, 1911, and or- 
ganized by electing C. C. Rittenhouse, president. Frederic Baker 
was appointed city attorney. At this meeting J. E. Shuey was ap- 
pointed recorder and J. L. Fishback, marshal. At the meeting of 
April fourteenth E. M. Lynch was appointed engineer and a permit 
granted for the running of a pool room. This meeting was attended 
by Trustee E. W. Richardson, while at the meeting held April twenty- 
seventh, his associates had occasion to pass a resolution expressing 
regret at his death and appreciation of his services. Mr. Richardson 
was esteemed as a man of high character and enjoyed a reputation 
in the community for fairness and integrity. Mrs. Ella W. Richard- 
son, well known in Glendale, is his widow. On May fourth, Mr. B. W. 
Richardson, a brother of the deceased trustee, was appointed to be his 

Forim-rly I. ity Hall ol I'lopico. 

The First National Bank of Glendale. Brand Boulevard and Cypress Avenue, 
and (al)ovc) the Same Location about 1910. 


The valuation of the territory included in the city for this year 
was $492,666. The new government started promptly the work of 
street improvement, the imperative need of which had been one of 
the weighty arguments favoring the formation of a city government 
Central Avenue was the first proceeding of this kind started, the con- 
tract for that improvement being let on June seventeenth. During 
the life of the city, a period of less than six years, the number of 
streets improved was twenty-nine, comprising all of the principal 

In the Sentinel's first issue about this time appeared the adver- 
tisement of the "Tropico Mercantile Company" ; "Tropico Meat 
Market," A. Stephenson, proprietor; McKiuney & Son, hardware; 
Tropico Drug Co., and a number of smaller institutions. There is also 
a picture of the new Bank of Tropico, "open six months," with de- 
posits of $67,000. Reference is made to the Tropico Public School, 
Mrs. Martha McClure, principal, with the following assistants: Helen 
Ingraham, Freda Borthick, Gertrude Bond, Ira Hunter, Letta Hib- 
ben and May Cornwall. 

The issue of March fourth reports the mass meeting of the previ- 
ous Saturday evening, addressed by Mr. Frank Davis, president of 
the Board of Trade; Judge Shuey, C. C. Rittenhouse, John Hobbs, 
Daniel Webster, Messrs. Carmack, Eshelman, Davenport and Gris- 
wold. The two last named appear to have been in the minority as 
favoring annexation to Glendale, the others being either proponents 
of independent incorporation or annexation to Los Angeles. One 
reads between the lines that the temperature was above normal. 

An "Aerial Trolley," the invention of Mr. J. W. Fawkes of Bur- 
bank, is pictured as transporting passengers through the air from 
Burbank to the sea coast; its practicability clearly demonstrated 
and prophecies as to its near-future accomplishments dwelt upon at 
length in a quite convincing manner. Subsequent issues also amplify 
the aerial trolley propaganda. 

Although the new city had made a good start and was beginning 
to accomplish things, in the way of street improvement particularly, 
the faction that favored annexation to Los Angeles was by no means 
discouraged, and continued their efforts to bring about the result they 
desired. On October twenty-sixth, a petition was presented to the 
trustees signed by 110 residents, asking that steps be taken to bring 
about consolidation with Los Angeles; this was referred to the city 
attorney and appears to have been insufficient in that it lacked the 
requisite signatures of one-fifth of the voters. 

A petition sent in to the City of Glendale, asking for consolida- 
tion of that city with Tropico, had better success and resulted in an 
election being held on December sixteenth. The vote on this occasion 
was as follows : In Tropico, there were 740 votes cast, of which num- 
ber 352 voted in favor of consolidation and 387 against the proposition. 
In Glendale there were 27}> votes for consolidation and 19 against it. 
The small majority against consolidation cast in Tropico was suf- 
ficient to defeat it and the local government continued to function. 


A great deal of dissatisfaction existed as to the service given by 
the private company furnishing electricity and water and all through 
the existence of the city the question of municipal ownership of these 
utilities was almost constantly being agitated. 

A bond election was held in December of 1911, on a proposition 
to buy the property of the existing electric light plant, but the voters 
refused to sustain it and the private company continued to supply 
both electricity and water, until the city merged with Glendale, when 
the district, which comprised the city during its existence, voted to 
bond itself and purchased both systems which were at once taken 
over by the city of Glendale, thus solving a problem of long standing. 

At the April election of 1912 the following trustees were elected: 
C. A. Bancroft, O. A. Conrad, John Hobbs. Irving Oliver and Daniel 
Webster; S. M. Street, clerk and S. E. Brown, treasurer. Judge 
George C. Melrose was appointed recorder. An ordinance was 
adopted on May sixteenth establishing a public library. 

On September 5, 1912, a franchise was granted to the Pacific 
Telegraph and Telephone Company ; a similar privilege had been sold 
to the General Pipe Line of California, represented by Mr, Fitz- 
patrick. On January 23, 1913, a franchise was sold to the Southern 
California Gas Company. The need was being keenly felt for a 
municipal building and early in the year this matter began to be 
agitated. It was decided to ask the voters to support a bond issue 
of $25,000 for this purpose, to be divided as follows: Fire engine and 
equipment, $12,000; fire hydrants, $4,000; and $9,000 for combined 
City Hall and Fire House. At the election which followed the prop- 
osition carried by a vote of 218 to 71. A delay of several months en- 
sued before a site for the municipal building was decided. 

All through the brief history of Tropico the Los Angeles annexa- 
tionists kept persistently busy and on March 13, 1914, the Tropico 
Consolidation Club filed a petition with the Board of Trustees signed 
by 693 citizens asking that an election be called to decide the question 
of consolidation with Los Angeles. The election was called for May 
twenty-sixth, but owing to some legal informality the date was later 
fixed for June sixteenth. When the votes were counted, it was found 
that 252 favored and 395 opposed consolidation. The attitude of the 
ruling body of the city is indicated by the fact that when the city 
clerk on April thirtieth asked permission to have some letter heads 
and envelopes printed, he was informed that it was probable that the 
city would consolidate with Los Angeles at the coming election, and 
that stationery with the imprint of the City of Tropico on it would 
be out of date. He was authorized to purchase 500 plain envelopes. 

At the April election in 1914 the following officers were elected : 
Trustees. James Rich, C. H. Henry, A. E. Boice; Messrs. Conrad and 
Webster holding over. N. C. Burch was elected city clerk and 
Stillman E, Brown, treasurer. Mr, James Rich became president of 
the Board of Trustees. Mr. H. P. Goodwin succeeded Mr. Frederic 
Baker as city attorney, C, H. Smith was appointed marshal, while 
Mr. F. V. Ashton succeeded Mr. E. M. Lynch as engineer. Members 


Kivirdale Drive al)Out 1908 and in 1922. 


of the Library Board were appointed consisting of Walter Hibljert. 
Miss Cora B. Hickman, Mrs. Luella M. Bullis. This year was char- 
acterized by the usual agitation of the question of the water supply 
and the electric light system; the latter being owned by Mr. L. C 
Brand and the former controlled by him as trustee of the Consolidated 
Water Company, the voters refusing to sanction the purchase of the 

Bids were called for to furnish a lot on which to erect the new 
citj- hall. There was lively competition between the business section 
on San Fernando Road and a proposed new business section on 
Brand Boulevard. Among the bids received were the following : Bj- 
Stepper Bros., a lot on Brand Boulevard north of Cypress Street, 
50 by 162 feet, $2,500. A. J. Adair, San Fernando north of Tropico 
Avenue, 100 by 150 feet. $4,000. L. C. Brand, lot on Brand Boule- 
vard, 100 by 150 feet, $3,000. H. Davenport, on east side of Brand, 
corner of Cypress Street, $4,200. J. J. Burke, northeast corner Trop- 
ico Avenue and Central, 100 by 183 feet, $2,600. 

On May fourteenth, an offer made by Leigh Bancroft of a lot 
on the southwest corner of Brand Boulevard and Tropico Avenue 
(Los Feliz Road) for $2,200 was accepted by a vote of 3 to 2. Bids 
for the building were called for in July and that of E. D. Yard, a 
Glendale builder, was accepted, the contract price being $7,976. On 
August seventeenth the corner stone was laid and on October 31. 
1914, the completion of the building was celebrated. 

The annual report of the city clerk for the fiscal year ending 
June 30, 1914, showed an estimated population of the city of 3,200. 
compared with 1,200 in 1910. The assessed valuation had risen to 

In January, 1915, C. H. Smith, the city marshal, was shot and 
killed by a highwayman whom he had arrested. The trustees 
adopted a resolution showing appreciation for the character and 
services of the dead officer. In the same month Mr. James Rich, who 
had been a trustee and president of the board since April, 1914, died 
after a short illness. 

Mr. Daniel Webster succeeded Mr. Rich as president of the 
board. Mr. F. A. Alspach was appointed trustee. Mr. H. A. Good- 
win was appointed city attorney. On March ninth. Judge George C. 
Melrose resigned, Mr. S. E. Brown being appointed to fill the va- 
cancy. In October Mr. L. C. Brand offered to sell the city the Trop- 
ico Water Company at a price of $50,000, but no action was taken. 

The election of April, 1916. resulted in the election of the fol- 
lowing: Trustees, F. A. Alspach, F. E. Peters, W. C. Seal; Trustees 
Boice and Henry holding over; Miss Margaret Coleman, clerk; S. E. 
Brown, treasurer ; Hartley Shaw, city attorney. 

On June 6, 1916, Mr. W. G. Black presented a petition to the 
trustees asking that an election be called for the purpose of voting 
on the proposition of consolidation with the City of Glendale. This 
petition was signed by 378 voters out of a total registration of 1,168. 
The election was called for August fifth. The campaign that followed 


was a repetition of former history, at a slightly lower temperature. 
The result of the vote was 381 in favor and 393 against consolidation. 

On October thirty-first, Mr. Boice resigned as trustee and Mr. 
F. A. Alspach was appointed to the vacancy. On May 29. 1917, the 
popular and efficient city clerk, Miss Margaret Coleman, died, the 
trustees passing a highly eulogistic resolution in honor of her mem- 
ory. Mr. A. J. Van Wie was appointed city clerk. 

The Consolidationists and the .'\nnexationists resumed their ac- 
tivities. On June fourth, a petition for an election on consolidation 
with Glendale was filed, checked up and found to be insufficient. 
While another was being prepared the opposition was also busy and 
succeeded in getting a similar petition into the city council of Los 
Angeles asking also for an election to vote on consolidation with that 
city. The Tropico-Glendale petition was withdrawn and the trustees 
on June seventeenth received an acknowledgment from the city coun- 
cil of Los Angeles of the receipt of the Tropico petition. There en- 
sued claims and counter claims, charges and counter charges. On 
July third, the petition asking an election to determine the question 
of Tropico-Los Angeles consolidation, was received and referred to 
the city attorney ; communications were also received from certain 
citizens asking for the withdrawal of their names from the petitions. 

However, on July tenth, the Los Angeles-Tropico petition was 
declared sufficient and the attorney was instructed to prepare the 
necessary papers calling an election for August 29, 1917, to determine 
whether Tropico become a part of Los Angeles. The usual campaign 
ensued and when the votes were counted on September fourth it 
was found that there had been 333 votes cast in favor of the consoli- 
dation and 548 against it. The end was now drawing near and on 
September 25, 1917, a petition was filed with the trustees asking for 
an election on the consolidation of Tropico and Glendale, with 514 
names attached. 

The clerk's report showed that the total registered vote in the 
City of Tropico was 1,548, that the 514 names represented more than 
one-fifth of the total number of registered voters, and was therefore 
sufficient. There were at that time in Glendale 4,301 registered 
voters. The election was therefore called for November 21, 1917. 
This was the last of the many elections held by the City of Tropico as 
an entity, for when the vote was counted it showed that there had 
been 861 votes cast upon the question of consolidation with Glendale, 
of which 650 were affirmative and 211 negative. The City of Glendale 
by ordinance accepted the Tropico section into official family relations 
and the union was completed on January 9, 1918. The merging of 
the two cities into one municipality brought to a happy ending the 
local jealousies which had for years from time to time marred the 
relations existing between neighbors divided only by an imaginary 
line; and from the date of this fortunate merger, the naturally homo- 
geneous community moved onward harmoniously towards its mani- 
fest destiny. 




Streets and Railroads 

The records of the first Improvement Association organized in 
the valley in 1886 are incomplete but show that the objects for 
which the members were working was the acquiring of public 
thoroughfares, the widening of others and the occasional opening of 
an entirely new street, and as they had no organized local government 
they had to depend upon the action of the county supervisors; a body 
of five men who, having the control of the entire county upon their 
shoulders, were not always prompt to respond to appeals for action, 
made by an ambitious but struggling community, whose political 
power was as yet of comparatively small consequence. That so much 
was accomplished as the record shows is a matter of wonderment. 

The old Verdugo Canyon County road on the east side of the set- 
tlement, at that time known as "Verdugo," was located as it had been 
since the days of the Mission fathers, while dating back to the same 
])eriod was the "San Fernando" road running through the center. A 
road of later date, but probablj' traveled with more or less uncer- 
tainty as far as a beaten track was concerned for many years, ran 
northward from the San Fernando Road up to the few residences. 
Sepulveda, Sanchez, Verdugo and perhaps one or two others located 
on the mesa where is now Kenneth Road. The new comers of 1883 
proceeded to name this thoroughfare Crow Avenue, in honor of H. J. 

About 1886, it was concluded that the interests of the community 
would be best served by giving a more distinctive name to this street 
and it was named Glendale Avenue. At about this same time, the Im- 
provement Association passed a resolution that hereafter all roads 
leading north and south shall be called avenues and those running 
east and west, streets. This plan was not adhered to, and the modern 
city has a multiplicity of streets, avenues, roads, boulevards, etc., 
running in all directions. The roads as they existed through the val- 
ley in 1880 were merely a series of parallel tracks running in a sim- 


ilar general direction, every vehicle trying to seek out a new track 
that should afford as few chuck holes as possible in summer-time, 
and a comparative scarcity of mud holes in winter. 

Even the San Fernando road was in this condition, as the writer 
of this history well remembers when he first traveled over it in 1878. 
There was no bridge over the arroyo on this road at the time the Im- 
provement Association, above spoken of. was doing business at va- 
rious meeting places, travelers having to drive down into the bed of 
the Arroyo Seco on one side and up out of it on the other. The as- 
sociation took hold of this matter vigorously, appointing committees 
to see the supervisors about a bridge over the arroyo, until at last 
a bridge was built. Until the bridge was built the route over this 
highway from Los Angeles was out Buena Vista street (now Broad- 
way) to the river, thence down into the dry bed of the river, usually 
(for there was no bridge over the river at that point), and up its 
course through the sand to a point near the mouth of the arroyo. 
When heavy rains occurred it was not unusual for both of these 
streams to be impassable until the storm was over and the run oflf 
bad been completed. 

As recently as 1883, a Glendale man had a team of horses 
drowned in attempting to ford the arroyo, which was at such times 
more dangerous than the river, at this point. It was naturally 
recognized as of prime importance that the road connecting the city 
and the new settlement should at all times be kept in a passable condi- 
tion, as among the earlier settlers were a number of that class of use- 
ful citizens who in a later and perhaps happier time would be classed 
as "commuters," when traveling daily to and from their places of 
business by rail, but who in the early '80's did their own commuting 
by horse and buggy or on horseback. 

On August 30, 1886, the first road committee of which we find 
record consisted of H. J. Crow. Dr. J. S. Morgan, S. A. Ayres, S. E. 
Chase and J. C. Sherer. This committee had put upon it the responsi- 
bility of seeing the supervisors in regard to bridge over the arroyo. 
and another committee was also appointed consisting of Wm. Riley, 
J. F. Dunsmoor and E. T. Byram, who were to confer with the Los 
Angeles city councilmen in an attempt to get some work done on the 
San Fernando road, within the limits of the city, which at that time 
extended up to a point that would now agree with the location of 
the Taylor Milling Company about a mile and a half from the arroyo. 

At a meeting held on October 11, 1886. progress in opening up 
new streets or roads was shown by the statements made by Messrs. 
Jarvis. Ayres and Barber that they were ready to deed land for road 
purposes for the thoroughfare now known as Park Avenue. Messrs. 
Crow, Clippinger, Bullis and Sherer also volunteered readiness to do 
likewise in regard to roads proposed to be opened through or along 
their properties. Mr. P. H. Bullis reported having presented a peti- 
tion to the Los Angeles city council asking for a bridge over the ar- 
royo and stated that the proper officials had been instructed to exam- 
ine and report. This seems to have been a live meeting, for the fol- 
lowing persons were appointed a committee to see Los Angeles cap- 


italists about building a railroad into the valley, viz. : I. M. Clippinger, 
B. F. Patterson and J. C. Sharer. Later Messrs. Crow and Byram 
were added to the committee, a strong addition as both men were 
active in the work from that time on until the road was finally com- 

Mr. Bullis was appointed a committee to see about opening a 
road along the north line of Mr. Crow's land. This would seem to 
have reference to Broadway (originally Fourth street) the original 
Crow property running that far north and Mr. Bullis also having a 
twenty acre piece on the same road near the San Fernando Road. 
Mr. Riley was to attend to the opening of a road between E. Ayres 
and Mr. Wolf, apparently referring to what later became Cypress 

At a meeting on January 17, 1887. committee reported that deeds 
had been received for widening Glendale Avenue. At this meeting 
it was suggested that the road running north and south between the 
property of Crow and Glassell, be called San Rafael Avenue, which 
if it had prevailed would have left the name of Central Avenue to be 
given to some other thoroughfare. The road had borne the name 
of Central Avenue among the residents of that section previous to 
that time, and the suggestion of the new nomenclature seems not to 
have been a popular one, although favored by a few of the property 
owners on the road at that time. 

The widening of Glendale Avenue was accomplished only after 
considerable work had been done by the committee appointed for 
the purpose, as deeds had to be secured from owners on both sides 
of the street giving on each side a ten foot strip; the road had to be 
straightened also by deeds from Sheriff H. M. Mitchell, owning the 
property on the east side where the road started northward at San 
Fernando Road and from the trustees of the school property on the 
west side. This Improvement Association of 1886 and 1887 must be 
credited with the creation of the road system pretty much as it 
existed up to 1888, and it must be admitted that it was a job well 
done when conditions existing at that time are taken into consider- 

The necessary roads having been obtained, the old thorough- 
fares straightened and named, the pioneer workers did not stop in the 
good work, but now became active in securing a railroad that would 
better serve their daily needs for transportation than did the through 
line of the Southern Pacific Company which, until 1887, did not even 
have a stopping place in the settlement. Probably the credit of se- 
curing the desired road does not properly belong to the Improvement 
Association, but that organization certainly did much in assisting the 
projectors of the road in obtaining rights of way and in raising the 
required bonus. 

Captain John Cross had recently come to the coast from Little 
Rock, Arkansas, and in connection with A. P. Cross, his nephew, 
had built a street railroad in Santa Barbara. Through the efforts 
principally of H. J. Crow, Judge E. M. Ross and Capt. C. E. Thorn, 
Capt. Cross became interested in the project of building between Los 


Angeles and Glendale. A right of way was secured from the Downey 
Avenue bridge to Glendale and a permit was secured of the Board of 
Supervisors. This permit was granted February 14, 1887, and as the 
nature of this permit has sometimes been a matter of controversy, it 
is presented in full, at the end of this chapter. 

The road was subsidized by Judge Ross, Captain Thorn and An- 
drew Glassell, each contributing about $5,000, and by contribution of 
land and small subscriptions from others. Some of these latter sub- 
scriptions were never paid, as contributions were made with a proviso 
that the road was to be completed within a specified time, and Capt. 
Cross was unable to strictly fulfill this part of the agreement. He 
completed the road however in good time to Glendale, stopping at 
First Street and Glendale Avenue. He also secured a lease of Ver- 
dugo Park and established a bus line between his rail terminal and 
the park which became a popular picnic resort and helped to keep 
the road running. Later he continued the laying of rails and the 
running of his trains to the park. 

The following details of the railroad building activities of Capt. 
Cross are furnished by Mr. A. J. Wheeler, the newspaper pioneer of 
that time : "In 1888 Cross financed and built a standard gauge rail- 
road to Pasadena, calling it the Pasadena and Altadena Railroad, 
which was afterwards sold to R. C. Kerns and B. F. Hobart of St. 
Louis, who called it the Los Angeles Terminal Railroad. They 
bought Rattlesnake Island from the Dominguez Land Company, and 
extended the road to Long Beach and Terminal Island. They sold 
a half interest to Senator W. A. Clark of Montana and the combina- 
tion built to Provo, Utah, to connect with the Union Pacific branch 
running from Salt Lake to Provo, and named it the Los Angeles, 
San Pedro and Salt Lake Railroad. This was sold in 1922 to the 
Union Pacific Railroad Company. The Glendale-Los Angeles road 
was transferred with the Pasadena line." 

People of Glendale had made frequent efforts to get the road 
electrified for passenger service without success until early in 1922, 
when the Glendale Advancement Association, an organization of busi- 
ness men interested principally in property along Glendale Avenue 
and Broadway, undertook the task. They succeeded in interesting the 
Glendale and Montrose Railway Company in the project, this com- 
pany finally getting a working agreement with the Union Pacific 
Company by which the Glendale and Montrose Company was to be 
allowed the use of the track from Verdugo Park to the junction of 
the San Fernando Road and Verdugo Road at which point con- 
nection is made with the electric line of the Los Angeles Railway 
Company. The cost of converting the road over this portion of its 
route was to be borne by the Glendale-Montrose Company and to 
assist the project the people of Glendale and vicinity raised a bonus 
of $25,000. As this history goes to press, the project is about to be 
successfully completed, thus giving Glendale two electric rail con- 
nections with Los Angeles. 

The Salt Lake Company served the people of the valley with 
limited transportation facilities for several years, but the Transporta- 


tion committee of the Improvement Associations of both Glendale 
and Tropico found ample excuse for continuing in service owing to 
the frequent causes of complaint given by the railroad company, for 
inadequate facilities. We find by reference to the minutes of the 
meetings held in 1902, and 1903, that the people were dissatisfied with 
the railroad service; cars were not run at sufficiently frequent inter- 
vals, depots were not provided for passengers, etc. Five trains 
daily each way seems to have been the limit of service given. Some 
of the citizens of Tropico found it possible to travel between their 
homes and Los Angeles by the Southern Pacific trains, but as these 
were not calculated to cater to local travel, the service could not be 
relied upon by the "commuters." The fact that the Salt Lake com- 
pany's depot was on the further side of the river in Los Angeles 
from the business center, also tended to make travel by that road un- 

So it came about that the Glendale Improvement Association on 
June 24. 1902, appointed a Railroad committee on the suggestion of 
Mr. E. \V. Pack, at that time conducting the lumber yard on Glen- 
dale Avenue; the committee consisted of E. W. Pack, J. L. Whitaker, 
W. P. Penn, P. W. Parker and J. A. Merrill. 

Mr. E. D. Goode was at this time secretary of the Improvement 
Association. He was county road superintendent, a resident of Glen- 
dale and about this time began his work as a successful railroad pro- 
moter and builder. The railroad committee named above did not 
long continue in office and confined its work to efforts to get better 
service from the Salt Lake company. Mr. Goode, however, seems 
to have been active about this time in an effort to get an electric road 
into the valley and we find him working later with Mr. L. C. Brand, 
in securing rights of way, particularly within Los Angeles city. 

On March 27. 1903, a special meeting of the Improvement As- 
sociation was held in Ayers Hall, to discuss a proposition made by 
Mr. Brand. Dr. D. W. Hunt presided at the meeting which was also 
attended by large delegations from Eagle Rock and Tropico. We 
quote from the minutes of the meeting: "The secretary read a docu- 
ment signed by the cashier of the Merchants National Bank of Los 
Angeles, and L. C. Brand, which stated that L. C. Brand had de- 
posited with the bank a certified check for ten thousand dollars to 
be forfeited to the Glendale and Tropico Improvement Associations 
if an electric road is not in operation within six months, provided 
the people of the valley furnish the necessary rights of way." In the 
meantime the Tropico Improvement Association had also been agi- 
tating the railroad question and had appointed a railroad committee 
consisting of Mr. Otto Snyder, president of the association, M. M. 
Eshelman, Dvvight Griswold, Joseph Kirkham, R. G. Doyle, John 
Hobbs and S. L. Borthick to further the project. Reverting to the 
minutes of the Glendale association: "On motion of Mr. Taylor, 
seconded by E. T. Byram, a committee of five including the president 
of the association (Dr. Hunt) be appointed by the chairman to co- 
operate with the Tropico committee in obtaining the desired right of 
way. The members of the committee were named as follows: J. A. 


Merrill, H. C. Goodell, E. D. Goode. F. G. Taylor with the chair- 
man." From this time forward progress was marked, but many dif- 
ficult matters were encountered in obtaining rights of way that re- 
quired the expenditure of time, patience and money. 

Previous to all this, Mr. Goode had been endeavoring to obtain 
a franchise from the city of Los Angeles for an electric road. His 
petition was turned down by the council in the latter part of 1902, 
the councilmen claiming to be harassed by the fear that the appli- 
cation was merely a "blind" covering the designs of some other rail- 
road company to secure a right of way to Pasadena by way of Glen- 
dale. Attorney Frank James, speaking for Mr. Goode, was quoted 
in the Los Angeles Times of January. 1903, as saying: "Mr. Goode 
has been working to secure an electric railway fmrn Glendale to Los 
Angeles for a number of years. He has tried to persuade the Pacific 
Electric Railroad company and the Los Angeles Traction company 
to build, but neither of them would be persuaded. Now he has de- 
termined to form a companj' and build it himself." One of the dif- 
ficulties in the way also was the fact that the proposed route of way 
lay through the edge of GrifTith Park which fact would compel the 
road, if built, to furnish transportation within the city limits to and 
from the park for five cents. Goode finally gave up effort to get a 
franchise in his own name and pooled his interests with Mr. Brand. 
The survey was changed, a franchise was obtained from the Arcade 
Depot to Sunset Boulevard and another from the latter point to Grif- 
fith Park. The change in survey made it possible to get to the river 
without crossing the park as at first proposed. From the river into 
Glendale the joint committees of the Improvement Associations of 
Glendale and Tropico undertook the task of securing the rest of the 
rights of way. Dr. D. W. Hunt was the i)resident of the Glendale 
association and Mr. O. P. Synder was at the head of the Tropico body. 
One piece of property on the pro])osed route between Tropico Av- 
enue and Cypress Streets, was occupied by a house and other im- 
provements and caused the committee much trouble but the way was 
finally secured through it by the payment of $4,000, jointly assumed 
and finally provided for, by the two associations. The rights of way 
were issued in the name of Mr. Brand. 

We find it noted in the Glendale News of this time that in April 
the survey for the road had been made west of the High .School, but 
Mr. Brand promises to have survey run nearer Cllendalc to secure the 
cooperation of the people. On May fifth Mr. Goode rei)orted to the 
Improvement Association that the rights of way had mostly been 
secured but that it would be necessary to raise $4,000. By May 
nineteenth there only remained one piece of land to be secured. At 
the same time report was made that Harris and Merrill had signed 
for $500. Messrs. Leavitt and Kanouse were added to the com- 
mittee at this time. 

On August fourth Mr. Goode reported that the proposed route 
had been slightly changed, to run straight down the valley behind 
the Tropico school house. On October first Mr. Goode reported that 
there remained to be collected about $400 from each of the associa- 


tions. The Tropico association had endorsed the name of "Brand 
Boulevard" for the thoroughfare in the center of which the road 
was to be built. Some time later the Glendale Association supported 
this suggestion as to the name of the street. On January 7, 1904, Mr. 
Goode reported that there remained to be collected cmly $75.(X) which 
would be paid after the completion of the road. 

The right of way having been secured the work of construction 
was pushed rapidly and on Sunday, April 6, 1904, the first electric 
car ran through Tropico and on to its Glendale terminus, this date 
marking the beginning of an era during which the wonderful de- 
velopment of the "Fastest growing city in America" became an his- 
torical fact. On April first a committee was appointed to arrange for 
a proper celebration of the completion of the electric railroad to 
Glendale. "to take place when the cars shall commence running to 
Glendale Avenue, the proposed terminus of the line." The com- 
mittee consisted of E. D. Goode, Dr. D. W. Hunt. Mr. E. V. Wil- 
liams, Mrs. Lillian S. Wells (then secretary of the Improvement .\s- 
sociation) and J. C. Sherer. A similar committee was later ajipointed 
by the Tropico Association, the two acting jointly. 

The Glendale Improvement Association held a meeting on July 
1, 1904, and Mr. Goode made a report on preparations fi)r the celebra- 
tion of the completion of the railroad, to be held on the morrow. 
These preparations consisted of the purchase of two or three beeves 
for the barbecue, the securing of the services of Mr. K. G. Doyle and 
a celebrated Mexican expert to prepare the same, with a barrel of 
pickles and a large quantity of bread, etc. Barrels of lemonade had 
been donated by citizens and cofTee was to be served in abundance. 
The program prepared by the committee received the ap])roval of the 
meeting and a vote of thanks was tendered Mr. Goode for his un- 
tiring efforts. 

At the meeting held on July fifteenth the final report of the cele- 
bration committee was made, showing an expenditure of $250.00. 
The celebration held on July 2. 1904. was a great success and the 
affair was given generous publicity by the Los .\ngeles papers. 
Mr. J. C. Sherer was chairman of the day and speeches were made 
by the chairman, and by E. D. Goode, L. C. Brand, O. P. Snyder. Ed- 
gar Leavitt. Col. Tom C. Thornton, J. McMillan and Francis Murphy. 
the noted temperance orator who happened to be in the crowd and 
was called upon by the chairman. 

In the account given in the columns of the Los .-\ngeles Times, 
the chairman is quoted as saying in part: "Yesterday Tropico cel- 
ebrated and today we celebrate. If I could look into the future with 
an eye of prophecy I would say that tomorrow Burbank may cele- 
brate, and possibly the next day San Fernando, and eventually La 
Canada, for I cannot believe that the road will stop here while just 
beyond us lies as beautiful a country just as fertile and populous, 
and like Glendale waiting an outlet and an electric railway system 
to tie it to the world." 

Mr. Goode gave an account of his experiences in securing rights 
of way and told briefly the history of the road. 


Mr. Brand told of his early dreams coming true, in which he 
pictured a country home in close proximity to the city, and how 
these dreams had finally led him into the present enterprise. 

Col. Thornton spoke in his usual eloquent style of the glories 
of the southland and painted a word picture of its possibilities. Col. 
Harrison Gray Otis who had been invited to be present, but was un- 
able to appear, sent a letter which was read by the chairman and be- 
cause of its prophetic character, and as an expression of the views of 
one of the great builders of the state, is here presented in full : 

"The Bivouac," Los Angeles, July 2, 1904 
Mr. J. C. Sherer, Chairman Valley Celebration, Glendale. 
Dear Sir : — 

I promised myself, as well as others, that I would attend the cel- 
ebration in honor of the inauguration of electric railway connection 
between your charming Glendale region and the city ; but I will not 
be able to be present. My physician is trying to hold me down and 
keep me under cover for the next few weeks; and even partial obedi- 
ence to his commands requires me to forego the pleasure which I 
would otherwise have in meeting with our friends at Glendale upon 
this pleasant occasion. 

Spots like Glendale and Tropico, occupying sheltered nooks at 
the base of the Sierra, with a southern exposure, where the "slant 
of the sun" is just right, where it is always afternoon, where the 
soil is of almost unexampled fertility, where life giving water is 
abundant for irrigation, where frost is practically unknown, and 
where every prospect pleases — such spots are rare, save in this 
blessed land of Southern California, and they are certain to have full 
development, large expansion and a splendid destiny. 

With all its natural advantages, and with the enterprise and 
labor of its keen-sighted and intelligent popu,lation, the results 
which I here anticipate for this favored valley cannot fail to ma- 

The good Lord has done so much for this southern land of ours 
sloping toward the Pacific, and nurtured by a never-failing sun 
(though with sometimes scant rainfall) that the destiny of such 
favored spots as Glendale and Tropico is assured. There is an 
ever-increasing number of people from beyond the mountains, and in- 
deed from all parts of the world, who are seeking just such spots in 
which to plant themselves and their families for the remainder of 
their years, and where they may establish surroundings in harmony 
with the higher forms of civilized life. Communities with this com- 
mon thought in mind, and working with a common end in view — the 
betterment of their material surroundings — can and will accomplish 
great things in a comparatively brief period of time, transforming the 
land from a state of nature and creating happy homes where none 
existed before. 

I can well understand what rejoicing there must be along the 
foothills and in the valley over the fortunate conclusion of the long- 
continued and arduous efforts which patient citizens have put forth 
to secure the happy consummation which they are now to celebrate. 

Hraiul HouU'v.ird in 1')(I5 and in I'Jii. 

Broadway, 1-ookiiiK Kast t'roni Central Avenue. 


They say "all things come to him who waits," hut they are not sure 
to come without effort, and that effort these citizens have made in 
a wise, persistent way. I congratulate them upon their success, and 
rejoice with them in the certain and prosperous future which is theirs. 

Large credit is also due to that masterful "captain of industry," 
H. E. Huntington, for his bold initiative and fearless enterprise in 
making this timely suburban electric railway connection, which 
brings Glendale, Tropico and Los Angeles so close together, mak- 
ing entirely feasible residence in the country and business pursuits in 
the city. 

No Californian who knows anything of the immense possibilities 
of our fertile soil and famous climate can doubt what great things 
the future has in store for the numerous choice spots scattered all 
along our southern coast, in her canyons and on her foothills; and 
among them all none are more promising than those which will cele- 
brate today. Tropico and Glendale have farms, orchards, orange 
groves, and handsome gardens now ; they will have more and more 
in the future, and will become beauty spots at the very gate of the 
city, acquiring importance, attracting visitors, increasing their agri- 
cultural and horticultural productions, making home builders and 
cultivators prosperous, and winning fame among the show places of 
Southern California. Population will increase and values rise, and 
the sagacious upbuilders will, I trust, have the good sense to stand 
off all baseless booms. 

With congratulations and good wishes for the assembled citizens 
and visitors who will come together on the propitious occasion today, 
and promising that the happy valley shall occupy its proper place in 
the columns of the Los Angeles Times, 

I remain yours truly, 

Harrison Gray Otis. 

Just here it is apropos to insert an interesting brief account by 
Mr. E. D. Goode of his early efforts in connection with this road : 
"Before I made application to the council of the City of Los Angeles 
for a franchise, I secured an option on the whole of Edendale, con- 
sisting of 105 acres at one hundred dollars per acre and I formed 
Mr. L. C. Brand's acquaintance while trying to sell him this land. 
He did not want to buy so I sold to other parties, reserving the right 
of way. Just a year from that time Mr. Brand and the Bradshaw 
brothers bought this same land for two hundred dollars an acre 
and after I had been denied a franchise by Los Angeles. Mr. Brand 
then asked me if I would turn over the right of way to other parties 
if they would agree to build a road to Glendale. I told him I would, 
and would do all I could to assist any one who would build the road. 
A few months after this Mr. Brand appeared at a joint meeting of 
the Glendale and Tropico Improvement Associations, under the chair- 
manship of Mr. Snyder at Logan's Hall, Tropico, and agreed to de- 
posit the sum of $10,000 in a Los Angeles bank to guarantee the 
building of the road provided we procure a private right of way from 
Edendale to Glendale, and that the company that he represented 
would purchase a franchise covering the streets from the Southern 


Pacific depot in Los Angeles, to Edendale. Very few Glendale 
people attended this meeting but I was appointed chairman of a 
committee to secure rights of way. Other members of the committee 
were D. Griswold, D. H. Imler, W. E. Borthick, H. C. Goodell, and 
M. M. Eshelman. 

After working some time and meeting with much discourage- 
ment, they all quit and said we could not do it. Even Mr. Brand 
told me to give it up, but I had secured much of the right of way 
and Mr. Brand took hold again and went after the franchise. Finally 
I had all the right of way except between Cypress Street and Tropico 
Avenue (now Los Feliz) and this would cost $3,500 because there 
were two or three houses there. Then the Glendale people woke up 
and a joint committee of the two Improvement Associations was 
formed and the money was raised, each association becoming re- 
sponsible for half the amount." 

Mr. L, C. Brand and Mr. H. E. Huntington had at the inception 
of their railroad project bought 175 acres of land of Judge E. ^L 
Ross at a price of $225 an acre, this property being covered very 
largely, by an orchard of apricot trees, and lying east of Columbus 
-Avenue and north of Lexington, then First Street. They had also 
acquired the Button property of 20 acres and some other acreage, 
most of it appearing on maps of record as Glendale Boulevard Tract. 
The road was constructed up to Broadway, where, at the southeast 
corner it was necessary to acquire turning ground from the corner 
of the property belonging to the Union High School. This was ob- 
tained without much delay and the tracks laid up Broadway to 
Glendale Avenue, which was the first terminus. There was but little 
delay, however, in continuing the laying of the tracks up Brand 
Boulevard to the base of the mountains at "Casa Verdugo," at which 
point the company established a high class restaurant under the 
management of Mrs. Piedad Yorba de Sowl, which quickly became 
a very popular resort and was the scene of many social functions dur- 
ing the five years or so that the arrangement between the railroad 
company and Mrs. Sowl continued. A Spanish dinner at "Casa Ver- 
dugo" was during that period, one of the pleasant experiences 
which comparatively few tourists missed. 

In May, 1911, the Shriners on the occasion of their annual en- 
campment at Los Angeles were entertained here; the capacity of the 
railroad company being strained to the utmost to accommodate the 
visitors. When the five year arrangement between the company 
and Mrs. Sowl expired, a difference arose between the parties and the 
latter started a rival establishment at her own home near by. This 
and the advent of national prohibition, resulted in the doing away 
of a very delightful resort, which at the height of its prosperity was 
a distinct asset to the valley. 

Upon the completion of the line to Casa Verdugo the Pacific 
Electric acquired a new terminus and that section of Glendale east 
of the main line, along Broadway, was side tracked. A small car 
was operated over the track between Brand Boulevard and Glendale 
Avenue on Broadway until June, 1907, when the Broadway track was 


taken up, as is related elsewhere in this history. When direct 
service from the main line to Glendale Avenue was given up, a small 
one man car, made the trip between Brand Boulevard and the Avenue, 
meeting most of the main line cars. The service was very unsatis- 
factory and caused many complaints to be made, formally and in- 
formally, without mending matters. Notwithstanding considerable 
bitterness of feeling that frequently found expression, the discomforts 
of the open car in cold and stormy weather were not always taken 
too seriously as is indicated by the following verses dedicated to 
"Maud," the pet name of the little "dummy" car, appearing in the 
Glendale News of February, 1907 : 

The Dinkey Car 

The snow it lies on the mountain top, 
And the liar he lies elsewhere, 
And the dinkey car curtains go flippity flop. 
And the wind it blows as 'twould never stop, 
And the passengers they swear. 

But the dinkey car bobs up and down. 
As it travels to and fro. 
And the passengers to Glendale town 
Clutch tighter yet the wind swept gown 
As they glance at the chilly snow. 

The motorman motes as mote he may, 
And the passengers shiver and shake, 
And the shirt-waist lady who eke was gay. 
Has suddenly ceased to have aught to say. 
And begins in her boots to quake. 

Oh, dinkey car that was surnamed "Maud," 

Come back to your loving crew; 

You had faults 'tis true and we called you fraud. 

Your virtues we ever forgot to laud. 

But there were two sides to you ! 

And the next day it snowed! 

Maud, indeed seems to have been potent with inspiration, for the 
above was succeeded shortly by another poetic outburst on the part 
of the editor, as follows : 

Lo, here is Maud ! 
Mark you her graceful poise; 
Fourteen small girls and boys 
Crowded, can ride her. 
Never a mule or car 
Swift as her jerklets are; 
Comets and lightnings flash, 
Slow are beside her. 


Bow ye the knee in praise, 
For small mercies thankful; 
Ended Maud's useful days — 
Tears shed, a tank full. 

Upon the completion of the Pacific Electric road, the Salt Lake 
Company ceased to attempt to give Glendale passengers carrying 
service and from that time up to the present has maintained its tracks 
for freight carrying purposes only, its patronage coming from the 
lumber yards on Glendale Avenue and from the products of the 
orange and lemon orchards of the Sparr company near Montrose and 
those of Messrs. Ross and Thorn within the original Glendale city 

Mr. E. D. Goode did not cease his efforts at railroad building 
upon the completion of the electric road, for we find him active 
again in 1907 in an effort to induce the Los Angeles Railway Com- 
pany to construct a line into Glendale from its Eagle Rock line at 
the crossing of Verdugo Road. He was so far successful that in 
October, 1907, he secured from that company an agreement to build 
northward along the Verdugo Road into Glendale provided that a 
private right of way should be furnished in addition to a bonus of 
$17,500. Of this sum the owner of the old Workman ranch (Saga- 
more Hills) agreed under certain conditions to contribute $11,000. 
After a great deal of hard work on the part of Mr. Goode, assisted 
by a committee of Glendale citizens, arrangements were made for 
practically the entire right of way which was to follow the center 
of Verdugo Road to a point north of Broadway thence westward 
to Belmont street between Broadway and Wilson. Success seemed 
almost certain when a difference in regard to details arose between 
the railroad company and the principal contributor to the bonus 
fund, and the project had to be abandoned. 

When this scheme failed, the indefatigable Goode turned his 
attention to building a railroad between Eagle Rock and Glendale. 
Assisted by Mr. R. A. Blackburn he secured a private right of way 
along Third Street (now Wilson Avenue) in Glendale and on into 
Eagle Rock. He had all the experiences that a man may rely upon 
encountering when he tries to build a railroad without money, but 
he thought that with the road actually in operation he could get 
either the Los Angeles or the Pacific Electric Company to take it 
over; but in this he was disappointed, as the fact was quite satis- 
factorily demonstrated in all these various efforts to get better rail- 
road facilities that these two companies did not intend to enter 
into competition with each other, either on account of a gentle- 
men's agreement to this eifect, or an even more definite contract 
as to the division of territory. 

The Los Angeles Railway Company did, however, demonstrate 
its friendliness to the persistent amateur at railroad construction in 
many ways, loaning him its engineers and assisting him in securing 
material which had to be paid for, although the prices were very rea- 
sonable and this necessitated borrowing money of the local bank. The 


rails for instance for this two miles of road cost $5,000 cash; the grad- 
ing was $700 and ties cost 25 cents apiece. Then a car had to be 
bought at $2,500 and arrangements made with the power company to 
furnish electricity which was metered out at reasonable rates. 

The builder had $3,500 in sight which he was to secure upon the 
completion of the road but it can he readily seen that his margin of 
profit was exceedingly small. The road was completed and the first 
car run over it between Eagle Rock and Glendale March 12, 1909. 
Four days afterwards at the skating rink on Glendale Avenue, just 
below Broadway, there was a fitting celebration of the event and 
Mr. Goode was properly honored for his achievement. 

About this time Messrs. Pirtle and Glassell acquired Verdugo 
Park and being desirou.s of putting it in closer relations as far as 
transportation was concerned with the rest of the world, they had 
endeavored unsuccessfully to induce the Salt Lake Company to 
electrize its track to that place. Failing in that they applied to 
Mr. Goode to come to their assistance, oiTering him $20,000 for an 
electric road. This sounded well to the railroad builder and he again 
started on a new project. 

On May 9, 1910, we find that the supervisors of the county were 
considering the application of Mr. Goode for a franchise up Verdugo 
Road from the Glendale city limits, then about Doran Street, to Ver- 
dugo Park. They concluded, however, that the county road should 
not be given over to this use and refused his petition. Next we find 
him in possession of deeds giving him a private right of way over 
the property of Judge Ross and Captain C. E. Thom. The Salt Lake 
Company then came into court desiring to be protected from Glen- 
dale's Harriman, complaining that he was encroaching upon its right 
of way. The railroad company's complaint stated that Goode had 
begun grading on June fifth; their complaint does not seem to have 
stopped his work for within thirty days from that time the road 
was completed. 

The vicissitudes of a railroad builder are best set forth in Mr. 
Goode's own words : "The arrangement was that they should pay 
me $5,000 thirty days after completion of the road, and the balance 
in sixty days and ninety days. To secure me they delivered to me 
bonds of the Glendale Consolidated Water Company, with a face 
value of $30,000. I put these bonds in escrow and was able to borrow 
money to buy rails and other materials. I was enjoined by the Salt 
Lake Company and the trial cost me $500. The court finally en- 
joined me from building within thirteen and one-half foot centers. 
I had to get the road completed by July fourth. The engineer of 
the Los Angeles Company told me it would be impossible to do it, 
that they would not attempt to do it themselves, but I went ahead. 
They let me have a crew of twenty men under one 'Pat' as fore- 
man. The Fourth of July came on Monday. On Sunday morning of 
the third we were within a quarter mile of the finish and going ahead 
fine. Then along came some Italians with a jug of 'Dago Red' 
which got mixed up with my track laying crew in a scandalous 
manner. All work stopped and I was scared, but the foreman 


wasn't altogether overseas and I told him that if the road wasn't 
completed on time there would be no money for any of them. He 
finally got the men straightened out and to work and by 8 o'clock 
on the fourth we completed the job. 

"In the meantime the bonds I had to secure me depreciated fifty 
per cent. Instead of receiving five thousand at the end of 30 days 
as promised, I received $1,000. They paid me along in driblets 
until I had received about $12,000 of the $20,000. They finally gave 
me notes for $8,000 and I surrendered the bonds. Of these notes 
$3,000 came back on me for payment to the bank that had ac- 
cepted them and I had to mortgage everything I had to take care 
of them. I came to the conclusion that railroad building without 
money in hand wasn't a good game for me and I went to Imperial 
Valley and went to raising cotton." 

From June, 1907, to January, 1910, there was no cross town 
railroad connecting Glendale Avenue and the eastern section of Glen- 
dale with the electric railway on Brand Boulevard, and the com- 
pletion of the Goode electric road connecting Glendale and Eagle 
Rock went far toward bridging over the gap that had retarded the 
development of the city. During this interval of two and a half 
years, Mr. T. W. Watson and his brother-in-law, Mr. Reed, con- 
ducted a 'bus service between the two sides of the city, at pre-war 
prices, a round trip for five cents. This was not a financial success 
for its enterprising backers, however, and it left much to be de- 
sired as a "public utility." In October, 1913, the Pacific Electric 
Company applied for another franchise over Broadway to Glendale 
Avenue and the ordinance granting the same was passed by the 
Board of Trustees on November 4, 1913. 

It was in 1914 that the Pacific Electric Company resumed ser- 
vice between Brand Boulevard and Glendale Avenue and about six 
months later the tracks were laid and service extended east to the 
"Childs Tract line" opposite the Broadway grammar school build- 
ing. This extension was part of a project to construct a loop line 
by building southward from the school house to the base of the 
hills and thence westward to connect with the main line at Tropico 
Avenue. The Chamber of Commerce had appointed a Railroad Com- 
mittee to secure this extension as the railroad company had prom- 
ised to build it provided that the right of way was furnished. The 
committee put in a great deal of hard work and raised several thou- 
sand dollars for the project, purchasing several pieces of property 
for the right of way, but the outbreak of the war and a combination 
of adverse circumstances delayed and finally caused a failure of the 
plan, after it had dragged over a space of four or five years. 

In 1922 the railroad company established an auto bus line con- 
necting both the east and the west sides of the city with the main 
line at Tropico Avenue, thus completing a system that very satis- 
factorily serves the people of Glendale with traveling facilities in 
marked contrast with the era when dust, mud or chuck holes marked 
the highways over which the pioneers drove their horses at a gait 


(JraiiKf Street, Looking North I'roni Wilson 
Street, aljout 1906. and in 1922, 


which was kept by these conditions well within the limit of any 
existing speed laws. 



14, 1887, M. B. 9,367 

On motion of Supervisor Martin the prayer of the petition was 
granted and the following resolution was unanimously adopted : 

WHEREAS, the Los Angeles & Glendale R. R.'Co., a corpora- 
tion duly organized under the laws of the state of California desire to 
build, construct and establish a railroad as hereinafter described; 
and WHEREAS it appears by the signature of numerous persons that 
nearly all the property owners along the line of the proposed railroad 
desire the same to be built; and WHEREAS it appears that such 
railroad will greatly benefit the public and said property owners as 
well, and that the establishment of such railroad is consistent with 
the use of such highways; NOW, THEREFORE. BE IT RE- 
SOLVED by the said Board of Supervisors of L. A. Co., California, 
that said board consent that the L. A. & Glendale R. R. Co.. or its as- 
signs, may construct, lay down and operate one single line of iron or 
steel railroad track and run cars thereon moved by steam, cable or 
electric power, with the privilege of changing same from a single to 
a double track whenever the said corporation or its assigns may deem 
the same expedient, and carry freight and passengers thereon for the 
period of fifty years from the date of the passage hereof along the pub- 
lic highways or streets, viz. : Commencing at the new town of Glen- 
dale and running thence southerly along Crow Avenue to the intersec- 
tion with the San Fernando, thence along San Fernando Road to its 
intersection with Cypress Street at the northern boundary of L. A. 
City, with the right to construct necessary switches, curves, turnouts 
and side tracks. It being understood that throughout the entire 
description the center of the street, or a line as near thereto as pos- 
sible, is intended. Provided and upon condition that the construc- 
tion of said road shall be commenced within sixty days from the 
date of passage hereof and shall be finally completed, equipped, 
stocked and in running order over the entire line of said road within 
one year from date of passage hereof. It being understood that this 
privilege shall be forfeited by the grantee herein on account of a 
failure to complete the said road which, at the expiration of said 
one year, shall remain and l)e unfinished, leaving the privilege to that 
portion of said road completed and in running order unaffected by 
such failure. 

Provided further, that in case the cars on said road when com- 
pleted and in running order shall be propelled by electricity as the 
motive power, then and in such case the wires furnishing the same 
shall be placed under ground. .And provided further that said builder 
or builders of said road shall grade or macadamize or otherwise im- 
prove the entire length of said route along which said road may be 
constructed between the rails and for two feet on each side thereof. 


so as to form a road bed as good as the remainder of the road beyond 
the rails whenever ordered to do so by the said Board of Supervisors, 
and shall keep the same constantly in repair, flush with the street 
and provided with good crossings both at present crossings and 
wherever roads shall be made to cross said railroad, and provided 
that the tracks shall not be more than five feet wide within the rails 
and there be a space between the main tracks and the side tracks or 
turn outs to allow cars to pass each other freely and without danger. 

Provided further, that the laying of said track shall in all cases 
conform, when any part of said road has been or shall be graded, to 
an established grade shall be changed or altered, the bed of the road 
and the track shall be made to conform therewith. 

Provided further that the said builder of said road shall provide 
said railroad with all the proper and necessary flumes and culverts 
for the passage of water under said tracks or road bed whenever 
and wherever said Board of Supervisors or its successors shall order 
said flumes and culverts to be placed. 

Provided further, that the said builder of said road shall provide 
sewer, macadamize, pave, improve, alter or repair all or either of 
said highways or any part thereof, and to pipe the same for gas, water 
or other purposes, such work to be done with as little injury as pos- 
sible to said railroad, but when work shall make it necessary, the 
owners of said road must shift the rails so as to avoid obstructions 
made thereby. 

Provided further, that the rate of fare for passengers on said rail- 
road shall never exceed ten cents. 

The said Board of Supervisors reserves the right to establish 
at any time a fare not exceeding ten cents and not less than five 

The rights and privileges given by this resolution are granted 
by this resolution on each and all of the above conditions and pro- 
visions, and if the said grantee or its assigns shall fail to comply there- 
with or any part thereof, all of said rights and i)rivileges shall be for- 
feited and shall be void except as herein provided. 




In all the countries of the world depending on irrigation, the 
trite statement that Water is King, holds true today as it did in the 
beginnings of civilization and as it will until the time crimes in a 
future which, it is to be hoped is far distant, when a limited supply 
is unequal to an insatiable demand and the gardens will become 
deserts as it was in the beginning. Those founders of our Pacific 
Coast civilization, the wise Franciscan fathers, made sure before 
establishing their missions that there was a supply of living water 
near at hand. And the settlers on the great ranchos also never 
failed to assure themselves of a su])ply of the life-giving requisite. 
And so it was that the San Rafael Ranch dipped at the southwest 
corner into the Los Angeles river; had the Arroyo Seco (not always 
dry) on the east and the never failing mountain streams of Verdugo 
Canyon on the north. One of the earl)- names of the ranch was 
"La Zanja," which would seem to indicate that at the time of the 
grant, a zanja, or water ditch, was one of its noticeable features, al- 
though it is difficult to imagine who at that early date had occasion 
to construct an artificial water course, except the one that tapped 
the river at the "Narrows," and continuing down to the pueblo, sup- 
plied the needs of its inhabitants. 

This, however, would not be a feature of the ranch which lay 
on the opposite side of the river. Probably the first legal contest 
over water in the state that reached the higher courts was the one 
heard in the Supreme Court of the state in 1855, in which Mathew 
W. Irwin sued Robert Phillips for diversion; but from that time 
until the present it is probable that the Supreme Court calendar 
has rarely been cleared of contests over this vital problem. And the 
courts of the Pacific coast had to blaze the way on this subject and 
set their own precedents, as the common law which the courts can 
so frequently and conveniently fall back upon, when other resources 
fail, is silent upon the subject, for it dealt with conditions exactly the 
reverse of those that exist in a dry country, applying as it did to a 
land where there is a surplus of water instead of a lack of it. 

Quite early in its history the Pueblo had some trouble with the 
padres at the San Fernando Mission over the diversion of the river 
waters, and probably there were frequent contests in the local courts 


over this subject. And no doubt the courts had many a time to 
pass upon and punish offenders who attempted to settle their disputes 
over water out of court. Conditions as late as 1871 when the decree 
of partition of the ranch was signed, were in great contrast with the 
present time. At that time there was comparatively little water deliv- 
ered under pressure for irrigation purposes anywhere and it is 
noticeable in the proceedings in this case that the commissioners 
and the court had in mind at all times, the delivery of water by open 
ditch as had been the custom in irrigated countries from time imme- 
morial. Although the houses were not so numerous at that time 
as to threaten congestion, it was not always praticable to build by 
a living stream and the country was crisscrossed by small ditches 
constructed so as to carry the water by gravity to the door of almost 
every householder whether his domicile was a pretentious adobe or 
a mere jacale, or house of brush. To the careless eye these ditches 
along the highways appeared to disregard in many cases the law of 
gravitation, as there were instances where a water course on one 
side of the road carried the water eastward, while on the opposite 
side a stream flowed west; or north and south respectively, as the 
case might be. 

On March 21, 1870, a complaint was filed in the District Court 
of Los Angeles by A. B. Chapman, Andrew Glassell, P. Beaudry 
and O. W. Childs against Fernando Sepulveda, his wife and a long 
list of other defendants, owners of land in the Rancho San Rafael 
who claimed and held possession of the property they occupied under 
various kinds of titles, in some cases contradictory in their nature. 
The complaint starts out by the statement that the defendants are 
tenants in common and owners in fee simple to a tract of land 
bounded on the north by the Sierra Madre, east by the Arroyo Hondo, 
south by Los Angeles river, and west by lands belonging in 1861 to 
J. R. Scott (comprising two ranches). It then goes on to state that 
one C. V. Howard, also having a defendant's interest, died in Febru- 
ary, 1869; that certain parties had claims, the validity of which the 
complainants were unable to determine, and asks for a full and com- 
plete partition. Glassell, Chapman and Smith were the lawyers for 
the complainants. 

To fully investigate all of the claims in the ranch and make a 
recommendation to the Court, the following commissioners were 
appointed : J. H. Landers, A. W. Hutton and Benjamin Eaton, The 
two first named were lawyers and the last an engineer, the father 
of Fred Eaton, a former mayor of Los Angeles. The first act of the 
commissioners was to secure the services of a surveyor, Frank Le- 
couver, under whose direction a complete survey of the properties 
involved was made. The commissioners were empowered to take 
testimony of witnesses and practically given all the powers of a 
court of law, except as to rendering final judgment. The work done 
by them was stupendous and their findings were so complete and 
equitable that although attacked legally from more than one angle, 
were fully upheld by the court and the interested reader of this 
ancient history as set forth in the voluminous collection of papers 


on file must be impressed with the apparent thoroughness and indus- 
trious work of this commission that a half century ago established 
the title of the thousands of owners who at this date occupy in indis- 
putable possession the rich heritage of the untitled "soldier of the 
King" who claimed it all for his own. There were reserved from this 
partition the lands belonging to D. Burbank, W. C. B. Richardson, 
Glassell & Chapman and the acreage of Hunter and Hendrickson. 

Of La Canada the report says : On west of San Rafael is large 
body of mountain land. 9.122.71 acres, marked on map. Verdugo 
Mountains, undivided. This land is without definite value and unless 
it contains minerals, not known to exist, is almost valueless. Recom- 
mend that this be sold and divided. 

The acreage allotted bv the commission is as follows : C. E. 
Thorn, 579.67; P. Beaudry, '500.50; Rafaela Verdugo de Sepulveda, 
909; Maria Sepulveda de Sanchez, 212.3; Maria Catalina Verdugo, 
208.82; C. E. Thom, 30.92; Glassell & Chapman, without division, the 
whole of Rancho Canada, 5,745 and 2,296; Benjamin Dreyfus, 8,424.35; 
P. Beaudry, 1,702.64; F. P. Ramirez, 310.01; O. W. Childs, 371.60; 
Ma. Antonia de Chabolla, 8; Ch. Verdugo, 8; Fernando Verdugo, 
7.84; Pedro \'erdugo, 7.83; Jose Maria Verdugo, 7.82; Quirino Ver- 
dugo, 7.82; Rafael Verdugo, 7.83; Guil. Verdugo, 7.81; Vittorio Ver- 
dugo, 7.84. The last eight named above were the sons of Julio, com- 
prising all of them except Teodoro who was elsewhere provided for in 
the canyon lands by transfer from Catalina, his aunt. The daughter, 
Rafaela, the wife of Fernando Sepulveda, had also her portion in the 
land deeded to him. The other daughter. Antonia, married to Cha- 
bolla. had a portion similar to that given the sons as mentioned 

The above does not include the acreage held by Catalina and 
Teodoro in common in \'erdugo Canyon, alluded to hereafter in the 
partition of the water. The prime importance of the water supply is 
set forth as follows: Your referees have carefully considered the 
questions in regard to water, deeming them of the most vital im- 
portance to the parties interested in the ranches and in grading the 
lands the i)racticability of irrigation has entered largely into the 
value of those tracts lying most accessible to the sources of water 
supply as follows: The first that rises in Verdugo Canyon upon the 
tract of land belonging to Teodoro and Catalina Verdugo as tenants 
in common near the foot of a spur running down from the Cuchilla of 
Francisco Maria east of and near to both the road that runs through 
the canyon and the house or jacale in which at present reside a family 
of Mexicans bearing the name of Pajo. 

The second are the streams that rise west of the said road within 
the enclosure of the field of said Teodoro and east of his house. 
These constitute and form by far the largest body of flowing water 
upon the rancho except the Los Angeles river which forms one of 
the boundaries. 

The third is the stream that rises near the southern boundary of 
the 702.64 acre tract assigned to P. Beaudry near the Arroyo Seco and 
within a short distance of the old adobe house wherein one Joaquin 


Chabolla formerly resided. This stream flows naturally in a south- 
erly direction. 

The fourth is the Arroyo Seco. The supply from this though at 
present only an undefined interest, may in the future be so developed 
as to be worthy of notice. 

The fifth is the Los Angeles river from which by means of canals 
and ditches it is the opinion of your referees that water can be con- 
ducted upon a large body of the lands lying along the east bank. 

Then comes the recommendation as to the Verdugo Canyon 
supply upon which the City of Glendale depends for its gravity water, 
which was approved and affirmed by the Court in its decision. 

Your referees recommend: That the said Teodoro and Catalina 
Verdugo, so far as her interest is in common with the said Teodoro, 
be decreed to have so far as their necessities require, the exclusive 
use and benefit of the first above mentioned stream of water, the sur- 
plus thereof to be turned into the second above mentioned stream or 
streams. That the water forming the second, together with the sur- 
plus from the first, as above provided belong to the several parties, 
Rafaela Verdugo de Sepulveda, Julio Verdugo, O. \V. Childs, C. E. 
Thom, Maria Antonia Verdugo de Chabolla) here are mentioned 
again the names of the eight sons of Julio given above), Benjamin 
Dreyfus, Catalina Verdugo, Marie Sepulveda de Sanchez, Andrew 
Glassell, A. B. Chapman and P. Beaudry; and that these several 
parties be decreed to be entitled to use and enjoy the said streams 
referred to as the second, and the surplus water from the first in 
following proportions, which proportions have been calculated by 
your referees upon the basis of the number of irrigable lands as- 
signed to them in this partition, to wit: Rafaela Verdugo de Sepul- 
veda two thousand one hundred and sixteen ten thousands of the 
whole, .02116; Julio Verdugo, three hundred and eight ten thous- 
ands, .00308; O. W. Childs, one thousand one hundred and twenty- 
one ten thousands, .01121; C. E. Thom, as his proportion incident 
and appurtenant to the tract of 579.67 acres assigned to him in the 
Carabajal tract, one thousand seven hundred and fifty ten thous- 
ands, .01750; C. E. Thom, as the proportion incident and appur- 
tenant to the tract of 30.92 acres assigned to him in the Catalina 
tract (part of the original Rafaela tract) ninety-three ten thousands, 
.00093; C. E. Thom, as incident and appurtenant to the tract of 25.3 
acres assigned to him subject to the demands of the administration of 
the estate of C. V. Howard, and as above referred to, seventy-five ten 
thousands of the whole. .00075; Maria Antonia Verdugo de Chabolla, 
twenty-four ten thousands, .00024; Chrysostimo Verdugo, Fernando 
Verdugo, Pedro Verdugo. Jose Maria Verdugo, Querino Verdugo, 
Rafael Verdugo, Guillermo Verdugo and Vittorio Verdugo, each, 
twenty-four ten thousands, .00024; Benjamin Dreyfus, one thousand 
one hundred and ninety-seven ten thousands, .01197; Maria Catalina 
Verdugo, as incident and appurtenant to the tract assigned to her 
subject to the demands of the administration of the estate of C. V. 
Howard one hundred and eight ten thousands, .00108; Maria Catalina 
Verdugo as incident and appurtenant to the tract of land containing 


201.82 acres assigned to her, six hundred and seven ten thousands, 
.00607; Andrew Glassell and A. B. Chapman, as undivided and appor- 
tioned to their interests in the Carabajal tract, one thousand and nine 
ten thousands, .01009; Maria Sepulveda de Sanchez, six hundred and 
forty-one ten thousands, .00641 ; P. Beaudry. as incident to his in- 
terest in the Carabajal tract seven hundred and fifty-five ten thous- 
ands, .00755. That the parties .Andrew Glassell, A. B. Chapman and 
P. Beaudry have not received as much water as others in proportion 
to the number of acres of land, because the parts assigned to them 
were not graded quite so high as the others and it was considered 
by your referees that these parties could with less expense and with 
greater ease procure water from the Los Angeles river. Provision 
is then made for Dreyfus, Beaudry, Ramirez and Glassell and Chap- 
man to use in respective proportions the water of the Arroyo Seco 
in "ordinary ditches." Also for rights of way to carry water in 
ditches from the river. 

The various tracts are here summarized in acres as follows: 

Scott Tract, 4,603; Santa Eulalia, 671.60; Brent Tract, 133.33; 
J. D. Hunter, 2,790.15; undivided mountain land commencing at the 
red peak known as 

Colorado, 9,122.71; Rafaela Sepulveda. 971.60; M. Sepulveda de 
Sanchez, 212.03; Catalina Verdugo, 201.82; Estate C. V. Howard, 
36.10; C. E. Thom, 25.2; Fernando, Pedro, Jose Maria, Rafael, and 
Guillermo Verdugo, 7.84 each ; Teodoro and Catalina Verdugo 
2,629.1 ; Julio Verdugo, 97.70 and 102.80. 

Chr. Verdugo, 8; M. A. V. de Chabolla, 8; Glassell & Chapman 
La Canada, 5,745; San Rafael, 22.9* and 669.8; C. E. Thom, Caraba- 
jal, 579.67; Catalina Verdugo int. 30.92; P. Beaudrv, 500.50; Grazing 
Lands, 1,702.64; F. P. Ramirez, 310; O. W. Childsi 371.60; B. Drey- 
fus, 8,494.35. 

In the trial of this case both Julio and Catalina gave testimony. 
From her own testimony we learn that Catalina was born at the Mis- 
sion San Gabriel in 1792; she had lived on the San Rafael over fifty 
years. She had been blind since she had small pox, 1862-63. She 
testified that her niece Rafaela had married Francisco Sepulveda, 
to whom she had conveyed certain lands to be divided between her 
nieces and nephews, but that he had sold it to others. Her evi- 
dence showed that Teodoro was her favorite nephew and that he 
supported her, notwithstanding that he had a large family. She had 
sold to Carabajal for money ; to Teodoro and Rafaela she had made 
gifts. There was much contradictory testimony about a piece of land 
conveyed by Julio to C. V. Howard. Catalina had conveyed certain 
lands to Teodoro to be distributed by him to the nieces and nephews, 
but the records showed that he had signed a deed of the same to 
Howard. The testimony of Teodoro confirmed the version given by 
his aunt and he denied having signed the deed alluded to, which was 
signed by a cross instead of bearing his written signature. The 
commission sustained the transfer, not feeling justified in going 
against the written record of the transaction. Julio also gave testi- 
mony in connection with the partition, in which he stated that he was 


83 years old ( this was in 1870) and that his eyesight was poor. He 
had paid Howard for his services and after the latter's death had 
employed F. P. Ramirez. Teodoro stated that his age was about 42 
or 43 years. His own land was deeded to him by Catalina in 1864. 
Had transferred land to Sepulveda for a division, no money passing. 

In this case a number of old deeds and other legal papers were 
introduced and some of them have an interest on account of the use 
in them of names applied to certain natural objects, which are no 
longer used to describe the same. Here is an example : Verdugo 
conveyed to J. L. Brent, June 6, 1861, a piece of land described as 
follows : "A parcel known as San Julio, commencing at a large stone 
known as Piedra Gordo, being on range of hills called Sunas de los 
Verdugos to the north of the plains called La Garbanzo, and not far 
west from Arroyo Seco; thence to summit of the highest peak or hill 
known as the Devisidera of the Piedra Gorda, to the south of said 

Mr. W. C. B. Richardson gave testimony tracing the chain of his 
Santa Eulalia property as follows : Two transfers from Verdugo to 
Brent, one dated December 18, 1855, the other January 5, 1858; Brent 
conveyed to F. J. Carpenter who conveyed to Wm. Potter, December 
4, 1861; Potter to Mateo Lanfranco April 5, 1864; Lanfranco to 
Heath, October 23, 1867; Heath to Richardson, August 6, 1868. The 
survey was made by George Hanson, Julio Verdugo being present to 
point out land marks, etc. 

The division of the water into ten thousand parts, was not an 
arbitrary or haphazard selection of a working basis, but was evi- 
dently chosen because of the fact that there are about 10,000 minutes 
in a week and it was possible to reduce the quantity of water belong- 
ing to any one individual into equivalent time by a very simple 
process. Any owner for instance who controlled say 100 parts of the 
water of the canyon stream, would be entitled to the full run of the 
stream for 100 minutes once a week. This was indeed the way in 
which the water of the canyon was distributed when the settlers of 
the early '80's appeared on the scene. The day run of water was 
usually allotted to the irrigationists, while the night run went into 
the several ditches which led through the valley to the various houses, 
some of them mere "jacales" of brush, that were scattered along the 
base of the hills. This system lasted but a short time after the 
pioneers of 1883 arrived. Some of them procured tanks and cisterns 
which received the weekly allowance of water, while others quickly 
constructed reservoirs. 

The need of some sort of a water delivery system at once be- 
came apparent and Messrs. Wright, Wicks, Watts and Hodgkins, the 
subdividers of the most of the ranch property without waiting for 
the formation of a company, went ahead and constructed a dam near 
the mouth of the canyon and laid a concrete main pipe down through 
the Ross property southward along Glendale Avenue and down to the 
reservoir, constructed about the same time, just north of Ninth 
(Windsor) Street, known later as the Tropico Reservoir. From this 
main line one branch ran easterly to the reservoir on Verdugo Road 


near First Street; they also excavated that reservoir. Another lateral 
pipe was laid along the base of the hills westward to supply "North 
Glendale." Although this work was done by the parties named, it 
was paid for later by the various persons benefited, the reservoirs 
being deeded to the local distributing companies as soon as the latter 
were organized, as they were very soon afterwards. In the latter 
part of 1883 the Verdugo Canyon Water Company was organized 
with the following named stockholders : Col. A. S. Moore, G. W. 
Barber, S. C. Hollenbeck, H. J. Crow, E. T. Byram, W. J. Kingsbury, 
J. T. Morgan, E. T. Wright, B. F. Patterson, J. C. Sherer. The first 
meeting of the board of directors was held at the store of A. S. Hol- 
lingsworth on Glendale Avenue. 

Col. A. S. Moore was named president, and J. C. Sherer, secre- 
tary. This company was incorporated with 10,000 shares at a par 
value of one dollar per share. Every owner of Verdugo Canyon 
water was eligible to membership, every share to represent one ten- 
thousandth part of the canyon water and no one to own more than an 
equivalent on this basis of his interest in the water. An effort was 
made in the beginning to have the owners of the water transfer their 
rights to the company, but they were generally averse to doing this 
and so the company was organized as a distributing company only, 
the organizers conveying to the corporation their interest in the dis- 
tributing system pipes and reservoirs ; the water rights remaining in 
the individual owners and recognized as appurtenant to the land in 
accordance with the decree of partition. With the exception of 
Messrs. Thorn and Ross, who were owners of approximately one- 
fourth of the water distributed by the company practically all of the 
water owners became stockholders in the company. The function of 
this organization was, as it continues to be, to distribute the water to 
the various local companies supplying the different sections of the 

By this plan nearly all of the water owners were stockholders 
in the Verdugo Canyon company, while in addition to that ownership 
they owned stock in their neighborhood companies which delivered 
the water to their lands. Although Messrs. Thom and Ross did not 
become stockholders in the Verdugo Canyon company, the organiza- 
tion delivered their water with a pro rata of the expenses charge- 
able to them for the service. 

This was the condition when the City of Glendale came into 
existence in 1906, except that previous to that time there had been a 
consolidation of certain interests which resulted in the formation of 
the Glendale Consolidated Water Company which supplied the prin- 
cipal portion of Glendale with water until the city bought out this 
company with the Verdugo Springs and the Verdugo Pipe and Res- 
ervoir Company, in 1914. 

The Verdugo Springs Company supplied a limited territory on 
the east side of the city while the Verdugo Pipe and Reservoir Com- 
pany was a mutual company delivering water to its stockholders 
only, operating along the Verdugo Road. Although the decree of 
partition had expressed itself very explicitly and allotted water rights. 


as far as the Verdugo Canyon supph' was concerned, in a manner that 
would seem to have left no chance for uncertainty, there was never- 
theless from time to time for several 3-ears. consideral)le friction 
between the people of the valley and the Verdugos. At one time in 
the early '90's, the latter rented a considerable acreage of the canyon 
land to Chinese for gardening purposes and this naturally created 
trouble, as the water needed down in the valley for domestic use 
was not only diverted but was polluted as well by hog pens and 
corrals near the stream. 

On one or two occasions a serious conflict between guards em- 
ployed by the water company and over zealous workmen who were 
determined to have water at any cost, was narrowly averted. On 
another occasion the zanjero of the water company caused the arrest 
of one Bing Hi and he was haled before the nearest justice of the 
peace, at Burbank, where he was able to produce some sort of an 
alibi, and in retaliation started proceedings against the zanjero for 
false imprisonment. He did not have much success in this effort, 
and after this condition of affairs had lasted for several months the 
Chinese gave up trying to use the stream for stock purposes. 

Frequent diversions of water continued and were only stopped 
when suit was brought against Teodoro Verdugo by the Verdugo 
Canyon Water Company and the Thorn and Rr)ss interests. This suit 
was filed June 15, 1893, Case 13999 in Dept. Four of the Superior 
Court, Andrew Glassell et al Plaintiffs vs. Teodoro Verdugo et al 
Defendants and 150 or more intervenors, the latter comprising about 
all of the water owners in the valley. An Order of Restraint was 
issued by Judge Walter Van Dyke, June 4, 1893. This order starts 
out by reference to judgment given against the defendants on 
Marsh 24, 1893, in favor of the plaintiffs with costs charged to 

The order states that the plaintiffs are owners in common of all 
the water rising in the enclosed field of Teodoro Verdugo. the same 
being described in detail with references to maps on file. The order 
proceeds: It is further ordered, adjudged and decreed that the de- 
fendants, their servants, agents and employes, be. and they hereby 
are perpetually enjoined and restrained from maintaining, erecting, 
having or keeping any dam or artificial obstruction of any kind or 
description whatever to the free flow in the natural channels thereof 
of the waters rising in the said enclosed field, and that they be and 
they hereby are restrained and enjoined from diverting or using any 
of said waters rising within said enclosed field. Also that tliey be 
and they hereby are restrained and enjoined from in any manner 
polluting the said waters or obstructing the flow thereof. Also that 
the defendants be restrained and enjoined from in any manner in- 
terfering with the plaintiffs, or intervening plaintiffs, their lawful 
agents and representatives, in their entry upon said tract of land 
and upon said enclosed field for the construction, use, cleaning and 
repairing the ditches and channels for the transmission and flow of 
said waters to which they are entitled for their use as aforesaid. And 
it is ordered, adjudged and decreed that the permanent order of this 

Loniita Avcnin- ahmit 19(18 and in 1922. 


court issue herein against the defendants, and their servants, agents, 
emploj'es and attornej's, requiring them and each of them, to per- 
petually refrain from doing any of the actions herein restrained 
and prohibited. The defendants are then ordered to, within ten 
days, remove all obstructions to the flow of the water. This order 
was fully obeyed and the menace of Bing Hi and his Chinese gar- 
dens was satisfactorily removed, much to the relief of the severely 
harassed zanjero of the water company and the water owners of the 

The Verdugo Canyon Water Company had acquired by purchase 
of Judge E. M. Ross, about seven acres of land in the canyon upon 
which the company's dam and distributing works were located, and 
had also spent several thousand dollars in an attempt to build a sub- 
merged dam across the canyon to check and bring to the surface the 
underground flow of water, as one or two comparatively dry seasons 
had diminished the flow to such an extent that some effort to secure 
a larger supply seemed imperative. This work was only partially 
successful, as it had only been possible to construct about two hun- 
dred feet of the dam, work upon which had started on the west side 
of the canyon, it being impossible with the company's limited facil- 
ities to go any further eastward in following the bed rock which con- 
tinued to recede downward as the work proceeded. Work was then 
started on a tunnel running eastward but after this had reached a 
point beyond the eastern boundary of the company's property, Judge 
Ross protested against its continuance under his land, and efforts in 
this direction ceased. This work of development was not an entire 
failure, as some twenty inches of water was secured and added to 
the surface supply. 

The question of diversion of the water being permanently set- 
tled b}' the order quoted above, no more trouble was experienced 
along that line, but the question of development was brought to the 
front by the sinking of wells above the water company's land by both 
Capt. C. E. Thoin and Judge Ross on their own lands. The well of 
Capt. Thom was on the west side of the canyon directly above the 
springs supplying the main stream which had l)een awarded to Thom 
and Ross and the settlers lower down in the valley. The well put 
down by Judge Ross was on his land f)n the east side of the canyon, 
but the water owners in the company made the claim that water 
taken out by means of a pumped well at any i)oint above their 
works, interfered with the underground stream by which the springs 
were fed. There had also been a well put down by Verdugo. and, 
seeing a good prospect of their water supply being greatly dimin- 
ished, if not cut off by these various projects, suit was brought by 
the Verdugo Canyon Water Company against Verdugo et al in the 
Superior Court in Los Angeles, before Judge M. T. Allen, in July, 

The opinion of Judge Allen is based partly upon the assumption 
of the existence of two streams in the canyon (the east and the west 
side streams of the decree of 1871) and proceeds to state that the de- 
cree of 1871 divested the lands in the Canyon Tract of riparian rights 


as far as the west side stream was concerned, while the lands belong- 
ing to Ross and Thorn and the plaintiffs below the Canyon Tract 
were invested with the same as well as their original rights, while 
the Canyon Tract was invested with the right to a reasonable use of 
all the waters of the east side streams upon the Canyon Tract, per- 
mitting that not required or taken up in plant lite or evaporation to 
flow on down the stream and into the western stream at the junction 
of the two. Also that the rights of each of these parties to the sub- 
flow of these streams are governed by the same rules of riparian 
ownership as a surface stream of water. 

The opinion goes on to state the conditions existing in the can- 
yon, the quality of the land and the quantity of water per acre sup- 
posed to be required by Judge Ross for his orange orchard, etc., and 
continues: "I believe that a line drawn from the northeast corner of 
the enclosed field northerly to the north line of the Canyon Tract, 
midway between the canyon w^alls, would be a fair division of this 
drainage area, east of which the owners of the Canyon Tract should 
take out their water. Applying this rule, Verdugo's well and Captain 
Thorn's wells are outside their proper area, and were it not that all 
of the parties had full knowledge of Verdugo's outlay in the installa- 
tion of his pumping plant and the use of water therefrom for so many 
years and the conditions which would naturally arise, under such 
extended use. I should feel it my duty to prohibit further operations 
at its present location; but considering the acts and apparent acquies- 
cence of the parties, their knowledge of the surroundings. I am loath 
at this date to interfere, especially in view of the fact that no con- 
vincing testimony has been offered showing the influence of this pump 
upon the waters of the western stream at the dam. unless we con- 
sider the small diminution said to be noticed at the dam the same 
day the pump is operated, which diminution, if ascribed to the pump, 
would be upon the theory that the water of that canyon would flow 
through the character of material shown between the walls, a distance 
of two miles in a single day. This I am not prepared to accept. No 
damage, therefore, being affirmatively shown, no order against Ver- 
dugo will be entered as to the thirty-five inches of water so ex- 
tracted. If he needs more water, or Captain Thom desires to cultivate 
his land above the enclosed field, they should each extract water from 
the canyon east of the line above suggested, that being the area feed- 
ing the eastern stream. The wells of Captain Thom and Judge Ross 
and the other owners of land below the Canyon Tract should not be 
interfered with. None of them are operating wells within such a dis- 
tance of the dam of the plaintiffs as to interfere with the flow of water 
at such dam. Whatever water they are taking is escaping through 
the canyon down the stream through their lands; they are taking no 
part of it other than that required for use, and all of the owners, in 
the ranches below, who have sunken wells, have found an abundance 
of water flowing under their holdings, more in fact than Captain 
Thom or Judge Ross are able to develop near the mouth of the can- 
yon, etc." This decision was not satisfactory to either party and the 
case went to the Supreme Court, resulting in a lengthy opinion writ- 


ten by Judge Shaw, other judges concurring, under date of January, 
1908. This opinion starts out with an interesting resume of condi- 
tions in Verdugo Canyon and vicinity, and referring to conditions 
when the decree of partition was given in 1871, states that the irri- 
gable acreage below the canyon is ?>.M5 acres, to which was allotted 
three ten thousandths of the water per acre, which is approximately 
correct although all the acreage did not share alike as has been shown 
elsewhere in this history. It is also stated that at that iine there 
were twenty-one different owners. 

The opinion declares that the decree of 1871 did not change 
the fact of riparian rights and in regard to the stream says: Its 
waters were therefore not merely appurtenant thereto, as a right 
acquired by proscription, or appropriation, would be, but were a part 
of the land itself, as parcel thereof. This was the case with respect 
to each of the three surface streams then flowing, and also with re- 
spect to all the underground flow when constituted a part of said 
streams. In making a partition of these waters the right to the use 
of the surface streams, which previously attached to the entire ranch, 
was completely severed from the other parts thereof and transferred 
to the lands to which water was assigned. The right thus assigned 
to each tract by the partition was a riparian right and it continues to 
possess that character with all its attributes, since the partition as 
fully as before. It is stated that the west side stream is given to the 
lands below the Canyon Tract exclusively. Neither part)' should 
be allowed to decrease this necessary quantity of the underground 
water to the depletion of the surface stream and the injury of those 
to whom it has been assigned. So in the present case the under- 
ground water was not set apart and the available sur])lus thereof 
belongs as before, to the riparian lands to be used b}- the owners in 
accordance with the laws of riparian rights. 

Each parcel of land therefore is entitled to its proper share of the 
entire underflow, without regard to the question whether it comes 
from the underflow supporting the particular surface stream set apart 
for it by the partition, or from some other part of the underflow, 
always of course saving the proposition that no owner may, by ex- 
tracting the underflow, diminish either surface stream to the injury 
of the partj' entitled to it. 

The attempt of the lower court to establish a division line be- 
tween the two streams, is controverted. The opinion expresses dis- 
belief in the existence of any division underground of the east and 
west side streams. On this \H>\nt it says: "There is no finding how- 
ever, and no evidence that the separation is so complete that the 
pumping of water from one of them will not affect the flow, above or 
below the surface in the other, and this is the vita! point in the case." 
It is declared that the decree of the lower court is erroneous in not 
limiting the right of each owner to his proper proportion of the under- 
flow as compared to the rights of other owners. The lower court is 
overruled in its expression of unbelief, that the pumping from a 
well by Verdugo 1,000 feet north of the enclosed field interfered with 
the surface flow of the west side stream at the dam. The lower 


court is criticised for not finding that the Ross well also tended to 
diminish the quantity of water rising to the surface at the dam. In 
regard to estoppel, the opinion says : "The mere fact that the de- 
fendants expended money in sinking the wells and putting in the 
pumps each upon his own land with the knowledge of the plaintiffs 
and without objection by them, creates no estoppel." 

There was nothing in the circumstances to put upon the plaintiffs 
any duty or obligation to inform either defendant that the pumping 
would be, or was a violation of plaintiffs' rights. Verdugo well knew, 
from the former action against him that the plaintiffs did object to 
any diminuition of, or interference with the west side stream. 

The necessary elements are wholly wanting, and therefore the 
defense of laches is not established. After disposing of the question 
of the Verdugo well, by stating in effect that it undoubtedly did in- 
terfere with the water rising below, the court proceeds to consider- 
ation of the Ross well, which was on the easterly side of the canyon. 
From the evidence it is practically certain that the pumping of this 
well, as stated, would materially reduce the underflow at the dam. 
The court should have made a definite finding on this issue. 

In regard to Judge Ross' rights to pump water the court says : 
"Under the partition he is only given a right to the surface flow of the 
east side stream. With regard to the available unpartitioned under- 
flow he is entitled as a riparian owner, to his reasonable share thereof, 
and may use it on any of his riparian land in the canyon tract. In 
regard to his right to take the underflow, by means of a pump from 
the land above the dam for use upon his lands below, his riparian 
rights are modified by the estoppel existing against him by reason of 
the facts referred to in the preceding subdivision of this opinion. As 
we have said the dam was built to intercept all of this underflow and 
devote it for use on the lower lands, and he, no more than the other 
parties interested, should be permitted to take out water from the 
underflow above the dam for use on the lower lands, to a sufficient 
extent to decrease the amount thereof that will flow to and be inter- 
cepted by the dam. If any can be taken out without producing that 
effect, he and the other riparian owners of the lands below, are each 
entitled to a reasonable share thereof." In conclusion the court gives 
certain directions for a new trial, of which the following is a part : 
"The only just method of adjusting the rights in this surplus of the 
underflow, is to ascertain, as near as may be, the total average amount 
thereof available for his use and the amount required by each party 
when used as economically and sparingly as may be reasonably pos- 
sible, and upon this basis apportion to each his due share." 

The principal points of the Supreme Court's opinion have been 
given above because of the almost vital interest the people of Glen- 
dale have in the water supply of Verdugo Canyon. As will be noted 
the court intimated that a new trial would probably be required to 
settle the matter more definitely. No new trial has been had, but it 
is quite within the range of probability that such trial must be had in 
the near future owing to the rapid development of the canyon tract as 
a residential district. When the Railroad Commission of California 


held a hearing in Los Angeles, in 1913, to determine the price that the 
City of Glendale should pay for the water companies it proposed to 
take over, testimony was taken to show the value of this water sup- 
ply. Various engineers giving expert testimony placed the value of 
the water all the way from $1,5CX) to $3,000 per miner's inch, and from 
records of the supply from year to year presented by Mr. Woodberry, 
who had acted as zanjero for the company almost from its inception, 
it was shown that, taking all the seasonal variations into considera- 
tion, it was fair to rate the stream as averaging two hundred inches. 

In 1894, the V'erdugo Canyon company in conjunction with Judge 
Ross and Capt. C. E. Thorn purchased of Judge Ross about seven 
acres of land, extending from the top of a hill on the west side of the 
canyon, extending easterly about two-thirds of the distance across 
the wash. The next year development work was started, the object 
being to construct a submerged dam on the bed rock. Work was 
begim on the west side and continued for about seven hundred feet. 
As the work proceeded eastward the bed rock constantly receded 
until at length it was found that the expense of carrying out the 
original intention would be so great as to make it practically im- 
possible. After an expenditure of something like twenty thousand 
dollars, the work of development stopped. It was not altogether 
barren of results as an addition of about twenty-five miners inches of 
water was by it added to the supply. Various plans for further de- 
velopment have been made in recent years, but as yet none of them 
have been put into effect. During about half the year this gravity 
water furnishes the City of Glendale with its supply for its domestic 
use, but as soon as the irrigating season begins it is supplemented by 
pumped water from the wells on San Fernando Road. 

During recent years the City of Glendale has purchased a con- 
siderable quantity of Verdugo Canyon water and water company 
stock from individual owners until it now owns a majority of the 
stock in the Verdugo Canyon Water Company, although it does not 
own a majority of the ten thousand parts of the water, as divided 
by the decree of 1871. That portion still retained by individual own- 
ers is appurtenant to lands on the eastern side of the city, along Ver- 
dugo Road, and to the lands of Thorn and Ross and the foothill ter- 
ritory of North Glendale. 

It will be noticed that of the five sources of suppl}' recognized by 
the decree of 1871 as available for use on the Rancho San Rafael, only 
two, the east and the west side streams of Verdugo Canyon, have 
been made use of by the recent settlers on the ranch. The water of 
the Los Angeles river has been given to the City of Los Angles by 
decree of court. The water of the stream in the Arroyo Seco never 
seems to have been made available. The "third" stream described as 
rising near the south boundary of the land of P. Beaudry, has not 
been in evidence in recent years except during the wet season when 
it appears along Verdugo Road south of the City of Glendale near 
where the Eagle Rock car line crosses that thoroughfare and continu- 
ing through Glassell Park to the river. 


At one time some thirty years ago an artesian well located in 
Eagle Rock valley near the present site of Occidental College, sup- 
plied a considerable stream of water that was piped southerly across 
Verdugo Road to the lands of Andrew Glassell. This well was prob- 
ably sunk near the source of the "stream" alluded to in the decree. 

The thirty-seven hundred ten thousand parts of the Verdugo 
Canyon water, owned by the City of Glendale, has been acquired 
by purchase of the original owners many of whom owning only a 
few shares and being supplied by the city water system regardless 
of their ownership, have disposed of their individual interests to the 
city. Being a majority owner in the Verdugo Canyon Water Com- 
pany, the City of Glendale controls the Board of Directors and shapes 
its policy. By the purchase of the individual water rights of L. C. 
Brand and of" the property of the Consolidated Water Company of 
which he was trustee, the city became the owner of about an acre 
of land on the San Fernando Road near the Los Angeles river, near 
the foot of Grand View Avenue, on which Mr. Brand had sunk a 
well and installed a pumping plant. Since acquiring this property 
the Citv of Glendale has spent a large sum of money in its develop- 
ment as a water producer with great success, additional wells having 
been put down and first class pumping equipment having been in- 
stalled. Altogether with a plant consisting of five wells, the city has 
at present a pumping capacity of about seven hundred miners inches 
in addition to its interest in the gravity water in Verdugo Canyon. 
And in both these courses of supply there is a reserve capacity in the 
way of development which places Glendale above apparent need of 
water for many years to come. Within the past year the city ac- 
quired an additional tract of some thirty acres adjoining its original 
holdings on the San Fernando Road. 




The time had now come when it became necessary for the pro- 
gressive community to take steps to acquire authority to do public 
work, as efforts to obtain certain improvements through action by the 
County Board of Supervisors had proved very unsatisfactory, al- 
though the supervisors evidently noted the constant progress and 
growth of the community, for it is of record that they visited Glen- 
dale in a body more than once to familiarize themselves with condi- 
tions. At last, however, the thought was born in the minds of a few 
progressives of the "village" that the old saying still holds true, that 
"the gods help those who help themselves," and agitation was begun 
looking to the accomplishment of incorporation as a city of the sixth 
class under the general law. 

On May 21, 1902, the Glendale Improvement Association was or- 
ganized with Dr. D. W. Hunt, chairman, and Mr. E. D. Goode, secre- 
tary, and it was through the efforts of this organization that many 
affairs of public interest to the community were brought to a success- 
ful issue, and the incorporation of the city was one of the most im- 
portant that can be placed to the credit of this organization. Look- 
ing over the record of the association's activities for the four years 
following the date given above, one cannot but be impressed with the 
fact that this body, composed of a comparatively few men and women 
of that time, hampered by opposition of conservatives always, and 
without funds in its treasury most of the time, has to its credit a 
record of accomplishments that is almost incredible. There had 
been a suggestion made that the association be incorporated and a 
committee had been appointed to investigate this matter. The com- 
mittee on May 6, 1904, consisted of F. G. Taylor, E. T. Byram, E. D. 
Goode, John M. Merrill and E. V. Williams. This committee was 
not successful in arousing sufficient interest in the incorporation of 
the society, to accomplish that object, but the agitation of this mat- 
ter led to arousing some interest in the question of incorporating as a 

On June 3, 1904, Mr. Taylor stated at one of the association's 
meetings that there was considerable sentiment in favor of incor- 
porating the village, and made a motion that Mr. Goode be appointed 


a committee to look into the matter. The appointment was tnade 
and on Julj' 1, 1904, Mr. Goode reported that he had interviewed the 
District Attorney and learned that to accomplish incorporation it was 
necessary that the district proposed to be incorporated should have 
a population of 500 people, and that the petition asking for the calling 
of an election should have on it the signatures of at least 100 citizens 
of the district, etc. A motion made by Mr. Byram was adopted that 
it be the sense of the meeting that steps be taken to incorporate, the 
limits of the proposed city to be the same as the limits of the Glendale 
School district. 

A committee was appointed to arrange for and call a mass meet- 
ing to discuss the matter, the committee consisting of Messrs. -Taylor, 
Goode, Rev. Norton, Elias Ayers and Sherer. The mass meeting was 
held July 29, 1904. The principal speaker was Mr. Long, of Long 
Beach, who explained the law governing the matter and enlarged on 
the desirability of incorporation. The minutes of the meeting state 
that "the question carried by a small majority," which shows lack of 
unanimity of sentiment. 

At an association meeting .A.ugust fifth, the matter was discussed 
and another mass meeting arranged for. In the meantime a change 
had been made in the officers of the association, Mr. Edgar Leavitt 
was chairman and Mrs. Lillian S. Wells, secretary. 

The second mass meeting was held September second, Mr. J. C. 
Sherer, acting chairman. Mr. Goode reported progress and Mr. Fred- 
eric Baker, City .A.ttorney of Long Beach, addressed the meeting at 
length, going into detail and covering the subject thoroughly, answer- 
ing questions, etc. On motion of Mr. Leavitt, it was resolved that 
Glendale be incorporated; that it include the Glendale City school 
district and that a committee of five be appointed to attend to circu- 
lation of the necessary petition. 

At a regular meeting October ninth, the committee on incorpora- 
tion was named as follows: Goode, Taylor, Overton. Williams and 
Wells. Mr. Goode reported for the committee that boundary lines 
had been agreed upon, being the same as the school district boundary 
on the north and east but changed somewhat on the south and 
west. At this meeting, Mr. Thos. Hezmalhalch representing the Ver- 
dugo side of the settlement voiced the opposition of that section to 
incorporation, the community along Verdugo Road having at that 
time a post office and being locally known as "Verdugo," some of its 
citizens had plans of their own and had organized an improvement 
association to advance the interests of that section; Mr. M. L. King 
was the president of this organization and Mr. Hezmalhalch, secre- 

The Tropico section was also opposed to incorporation, possess- 
ing a post office of its own and having local aspirations for the 

At a meeting held November eleventh Mr. Goode reported that 
the committee had reduced the boundaries, but was in favor of going 
as far westward as the West Glendale school house (Columbus Ave- 
nue). On December nine Mr. Goode made another report to the ef- 


feet that consideral:)le opposition had lieen eiicountered and it seemed 
inadvisable to follow the matter up any further at present, whereupon 
the report was received and the committee discharged. The associa- 
tion was kept busy attending successfully to other matters for the 
next six months, and in the meantime the subject was discussed quite 
generally b\' the people at large, and at a meeting held on June 13, 
1905, the chairman brought the matter up again, stating that many 
people were talking in favor of incorporating as a city and suggested 
that the secretary communicate with the Tropico Association and as- 
certain, if possible, how that organization now regarded the matter. 
In the meantime Mr. George B. Woodberry had succeeded Mrs. Wells 
as secretary of the Glendale association. 

At a meeting on July eleven, the secretary read a letter from the 
Tropico Association to the effect that that organization had declared a 
vacation for three months and consequently was not prepared to do 
anything. Discussion of the subject was resumed and the old com- 
mittee re-appointed with the addition of Mr. R. A. Blackburn, who 
had been active in connection with railroad and other public matters. 
The Glendale association was not taking vacations in those days 
and on August eighteen the incorporation committee made a report 
of progress and the meeting appears to have been imbued with a new 
spirit of determination to put the thing through. Mr. Blackburn said 
that it would be necessary for the association to back up the commit- 
tee to the fullest extent, and a resolution pledging the committee sup- 
port and instructing it to go ahead was adopted apparently without 

On October twentieth Mr. Goode reported progress and gave de- 
tails of a meeting with the Tropico Association to discuss joint incor- 
poration of the entire valley. It appeared, however, that the people of 
Tropico were not in favor of this proposition and that this feature of 
the question would have to be dropped. In regard to the petition of 
Glendale, he stated that conditions seemed favorable and that sev- 
enty-one names had been secured ; that one of the requirements of 
the law was that the petition must be published for two weeks in a 
local paper, but in his opinion such publication in the Glendale paper 
recently established, was inadvisable. 

At a meeting on December fifteen, Mr. Goode reported that 
through an error on the part of the map maker, Verdugo Park had 
been omitted from the territory proposed to be incorporated. In the 
meantime large ranch holders were at work endeavoring to head off 
the movement through fear of increased taxes. At a hearing before 
the Board of Supervisors a large number of citizens were present and 
the merits of the proposition were set forth by one group while the 
other argued against it. The opposing parties came together finally, 
however, and a district was outlined which while not satisfactory to 
either party altogether, was generally acce])ted as about fair to both. 
The (late of the election was finally fixed for February 7. 1906, 
and an election board appointed consisting of the following citizens: 
H. E. Gulvin, T. \V. Doyle, \V. A. Anderson, George Byram, C. E. 
Lund, Fred Suit and C. E. Russell. There were 120 votes cast at the 


election ; four were thrown out as irregular, 75 were in favor of in- 
corporation and 41 against. The campaign was a lively one and feel- 
ing "ran high" while it lasted. Indignation meetings were held at 
which dire prophecies were made as to the results that would un- 
doubtedly follow in the wake of the venturesome enterprise. As a 
inle opposition came from a lack of knowledge of the subject and 
many of those who opposed the proposition on election day soon be- 
came supporters of the administration although there were quite a 
number of irreconcilables around the edges. There was only one 
ticket in the field and the following ofificers were elected : Trustees, 
Wilmot Parcher, Geo. U. Moyse, Thos. W. Watson, Asa Fanset and 
Jas. C. Jennings. Clerk, Geo. B. Woodberry; Treasurer, J. C. Sherer; 
Marshal, Orrin E. Patterson. 

On February 16, 1906. the Improvement .\ssociation held a meet- 
ing at which the fact of the incorporation of the city was reported as 
having been successfully accomplished and it does not appear that the 
association held any more meetings, apparently being content to pass 
into history with the record it had made ; and certainly the historian 
of that time must in justice remark that for an organization under 
such circumstance as surrounded it. the Glendale Improvement Asso- 
ciation of 1902-1906 accomplished great things, for we have found in 
its records covering the period spoken of, that its members, compris- 
ing a very small minority of the people of the community, were vig- 
orously promoting such enterprises as the building of railroads, erect- 
ing school houses, laying out streets, getting up entertainments, print- 
ing pamphlets, constructing bridges and doing other things innum- 
erable to build up the community and provide a broad and safe basis 
for its future greatness. 

The first meeting of the Board of Trustees was held at the resi- 
dence of the Clerk, Mr. Woodberry. Mr. Wilmot Parcher, a success- 
ful business man, was the unanimous choice for Chairman of the 
board and proved to be the right man for the place. Mr. Frederic 
Baker was appointed City .\ttorney and Mr. Postle, a resident of 
South Pasadena, Engineer; Mr. Edgar Leavitt, Recorder. 

The second meeting was held in the building on the northwest 
corner of Fourth street (Broadway) and Glendale avenue. After 
meeting there for a few months, quarters were secured in a one story 
brick building erected by Mr. W. A. Anderson on Broadway oppo- 
site the Glendale Sanitarium, as it is now known. The next move 
was to the present city hall. 

The new government began work at once, entering vigorously 
on a campaign of street improvement which was pushed through as 
fast as possible so that in a comparatively short time the dusty roads 
put on a metropolitan appearance with smooth hard roadways, and 
sidewalks and curbs were constructed. 

In January, 1907, the proprietor of one of the two lumber yards 
then in operation reported that during the previous five months 
there had been 75 new buildings erected. During that month the 
Salt Lake Railroad Companj' had purchased six lots of C. E. Thorn 
on the west side of Glendale Avenue for depot purposes, a move 


which gave some promise of future usefulness on the part of that 
company in the development of Glendale which has not as yet been 
fulfilled, as by the loss of its passenger carrying business to the Pa- 
cific Electric company, the steam road seems to have been content 
to merely hold on to its freight trafTfic, which consists of carrying 
lumber for the yards along its line and the hauling of the orange and 
lemon crop from the orchards of Ross, Thom, Sparr and others. 

On March 2, 1907, there was an election for a bond issue to be 
used in the erection of a city hall and purchase of apparatus and 
equipment for a fire department. The voters were as yet canny about 
incurring bonded indebtedness, however, and refused to support the 
city hall project but authorized the issue for the fire department. 

In March of this year Mr. H. L. LeGrand was installed as agent 
of the Pacific Electric Company and the subject of a Carnegie library 
was being agitated not to be carried to a successful issue until 1914, 
as the expenditure of about a thousand dollars yearly for library pur- 
poses was looked upon generally as too much of an undertaking to be 
assumed at that time. 

It is interesting to note that in March of this year, 1907, the city 
engineer (Mr. E. M. Lynch) made a report on "Sycamore Canyon 
Road," a proposed road running through the length of the citj' from 
north to south along the "Childs Tract line" some six hundred and 
fifty feet east of Adams Street, interest attaching to the matter be- 
cause of the fact that the road has not yet been opened, although at- 
tempts have been made looking to that end periodically ever since. 
The engineer's suggestion was for a district to be formed, comprising 
about six hundred acres on the east side of the city, which should 
bear the expense of the opening and improvement at a cost of about 
forty-five dollars per acre. 

May 6, 1907, was a red letter day in Glendale as on that date 
the city entertained a host of "Shriners" on the occasion of their an- 
nual national gathering. There was a barbecue at Casa Verdugo and 
a general holiday was observed, the affair being carried ofT very suc- 

At this time the growing of strawberries had become an industry 
of considerable importance in the valley surrounding Glendale and 
Tropico. The headquarters of the Strawberry Growers association 
was at Tropico and shipments were being made from that point 
amounting to about 7,000 cases of berries daily. This business 
brought the growers of the fruit for that year about $250,000. Mr. 
Wilmot Parcher, chairman of the Board of Trustees of Glendale, was 
the Association manager. This industry flourished for several years 
but finally fell into the hands of the Japanese who, through over-pro- 
duction for one season, finally brought about its collapse. The ship- 
ment of oranges and lemons for this season anidunted to about 250 
carloads. These facts indicate that the neighborhood around Glen- 
dale, Tropico and Burhank, was one of natural productive capacity 
and did not depend entirely upon the sale of town lots for its pros- 

An estimate given by the local newspaper showed that the pop- 


Illation of Glendale at this period doubled in about eighteen months; 
the period of greatest growth having begun with the advent of the Pa- 
cific Electric railroad in 1905. 

Business blocks were being erected on both sides of the city, con- 
siderable rivalry existing between the "East" and "West" sides of the 

An idea of the value of real estate at this time is gained from an 
advertisement in the local paper, offering "bargains" as follows: 
Building on southwest corner of Glendale Avenue and Broadway, 
$15,000; on northwest corner of the same street. $10,000, the former 
being ~a two-story frame structure and the latter one story. The two- 
story frame building, on the southwest corner of Third Street and 
Glendale, $10,000. 

In July, 1907, the Glendale Country Club was opened on Brand 
Boulevard, corner of Third (Wilson) Street, the building being an 
artistic structure, erected by Mr. Brand for an incorporated com- 
pany. The club for the next two or three years was the center of 
social functions in the city, and played a prominent part in the de- 
velopment of the city, during that period. 

About this time Glendale's railroad builder, Mr. E. D. Goode, 
began a campaign to secure for the East side of Glendale an extension 
of the "Yellow Car Line." The owner of the i)ropert3' on the East 
side of Verdugo Road, now known as the "Sagamore Tract" was to 
join hands with Mr. Goode and give a large proportion of a bonus to 
induce the Los Angeles Railway Company to build up the Verdugo 
Road from the point where the company's line crosses that thorough- 
fare northward into Glendale. The company was to be given $17,000 
and a right of way. Papers were signed by the railroad people agree- 
ing to build into Glendale on the above conditions, the road to leave 
\^erdugo Road at a point between Broadway and Third (Wilson) 
Street turn westward and find a terminus at Belmont Street. Ver- 
dugo Road was to be widened to a hundred feet, property owners hav- 
ing agreed to this, and the railroad was to be given a private right of 
way in the center of the road. The matter had proceeded so far that 
the city trustees had taken favorable action on a petition from owners 
of Verdugo Road frontage asking for abandonment of a strip in the 
center of the street, instructing the city attorney to draw the neces- 
sary resolution, when for some reason the principal contributor to 
the bonus fund, withdrew or failed to act and the project failed. 

In Jul)', 1907, the sale was announced of a twenty acre tract, 
now appearing on the map as "Glendalia Park" tract, belonging to 
Judge E. M. Ross, to Holman and Campbell for about $35,000. This 
is now one of the city's choicest residence and business sections. 

The municipal officials elected in February held office until the 
time of the regular elections in the following April, when all were 
re-elected, except that trustee Moyse declined to be a candidate for 
re-election and Asa Fanset was elected in his place. It is recorded in 
the Minute book of the Board of Trustees, that on .\pril 18, 1906, the 
trustees adjourned their regular meeting as a tribute of respect to 
the victims of the San Francisco earthquake and fire. 

(.ilcndak-> Couiitr\ L luh oi tin Past, ami (above) Brand Bouk'vard at Hroadwav 

about 1909. 


On May eighteen, a permit was given a Los Angeles concern to 
lay gas pipes in the city streets and a few blocks in length of pipe 
was actually laid, but the company registered a dismal failure leaving 
a few local investors to mourn its premature demise. 

The need of a city hall soon became apparent and a public si)irited 
citizen, Mr. L. H. Hurtt offered to donate to the city a lot, located 
opposite the present City Hall, on the sole condition that the city 
erect thereon a municipal building that should cost not less than 
.$3,000. With rare foresight the trustees, realizing that a fifty foot 
lot would not permit the erection of a suitable building such as the 
city would soon demand, and after trying ineffectually to secure a lot 
adjoining the one offered, declined the gift. 

On October twenty-seventh the trustees were presented with a 
petition signed by seventy citizens, asking that they proceed to call 
an election to vote on the dis-incorporation of the city, and in ac- 
cordance with the requirements of the law. an election was called to 
be held on December 11, 1906, to decide again the question which 
was practically the same as the one by which Glendale became a 
city ten months before. The petition showed that there was still an 
active dissatisfied element in the community that did not support 
the administration and would not easily be downed. The owners of 
the large tracts of land within the corporate limits who had fought 
vigorously against incorporation refused, however, to train longer 
with the discontented ones and gave no encouragement to the move- 
ment backwards. When the ballots were counted on the evening of 
election day the tally of votes cast showed 46 in favor of dis-incor- 
porating and 224 against the proposition. A glance at the list of 
names on the petition asking for this election to be called, shows 
that a number of the signers evidently quickly forgot their seeming 
causes of discontent and became "leading citizens." The two or 
three leaders of the discontented faction however have passed on to 
another country, mundane or otherwise. 

In Xovember, Mr. Fanset having been appointed postmaster, 
resigned as city trustee and was succeeded by Mr. Frank Campbell. 
In this connection it may be found interesting to recall a little po- 
litical history of that time which has never before found its way into 
print. From the beginning of the era of Glendale's development there 
had been and continued for a few years thereafter a lively rivalry be- 
tween the "East" and "West" sides of the city, leading to considerable 
feeling between the factions. There were many incidents illustrating 
the fact of the existence of this feeling so that no truthful historian 
can conscientiously elude reference to it, although happily these grow- 
ing pains have been cured by time, and allusions can be made to cer- 
tain occurrences of that period now. that at the time might have led 
to increased bitterness of feeling it nothing worse. The postofiice 
had been an institution on the "East side" ever since its establish- 
ment, as before the advent of the electric railroad the great majority 
of the people resided in that section. 

W^ith the building up of Brand Boulevard the center of popula- 
tion drifted westward and it was only natural that the citizens, di- 


rectly interested in that part of the city, should desire to do every- 
thing legitimately possible to favor themselves. With this end in 
view they moved to secure the post office for that section. A petition 
was put in circulation asking the department at Washington to 
change the location of the office and appoint a postmaster who was 
named in the petition. When the old timers on Glendale Avenue 
heard of the movement a hurried council was held and steps taken 
to head it off. 

Fortunately for their purpose the congressman of the district 
had a better acquaintance with the old timers than with the new 
comers of Glendale and advantage was taken of this fact to have him 
approached and advised of the situation. To the committee that 
waited on him he said, "Yes, I can have your man appointed if you 
will get together and name one who will be satisfactory to both sides 
of the town ; go home and talk it over with your friends and when 
you have selected the man, let me know." The committee got to- 
gether promptly and decided upon Mr. Asa Fanset, a well known 
citizen who had been identified with neither faction. One mem- 
ber of the committee waited upon the congressman the following 
day and presented Mr. Fanset's name. "All right," the congressman 
said, "and now as I have had some experience in these affairs I will 
do what I have discovered always saves time and trouble, I will 
settle this thing right now before the other fellows get after me." 
He took a telegraphic blank and wrote a telegram to the First As- 
sistant Postmaster General at Washington, recommending Mr. Fan- 
set for postmaster at Glendale, and handed it to the committeeman, 
saying, "Now go to the telegraph office and send this message, and 
I've just one thing to say — don't tell anybody that the appointment 
has been made until it has actually been made public, for I don"t 
want to be bothered about it." 

It is hardly necessary to add that his injunction was respected 
and acted upon, not even the supporters of Mr. Fanset knowing 
anything about it until the appointment was published in the news- 
papers. It was reported later, however, that the representative from 
the district of which Glendale was a part, did not succeed in staying 
off trouble over the matter as a number of gentlemen of real im- 
portance and holding rather elevated official positions, with one 
large corporation in particular, and even with the government at 
Washington, interviewed the congressman, more than once, and 
wondered why he was not susceptible to influence. 

A matter which caused the Board of Trustees considerable per- 
turbation at the time, and brought down upon them much unde- 
served criticism, was their refusal to grant the Pacific Electric Rail- 
road company a franchise over the alley north from Broadway be- 
tween the present location of the City Hall and Glendale Avenue. 
Application was made for this privilege in January, 1907. Aside 
from the fact that granting a franchise as requested would have meant 
the practical abandonment of the alley to the use of the railroad 
company, which in itself was a good reason for refusal on the part 
of the city authorities, it was developed subsequently that a partial 


promise had been given to the Salt Lake company to permit it to 
run down the alley from First to Second Street back of the lumber 
yard, so that it happened that both companies wanted the same priv- 
ilege. The Pacific Electric Company wanted to lay its track from 
Broadway to First Street over the alley so as to get access to the 
lumber yard, the other company having the same object in view. 
On February 2, 1907, the Trustees gave the latter company a permit 
to lay its tracks south to Second Street. 

The subsequent action of the Pacific Electric Company in taking 
up its track from Brand Boulevard to Glendale Avenue, was by some 
of the people attributed to its desire to "get even" for being refused 
the desired privilege. The electric road had been constructed on 
Broadway from Brand Boulevard to Glendale Avenue before the city 
was incorporated and a franchise was not obtained over that street 
until January, 1907. 

On February 27, 1907. the city voted on a bond issue of $17,000 
for the purchase of a lot and the erection of a city hall, and $5,000 for 
fire fighting apparatus and equipment. The vote was as follows : 
City Hall proposition, yeas, 162; nays, 121, indicating a majority in 
favor but not the necessary two thirds. The purchase of fire fighting 
equipment was authorized by a vote of 222 in favor and 44 against it. 

The question of licensing pool rooms agitated the community 
about this time, sentiment among the people being divided, the 
churches solidly taking a position against it. On August fourteenth 
the trustees granted a permit to L. F. Hadrich to operate a pool 
room in the building on the northwest corner of Glendale Avenue 
and Broadway and three days later a mass meeting was held in 
the Presbyterian church to protest against this action, the trustees 
being called upon to appear and defend themselves as best they 
might. The meeting developed rather high temperature, the officials 
coming in for fervid denunciation and a resolution being adopted, 
almost unanimously condemning the granting of the permit. 

The following week at the regular meeting of the trustees a com- 
mittee which had been appointed at the mass meeting, appeared be- 
fore the city officials and demanded that the action by which the 
permit had been granted be rescinded. The subject was referred to 
committee of the whole, where it laid indefinitely. The action of the 
board was not unanimous, however, Trustee Watson voting consis- 
tently against the majority. The agitation of the matter continued 
until the passing some weeks later of an ordinance prohibiting 
pool rooms in the city. 

On September 14, 1907, the Building Inspector's report showed 
for the five months just ended, sixty-six permits issued at a valuation 
of $78,025. 

The Glendale Steam Laundry was established in September of 
this year by Albright & Andrews. 

On October twelfth the city received a proposition from L. C. 
Brand to sell the lighting system for the sum of $21,000. The pur- 
chase was not made at that time, however. 


Another fact indicating the rapid growth of the community at 
this time, was the demand for increased accommodations for the High 
School established only about two years previously. The Board of 
Trustees on December 26. 1906, passed a resolution agreeing to pay 
$1,771.81 for Lot 17, Block 11, Town of Glendale. This is the lot ex- 
tending from Glendale Avenue through to Howard Street occupied 
by the "Power House" of the Public Service department. The 
trustees were severely criticised at the time for making this pur- 
chase; not only on account of the "exorbitant price" paid for it. but 
especially were they condemned for buying it from a man who had 
a short time before been a city official. Time, of course, as in a 
number of similar cases, proved the wisdom of the city officials and 
the lack of vision on the part of their critics. 

The record of 1907 in Glendale would be incomplete if no men- 
tion was made of the action of the Interurban Railway Company 
when on June eighth (being Saturday) at ten o'clock at night some 
cars loaded with Mexican laborers were run up Broadway and work 
begun on tearing up the railroad track from Brand Boulevard to 
Glendale Avenue. 

Great excitement was naturally caused and a crowd of indignant 
citizens gathered and witnessed the act. Init were helpless to inter- 
fere. For some months previous this portion of the system had been 
relegated to the position of a "side track," service being given by a 
small car which met the regular cars at the Brand Boulevard junc- 
tion. The indignation of the citizens of the east side of the city was 
expressed vigorously, and seems to have been justified by several 
facts in connection with the history of the road, one of them being 
that the road as first planned and upon which basis the subscri]>ti(>ns 
were made to secure the right of way. named Glendale .Xvenue as the 
terminal, the subscribers being almost altogether citizens of that 
section and the people of Tropico. A committee waited upon the 
officials of the road, and were even allowed to interview Mr. Hunt- 
ington, but no satisfactory e.xplan.-ition was ever given, although a 
statement was made by the superintendent that this branch of the 
road had yielded a profit of only a few cents a day for (|uite a period 
of time past. 

Mr. Huntington stated that he was guided in such matters by 
the reports and advice of his subordinates and promised to investi- 
gate the situation personally, and so the matter ended exce(>t for the 
natural results which were bitterness of feeling in the community 
and increased efforts to get transportation facilities by other means. 
The Salt Lake company officials were approached and the fact de- 
veloped that the interests of the two sj'Stems interlocked so that no 
relief was possible in that direction. The local paper had the follow- 
ing to say in regard to this latter company: "The Salt Lake road 
cannot be depended upon for any service that will assist in the build- 
ing up of Glendale as far as passenger traffic is concerned," which is 
of interest as being a very close prophecy compared with the facts 
and conditions that have since occurred and still exist. This un- 
explained action of the Pacific Electric Company was a serious blow 

Residence of James F. Triieiiiaii. 

Ke>i(li.l]ie 1)1 1)1. T. C. Youi 


to the east side of Glendale from which it inay fairly be said not 
ever to have recovered. 

The original High School was located on the most important 
business corner in the city, at southeast corner of Brand Boulevard 
and Broadway, now the location of the First National Bank. The 
building of the Pacific Electric railroad, turning as it did to go 
eastward, required that the school district give a small corner of 
its property- for .street purposes so that the car tracks could make 
the turn. The school buildings being thus left in very close prox- 
imity to the railroad, it was soon found that the noise of passing 
cars was a serious annoyance to the school and aside from this, the 
demand for more ground for High School purposes became empha- 
sized and a new location was decided upon. The site selected was a 
block further south, extending from Maryland Avenue to Louise 
Street and from Harvard to Cohirado Streets, containing four and 
one-third acres which was bought for $20,000, a price which was 
considered high for that time. In April, 1908, the district authorized 
a bond issue of $60,000 for new buildings. The grammar schools 
were also beginning to be inadequate and in April a mass meeting 
was held to discuss the securing of a new site for another school 
building, the outcome of which was the Colorado Street school. 

The size of Glendale at that time is pretty well set forth in an 
item found in the Glendale News under date of January 25. 1908, 
as follows : 

A recent count of houses in and about Glendale gave some sur- 
prising results, which we publish herewith. While the count is not 
exact, we have personally satisfied ourselves that it is approximately 
correct. Between San Fernando Road and Central .Avenue and from 
First Street to Riverdale Drive, 150; between Glendale Avenue and 
Central, 230; east of Glendale Avenue to Eagle Rock, 375; total, 775. 

This indicates a population of 3,500 people and means that we are 
rapidly outgrowing our country village aspect. 

In this same issue of the News a few personal items are worth 
notice. The death is reported of Mr. H. N. Jarvis, one of the Trop- 
ico pioneers who had been active in the early day affairs. Also ap- 
pears the funeral notice of W. R. Newton, father of one of Glendale's 
present day business men. Rev. James O'Neill announces Catholic 
services at the G. A. R. hall, Tropico. The first delinquent tax list 
of the City of Glendale is published in this issue, comprising about 
two hundred and twenty-five pieces of property and among the names 
of owners that appear on the list, are those of several citizens who 
are today recognized in the community as having received their re- 
ward for having "held on," when to do so meant sacrifices of per- 
sonal ease and comforts and hardship in general. 



AND 1914. 

At the election in April, 1908, the following trustees were elected : 
Wilmot Parcher, William A. Anderson, Thomas W. Watson, John A. 
Cole and Simeon Grant. Mr. Parcher was re-elected chairman of 
the Board. Mr. George B. Woodberry was re-elected city clerk; 
Thos. W. Doyle, treasurer. Engineer Postle was succeeded by Ed- 
ward M. Lynch and Attorney Baker by John N. Metcalf. Dr. R. E. 
Chase, health officer and Harry M. Miller, marshal. 

On September twentieth Mr. Parcher resigned as a member of 
the Board and Mr. R. A. Blackburn was appointed to fill the va- 
cancy, Mr. Watson being elected chairman of the Board. 

The pool room question continued to agitate the community 
more or less, that portion of the people represented by the churches 
continuing to protest against allowing the business to be carried on. 
In August the license for a pool room which had been given to L. F. 
Hadrich was by him transferred to L. C. Wardell with the consent 
of the Board. On December thirtieth it was ordered by the Board 
that Mr. Wardell's license be cancelled on January first next and in 
January an ordinance was passed prohibiting pool rooms in Glen- 
dale after July 1, 1909, Mr. Wardell being meanwhile permitted to 

Up to April. 1908, the trustees served without compensation, but 
at the spring election of that year the voters agreed to pay them 
three dollars per meeting, limited to one meeting a week, and this 
remained the salary attached to that office until changed by the 
charter in 1921. 

On October fifth school was opened in the new building recently 
completed in the "West Glendale" district, now Columbus Avenue. 

On September twentieth the Catholic Church was dedicated, the 
congregation having been gathered together and the building con- 
structed through the efforts of Rev. Father James O'Neill. 

The corner stone of tlie new High School was laid with ap- 
propriate ceremonies on November 28, 1908. The city was forging 
steadily ahead; a dozen different streets were being improved simul- 
taneously and the tax assessment roll for the year had passed the first 
million dollars in valuation. There had been a number of changes 
in the city government. Trustee J. C. Jennings died, in February, 
and was succeeded by the appointment of Mr. A. W. Randolph on 
March fourth, he filling the position only a few weeks until the regu- 
lar election in April, 1908, not being a candidate for election. 

In June, 1908, Station Agent Le Grand reported that the busi- 


ness of the Pacific Electric had doubled within the last twelve 

On December 9, 1909, Mr. J. M. Banker, who had been acting 
Recorder, resigned and was succeeded by Mr. J. Whomes, who had 
filled a similar position at Redondo before becoming a resident of 
Glendale. Mr. Whomes continued in this position until his death, 
in 1917. Mr. Metcalf resigned the position of city attorney on 
March twenty-fourth and Mr. Frederic Baker, who had previously 
filled the position, was appointed in his place. In April Mr. C. \V. 
Burkett was appointed Building and Plumbing Inspector, holding 
the position until October twentieth when he resigned and was suc- 
ceeded by Mr. J. M. Banker who filled the position until 1920. 

The question of municipal ownership had for many months been 
a Hve issue in Glendale and action looking toward accomplishing 
something in this direction was taken in the early part of 1909, when 
the city engineer was instructed to bring in a report as to the prob- 
able cost of taking over the existing lighting system belonging to the 
Pacific Light and Power Company. The need of street lights was one 
of the things that urged to action in the matter. The power com- 
pany had offered to install and operate lights for $30 apiece monthly, 
a price not considered favorably by the trustees. The whole matter 
came to an issue when an election was called to be held in June to 
vote on a bond issue of $60,000. The campaign that ensued was a 
lively one. Although there was evidently a good majority favoring 
the bonds there was a very active minority opposed to doing any- 
thing, and the power company gave moral and probably financial 
support to this element. 

There was much circularizing of the town and dire predictions 
were made as- to the results that would follow a venture into munic- 
ipal ownership. There were committees at work and mass meetings 
held by both parties and the political atmosphere was kept at a high 
temperature until the election was over. The vote stood 250 to 78 in 
favor of the bonds and so Glendale entered upon an experiment 
which succeeding years have continued to demonstrate as a great 
success, the project having been a paying one from the beginning. 
In November, it was resolved to purchase the distributing system of 
the Pacific Light and Power Company, which was ultimately done. 
A contract was entered into between the city and the company by 
which the latter was to furnish power for a period of five years, an 
arrangement which worked to the apparent satisfaction of both 
parties. The city did not go into the water business until later as 
will be related in proper sequence. 

On August 25. 1909, Trustee John A. Cole resigned and was 
succeeded by John Robert White. Jr. 

Efforts were made from time to time to get the railroad com- 
pany to restore its tracks to Broadway from Brand Boulevard to 
Glendale Avenue, but without success, a letter to the trustees being 
presented on October 27 , in which the attorney of the company stated 
that the company would not rebuild the line and offering to assign 
the franchise if article eight should be eliminated, by which trans- 


fers were provided for. The trustees declined to make the change 

A petition had been presented to the Board asking that an effort 
be made to have the railroad company put its rails on Brand Boule- 
vard down to grade, and thus at that time began an agitation which 
finally resulted in having the tracks lowered between Lexington 
Avenue and Colorado Street, but not elsewhere along the line. The 
postoffice had been taken over by Los Angeles, being operated from 
that office as a branch, Mr. Fanset remaining in charge. By this 
change Glendale received free delivery for the principal portions of 
the city, but it is of record that a letter was received from Postmaster 
Flint in Januar3% 1909, calling attention to the necessity of having 
street names appear on street corners and of having residences and 
business houses furnished with numbers in order to facilitate deliv- 
ery. Mr. Flint was in turn requested to see to it that the postofifice 
lobby was kept open during the evening as late as eight o'clock. 

In December of this year contract for the transformer house on 
the lot recently purchased on Glendale Avenue, was awarded to Mr. 
G. W. Seward at $1,657. The building was completed in the following 

At the April election of 1910, John Robert White, Jr., and H. P. 
Coker were elected trustees for the four year term and Mr. O. A. 
Lane for two years. H. G. Dominy was elected treasurer and failed 
to qualify, F. L. Church being appointed to that position. Mr. Wood- 
berry was again elected clerk. 

Mr. Church resigned as treasurer .'Xpril 22, 1911, and Mr. G. B. 
Hoffman was appointed to that office. On Xovember 19, 1910, Mr. 
H. B. Lynch was appointed manager of the Public Service Depart- 
ment, a position which he held until he resigned in 1920. 

On March 21, 1911, an election took place to determine the much 
debated question of the annexation to Glendale of a large portion of 
the Tropico district. The vote favored annexation but as the City 
of Tropico had come into existence a few days previously, taking in 
the most of the territory involved, the annexation was not accom- 
plished. y\nother election on the consolidation of Tropico and Glen- 
dale, took place December 16, 1911, the proposition being defeated by 
a vote of 352 for and 387 against it in the city of Tropico. 

At the April election of 1910 the following were elected : 
Trustees, H. P. Coker, O. A. Lane, John Robert White, Jr., Clerk 
George B. Woodberry; treasurer, Thomas W. Doyle. Mr. Watson 
and Mr. William Anderson were the hold-over members of the board 
of trustees. Mr. White was elected chairman of the board. 

Up to this time the trustees had been giving their services free, 
but at this election a proposition to pay them three dollars for every 
regular meeting attended, was approved and the compensation 
remained at that figure until the charter was adopted in 1921 when 
it was fixed at ten dollars per meeting attended, limited to six in a 
month. Mr. Frank L. Muhleman, who had succeeded Mr. Frederic 
Baker as city attorney on October 3, 1910, resigned the position on 

S '-J 







May 8, 1911, and Mr. W. E. Evans was appointed city atti)rney, serv- 
ing in that capacity for the city until lie resigned in 1920. 

Street Supt., F. R. Sinclair, who had rendered the city excellent 
service during his incumbency, resigned the position in September, 
1910, and the duties of that office were taken over by city engineer 
E. M. Lynch, who acted in that capacity until 1918 when he resigned 
to accept a position as Captain in the engineering service of the army 
a short time before the armistice. 

An election for the annexation of territory on the west and' north, 
was held on January 3, 1911, after a particularly lively campaign, 
the vote being against the proposition. 

On March 21, 1911, another vote was taken and with some slight 
change in the boundaries, the territory became a part of the city. 

During this same period the city was also agitated by the ques- 
tion of city hall and library sites. Three lots on the northwest cor- 
ner of Broadway and Jackson were offered for $4,000 and three on 
the corner of Fifth and Kenwood for $3,500. One set of citizens 
argued in lavor of a single site for both city hall and library, while 
others favored two separate sites. By a straw vote the decision was 
in favor of the two sites, the lots on Fifth Street being at the same 
time decided upon for the librar}-. The lots on the corner of Fourth 
and Howard Streets were finally selected for the city hall, at a cost 
of $3,170, a bond issue being authorized in the amount of $18,000, 
which included the construction of the city hall and jiurchase of the 
sites. Ground having been secured for a library gave rise to another 
topic for general discussion, viz. : the kind and the ways and means 
to be employed to secure a library building. 

There were those who objected to accepting a Carnegie dona- 
tion, one argument being that the requirement that one tenth of the 
amount donated should be expended on the library every year, was 
too heavy a financial burden to be assumed. However, the trustees 
instructed the clerk to apply to Mr. Carnegie for the sum of $20,000, 
which amount was, after some exchange of letters, reduced to $12,500. 
This was the sum finally received and the building was completed in 

In July, 1910, the first water committee was appointed, the 
trustees delegating to the Chamber of Commerce and the Valley Im- 
provement Association, the appointment of five members from each 
of those organizations to collaborate with the board of trustees in 
an investigation of the water question. On August 21. 1911. Mr. 
G. E. Williams was appointed trustee, succeeding Mr. W'. A. An- 
derson, resigned. Mr. Anderson, being a contractor and builder, 
having ceased to be a city official became eligible to bid on the con- 
tract for the erection of the city hall, and to Anderson & Murdoch, 
the lowest bidders, the contract was awarded at $7,047.50 exclusive 
of the heating apparatus. 

On October 14, 1911, an election occurred by which more terri- 
tory was annexed on the west side. 

In addition to other matters being agitated during this period, 


the consolidation of Glendale and Tropico was a live topic and on 
October 30, 1911, a petition was presented to the trustees asking that 
an election be called to determine the matter. To this petition was 
appended the signatures of 222 citizens of Tropico and 143 of the 
legally registered residents of Glendale. The city clerk certified that 
the signatures represented in each case the requisite one-fifth of the 
registered voters based on the returns of the last general election, and 
was, therefore, legally sufficient for its purpose. The election was 
called for the sixteenth of December following. 

At a joint session of the boards of trustees of the two cities held 
December eighteenth a canvass of the votes was made, showing that 
in Glendale, 273 votes favored the proposition while 19 were against 
it. In Tropico there were 740 votes cast of which 352 were in favor 
and 387 against consolidation. 

In both Glendale and Tropico at this time there were a number 
of citizens who favored annexation to Los Angeles, the main argu- 
ment advanced by them being that by annexation only, could Owens 
River water be secured. A petition was presented to the Glendale 
trustees in November, 1911, asking that body to appoint a committee 
to look into the subject of annexation to Los Angeles, and the presi- 
dent of the board appointed Mr. A. O. Lane, city trustee; Mr. E. U. 
Emery, president of the Chamber of Commerce and Mr. F. J. Show- 
alter, president of the Valley Improvement Association as such com- 
mittee. Nothing ever came of this and subsequent efforts towards 
becoming merged in the larger city, although in Tropico the matter 
finally came to a vote which resulted in the defeat of the proposition. 

The desirability of adding the Verdugo Canyon section to the city 
in order to exercise some control over the water supply, gave con- 
siderable impetus to the movement for annexation of that district, 
but when the proposition was submitted to the voters on February 
12, 1912, it was defeated, principally through the efforts of parties 
having large land interests in the canyon, although Judge E. M. Ross 
and Capt. C. E. Thom, whose large acreage was included in the dis- 
trict to be annexed, took a neutral stand in the matter, acknowledging 
the necessity existing for a better control of the water which at that 
time was the city's only source of supply. 

About this time there was also some agitation over the acquisi- 
tion of a public park. The old picnic grounds in Verdugo Canyon 
were generally recognized as desirable for park purposes and a peti- 
tion was presented to the trustees asking that steps be taken to 
secure that property. The trustees appointed a committee to investi- 
gate the matter, but nothing came of it. The price of the 43 acres 
embraced within the park, was generally spoken of as $60,000, but 
no option was ever obtained. A Central Park was also talked of, the 
site generally favored being the block bounded by Fourth (Broad- 
way) Street, Jackson, Kenwood and Third (Wilson) Streets. Un- 
fortunately neither of these propositions was pushed to a successful 

In March, 1912, the new City Hall was completed and the city 




government moved into it. The building was only half of its pres- 
ent size (now 1922) an addition havincf been made to it which was 
paid for out of the revenues of the public service department. 

The municipal election of April. 1912. resulted in the election 
of Messrs. O. A. Lane, A. \V. Tower and T. \V. \\'atson as trustees; 
White and Coker holding over; G. B. Woodberry, city clerk and 
G. B. Hoffman, treasurer. Mr. T. \\'. Watson was elected president 
of the Board of Trustees and other officers were appointed as fol- 
lows: W. E. Evans, attorney; J- M. Banker, building inspector; 
E. M. Lynch, engineer; O. W. Tarr, street superintendent; J. 
Whomes, recorder. 

In May, Mr. White resigned and the vacancy was filled by the 
appointment of Mr. J. S. Thomjison as against Mr. M. W. Watson, 
whose appointment was urged by a number of citizens residing in the 
western portion of the city; both aspirants having strong backing. 
The city was now well launched upon an era of great constructive 
activity; bond elections and annexation elections followed one after 
another in close succession. 

A Chamber of Commerce and a Valley Improvement .Association 
were functioning successfully working in harmony with the govern- 
ing body of the city in solving the problems that confronted the 
rapidly growing community and two weekly newspapers were per- 
forming their part in affording publicity and as a medium of ex- 
pression, the latter quite frequently differing upon matters of public 
policy and thus playing well their part in showing up both sides of all 

As a necessary preliminary to an effort to obtain a Charter for 
the city, a census was ordered to be taken in June, 1912, the count 
showing a population of 5,510 persons. This was a very satisfactory 
evidence of growth as compared with the census of 1910 which gave 
the city a population of 2,757. .A board of fifteen freeholders was 
elected, Mr. Frank I,. Muhleman being made chairman and after 
several weeks of hard work a charter was prepared and submitted to 
the voters for acceptance; it was rejected, however, lieing too progres- 
sive in its provisions to meet the views of the citizens as expressed 
at the polls. This charter provided among other things, for the divi- 
sion of the city into wards and for the appointment of a city man- 
ager; these two provisions being the ones over which the greatest 
differences of opinion were expressed, and which apparently were re- 
sponsible for the refusal of the people to accept it. 

The success of municipal ownership as demonstrated in the 
city's lighting system, and the trouble experienced with the private 
companies supplying water, impelled the trustees to begin a campaign 
for adding a water department to the city's public utilities. On June 
,\ 1912, the president of the Board of Trustees appointed a water 
commission consisting of the following citizens: A. C. .\dy, H. Le- 
Grosse, John Robert White and J. C. Sherer, to investigate and make 
a recommendation to the board. .Afterwards, Mr. H. B. Lynch and 
Mr. G. B. Woodberry were added to the committee, with the presi- 


dent of the Board of Trustees, Mr. T. W. Watson as ex-officio 
member. The committee was authorized to employ experts to assist 
in its investigations and Messrs. Burns and McDonald were secured, 
their fee being $1,000. 

In July the report of the experts was received covering the sub- 
ject very exhaustively. Acting upon the recommendations in this 
report, an election was called for October 29, 1912, asking the voters 
to approve the issuance of $225,000 in bonds to acquire a water sys- 
tem, by purchase of private companies and otherwise; also $65,000 
for parks and $5,000 for street working machinery. The last of the 
propositions named was approved in the voting, but the community 
was not yet ready to embark in the water business nor to buy a 
park, notwithstanding the constant friction between consumers and 
the local water company; there being 595 votes cast for the water 
proposition and 731 against it. 

The agitation continued thereafter with even more energy and 
display of feeling than before the election. There was considerable 
bitterness injected into the controversy and sectional feeling ran 
high. As a general proposition the residents in the older portion of the 
city were in favor of the program as outlined by the trustees and be- 
lievers in the natural water supph' of the Verdugo Canyon, which 
they claimed would if properly developed supply the requirements of 
the community for years to come, and being available by gravity be 
the cheapest source of supply. The opposition to this program came 
principally from the more recent comers, many of whom believed 
that as the- ultimate destiny of the community was absorption in 
Los Angeles, annexation should be sought immediately so that a sup- 
ply of the Owens River water might be secured ; and there were 
others who believed that the solution of the problem would be found 
by securing land along the Los Angeles river and developing water by 

Both of these classes were opposed to the purchase by the city of 
the existing water companies and had considerable to say about "rot- 
ten water pipes." Finally a mass meeting was called to discuss the 
question and take some action. The result of this meeting was the 
appointment of a committee of eleven citizens to investigate the 
matter thoroughly and make some recommendation to the trustees. 
The committee was allowed the sum of $1,000 with which sum they 
employed an engineer who furnished a report, going into the de- 
tails of the several propositions. 

The committee labored four months, but owing to the differences 
of opinion among the members was unable to reach a decision even 
approximately unanimous, and in December, 1913, submitted its 
report, making only one recommendation, which was that the trustees 
ask the Railroad Commission to put a valuation on the properties 
proposed to be purchased by the city. 

Application was therefore made to the commission to perform 
this service and in May, 1914, the result of the Commission's investi- 
gation was received. The valuation placed upon the various prop- 


erties was $159,234. This included the system of the Glendale Con- 
solidated Water Company, the Verdugo Springs Water Company, 
the Miradora Water Company, and the Verdugo Pipe and Reservoir 
Company. The above properties consisted of a system of compara- 
tively small pipes covering the city and 2,392 ten-thousandths of the 
water of Verdugo Canyon. 

Upon receiving this report the trustees referred it to the City 
Engineer, in conjunction with the City Manager and the Manager of 
the Public Service department, to prepare an estimate as to the 
amount of money that the people should be asked to authorize for 
the purchase of the property of the water companies. The sum 
decided upon was $248,000 and accordingly an election was called to 
authorize this issue. In the campaign which followed, and which was 
waged with considerable heat, all but two or three of the committee 
of eleven opposed the proposition. The antis formed a "Municipal 
League" and issued numerous circulars and two or three numbers 
of a lively sheet called the "Searchlight." Notwithstanding the strong 
organized opposition, the bond issue was authorized by a vote of 
1,913 to 613, and Glendale entered into the municipal water business, 
which has been a marked success. 

The municipal election of April, 1914, resulted in the election 
of the following officials : Trustees — Charles Grist and J. S. Thomp- 
son, with Lane, \\'atson and Tower holding over; Treasurer, G. B. 
HoiTman ; Clerk, J. C. Sherer. Mr. Watson was reelected president 
of the Board. 

In June of this year the Carnegie Library building was completed 
and occupied. Mrs. Alma Danford, who had been connected with 
library work in the city from the beginning, in the years when the 
state supplied a few books and liberal citizens contributed others, 
was appointed Librarian. 

There was considerable agitation about this time, continuing 
for several months, over the question of "storm water." The run-oflf 
of surplus water during heavy rains such as occasionally fell, from 
the Verdugo and the Sycamore Canyons, did occasional damage to 
streets, and the necessity of doing something in the way of control 
and protection became apparent. The matter was taken up with 
the County supervisors and joint plans for a flood control were worked 
out. Difficulty arose, however, when the district was outlined and 
petitions of protest signed by a majority of the property owners in 
the proposed district, were presented to the supervisors resulting in 
the project being abandoned. This outcome of the matter was a 
fortunate one as the same object was later obtained by a county wide 
bond issue and the creation of a County Board of Flood Control which 
worked harmoniously with the Glendale trustees in carrying out 
protective measures. 

The merging of the Glendale post-office with that of Los Angeles, 
by which the Glendale office became merely a branch of the larger 
city office, had taken place in 1909 and although the change had re- 
sulted in establishing free carrier delivery, it was not satisfactory 


to the Glendale people generally and in May, 1914, a petition was 
forwarded to Washington asking for an independent office. This 
petition bore the names of 1,200 people and although it had the sup- 
port of the congressman of the district, the department refused to 
take action and it was not until 1922 that the Glendale postoffice was 
made independent and strictly a local institution, as it was in the 
beginning of the city's life. 

An important change was made in the city government on June 
fifteenth of this year when trustee Thomas W. Watson resigned and 
was appointed Citj' Manager. Under the general state law providing 
a form of government for cities of the sixth class, under which law 
Glendale was working as a municipality, no provision is made for 
such an official, but the growth of the city had now assumed such 
proportions and so many problems were arising from time to time, 
that the trustees assumed the responsibility of creating the office 
by ordinance and subsequent events ])r(ned the wisdom of their 
action. Mr. O. A. Lane succeeded Mr. \\'atson as Chairman of the 
Board of Trustees and the vacancy on the board was filled by the 
ai)pointment of Mr. George S. Williams as trustee. 

On May 3, 1915. a petition was presented to the Trustees asking 
that steps be taken to secure the reorganization of the city as a munic- 
il)ality of the fifth class. This move was the culmination of the 
efforts of an organization called the Municipal League, composed 
principally of citizens who were opposed to the administration and 
were active in keeping up an agitation that was not often construc- 
tive in its character. The City Attorney advised that as a preliminary 
in the legal requirements of the case, the first thing to be done, was 
to have a census of the city taken showing that the population was 
such as to justify the organization proposed. The matter dragged 
on for several months and at last it was determined to wait until the 
next general election, occurring in the following April, and submit 
the question to the voters at that time. \\'hen this was done re- 
organization was defeated at the ballot box by a vote of 94 to 312. 

It was in April of this year (1915) that the city took over the 
private water companies. These purchases were as follows : Con- 
solidated Water Company, contrtilled by L. C. Brand, at a price of 
$79,663.94; V'erdugo Springs Company, owned i)y Thom and Ross 
principally, price $51,157.80; Miradora Water Company, owned by 
Mr. Brand, price $25,114; Verdugo Pipe & Reservoir Companv about 

This launched the city upon the municipal ownership and control 
of water and immediately began to give noticeabh' improved water 
service. This subject is covered in detail in the chapter on Water. 
In August of this year the assessor rendered his report on valua- 
tions, in which the following details were given: Number of acres 
within the city, 3,068; assessed valuation, $4,311,865. During this 
year the City Manager started a comprehensive campaign of tree 
planting along the streets of the city which resulted in lining the 
principal streets with attractive shade trees which today constitute 
one of its principal assets. 








The municipal election of April, 1916. was not marked by any 
unusual features, although the vote on trustees was a close one. The 
result was as follows: Trustees elected, R. M. Jackson, Frank L. 
Muhleman, George B. Woodberry; Treasurer, G. B. Hoffman; Clerk, 
J. C. Sherer. The holdover trustees were Charles Grist and J. S. 
Thompson. Mr. Thompson was elected chairman of the board. In 
March of this year the city completed its third well on the property 
owned by the municipality, on San Fernando road, the same supply- 
ing about 225 inches of water, making the total output of the wells 
over 500 inches, which, added to the gravity supply in Verdugo Can- 
yon, seemed to assure an abundance of water for years to come. 

The consolidation of Glendale and Tropico, which had been a 
live question for many months, now began to assume a concrete form 
and a committee of five was. on June ninteenth, appointed by the 
Glendale Board of Trustees to meet with a similar committee to be 
appointed by Tropico, to consider the matter and make a report. 

On July thirteenth the committee filed its report with the Glen- 
dale Trustees, consisting of a series of questions formulated with a 
view to disclosing the ideas of the ruling powers, of the larger city, 
in regard to certain improvements desired by Tropico, in the event 
of consolidation, and particularly as to extension of the public utili- 
ties to the territory to be acquired by Glendale. These questions 
having been satisfactorily answered, the campaign for consolidation 
reached its final stage and on August 5, 1916, the election occurred. 
The result of the election in Tropico was as follows : In favor of 
consolidation, 381 ; opposed, 393. This close vote gave encourage- 
ment to both parties and the contest continued to enliven the com- 
munity more or less until it came to an issue at the polls again a little 
over a year later when at another election, held on November 21, 
1917, the matter was finally decided by Tropico casting a vote of 650 
votes in favor of consolidation against 211 opposed. This result was 
formally accepted on the part of the City of Glendale by ordinance, 
the official date of the consolidation being January 9, 1918. 

The merging of the two cities into one municipality brought to 
a happy culmination the efforts of the citizens on the northern and 
southern ends of the community to get together, and put an end 
to manifestations of local jealousy which, from time to time for 
years, divided the people on the two sides of an imaginary line. The 


consolidation into a Greater Glendale of a naturally homogeneous 
community enabled them to work out together their manifest destiny. 
In the interval between the two elections, Tropico had voted on the 
proposition of being annexed to Los Angeles, the election occurring 
on August 29, 1917, resulting in defeating that project by a vote of 
548 to 333. 

At the end of June, 1916, the report of the Public Service de- 
partment showed a business of $100,000 for the year, with a profit of 
$50,000 since the organization of the department, after making allow- 
ance for depreciation. The assessed valuation of the city for this 
year (1916) was $5,062,315. In January, 1917, Judge Joseph'Whomes, 
who had served the city in the capacity of Recorder for eight years, 
resigned the position on account of poor health. His death occurred 
a few weeks later and the Board of Trustees adojjted resolutions of 
regret for the loss of a valuable public official and a good citizen. 
Mr. Frank H. Lowe was appointed Recorder and still serves in that 

On July 1, 1917, the city's five-year contract with the Pacific 
Light and Power Company to furnish electricity, expired, and the 
Manager of the Public Service department reported that the Southern 
California Edison Company was the only concern that another con- 
tract could be made with, the first-named company not desiring to 
renew the lease and the City of Los Angeles not yet being able to 
deliver power. Interest attaches to this statement because of the 
fact that five years previously when power was sought by the city, 
the city of Los Angeles was at that time desirous of making a con- 
tract with Glendale to supply power (deliverable in a few months' 
time) and the trustees were subject to considerable criticism for 
not accepting the offer. 

On August 9, 1917, Mr. G. B. Hoffman, who had served as 
Treasurer for six years, died and was succeeded by Mr. J. W. Stauf- 
facher. Mr. Hoffman was a man of ability and culture, a naturalized 
citizen of high standing in the community. The assessed valuation 
of the city this year was $6,094,815. 

In November, Glendale contributed the sum of $750 towards the 
construction of the bridge over the river at Ivanhoe, there having 
been more or less agitation in favor of this improvement for several 
months, the city of Los Angeles, owing to the stringency of war 
times, having decided to construct the bridge, deferring action, had 
asked for the assistance of Glendale and Burbank. The bridge was 
soon afterwards built. 

The year 1917 was a difficult year for public enterprises on 
account of war conditions, the edict of the government having gone 
forth that all projects for public improvements which were not 
strictly necessary should be held in abeyance. There was conse- 
quently very little being done in the nature of street improvements, 
etc., in Glendale or elsewhere at this time. As an indirect result of 
the great world contest, there was an advance generall)' in the cost 
to the consumer of the service of public utilities; the price of gas and 
telephone service was advanced to rates that appeared to the people 


of Glendale unwarranted in both cases and there resulted vigorous 
eflForts on the part of the Board of Trustees, and of citizens generally, 
to secure some modification of rates. Municipal ownership of both 
of these necessities was advocated by petition and in mass meetings, 
even going to the extent of employing- experts to report upon the 
valuation of both of these utilities in Glendale, and calling upon the 
Railroad Commission to take action enabling the municipality to 
take them both over. After a great deal of agitation and the failure 
of the Railroad Commission to take any action, interest in the matter 
gradually died down and the increased cost of the service of both 
companies was accepted as a necessary evil. 

In the early part of 1918 the matter of changing street names 
and the system of street numbering generally was taken up and 
pushed vigorously by its proponents. In the early days of the city 
the streets had been named according to a system that at that time 
seemed practical and satisfactory. The center of population at that 
time was considered to be a little east of Glendale Avenue, and 
there was no principal east and west street in existence, Broadway 
not having been improved and ranking merely as one of the east 
and west streets. This being the condition, the street now called 
Adams, was considered as the central thoroughfare north and south 
and was named "A" street, the next on the west was "B" street, then 
came "C" street, etc., ending in that direction with "O" street, now 
Orange. Westward of that, in 1906. imagination pictured no settle- 
ment worthy of attention ; while there were no north and south 
streets east of "A" street except Verdugo Road, long known by that 
name. Numbering began at "A" street, west and east but principally 
westward. The geographical center of the young city north and 
south was guessed to be "First" Street (now Lexington Avenue) 
and numbers started from there in the other direction. This system 
had lasted twelve years and was clearly outgrown, it being generally 
conceded that, for present purposes, the center of the city was at 
Brand Boulevard and Broadway. There was therefore little opposi- 
tion to commencing to number the streets at that point. The most 
radical change in street nomenclature was that which did away with 
the numbered streets, substituting Lexington Avenue for First Street, 
California for Second. Wilson for Third, etc. Previous to this the 
streets given letters only for names, had been changed using the 
same letters attaching to the streets as initials for the names substi- 
tuted, as Adams for "A" Street, Belmont for "B" Street, etc. 

In September, 1917, Mr. A. W. Randolph, who at one time 
served by appointment as a city trustee, met his death while crossing 
the railroad track at Burbank. The Board of Trustees passed a eulo- 
gistic resolution lamenting the loss of a good citizen. 

It was during this year that there was a merger of the Home 
Telephone with the "Sunset" company. The "Home" had been the 
pioneer telephone company in Glendale and its elimination was 
another evidence of resistless change which is usually called progress. 

In January, 1918. the most extensive street opening project yet 
brought about by the city was completed. This was the condemna- 


tion of a strip of land one hundred feet wide south of Broadway and 
eighty feet in width north of that thoroughfare, extending the entire 
length of the city at that point, for Sycamore Canyon Road, the same 
being intended for a combination street and storm water course. The 
number of assessments included in this procedure was 1,584, and the 
amount of money paid for the condemned property was $35.339.,31. 
A number of efforts to improve this right of way have been made and 
at this time appearances indicate that during 1923, this thoroughfare 
will be completed. 

At the municipal election in April, 1918, the newly annexed terri- 
tory at the southerly extremity of the city, secured two members of 
the Board of Trustees, Hartley Shaw and C. H. Henry. The Board 
now consisted of C. H. Henry, R. M. Jackson. F. L. Muhleman. 
Hartley Shaw and George B. Woodberry. Mr. Wtjodberry was 
chosen chairman of the Board. Soon after the consolidation with 
Tropico, the Board of Trustees took up with the Southern Pacific 
Railroad Company the subject of changing the name of the company's 
station to Glendale and after considerable agitation the change was 
made taking effect on August 10, 1918. 

In May, 1918, the City of Glendale paid Mr. I,. C. Brand $55,500 
for the water system serving the former city of Tropico, payment 
being made by a bond issue authorized by the district covered. 

The Charter election called for July ninth of that year, was not 
held, conditions not seeming to warrant any change of government at 
that time. 

Arrangements were completed in July for the construction of 
a new bridge at Brand Boulevard and Arden Avenue and the straight- 
ening of the channel of the wash at that point. This was the culmina- 
tion of several months of effort on the part of the city to get the 
railroad company and the county of Los Angeles and the County 
Flood Control commission together on the proposition. 

On October thirty-first George H. Herald resigned as City Mar- 
shal and was succeeded by J. P. Lampert on December 1st. 

In a report by an expert employed to investigate the telephone sit- 
uation, the fact was developed that the telephone company had in 
Glendale, at this time, 2,900 sul)scribers. The estimated cost of a mu- 
nicipal telephone system was given as $263,606. 

On January ninth, engineer E. M. Lynch having resigned. Mr. 
H. A. Eddy was appointed City Engineer. 

On April 12, 1919, Mr. George B. Woodberry, who had accepted 
the presidency of the Board of Trustees with a proviso of his own 
that he should only fill that position for a short time, resigned as 
head of the city's governing body, and Mr. Frank L. Muhleman, for 
several years a well known and publicly active citizen of Glendale and 
a lawyer in high standing, was elected president. Mr. Woodberry 
served out the remainder of his term as trustee and declined to stand 
for re-election in 1920. He had been connected with the city govern- 
ment for six years as City Clerk from the organization of the city, 
declining to be again a candidate for the position. Much of the suc- 
cess of the new city had been brought about by Mr. Woodberry s 


intelligent aiul untiring efforts as clerk, and the added two years 
of service as trustee served to emphasize his value as a public servant, 
but he preferred to retire to private life, although continuing active in 
civic affairs up to the present time upon all occasions when the city 
had occasion to call upon its citizens for unofficial action. 

A change of considerable importance was inaugurated this year 
in passing the work i>i assessing and collecting taxes over to the 
County of Los Angeles, relieving the local government of consider- 
able labor and expense. 

An important liond election was held on November twelfth when 
the proposition to bond the city in the sum of $260,000 for the purpose 
of developing the water distributing system by the construction of 
reservoirs and the laying of mains and in developing additional 
water, was carried by a vote of 974 to 284. The County Flood Con- 
trol commission in the fall and early winter of this year put in a line 
of protection work along the Verdugo Wash on the entire northerly 
frontage of Glendale along that occasional stream, thus bringing to 
completion a work that had been contemplated for a number of years. 

In 1920 conditions had improved generally throughout the coun- 
try so that affairs were being stabilized, more or less, and the city of 
Glendale took on new life and energy and a few projects that had 
been "hanging fire" were pushed through successfully. Early in 
the year the city trustees having received from Mr. J. R. Gray a very 
liberal offer, bought of him ten acres for park purposes, at a price 
of about a thousand dollars an acre. This land lies at the western end 
of Patterson Avenue south of the wash and gives promise of becoming 
one of the valuable assets of the city when contemplated improve- 
ments shall have been made. The assessed valuation of the city for 
this year was $9,384,535 as against $7,692,995 for the previous year, 
showing that notwithstanding war time conditions the city had con- 
tinued uninterruptedly on its progressive course. 

This idea was confirmed from a very high source when the 
returns of the United States census of that year were made public, 
showing that Glendale led all the cities of the Union in percentage 
of growth in population during the decade just ended. The ofificial 
figures were as follows: Population of Glendale in 1910, 2,746; in 
1920, 13,536. 

The assessed valuation of the city area was now, 1920, $12,- 
488,379. This evidence of increase in population gave birth to the 
slogan, "The fastest growing city in America" ; and in the three 
years that have elapsed since the census was taken, there is ample 
evidence to show that this percentage of increase had been steadily 
expanding, as there are within the corporate limits of Glendale at 
this time about 35,000 people. This growth is little short of phe- 
nomenal and can only be attributed to a combination of natural 
advantages and a sane and yet progressive local government of their 
own by a class of people who are appreciative of the favors of Provi- 
dence and alive to their own responsibilities. 

In February, 1920, Dr. R. E. Chase resigned the position of 


health officer of the city, which he had filled very satisfactorily for 
several years, and was succeeded by Dr. J. E. Eckels. 

On April first, Mr. H. A. Eddy, who had served as city engineer 
since January, 1919, resigned and was succeeded by Mr. Courtland 
T. Hill. 

In the April election of 1920. Mrs. Ann P. Bartlett, Spencer Rob- 
inson and Dwight W. Stephenson were the newly elected members 
of the Board of Trustees, Mr. Hartley Shaw being elected president 
of that body. In July of this year occurred the death of Mr. R. M. 
Jackson, who had, in .April just passed, completed a four-year term 
as a trustee of the city. Mr. Jackson, although comparatively a 
recent comer, had established a reputation as a progressive and useful 
citizen, having served as secretary of the Chamber of Commerce and 
performed other civic duties in a manner that made him man)' friends. 

In June, Mr. John P. Lampert resigned as City Marshal and Mr. 

C. E. Stanley was appointed to that office. In October following, 
Mr. Stanley resigned and Mr. Lampert was reappointed. 

The matter of a new charter was at last brought to an issue by 
an election on November 16, 1920. when a Board of Freeholders was 
elected as follows: Bert P. Woodard. Chairman; Dr. Jessie A. Rus- 
sell, A. W. Beach. C. E. Kimlin, R. M. McGee. F. L. Muhleman, May 
E. Myton. W. R. Phelon, Mabel L. Tight, F. H. Vesper. George B. 
Woodberry, George H. Bentley, C. \V. Ingledue. Henry Johnson, C. 

D. Lusby. The Board completed its work and the proposed charter 
was filed on the twelfth of January following. 

On December 30, 1920, Mr. W. E. Evans resigned as City Attor- 
ney, a position he had filled for almost ten years, during which period 
he had piloted the growing city through a numl^er of difficult situa- 
tions. The city was fortunate in having at hand to put into the city 
attorney's office a lawyer of experience in municipal afTairs. as well as 
in general law, in the person of Mr. Hartley Shaw, the president of 
the Board of Trustees. To assume the duties of this position, Mr. 
Shaw resigned as a trustee of the city and was immediately made city 
attorney. The vacancy on the Board was filled by the appointment 
of Mr. A. H. Lapham. who was sworn in as a trustee on January 6, 
1921. Mr. Dwight W. Stephenson was elected chairman of the 

A much needed improvement in the water system was provided 
for in December, 1920, when the city purchased of Judge E. M. Ross, 
for the sum of $7,000, a site for a reservoir on Verdugo Road a short 
distance above the mouth of Verdugo Canyon, which was completed 
some six months later, with a capacity of seven and a half million 
gallons and costing $85,000. .'\ large acreage of high class residence 
property along the base of the hills above the valley came under the 
gravity water system of the city and at once entered upon an era of 
rapid development. 

The year 1921 opened with every promise of continued prosperity 
and growth. The total value of buildings erected during the previous 
year as shown by the record of the permits issued by the Superinten- 
dent of Building, was $5,099,201. The total number of water connec- 



Tlic Jiiisfii BuildiiiL 

The HarrowiT l.alioiatorv. 


tions on July 1, 1920, was 4,229. increasing within the following year 
to 5,242. 

Under these conditions, the local authorities began to prepare 
vigorously for the future growth and importance of the municipality. 
A committee was appointed to prepare a plan for dividing the city 
into residential, business and commercial sections. A business dis- 
trict had previously been set aside for the location of factories, lumber 
yards, etc., along the San Fernando road adjoining the tracks of 
the Southern Pacific Railroad and various concerns had already 
located there. An advisory committee of citizens was appointed to 
consider and report on the matter of a sewer system for the city. 
The need of such a system began to be felt in the congested business 
district in the center of the city, and after considerable investigation 
and preliminary work, a district covering this territory was outlined 
and a system adopted to cost approximately $31,296. This work was 
completed in the latter part of the year. Another similar sj'stem with 
a local disposal plant was constructed in Verdugo Canyon, which had 
developed during the past two or three years into a high class resi- 
dential section. The first named system was financed by an assess- 
ment on the property within the district and the latter by a bond issue 
voted upon by the inhabitants of the district benefited and covering 
a limited territory, in the amount of $50,000. Both districts were 
planned with a view of becoming a part of a general system to be 
established in the near future. Annexations of territory in the north- 
west along the base of the hills towards Burbank had added to Glen- 
dale's area a large addition of choice residence property and that sec- 
tion had within the past year started upon an era of wonderful devel- 
opment consisting of the erection of a great many residences, the 
opening and improvement of streets and the installation of water 
mains and reservoirs. The territorial area of the city was now eleven 
square miles. 



On March 29, 1921, the voters ratified the new charter. There 
was nothing radical or revolutionary in this new code and there was 
practically no opposition to it. It provided for a City Manager, but 
this merely furnished a law to fit a fact that had been in existence 
ever since 1914, when the city trustees by ordinance created the 
office although there was no provision for such an office in the general 
law governing municipalities of the sixth class such as Glendale was. 
The election for officers under the charter occurred on June 28. 1921. 
There were fifteen candidates for the five positions on the council; 
four for the office of clerk and one only for treasurer. 

The following were elected Councilmen : S. A. Davis. C. E. 
KimJin, A. H. Lapham, Spencer Robinson and Dwight W. Stephen- 


son. Messrs. Davis, Robinson and Kimlin having received the highest 
number of votes were declared elected for the four year term and 
Messrs. Lapham and Stephenson for the .short term of two years. 
J. C. Sherer was elected clerk and J. W. Stauffacher, treasurer. A 
Board of Education was elected consisting of the following: Eva C. 
Barton, David Black, D. J. Hibben. Nettie C. Brown and P. C. Lucas. 
Mr. Spencer Robinson was chosen Mayor and Acting President of 
the Council. The following appointments were made at the first 
meeting of the newl}- elected councilmen : Judge of Police Court, 
Frank H. Lowe; Controller (a new office), H. A. Harrison. 

On August eleventh, Mr. Thomas \V. Watson resigned the posi- 
tion of City Manager which he had held ever .since the office was 
created. In leaving the service of the city, Mr. Watson closed a 
career of unbroken service to the city covering the entire period of 
its existence of fifteen years. In the capacity of Trustee, President of 
the Board and City Manager he rendered to the city intelligent and 
valuable service. 

Mr. Watson was succeeded b)- Mr. W. H. Reeves as City Man- 
ager. Mr. Reeves was a citizen of Pasadena, but immediately re- 
moved to Glendale and entered vigorously upon the duties of the 

On September fifteenth, Mr. J. P. Lampert resigned as Chief of 
Police and was succeeded by Mr. A. O. Martin. Mr. Lampert had 
given general satisfaction in the difficult position that he was leaving 
and retired to private life with expressions of sincere regret by the 

Other appointments under the charter were as follows; A. H. 
Lankford, Chief of Fire department; Dr. J. E. Eckles, Health Officer; 
C. T. Hill, Engineer; F. A. Marek. Building Superintendent; P. Died- 
erich, Superintendent of Plant and Production; J. F. Mclntyre, Com- 
mercial Agent. On September 1st, Mr. Hartley Shaw resigned as 
City Attorney and Mr. Bert P. Woodard was appointed to the posi- 
tion. On October 3, 1921, Mr. J, W. Stauflfacher resigned as city 
treasurer and Mr. J. C. Sherer was appointed to the position, having 
resigned as city clerk. Mr. J. W. Blake was appointed city clerk, 
but after serving about ten days resigned and Mr. A. J. Van Wie 
was made clerk. 

The opening of the year 1922 found the city in the midst of its 
most prosperous period and throughout the year this condition con- 
tinued unbroken. The work of street improvement which had been 
held back during and for a time after the great war, was resumed 
with an impetus that promised to make up for lost time. The number 
of street improvement proceedings carried through during the year 
just ended as this chapter is written, was fifty-one. 

Figures representing assessed valuation cease to be of use in 
determining growth, as during this year a re-valuation of property 
was made by the county of Los .'\ngeles and a greatly increased val- 
uation as a basis for taxation, went into eflfect all over the county. 
Under this general advance, the valuation of the city for assessment 
purposes in 1921 and 1922 was $21,981,560. 


From the controller's report for the year ending June 30, 1922. 
the following statistics are taken : Valuation of property belonging 
to the City of Glendale, 

City hall, land and building $ 20.204.66 

Furniture and equipinent 6.015.96 

Police dei>artment 6„^37.83 

Fire houses and land 10.122.22 

Equipinent 37,964.61 

Library, land and building 17.246.71 

Books and equipment 26.508.76 

Park (one only at that date) 10.000.00 

Public welfare equipment 7.370.58 

Public works equipment 51,985.84 

Water company stock 24,852.50 

Water system.' 824,768.73 

Electricity, distributing system .?32,792.88 

Total value of city property $1.. 384,771. 28 

Number of water connections 6,816 

Miles of mains 100 

Revenue for vear $176,567.27 

Expense '. 56.803.94 

Excess of revenue 119,764.23 

Electricity, connections 8.256 

Revenue $265,453.42 

Expense 121,814.54 

Excess of revenue 143,638.88 

Glendale on J.\nu.\rv 1, 1923 

By this date the number of water connections had increased to 
6,816; electricity, light and power meters, 8,256. 

Estimated population, conservative, 30,000. 

Value of new buildings for 1922, represented bv permits, 
$6,-305.971. The same for year 1920, $3,127,264. 

Area of city, 11.7 square miles. 

Number of banking institutions, eight, with combined deposits 
of $70,000,000. 

Number of churches, sixteen. 

Schools — Intermediate 2. Elementary 10, High 1. 

Number of pupils in Intermediate and Elementary schools. 3.961. 
Teachers in same. 121. 

Pupils in High School, 1.600; teachers. 76. 

The Pacific Telephone and Telegraph Company has made a 
recent survey of conditions in Glendale and vicinity, from which the 
following items are gleaned: 

The Federal census of 1920 gave the City of Glendale with the 
territory comprising Montrose, La Crescenta and La Canada, a popu- 
lation of 15,928 persons. The recent survey made by this company 
makes the number not less than 30,000, which indicates an increase 
of 100 per cent in three years. 


A similar survey was made in 1917 which showed 4,200 families in 
Glendale; there are now 8,679. Of this number, 8,029 are living in 
individual homes, 583 in flats and the remainder in lodging houses and 
light housekeeping quarters. There are 879 firms doing business 
in Glendale. Of these there are 212 in offices, 316 in retail establish- 
ments, and 131 are workshops. There are seventy grocery stores and 
markets, sixteen drug stores, seven banks, three wholesale houses, 
eleven factories, fifteen religious and eighteen educational institu- 

The following is a condensed roster and directory of official 
Glendale as of January 1, 1923: City Councilmen : Spencer Robin- 
son, Mayor; C. E. Kimlin, S. A. Davis, A. H. Lapham, Dwight W. 
Stephenson. The terms of Councilmen Lapham and Stephenson 
expire April, 1923. City Manager, W. H. Reeves; City Clerk, A. J. 
Van Wie; City Treasurer, J. C. Sherer; Engineer, Ben S. Depuy; 
City Attorney, Hartley Shaw; Asst. City Attorney, Ray Morrow; 
Controller, H. C. Saulsberry; Supt. of Plant and Production (Public 
Service), Peter Diederich; Commercial Agent (Public Service), J. F. 
Mclntyre; Supt. of Building, H. C. Vandewater; Judge of Police 
Court, F. H. Lowe; Chief of Police, Col. J. D. Frazer; Chief of Fire 
Dept., A. H. Lankford; Purchasing Agent, F. H. Dickson; Health 
Officer, Dr. G. Kaemmerling. 

Public Service Department 

The growth of this department is eloquently told by the follow- 
ing figures: The number of employes in 1913 in the public service 
office were, besides the manager, one office clerk and one meter 
reader and collector. On January 1, 1923, there were on the office 
payroll the following: One commercial agent, two meter readers, 
three collectors, two utility men, two billing clerks, one cashier, one 
assistant cashier, one chief clerk, one utility clerk. The outside force 
consisted of the following: A superintendent, one senior draftsman, 
two junior draftsmen, one general foreman, one construction fore- 
man, eight or nine sub-foremen, two linemen, two line foremen, two 
pump plant men, three trouble men, one meter tester, seven truck 
drivers, four linemen helpers, one blacksmith, two store keepers, and 
an ever varying number of laborers, depending on the amount of 
construction work on hand, sometimes as many as seventy-five. 

Mr. Peter Diederich, as Superintendent of Plant and Production, 
is the head of this department. Mr. Diederich has been connected 
with this department ever since its organization. Mr. H. B. Lynch 
was its original manager, acting in that capacity until 1919, when the 
department was reorganized and put under the direct control of the 
City Manager, Mr. Lynch acting for about two years longer in an 
engineering capacity. 

Fire Department 

This department of the city's service, shows great growth from 
a small beginning. As late as 1913 the entire "department" consisted 
of one man, a horse and wagon and 800 feet of hose. The one man 
was Town Marshal, Harry Miller (later Justice of the Peace), who 

Fire House No. 1. 


while keeping peace, patrolling the city night and day, had his ears 
open for fire alarms, which fortunately were infrequent. 

In November, 1913, the city purchased a Knox Truck chemical 
and hose combination, at a cost of $6,250. Marshal Miller resigned 
and Mr. A. H. Lankford was appointed driver, with one fireman. In 
December the horse and wagon were sold. In January, 1914, Mr. 
Geo. Herald was appointed chief of the department, which then 
consisted of three men. (^n Jul)- 1. 1915, Mr. Lankford was made 
chief of the department and has retained the position until this date. 

In January, 1918, Tropico was made a part of the City of Glendale 
and by this consolidation Glendale acquired two fire trucks, the 
Tropico station being retained as Fire Station No. 2. In May, 1918, 
a Buick roadster was procured at a cost of $1,400 for the use of the 
chief. In May, 1919, an American-La France pumji and hose combina- 
tion of 750 gallons capacity was purchased for $10,250. In November, 
1921, the city purchased another American-La France pump and hose 
combination of 750 gallons' capacity for $12,500. In September, 1922, 
still another at the same price was purchased. The mechanical force 
of the department has to its credit the building over of the first truck 
owned by the city which had become practically useless, converting 
it into a first class ladder wagon at a cost of $393. An old Ford car 
bought for $50 was converted into a first class service car at a cost 
of $156. Fire Station No. 3 was opened in the Grand View district 
in 1922. The department now maintains three stations with a force 
of twenty men. The total equipment now is as follows: Three 750- 
gallon pumpers; one 500-gallon pumper; one ladder wagon; one Buick 
roadster; one Ford service car and 4,800 feet of two and one-half inch 

Engineering Department 

Mr. Ben S. Depuy is engineer and also Street Superintendent. 
The demands made upon this department by the rapid growth and 
extension of the city, particularly by the great amount of street im- 
provement work being done, has made it difficult to keep up the neces- 
sary detail work, but it has been done nevertheless and the depart- 
ment is now in smooth and effective working condition. 

The force employed in this department is as follows : Engineer, 
assistant engineer, three chiefs of party, seven inspectors, field dep- 
uty. The above constitute the outside force. Inside are the follow- 
ing: In the street assessment department, one chief, a clerk and a 
draftsman. In office department, five draftsmen, one office deputy, 
six clerks, two stenographers. 

Street Department 
L. Dewaard and T. W. Curl, foremen. Eight truck drivers, five 
sweepers, three grader men, one tractor man, thirteen laborers, two 

Health Department 
Consists of one health officer. Dr. G. Kaemmerling; an inspector, 
a nurse and a technician. Owing to the crowded condition of the city 
hall, this department is located in the building that was once the 
city hall of Tropico, on Los Feliz Road, corner Brand. 


The Hi-'iLniNC Department 

This department was for many years under the control of the 
Buildinjj Inspector, doing the work with one clerk. Mr. J. M. Banker 
held the position until 1920. 

At present Mr. H. C. Vandewater is Superintendent of Building, 
having under him four inspectors, one clerk and a draughtsman. 

Police Department 

In 1918, the Glendale Police department consisted of six men, its 
traveling equipment consisting of one motorcycle and one "Ford." 
The signalling system consisted of one telephone call box and some 
"volunteer" telejihones used by courtesy. The salaries ranged from 
$75 to $1 10 per month. The hours of duty were about twelve hours 
per "watch," but owing to the fact that high-grade men were em- 
ployed and that citizens generally co-operated, the taxpayers received 
a maximum of service at a minimum of cost. 

In 1916, an efifort was made to install a finger-print bureau, but 
because oi limited funds, it was impossible to employ an expert for 
that service. However, the fact that the department possessed this 
crime-detecting accessory, undoubtedly had a good effect in deterring 
the undesirables from coming to or remaining in the city. During the 
war period the task of obtaining good men was a difficult one, but 
the force was, nevertheless, kept in a good condition of efficiency. 

The department today is one of the most modernized and im- 
portant of the city government; although still somewhat handicapped, 
it is rapidly approaching a stage of 100 per cent efficiency. The per- 
sonnel on January 1, 1923, was composed of a chief. Col. John D. 
Frazer; a lieutenant, two sergeants, three desk officers, four motor- 
cycle officers, two detectives, a bailiff, a police matron and fourteen 
patrolmen. The transportation equipment consists of a Dodge Tour- 
ing car, a Ford Touring car. the latter being used part of the time by 
the pound-master in collecting stray canines. The motorcycle squad 
consists of a sergeant and three men working in two teams. This 
squad has done verj- efficient service in running down traffic law 
violators, recently averaging more than 450 a month. 

The signalling system has been greatly improved and enlarged. 
Thirteen call box stations have been established at various parts of 
the cit-s' and a red light signalling device operated from headquarters 
calls the force to the telephones in cases of emergency or of general 
alarm. A "Flying Squadron" consisting of two men armed with 
sawed-off shot guns is on duty at headquarters during the night ready 
for instant service. The city is divided into five precincts patrolled 
during the twenty-four hours and in constant touch with head- 
quarters. The offices have been greatly enlarged recently, adding 
considerable to the comfort and efficiency of the force. The hours 
of duty have been reduced to eight in the day and the pay increased 
until it is now from $135 to $200 a month. The personnel has been 
kept up well and is highly efficient, many ex-service men and marines 
being included in the force. A modern system of records has been 
installed, and in fact all along the line improvements are noticeable. 

Pi-iulroy's Dcparlimiu Store. 
'I'hc Monarch Buildiiifi. 


TiiF. Growth of Gi.iindai.e by Anxkxations 

As the following statement shows, Glendale has gathered to itself 
by annexation a large area of territory, until at present it comprises 
all of the territory naturallj- aftiliated with it, except a small section 
of "Casa Verdugo" and a few scattering sparsely settled outlying 
districts of limited area. Most of the annexed territory has become a 
part of the city because its inhabitants saw the advantages to be 
derived, principally in the way of service of water and electricity by 
the municipality. The "Pumping Plant" strip was annexed in its 
shoestring form, for the purpose of bringing the property along the 
San Fernando road on which the city wells are located, under the 
jurisdiction of the city government. A similar argument was effective 
in reference to the Verdugo Canyon territory in which is located 
the city's gravity water supply. 

Original city, 1906 1.486 acres 

West Glendale, October 14, 1911 399 " 

Verdugo Canyon, March ,30, 1912 3,736 " 

Remington Street District. Oct. 16, 1915 45 " 

Pumping Plant District, Nov. 10, 1915 21 "' 

Tropico, Nov. 21, 1917 861 " 

Valley View, April 5, 1918 43 " 

Arden Avenue, April 5, 1918 14 " 

Kenilworth, June 24, 1918 47 " 

Grand View, Jan. 20, 1919 605 '• 

Pacific Avenue, June 30, 1921 748 " 

Viola Avenue, July 13, 1921 18 " 

Sierra Avenue, August 11, 1921 1,186 " 

Laurel Avenue, Nov. 29, 1921 401 " 

Total 9,610 acres 

The above are the dates of the elections, the official date of filing 
with the Secretary of State is a few days later in each case. 

As the year 1923 opens, several building projects have assumed 
tangible shape and structures will soon be erected that mark a new 
era in Glendale's building history. The "First four-story building in 
Glendale" is being erected on the southwest corner of Brand Boule- 
vard and Wilson Avenue, by J. W. Lawson. In the same block 
south of the Lawson building, E. U. Emery and H. S. Webb are con- 
structing a fine two-story building with glass front, to be occupied by 
the dry goods store of H. S. Webb and Company. 

The northeast corner of Brand and Broadway, occupied up to 
the present time since 1906 by the depot building of the Pacific Elec- 
tric Railway company, has been sold to the Security Loan and Trust 
Company, which recently took over the First National Bank of Glen- 
dale, and there will be erected there in the near future a bank building 
which it is said is to consist of six stories. 

But the largest building project ever started in the city, is the 
structures now being erected by the Glendale Sanitarium Company, 


on that company's recently acquired property on the hillside north 
of Wilson Avenue and east of Verdugo Road. The initial investment 
of this concern will amount to $480,000. This site was bought in 1922 
of Mrs. Mary G. Dodge, widow of J. M. Dodge, a pioneer of Glendale, 
who selected that sightly spot for his home about 1885. He died 
some five or six years ago and his widow has occupied the original 
house on the hill up to the time of sale of the property. 

On the fine twenty-one acre site on the southeast corner of Ver- 
dugo Road and Broadway, acquired by the High School district in 
December, 1921. school buildings are now in course of construction 
for the Glendale Union High School, to cost $600,000 calculated to 
accommodate 2.500 pupils. The larger portion of this property was 
sold to the district by Mr. J. P. Lukens who came to Glendale in 
1885 with no other capital than that with which nature had endowed 
him. The ground now being built upon by the High School district 
was covered by a fine bearing orchard of navel orange trees, which 
Mr. Lukens produced from the seed, and which have been dug up 
during the past few months to make way for the educational plant. 

The jjast year has witnessed the establishment of a number of 
important industrial enterprises along the San Fernando Road paral- 
leling the lines of the Southern Pacific Railroad company, within the 
recently established "Industrial District." As for the building of 
homes, which after all are the sure foundation of the city's growth 
and prosperity, that part of this history is told best in the figures 
presented herewith showing the continued and almost unparalleled 
record of achievement in this direction. The development of the 
city in recent years has naturally been from the center outward ; the 
section best served by the electric railroad, being the first to feel the 
impetus of the movement in real estate values set in motion by the 
home builder and then by the business that followed in his trail. 

The present era of rapidly increasing values in business property 
in particular, may be said to have had its inception about 1920, when 
Dr. Goodno, a Pasadena capitalist, bought lots on Brand Boule- 
vard running back to Maryland Avenue, between Broadway and Har- 
vard Street, and erected the Glendale Theatre building. This struc- 
ture was soon followed by the erection of the building now occupied 
by the Chamber of Commerce, and immediately afterwards bj' other 
business blocks which were immediately upon completion occupied 
by various prosperous business concerns, along Brand Boulevard and 
Broadway, in both directions from the center, which by common con- 
sent had been established at the junction of Broadway and Brand. 

At the present time there is no portion of the city in which 
growth and prosperity are not shown by buildings in the course of 
construction, although it is apparent that the greatest development 
in the way of home building is along the beautiful foothill section of 
the northwest towards Burbank. and at the other extreme in the 
eastern portion of the city near the Eagle Rock boundarj — the space 
between that city and Glendale being rapidly closed in. 




The story of "The fastest growing city in .\nierica, " which 
omitted to give due attention to its newspapers, would be suggestive 
of Shakespeare's great tragedy with the Melancholy Dane left out. 
Certain it is that the newspapers of Glendale have at all times done 
their full duty in making the world familiar with the merits of the 
community whose life they mirrored and whose record they have 
faithfully kept. It is hard to realize that as long ago as 1887, a live 
newspaper existed in Glendale, fully as much alive to existing condi- 
tions and as thoroughly convinced of the future greatness of the com- 
munity, as the newspaper of today, which is saying much, for then 
it was seen with the eye of faith, while today the wonders of growth 
and development are so evident to the senses that they cry aloud ! 

Referring to the minutes of the Glendale Improvement Associa- 
tion, under date of June 6, 1887, we find the following: "The news- 
paper question was then discussed, the meeting being unanimous in 
the opinion that the project should be encouraged and a large sub- 
scription be given to a paper to be published on the spot. Messrs. 
Wheeler were present and e.xpressed their willingness to take hold of 
the project if guaranteed sufficient support. The secretary was in- 
structed to draw uj) a resolution pledging support to the proposition, 
pecuniary and otherwise." The resolution was unanimously adopted 
and a committee consisting of Messrs. Crow and Watson appointed 
to assist Mr. Wheeler in circulating a paper pledging a certain sum 
per month for the support of the paper for a period of six months. 
The sum of eighty dollars was pledged by those present. The mem- 
bers of this committee were Mr. H. J. Crow and Mr. W. G. Watson. 
The committee was evidently successful, for the paper was started. 

Both of the Wheeler brothers are alive and prosperous at the 
present time; one in the state of Washington and the other, .Arthur J., 
being connected with the Los .'\ngeles Railway Company. ,'\nother 
member of the firm that made the Glendale Encinal a success, was 
Mrs. Cora J. Wolfe, a sister of the two brothers, a practical type 
setter whose valuable assistance in that capacity went far towards 
making the existence of the paper possible. 

The historian is fortunate in being able to give the story of this 
interesting enterprise in the language of the editor and also other 


features of it in the language of the useful "silent partner." "I was 
working in the Western Union telegraph office in Los Angeles," said 
Mr. Wheeler, "and happened to remark one day to J. C. Sherer who 
was also employed there, that I had a brother who wanted to start a 
small newspaper somewhere. Mr. Sherer, who was living in Glendale 
at the time, said that there was a good opening in Glendale and the 
result was that he took me out there to see about it. We went to the 
meeting of the Improvement Association and in a short time the mat- 
ter was arranged for us to start the publication of a small weekly 
which we called the Encinal. We had no money and it was strictly 
a shoe-string proposition. I talked the printers' supply house, man- 
aged by Dick Pridham who afterwards became supervisor, into let- 
ting us have a small press and a set of type, for which we gave a 
note payable in six months. It was mighty hard 'sledding' but the 
people stood by us loyally and we made it go. 

"The paper was first located in the rear of the real estate office 
conducted by Clippinger and Williams at the southwest corner of 
Broadwaj' and Glendale Avenue. In a short time we moved from 
there to quarters prepared for us in the basement of the new hotel 

"The people of Glendale and Tropico gave us loyal support al- 
though we had of course, to work pretty hard for all that we got. 
As a printer's devil we had a lively number in the person of 'Billy' 
Phelon, who made himself generally useful. He is well known to 
Glendale people as the local manager of the Southern California Gas 
Compan}'. Among the pioneers of that day I recall with very friendly 
feelings, the names of Richardson, Devine, Cook, Hollenbeck, By- 
ram, Patterscjn, Clippinger, Lukens, Dewing, Hobbs, and always 
when thinking of those times I recall H. J. Crow. Glendale's original 
booster who was always ready to give support to any project that 
promised to develoj) the valley. After the railroad was completed 
to Glendale and before it was extended up into the canyon a stage 
ran from the terminus to the park. This stage was run by George 
Washington Gray who lived up Crescenta way and I was surprised 
a few weeks ago when I encountered Mr. Gray on the streets in Los 
Angeles, wearing the same long whiskers and looking much as he 
did in the days of the "iiooni.' We published the Encinal for about 
two years when, as the boom had collapsed, the picking became 
rather scanty and we sold out to Wm. Galer of Long Beach. I be- 
lieve Mr. Galer kejit it alive about a year when it passed into history." 

We are also able to supplement this interesting account by the fol- 
lowing sketch furnished by Mrs. Cora J. Wolfe, which furnishes a 
characteristeric atmosphere for the times pictured so graphically. 

"The Glendale T'lncinal, a weekly newspaper, was established in 
1887 by Arthur J. and Walter L. Wheeler. A few cases of type and a 
Washington hand press made up the plant. The bugle note, or sole 
object in fact, was the booming of the little town. How the editor 
wrote of its future greatness, as a suburb of Los .Angeles — that was 
as far as he could visualize, and this was a far cry, a pure case of 


"kidding yourself,' a phrase which had not then been coined but aptly 
applies now. 

"Looking back thirty-five years one is dazed at the transition. 
Great things have been evolved from that first crude attempt at 
building a cit}-. As one remembers, the Encinal loyally reported 
every house that was constructed, fondly referring to the 'music of 
the hammer and the saw'; always prophesying that there was more 
to follow. No need to call attention to the many hmnes of artistic 
design that constitute the city of today. The old family home was 
located on what was then known as 'M' Streets (now Maryland Av- 
enue) between Fourth and Fifth Streets (now Broadway and Har- 
vard). There was a path made through the weeds and wild flowers 
leading thereto. There were only two other homes south of the 
hotel ; all beyond and surrounding being orchard and vineyard. On 
the lot where the little home stood and the tall corn waved — a home 
garden being the natural thinu: requiring no urge from the govern- 
ment, now stands a brick building. Within the past year the last 
land marks have been removed, a few large pepper trees and some 
cypress that had once formed a hedge about the house thirty years 

"Going back to the Encinal; the manner of getting news in those 
days was in keeping with the rest. A cart and a broncho were a 
part of the equipment and two days in the week saw one of the 
editors start of? for Tropico, Eagle Rock or even over the rocky 
road that led to La Canada and Crescenta, picking up bits of 'news' 
and those familiar with small town stuff will appreciate the fact that 
it was 'hard picking.' 

"Recalling those times one had a mental picture of 'Billy' the 
broncho, interested, if not in the work, in gleaning for himself the 
luscious pickings in the vineyards by the roadside. When he took a 
notion nothing would induce him to go ahead with the business of the 
day until he had sampled the grape juice. One day he came to grief 
through his pilfering propensities. He discovered some oats in a 
half opened box, and not being content with enough and to leave 
some for the next comer, he got his nose in too far and the result was 
a terrified broncho tearing down Glendale Avenue adorned with an 
unusual headpiece. It is not remembered that this experience re- 
formed him. The writer cherishes an abiding memory of the friends 
of that distant day who were loyal friends of the little paper; some 
of them still remain and are enjoying the fruits of their patient 
planting while others have passed on, let us hope, to an even better 

"Among them were Mr. and Mrs. W. C. B. Richardson. The 
latter contributed verses to the Encinal from time to time, and as 
there were no poets on the staff, her contributions were appreciated 
and each bit of her verse held some worth while message. Mr. Rich- 
ardson with his wide experience was a valued adviser of the strangers 
and novices. Out of the fund of his recollections he contributed many 
incidents of earlier days in the valley which supplied items of interest 
for our readers. 


"Mr. and Mrs. Edward Ayers always proved their interest in the 
Encinal, by contributions for the delectation of the newspaper force, 
rather than for the readers of the paper, as it was the good old custom 
still at that time, to send to the newspaper office samples of the fruits 
of the garden and orchard. While the ball of reminiscence rolls we 
speak of another good friend, Mrs. Ella B. Newcomb, whose home 
was in Verdugo on a hill overlooking the valley, from which a beauti- 
ful view of the valley unfolded. Mrs. Newcomb also expressed her- 
self in verse, short poems inspired b\' the beautiful natural surround- 
ings of her home in the Verdugo hills. -A^nother loyal supporter of 
the paper was Mr. H. J. Crow whose home was located in the center 
of a fine orchard, where the new Catholic church now stands. The 
long line of eucalyptus trees on Lomita Avenue were planted by Mr. 
Crow and stands as a fitting monument to the memory of that sturdy, 
energetic pioneer. Some one has said. 'There is in friendship, for a 
tree, somethintj resembling ones relation to a friend. Rich and happy 
is the man who has in his heart the gift of feeling to discern the link 
between nature and humanity, so that the magic door unlocks for him 
and discloses the inner meaning of them both.' " 

After the passing of the Encinal, Glendale went for many years 
without a newspaper. But in 1895 there was an enterprising grocer 
located at the store on the corner of Glendale Avenue and Third 
Street, named T. W. Jones. Mr. Jones conceived the idea that trade 
might be helped by a new scheme for advertising, so he began to pub- 
lish an occasional six by four sheet called The Suburban Visitor. The 
first issue of that publication lies before us, dated November 19, 1895. 
The editor modestly declares that he "does not hope to compete with 
the big dailies," and then proceeds to show that he has a good idea of 
news values, by publishing a good many items of local interest. The 
principal one is in reference to the development work being done by 
the Verdugo Canyon Water Company in the canyon. It is stated that 
250 feet of a bed rock dam has been completed at an expenditure of 
$6,000, extending to a depth of from 12 to 28 feet. .Another item tells 
about the strawberry crop of L. C. Wardell. Rev. Mills was the min- 
ister of the Presbyterian church. Mrs. Duncan (Mrs. P. W. Parker) 
was giving lessons on the piano. J. F. Jones, Mark Gorsline, E. J. 
Valentine and Chas. Sternberg were engaged in raising a crop of 
green peas on the North Glendale foothills, hoping to get a good crop 
and high prices provided the frost kept off. The reason for the exis- 
tence of the sheet is given in full column list of prices at the store 
of Mr. Jones. A comparison with present day prices may be of in- 
terest. It should be remembered that the year 1895 was in a period 
of great business depression. However, we learn that 5 gallons of 
coal oil could be purchased for 90 cents, gasoline costing five cents 
more. A fifty pound sack of flour could be bought for 80 cents. 
Four pounds of soda crackers, 25 cents. Six cakes of Borax soap, 25 
cents; a 75 pound sack of rolled barley, 55 cents; one pound of Mocha 
and Java coflfee, 40 cents; good English Breakfast Tea, 60 cents. The 
old reliable Arbuckle's coffee was two pounds for 45 cents. Wheat 
$1.15 a hundred. Mr. Jones soon left for more enticing fields, not fore- 


seeing the coming greatness of the city that was to come into exis- 
tence eleven years later. 

One day in 10Q5 a printer came to Glendale with a pocket full of 
type, rented a little frame building on Glendale Avenue between 
Third and Fourth (Wilson and Broadway) Streets and presently is- 
sued a very small sheet, called a newspaper by courtesy, and passed 
copies out to anybody passing by. He was so unobtrusive in his 
methods that but few people knew he was in the neighborhood. So 
little of an impression did he make on the community that among the 
old settlers of that time who still remain no one can be found who 
remembers his name. He may have remained a month, possibly not 
so long, but he played his part, for there came out to the little town 
one day a real live newspaper man who bought out the plant, if such 
it could be termed, and started the Glendale News. 

The newcomer was Mr. E. M. McClure, a man who had had ex- 
perience in starting newspapers in small towns and, in the words of 
the fraternity, "knew the game." Mr. McClure sensed the possibil- 
ities of the town and although short on capital, financially speaking, 
was supplied with natural endinvments of energy and aggressive 
push. He impressed upon a few of the "leading citizens" the idea that 
a newspaper was an absolute necessity and that he was offering them 
an opportunity to get one which might not be again repeated. He 
obtained about $300 of the local bank, on the endorsements of the 
"prominent citizens." with which he bought a small assortment of 
type, a hand press and a few other requirements, and proceeded to 
print and issue a small but aggressive sheet, well spiced with person- 
alities and other things. He took up the question of municipal in- 
corporation, which had been started by the Improvement Association, 
and fought it through to a finish in the February following. 

Mr. McClure conducted the News with fair success until Janu- 
ary 1, 1907, when he sold out to Riggs and Sherer. When the paper 
was first established as a regular publication, it was located on 
Broadway, second door from the northwest corner of Glendale Av- 
enue, in the old schoolhouse building that had been bought by John 
Mulder, moved from its location on Broadway, remodeled and turned 
into two business structures. 

On Broadway there were two rooms, the corner one used as a 
l)ool room and soft drink establishment and the other being leased to 
the newspaper, Mulder and his wife living in the rear. When the 
newly elected city trustees began to look around for quarters in 
which to transact the city business, it was decided to secure this room 
on Broadway if possible. A deal was made with Mr. McClure by 
which he gave up his lease and allowed the city authorities to move 
in, so that after meeting at the residence of the clerk for the two first 
regular meetings, the third was held in the new quarters. The News 
ofifice was then moved into Mulder's other building, adjoining the 
corner one on the north. There it remained until 1913 when it passed 
into the hands of the present owner who moved the plant to the Wil- 
son block on Broadway near the corner of Louise Street. There it 
remained, having meantime been converted into a daily paper, until 


again moved into its present quarters on Brand Boulevard. Sherer 
and Riggs conducted the News until July, 1908, when Mr. Riggs sold 
out his interest to his partner. 

In the meantime, within a few weeks after having sold the paper, 
Mr. McCIure started an opposition paper (The Valley Independent) 
on Brand Boulevard. He published this until July, 1908, when it 
was bought by the proprietor of the News. Mr. Sherer published the 
paper until March, 1913. when he sold out to Mr. A. T. Cowan, a 
newspaper man from Illinois. Mr. Cowan conducted the paper as 
a weekly a few months only when he converted it into a daily on 
September 1, 1913, the paper from that time onward constantly 
growing in circulation and influence; each issue at present consists 
of from 10 to 16 pages. The plant which Mr. Cowan took over in 
1913 consisted of an old cylinder press, two job presses, two or three 
fonts of type and the other usual accessories of a small printing estab- 
lishment. At this time the News is published in spacious modern 
quarters with a mechanical outfit which is excelled only by those to 
be found in larger cities. The force of employes in 1913 numbered 
five; today the establishment gives emploj'ment to about seventy-five 
people with a weekly wage roll of two thousand dollars. 

The Glendale Press 
In May, 1910. Mr. Frank S. Chase, a practical printer, came to 
Glendale from San Diego and started a four page weekly in a small 
office on Brand Boulevard. For several months the actual printing 
of the paper was done in Los Angeles, the editor and proprietor carry- 
ing on a job printing business which was the principal source of in- 
come, although the popularity of the adventurous spirit in the journal- 
istic field, brought to the Press a volume of advertising that the circu- 
lation of the paper hardly merited. The paper kept alive through the 
"lean" years and began to prosper when the "fat" ones came; a good 
"plant" was gradually accumulated and after about ten years of ef- 
fort Mr. Chase found himself the owner of a valuable piece of journal- 
istic property. On December 1, 1919, he sold out to Mr. J. H. Folz. 
another practical printer. Mr. Folz conducted the paper for six 
months alone and then sold a part interest to Mr. J. W. Usilton. well 
known in Glendale through his connection with the Los .Angeles Ex- 
])ress and his activity in civic affairs. The paper continued as a 
v/eekly, having grown up to a sixteen page issue, for another year. 
Messrs. Folz and Usilton then in company with a number of Glendale 
citizens formed an incorporated publishing company and started the 
Press on its career as a daily. Shortly after this was accomplished, 
Mr. Folz sold his stock in the concern to Capt. Thomas D. Watson. 
It was on March 1, 1921, that the first issue of the Press as a daily 
appeared with Mr. John W. Usilton as editor and Mr. \V. L. Taylor as 
business manager, assisted by a full corps of reporters, advertising 
solicitors, etc. The paper had the usual difficult experiences of a new 
venture of the kind, but the outcome was creditable to all concerned 
and it was in a short time well established in the favor of the pul^Iic. 
When Captain Watson bought into the company he took over the 


general management and soon succeeded in putting it upon a substan- 
tial and profitable basis. In May. 1921, a Cox Double Web press was 
installed with a capacity of 3.600 papers an hour, thus solving the 
problem which had up to that time been a difl'icult one. In Septem- 
ber, 1921, Wr. F. \V. Kellogg, who had been very successful as man- 
ager of the Los Angeles Express and several allied papers, obtained 
control of the Glendale Press and in a short time brought it to a posi- 
tion of well assured success and efficiency. No change was made in 
the local management. The combination of the Press with the prin- 
cipal Los .Angeles evening paper has been one of the principal factors 
in giving this paper a large circulation. The policy of the Press has 
been loyalt}' to local interests and support of measures tending tf> in- 
crease Glendale interests and prestige. 

San Fernando Valley Sun 

In the latter part of 1916, Mr. Herbert Crooks, a well known 
newspaper man of San Fernando and elsewhere, conceived the idea 
that there was room for another newspaper in Glendale and started a 
weekly paper named as above. It was published for a few weeks in 
a small room on Broadway, east of Glendale Avenue. War condi- 
tions and other adverse circumstances conspired against the venture 
and after a precarious existence for three or four months, it passed 

From time to time there have been a number of publications 
started in Glendale as advertising propositions, the readiness of the 
average Glendale merchant to try at least once anything promising 
publicity, giving encouragement to these ventures. Generally their 
existence has been ephemeral, although at the present time one or 
two of them appear to be fairly successful. Indeed it is a matter of 
wonderment that it has been possible for two local dailies to establish 
themselves so securely as they have done, considering the competition 
of the big Los Angeles papers which also have a large circulation in 
the community and are distributed in Glendale as promptlj' as in the 
outskirts of Los Angeles. It is proof of the fact that Glendale is 
possessed of a spirit of loyalty to home interests, which make it pos- 
sible to overcome the natural trend of that attraction which forces 
the suburbs of a large city generally toward the greater common 
center. The newspapers of Glendale from the first to the latest, have 
been one of the chief factors, building, even better than they knew, 
the foundations of a city of ever increasing greatness. 

Tropico Newspapers 
H. W. Melrose, a practical printer, was living in Tropico when 
that place began to show signs of awakening and it was natural 
enough that it should occur to him that a newspaper was a "long felt 
want." The result was that in February, 1911, the Tropico Sentinel 
was launched under his leadership. It came into being at a time when 
there was a general agitation over the questions of annexation, either 
to Los Angeles or Glendale, and of incorporation as a separate mu- 
nicipal entity. The issue of April 1, 1911, announced that Mr. N. C. 


Biirch had been secured as editor. Mr. Biirch was an old newspaper 
man, also an attorney, and under his editorial management the paper 
became well established, the editorial pages being well filled with 
leaders which showed the work of an experienced writer. Mr. Burch 
was connected with the Verdugo Canyon Water Company, and being 
familiar with the water question which was one of the live issues of 
the time, the pages of the paper were enlivened with many able arti- 
cles from his pen on that subject t)n which he particularly specialized. 

In April of the year of its establishment, the paper changed its 
heading to Inter-Urban Sentinel, being inspired by an ambition to 
cater to a somewhat larger field. On June 15, 1911, Mr. Melrose 
transferred his interest in the paper to the Sentinel Publishing Com- 
pany, under the management and editorial control of Mr. Hurch. He 
conducted the paper until February, 1913, when he sold to Harry L. 
Edwards. In July of that year Mrs. Ella ^\'. Richardson became 
financially interested in the paper and it was issued thereafter by Ed- 
wards and Richardson. In January. 1914, Mrs. Richardson became 
the sole owner and Mr. Arthur J. Van Wie was placed in the editorial 
chair, also acting as manager. 

On July 8. 1914. the paper became the Tropico Sentinel. Mr. \'an 
Wie becoming editor and proprietor. Mr. Van Wie conducted the 
paper until June. 1916. when it ])assed into the possession of E. C. 
Gibbs, Miss Gertrude Gibbs becoming editor. In the issue of De- 
cember, 1917. Miss Gibbs announced that the Sentinel had been con- 
solidated with the weekly edition of the Glendale News and would 
thereafter be known as the Glendale-Sentinel-Progress, the con- 
solidation of the two cities having l)een effected. 

In 1917, Mr. Oliver, a practical printer, who had associated with 
him an old newspaper man, Mr. F. C. Wilkinson, started the Tropico 
Herald which was published until November, 1919, bj- the Oliver 
Company, when on account of the fact that the printing plant had 
moved to Glendale, the name of the publication was changed to the 
Glendale Herald, its publication continuing for a short time only. 




In 1905 it was a much more serious thing to start a Ijank than it 
is now when there is one found in ever}' small town. In that year 
B. F. Patterson, Dr. D. W. Hunt, E. T. Byram and a few others 
started the movement for securing a bank for Glendale, the need for 
one becoming more and more apparent daily. They interested Judge 
E. M. Ross and Captain C. E. Thorn in the project. They secured the 
assistance of Mr. \Vm. Mead of the Central Bank, Los Angeles, and 
the Bank of Glendale was organized with a paid up capital stock of 
$25,000. Mr. James C. Kayes, also connected with the Central Bank, 
was made president of the Board of Directors; Dr. D. W. Hunt, vice- 
president and Mr. J. C. Sherer, cashier. The bank opened its doors 
on June 26, 1905, in the frame one-story building on Glendale Avenue, 
on the west side of the street, second door from the corner, north of 
Broadwa)'. The equipment was limited to such books and jjarapher- 
nalia as were absolutely necessarj', including a manganese steel safe. 

In the meantime Mr. Elias Ayers was erecting a two-storj- build- 
ing on the northwest corner of Glendale Avenue and Wilson, the 
lower corner room being calculated for the use of the bank ; and so 
about August first the bank was moved to that location on a five year 
lease. At that time the principal store of the town was on the south- 
west corner of Wilson and Glendale Avenue, as was also the post- 
office, Broadway not having developed as a business thoroughfare, 
while Brand Boulevard was just entering o na building career which 
was later to make it the center of the city. 

In the latter part of 1906 Mr. F. H. Vesper, an Iowa banker, 
looking around for a banking business in which to establish himself, 
secured a block of stock in the institution which was held by Mr. 
Mead and puchasing it entered into control of the Bank of Glendale. 
Mr. Vesper's judgment has been amply substantiated since that time 
and the bank under his direction prospered even in excess of his ex- 
pectations. Up to the time that Mr. Vesper took charge, the bank 
had obtained a good start with a large list of depositors, generally in 
small amounts and had a very desirable line of local investments in 
the form of mortgages. 

On January I, 1907, Mr. Sherer retired and was succeeded as 
cashier by Mr. J. F. Mclntyre, who retained that position until suc- 
ceeded by Mr. Herman Nelson, February 15, I9I2. 


In 1909, the business center having shifted to Broadway so un- 
mistakably that the fact could not be evaded, this bank, although its 
lease did not expire for another year in the quarters then occupied, 
moved into its own building on the southeast corner of Glendale 
Avenue and Broadway. In June, 1916, the bank opened a branch on 
Brand Boulevard, the immediate success of which proved the wisdom 
of the move. 

On August 20, 1920. a merger was accomplished by which the 
Bank of Glendale ceased to exist and became a branch of the Los An- 
geles Trust and Savings Bank. Mr. \'^esper, who had been president 
of the institution ever since 1907, retired from the banking business, 
remaining with the institution, however, until re-organization had 
been completely accomplished. Mr. Nelson remained as local man- 
ager and later became a vice president of the Pacific Southwest Trust 
and Savings Bank as this bank was re-christened in the latter part of 
1922. Mr. D. H. Smith is manager of the Brand Boulevard branch 
and a vice-president of the bank. 

As an indication of the growth of this institution the following 
comparison of the amount of deposits, is given: August. 1920, $1,799,- 
855.54; January 1, 1923, $3,412,248.84. 

The First National Bank of Glendale opened its doors in No- 
vember, 1905, Mr. L. C. Brand being the principal owner and pro- 
moter. .Associated with him as directors were Herman W. Hellman. 
and W. S. Halliday of the Merchants National Bank. Los Angeles, 
and Dan Campbell and D. Griswold of Glendale. The cashier was 
Mr. E. V. Williams. Among the other stockholders we find the names 
of D. McNiven, A. Engelhardt, A. W. Collins, George U. Moyse, P. S. 
McNutt, Fannie S. McNutt, George T. Dutton and J. A. Logan. The 
bank was located in the two-story brick building, known then as the 
"Masonic Hall" just north of the P. E. depot where, in enlarged 
quarters, the Branch Bank of the Pacific-Southwest Trust and Sav- 
ings Bank is now located. 

In 1909 W. W. Lee, M. P. Harrison and Ed M. Lee purchased a 
controlling interest in the bank. Mr. Halliday and Mr. Griswold re- 
maining on the Board of Directors, being succeeded later by E. U. 
Emery and George T. Paine. 

In 1918 the first three story brick building in Glendale was 
erected on the southeast corner of Broadway and Brand and the bank 
was moved into these quarters. In August. 1919. the controlling in- 
terest was sold to C. C. Cooper, R. F. Kitterman and W. C. Ander- 
son. Mr. Anderson soon sold out his interest to Messrs. Cooper and 
Kitterman. About the first of January, 1922, Mr. Kitterman pur- 
chased Mr. Cooper's interest and eflfected a merger with the Security 
Trust and Savings Bank of Los Angeles. The growth of this institu- 
tion is indicative of the growth of the community as the following 
figures show. The combined assets on December 31, 1909, were 
$231,473.37; on December 31, 1913, $453,495.04; on December 31, 1919, 
$1,274,133.84 and at the time of the merger with the Security Trust 
and Savings Bank, $2,266,020.60. 


Glcndalf Branch. Security Trust i\: Savings Bank. Prese".t (Juartcrs (above), and 
Class A Building to be Constructed at Broadway and Brand Boulevard in 192.V 


Glendale Savings Bank 

This institution is the only strictly Savings Bank in Glendale. 
It received its charter under date of May 5, 1913, being organized 
by W. W. Lee, M. P. Harrison, W. S. Perrin, Ed M. Lee, and E. U. 
Emery, who were appointed directors for the first year. The ofificers 
for that year were : Ed M. Lee, president ; \V. W. Lee, vice presi- 
dent; E. U. Emer)', vice president; M. P. Harrison, secretary; C. D. 
Lusby, assistant secretary and cashier. 

The bank opened for business Tune 2, 1913. The deposits at the 
end of that year were $36,578; at the end of 1914. $76,242; on June 
1, 1915, the end of the second year, deposits were $133,595; June 30. 
1922, deposits $600,000; January 1, 1923, $665,953. 

In May, 1920, E. U. Emery and C. D. Lusby sold their stock to 
W. S. Perrin and David Francy. At the same time W. W. Lee and 
Ed M. Lee sold most of their holdings to C. E. Wetmore and H. E. 
Francy. Mr. Ed M. Lee, Mr. E. U. Emery and Mr. C. D. Lusby re- 
signed as ofificers of the bank and Mr. W. S. Perrin was elected presi- 
dent, C. E. Wetmore and Fred L. Thompson vice presidents, and 
H. E. Francy, cashier. These ofificers continue in charge of the in- 
stitution and their work shows the remarkable result indicated by the 
figures given above. 

First Xational Bank in Glendale 

This institution with a determination to keep up with the times, 
has twice changed its name. It was organized as the Bank of Trop- 
ico in March, 1910, with the following named officials: Daniel Camp- 
bell, president; E. W. Richardson, vice president; John A. Logan, 
cashier. The Board of Directors was constituted as follows: Daniel 
Campbell, E. W. Richardson, O. S. Richardson, B. W. Richardson, 
John A. Logan, Norton C. Wells, W. H. Bullis. The location was in 
the bank's own building on the corner of San Fernando Road and 
Central Avenue. 

The business center of Tropico having shifted to Brand Boule- 
vard, the bank in 1917 moved into a new building located on the cor- 
ner of Brand Boulevard and Cypress Street, where it remains. At 
that time the bank was capitalized for only $25,000 with deposits of 
$40,000. At present its capitalization with surplus amounts to $65,000 
and deposits are $900,326.91. In 1921 the name of the institution was 
changed to Glendale National Bank and on January 1, 1923, it became 
The First National Bank in Glendale. 

The Board of Directors is constituted as follows : O. S. Rich- 
ardson, W. H. Bullis, B. F. Lyttle, Dan Campbell, W. W. Lee, John 
A. Logan. Present ofificers are: W. W. Lee, president; O. S. Rich- 
ardson, vice president; John A. Logan, cashier; Dan Campbell, chair- 
man of Board of Directors. 

Glendale State Bank 
This bank was organized May 14, 1921 ; opening for business 
September 26 of the same year, with a paid-up capital of $100,000. 
Mr. Allen R. Eastman, the organizer, had associated with him the 


following Glendale people who served as the first directors : W. E. 
Evans, Peter L. Ferrv. Howard W. Walker, C. D. Lusbv. C. E. Kim- 
lin, C. H. Toll. Oma Fish. John Hyde Braly. Mr. C.'H. Toll was 
elected president. Allen R. Eastman, active vice president and inan- 
ager; Howard \V. \\'alker. vice president; C. D. Lusby, cashier. 

On the opening daj-. the deposits were $75,000; by December 
thirty-first this had increased to $338,990.85. Deposits grew with re- 
markable celeritv as is shown bv the following figures: March 1. 
1922, $516,698.88; June 30, 1922, $603,516.62; September 30. 1922. 
$683,196.81; December 30. 1922, $836,871.82. 

On January 10. 1923. the following were elected directors: Allen 
R. Eastman, president; Howard \V. Walker, vice president; C. D. 
Lusby, D. J. Hanna, W. E. Evans, Oma A. Fish, C. E. Kimlin, Peter 
L. Ferry, J. J. Nesom. 

The 1923 oflficers are the following: Allen R. Eastman, presi- 
dent; Howard W. Walker, vice president; George E. Farmer, cashier; 
Allen R. Eastman, treasurer; George E. Farmer, secretary. The 
bank is located in the remodeled Central Building. 109 E. Broadway. 
The CoMMr.Nnv Savi.vgs and Co.^rMERCIAL Bank 

This is the latest financial institution offering its services to the 
Glendale people. It was organized November 13, 1922, with a paid 
up capital of $40,000 by the following gentlemen: Daniel Campbell, 
^Iax Baj-ha, George Bentley. Geo. \'. Black. Arthur Campbell, Her- 
bert L. Eaton. Geo. B. Carr, W. W. Lee. W. C. B. Richardson. 

The above constitute the Board of Directors with Mr. Dan Camp- 
bell as chairman; Mr. W. W. Lee, president; John Logan and Dan 
Campbell, vice presidents; Mr. H. J. Wellman, cashier. The institu- 
tion is located on San Fernando Road near Brand Boulevard and only 
open for business three months has deposits aggregating $135,000. 
This bank occujiies a central place in a rapidly grt)wing business por- 
tion of the city and promises a rapid growth and ever increasing use- 




Tlie story of the public school.s of Glendale is familiar to the 
writer back as far as 1883. Details of the Sepulveda school district 
previous to that time are difificult to obtain as the records of the 
county superintendent's office are rather fragmentary. The Sepul- 
veda School District, as it was then named, practically covered origin- 
ally all of the Rancho San Rafael, having the Arroyo Seco for its 
eastern boundary, the Providencia Ranch for its westerly line and 
extending over all the territory between the top of the Sierras and 
the Los Angeles river. .Along about 1880, however, the easterly 
boundary was made to terminate at the Los Angeles city limits, which 
at that time, where the city line crossed the San Fernando Road, was 
just east of where the Taylor Milling company now is located. In 
1880 the territory now covered by Pasadena, was the San Pasqual 
School District, having that year 133 census children (between ages 
of 5 and 17 years). 

Then came Sepulveda with 109 children of school age, nine of 
whom were classed as "Indians." These disappeared in subsequent 
years, however, which indicates that they were nomads and had 
gone to other pastures. On the west was the Providencia district, 
which included all of the San Fernando valley westward to where it 
joined the San Fernando district. The latter district had 110 children 
in 1880, while Providencia had seventeen. In 1881 the number of 
children in the Sepulveda district had dwindled to 97. indicating that 
the Indians were missed. The total expenditures for the district 
for that year were $1,205.66. 

By 1882 the number of children had increased to 130, of which 
72 were classed as "White." The school census was taken in June, 
the apportionment of money by the state being based on the number 
of children in the district and the average attendance. It was in- 
tended that there should be one teacher for every 70 children enumer- 
ated. At that time there was no compulsory school law and it is 
noted that in that year there were 70 of the 130 children in the district 
who did not attend school. 

In 1883, the year that the development of the valley started, the 
new settlers did not get in in time to be counted evidently, for there 


were only 150 children enumerated, 89 designated as "Whites," there 
being two Chinese among those present. It is noted that there were 
70 children listed as not attending school the previous year. By June, 
1884, the number of school age children had increased to 235, with 
85 not attending school. In 1885 there were 244 enumerated. In 
1886 the district was divided, the La Canada district being created. 
The first school house in the Sepulveda district was located on 
Verdugo Road on the southeast corner of Sycamore Canyon Road, a 
small one-story whitewashed building. In 1883 when the necessity 
for a new schoolhouse became imperative, the trustees of the district 
were H. J. Crow, J. F. Dunsmoor and George Engelhardt. 

Dunsmoor's hom'? was located on San Fernando Road under a 
big oak tree that stood on a little knoll between the railroad tracks 
and the river, below the winery. Crow was located at Lomita Park. 
Engelhardt had moved out from Los Angeles the previous year and 
was located in Verdugo Canyon, having a hundred acres or so of 
mountain land, with a house on the bluff overlooking the Verdugo 
Creek, or "wash," near where at present a rock crusher has been 
located and gravel is being taken out. Mr. Engelhardt had a large 
family and there were a number of families of native Californians in 
the vicinity who figured numerously in the school census and when 
Engelhardt insisted that the children in his neighborhood should 
have a schoolhouse in that vicinity, the weight of his argument 
appealed to the other trustees as reasonable and it was agreed that 
if the voters in the canyon would support the proposition to bond 
the district for a new school house to be located at Tropico (not then 
in existence) the old building should be moved further up the canyon. 
This was done and it settled near the point where the direct road to 
Crescenta is joined by the road running near the base of the hills 

Mr. Engelhardt was a practical politician in those days when one 
man could, if he knew how, fi.x the tickets for all those of his neigh- 
bors who were inclined to take the franchise not too seriously ; and 
he kept his promise, the bond issue being put through successfully 
and the schoolhouse built. This does not end the story of the little 
whitewashed schoolhouse, however. A school being established at 
La Canada in 1886, it was agreed that as a second school was needed 
in the Sepulveda district, the old house should travel down the 
Verdugo Road again, as it did, settling on or near its original site. It 
remained there for two years, when, as the schoolhouse on Broadway 
had been built, it was bought by Mr. \V. G. Watson, and closed its 
career ingloriously as a barn. Mr. Coleman's story of this school 
which appears in the following pages, fits in here. 

In 1883, Mr. George D. Rowland (now a lawyer in Los Angeles) 
was the first teacher in the new building at Tropico. Of this time, 
Mr. Rowland says: "I was the first principal of the district and the 
first teacher in the new schoolhouse, being all alone during the first 
year. Preceding my advent there had i)een but one teacher at a 
time and the attendance now doubled. The next year Miss Fannie 
Quesnel (now Mrs. W. D. Byram) became my assistant. After two 

The West C.kndale and Tropico Schools 
of the Past. 


years at 'Sepulveda' I took the principalship of the Wilmington 
school and Miss Quesnel l^ecame principal at Sepulveda. The trustees 
at that time were H. J. Crow, Frank Duiismoor and George Engel- 
hardt. As I recall it now, 1 received a salary of $75 per month the 
first year, the second year $87.50; Miss Quesnel received $50. 

"One day the Downey Avenue bridge washed out, and the water 
in the Arroyo Seco was too high for my horse and cart to ford, so 
I borrowed a saddlehi>rse of Mr. J. C. Sherer who was employed in 
the telegraph office in the Baker Block, Los Angeles, and made the 
round tri]). At another time all the bridges over the river were 
washed out and I with others picked my way over the twisted rails 
of the S. P. bridge, and walked. The second year I boarded with 
Major Mitchell's family near the schoolhouse. During the latter part 
of that year, owing to sickness in the Mitchell family, 1 went to Mr. 
Richardson's to board. 

"When I opened school in 1883 only one room was provided with 
desks, but before the year ended desks were put in the other room 
and I was handling a school of seventy pupils, from the beginning of 
the primary grade up to about the second high school year. The 
school was strictly graded and worked according to the county course 
of study and all work was completed on time although there was 
frequently only ten minutes for a recitation. I had the complete 
cooperation of pupils and parents, without which I never could have 
stood up under the work. While one class was passing to their seats 
another was forming for recitation. The County Superintendent 
said that no school had pupils wider awake or quicker to respond. 
W^ith such timber to build with, the valley had to grow." 

In 1886 occurred the first division of the district, when La 
Canada district was formed. Miss Helen M. Haskell, teacher, with 
35 children enrolled. A year later Crescenta district was formed with 
67 children in the district and only 27 enrolled. Miss Mary H. Merrill, 
teacher. Eagle Rock district also came into being about this time. 
The teaching force in the Sepulveda district in 1886 was Miss Fanny 
Quesnel, Miss Maggie Tracy and Miss Ida McCormick. 

Mr. S. E. Coleman, who had been a pupil under Mr. Howland 
in the "new schoolhouse," began teaching in this year in the little 
old schoolhouse on Verdugo Road. Mr. Coleman, who is at this 
time head of the Department of Science in the Oakland High school, 
writes in an interesting manner of this period as follows: "The little 
old whitewashed schoolhouse on Verdugo Road was, I believe, moved 
down there from the Canyon (Verdugo). School was first organized 
in it in this location on November 1, 1886. I remember the date well, 
as it was my twenty-first birthday and my first day as a teacher. 
There were about six grades, ranging from chart class up. The 
majority of the 30 or 35 pupils scarcely knew a word of luiglish. The 
room was small and crowded to the walls. In fact the outer row of 
seats on each side was placed against the wall and a board seat 
extended across the room from side to side against the rear wall. 
On the opening day I had a small drygoods box for a seat. We had 
a small chart for the chart class and a 'blackboard' of cloth stretched 


against the wall. It was a crude beginning and a very green hand 
in charge. 

"The following year the school was moved to the new building on 
Fourth Street. I was the only teacher, only one room being used that 
year. After completing this second year, I entered the Normal school 
in Los Angeles, from which I graduated two years later. My first 
teacher's certificate was of the second grade, obtained in Los Angeles 
on examination, my preparation for which was obtained in the Glen- 
dale (Tropico) school, supplemented by some self-directed reading." 

Mr. Coleman's experience since that time includes terms of teach- 
ing it! Ventura, Riverside, Los Angeles High, San Jose High, and 
Oakland Technical High School. In the intervals he has found time 
to graduate at Berkeley and to put in two years study at Harvard. 

In 1887 Miss Haskell was teaching in La Canada with 37 pupils 
enrolled. Schools had also been established at Crescenta and at 
Eagle Rock. In 1888 Miss Elva B. Williams was teaching at La 
Canada; Miss Mary H. Merrill at Crescenta and Miss Augusta 
Stevens at Eagle Rock. Sepulveda district for that year had 161 
pupils enrolled with 216 children of school age in the district. 

Following Mr. Howland, Miss Fannie Quesnel became principal 
in 1886, with Miss Maggie Tracy and Miss Ida McCormick as 
assistants. Miss Quesnel married Mr. W. D. Byram and for many 
years was well known in Los Angeles as being connected with 
county welfare work. Mr. and Mrs. Byram are at present residing 
in San Francisco. Miss Flora Denton, an accomplished lady who 
afterwards entered the Foreign Mission field over in China, suc- 
ceeded Miss Quesnel with Mr. W. C. Hayes as assistant. 

In 1888 Mr. W. R. Chandler came to the Tropico school as 
principal with Miss Laura Campbell as assistant. In 1889 Miss 
Marden (well known as Mrs. Wesley H. Bullis) came to the Tropico 
school as assistant with Mr. Chandler, teaching there continuously 
for eight years, the latter three or four years under Mr. Sherman 
Roberts as the principal. Mr. Roberts was a local product, who lived 
with his parents on Verdugo Road near what is now Glassell Park, 
and is remembered by the writer of this history as traveling daily on 
school days between his home and Los Angeles while in attendance 
at the Normal school in that city. Mr. William Malcom succeeded 
Mr. Roberts as principal for three or four years. 

As previously stated, the Broadway school was erected in 1887 
at a cost of about $.^,200 for the building and $500 for two school lots. 
Realizing the fact that the grounds were not large enough, the people 
of the neighborhood took up a collection and purchased one or two 
additional lots which they donated to the district. Mr. Coleman was 
the first teacher in the new building, only one of the rooms being 
in use. To this school in 1888 came Miss Margaret Clark who taught 
there three years. Miss Dora Brown taught with Miss Clark during 
the last year of Miss Clark's principalship and a part of the following 
year, resigning to become Mrs. Baker, and being succeeded by Miss 
Emma Sovereign, who was assistant with Miss May Stansberry, 
who became principal in 1891. In Miss Stansberry 's second year 


Miss Mary Baright taught the two lower grades. The following year 
Miss Baright took charge of the newly established school in West 
Glendale in the upper story of the brick building on San Fernando 
Road, which later became a winery. Miss Baright was married the 
following year to Mr. James Dunsmoor, the son of J. F. Dunsmoor, 
a pioneer of the early '80's. 

In 1896-97 Prof. Edward L. French was principal of this school. 
Professor French was a man of unusual culture. He had been con- 
nected with Wells College in New York before coming to Glendale, 
and was a man of great personal attraction, who had a faculty of 
imparting to his pupils much information of a useful nature which 
was not found in the text-books. One of his assistants during one of 
these years was Miss Margaret Thomas, who subsequently went 
from Berkeley University to take up the work of teaching in the 
Philippine Islands. She is now Mrs. McBee, a resident of North 
Carolina; her parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Thomas, still residing in 
Glendale. In 1898 Mr. W. H. Holland became princi])al at this school, 
being assisted by Miss \'iola Bacchus of Eagle Rock. During this 
period the salary of the principal of the schools in this district was 
$80 and $90 per month. The average attendance in 1899 was 89, 
reaching 105 in 1903 when three teachers were employed. 

From 1899 to 1902, Mr. Ernest Babcock was principal. He is 
now "Professor"' Babcock of the State University. Assisting him at 
various times were the following: Cornelia E. Bowen, Josephine A. 
Bont, Martha Bohan, Lula .A.. Diffenbacher. In 1892 the Sepulveda 
district was cut up and formed the districts of Glendale, West Glen- 
dale and Tropico. 

In the fall of 1902 Mr. M. W. Lorbeer was appointed principal, 
teaching for two terms. In addition to his work as teacher, Mr. Lor- 
beer, with his wife, was active in civic matters during his residence 
in Glendale, taking an active part in the work of Improvement Asso- 
ciation, the literary society, church, etc. During his first term his 
assistants were Miss Frances Hendershott and Miss Cornelia Bowen. 
In his second year, Miss Ida Waite became assistant teacher in place 
of Miss Bowen, beginning at that time her long and useful career in 
Glendale. The average attendance at this school in 1904 was 124. 

In 1905, Mary Ogden Ryan, who had been teaching at the West 
Glendale school since 1897, came to the Broadway as principal. She 
arrived at the beginning of an era of remarkable growth in the schools 
as in the community at large. The average attendance for the term 
of 1905-06 was 247, almost exactly double that of two years before 
and the corps of teachers had increased to five, Mrs. Ryan being sup- 
ported by Misses Ida M. Waite, Frances Hendershott, Edna Ballan- 
tyne and Norah Harnett. During the term of 1906-07, the assistant 
teachers were Misses Ida M. Waite, Helen Best. Lucile Shultz, 
Frances Hendershott and Annie Mclntyre. 

The Colorado street school opened in 1908 with Miss Waite as 
principal, a position she still holds. The opening of this school 
reduced the attendance at the Broadway to a daily average of 219 
which in 1912-13 had increased to 245. From this time forward it is 


not possible nor desirable to follow the growth of the schools in 

In 1903 a new school building was erected on Broadway, succeed- 
ing the structure that was erected in 1887. This was removed in 
1921 to be succeeded by the handsome up-to-date structure of the 
present. At the time this history is written, the erection of one or 
more school buildings in the different parts of the city, is a matter 
of yearly occurrence. Mr. Richardson D. White became principal 
of the Glendale Grammar School district in 1913 and to him we are 
indebted for the following brief sketch of the system up to date. 

History of the Glend.xle Schools 
From Sept., 1913, to Date 

With the opening of the fall term of school in 1913 there were 
five schools in operation in Glendale, the Central Avenue School 
having been opened at that date for the first time. These five schools 
employed altogether approximately 36 teachers. This did not include 
the Tropico school which employed at that time about ten teachers. 
The enrollment was in the neighborhood of 1,100. The Board of 
Trustees at this time consisted of Mr. A. B. Heacock, Mr. C. S. 
Westlake and Mr. David Black. 

For the next two years, the growth and development of the 
schools was steady and continuous so that at the opening of school 
in September, 1915, the total enrollment was 1,239, which included 
the pupils in the two new schools provided for in the bond issue of 
May, 1914. These schools, the Pacific Avenue and Doran Street 
schools, were opened in January, 1915. 

At this time the war in Europe was well under way and this 
country was feeling its effects in many ways, one of them being the 
slowing up of immigration into California. As a result of this the 
Glendale schools showed a very small increase in enrollment for the 
next three years, the only marked change being caused by the annexa- 
tion of Tropico which added about 300 pupils. The figures for the 
enrollment on the opening dav of school for these three years are as 
follows: 1915, 1,239; 1916, 1,296; 1917, 1,324; 1918, 1,698. The last 
figure includes the Tropico schools. Thus in the year 1918 the Glen- 
dale school system started with ten schools and the total enrollment 
indicated above. 

Since the close of the world war, the schools of Glendale furnish 
a very good index of the rapid growth of the city. In fact, the num- 
bers have increased so rapidly that it has been impossible to pursue 
a building program that would furnish adequate accommodations for 
the number of pupils enrolled. The figures given below will perhaps 
indicate this better than anything that could be said. Opening day 
enrollment: September, 1918, 1,698; September, 1919, 1,723; Sep- 
tember, 1920, 2,169; September, 1921. 2,850; September. 1922, 3,476. 

So great had this increase become in September, 1921, that the 
demand for more school rooms was very insistent and the need very 
evident. So much was this the case, that in October, 1921, bonds 





mW P' 


The First. S(.-coiul ;m(l the IVi'Sciit Broadwav Schools. 


were voted in the sum of $260,000 for tlie purpose of furnishing addi- 
tional classroom accommodations. With the money voted at this 
time the Board has built two new schools, the Glendale Avenue 
school, with eight classrooms and Manual Training. Cooking and 
Sewing rooms, and the Grandview school with four classrooms. 
Besides these the Board has built a four-room addition to the Acacia 
.Avenue school, and has constructed the first unit of four rooms of 
what will ultimately be the permanent building on the Columbus 
Avenue site. In addition to these buildings it was necessary to use 
approximately $80,000 for sites and additions to sites. 

In spite of all this, as we start on the school year 1^22-23. almost 
every school in the district is crowded beyond its normal cajiacity 
and there apjiears to be no remedy in sight except to build more 

With the advancement in numbers and size the Glendale Cit\' 
Schools have also made decided progress from the educational stand- 
point. The Board is at all times careful to select progressive and 
up-to-date teachers, with the result that the Glendale schools rank 
high in the California educational system. 

Another factor that has tended to advance the standard of our 
schools was the incorporation of the city under a charter in May, 
• 921, resulting in the election of a Board of Education of five mem- 
bers as follows: Mr. D. J. Hibben. Mrs. Nettie C. Brown, Mrs. A. 
A. Barton. Mr. David Black and Dr. P. O. Lucas. Since that time 
Mr. Black has resigned and is now employed by the Board as business 
manager, and his place has been filled by the appointment of Mr. E. 
H. Learned. With an independent Board of Education having power 
under the law to formulate its own course of study, there is every 
reason to believe that the schools will advance even more rapidly 
than heretofore. 

At the present time the school organization consists of ten 
elementary schools and two intermediate schools, employing alto- 
gether 121 teachers and 25 other employees. 

As is natural under the circumstances the change from a village 
to a city school system in the course of a very few years, has resulted 
in the necessity for a great many adjustments. It has been especially 
difficult this year to fit the children into the rooms because of the 
greater growth in some neighborhoods than in others. 



This High School district was organized in 1901 by a combina- 
tion of the following grammar school districts : Glendale, repre- 
sented by Mr. E. D. Goode; Eagle Rock, P. W. Parker; Burbank, 
George C. Melrose; Ivanhoe, D. W. Dwire; Crescenta, C. Pleukarp; 


Tropico, E. W. Richardson ; West Glendale. F. R. Pitman. The school 
opened in a room of the Glendale Hotel building, with Mr. Llewellyn 
Evans as principal and Miss Mary G. Edwards, assistant. The total 
enrollment was 28 and the average attendance 22. 

The second year the enrollment was 56, average attendance 42, 
showing an increase of almost exacth- 100 per cent. 

The third year, Mr. George U. Moyse came to Glendale as prin- 
cipal of the High School and has retained the position until the 
present, aiding in and witnessing the growth of the institution from 
this modest beginning up to the present time when the enrollment 
is over 1.800. With Mr. Moyse the first year were Miss Edwards and 
Miss Sue Barnwell as assistants. There was considerable rivalry 
between Glendale and Tropico over the location of the school, but 
in Mr. Goode as a representative of Glendale it was safely assumed 
that Glendale would lose no points in the game and so it came to 
pass that through the prompt action of some three or four citizens 
of the latter place, a brief option was obtained on a two and a half 
acre lot on the southeast corner of Brand Boulevard and Fourth 
Street (Broadway) where the three-story bank building now stands; 
these few citizens taking the responsibility upon themselves of buying 
it for the sum of $750 for the use of the Union High School district. 

At a meeting of the Glendale Improvement Association. June 
24, 1902, Dr. D. W. Hunt the chairman, announced that "six citizens 
had guaranteed the payment of the sum of $750 for the purchase of 
a piece of land containing two and a half acres, as a donation to the 
school district," making an appeal to citizens generally to come to 
the relief of these public-spirited citizens. The appeal was not made 
in vain and within a few days the money was raised, the owner of 
the property. Mr. John A. Merrill, contributing $200 of this sum. 
The first bond issue of the district was for the modest sum of $10,000, 
which was sufficient to construct a two-story frame building, thought 
at the time to afford ample accommodations for any demand upon 
the district for probably the next five years. 

The importance of the laying of the cornerstone of this building 
was fully appreciated by the Improvement Association, for it is 
recorded' that at the meeting of .'\ugust 12, 1902, Mr. E. T. Byram 
suggested the appointment of a committee to have charge of the 
cornerstone ceremonies, and the following citizens were appointed 
by the chairman: E. T. Byram, E. D. Goode, F. G. Taylor, J. F. 
Mclntyre, E. W. Pack, Edgar Leavitt and W. Prosser Penn. Subse- 
quently, Mr. Pack being unable to serve, Mr. J. C. Sherer was 
appointed in his place. 

At the meeting of September ninth, the committee made a report 
which was adopted, presenting a program for the cornerstone cere- 
monies to take place at 3 o'clock P. M., September 13, 1902. The 
committee also stated that a special train would leave Los Angeles 
for Glendale on the Salt Lake Railroad at 2:15 P. M., special round- 
trip fare 25 cents. The ceremonies took place as scheduled. The 
principal speaker was Rev. H. K. Walker of the First Presbyterian 
Church, Los Angeles; Mr. J. H. Strine, County Superintendent of 

The Glcndalc Union High School of the Past and IVcscnt. 

GliiuhJc rnion Hiyh School to be Lonstnicud iii IMi.i, I'roni Architect's Plans. 


Schools also made an address, as did Mr. Theodore D. Kanouse of 
Glendale. Papers of an historical nature were read hy E. D. Goode 
and J. C. Sherer. and ministers from the several grammar school 
districts, offered prayer or read brief scripture lessons. There was 
vocal music by a quartette and the audience sang "America." The 
building was ready for service, December second. It occupied a lone- 
some position, there being no other building within two blocks of 
it. Mr. Moyse entered upon his duties as principal, with three 
assistants. Misses Mary G. Edwards. Sue Barnwell and Frances E. 

The first graduating class consisted of the following: Lillie Fay 
Goode and Nora Lyman, of Glendale; Helen Barra, of Tropico and 
Flora Kuhn of Burbank. 

Burbank withdrew from the district in 1908 and built a High 
School of its own. Ivanhoe left the district when that section became 
a part of Los Angeles and considerable more territory was lost when 
Los Angeles absorbed all the territory along the San Fernando Road 
up to the Tropico line. Crescenta and Tejunga were later taken into 
the Glendale Union High School district, which now comprises five 
grammar school districts. 

By November, 1907, there were 115 students enrolled and it was 
realized that the original building was much too small and that addi- 
tional grounds should be secured for the outdoor activities of the 
school. On November 9, 1907, a mass meeting decided to submit to 
the voters the question of issuing bonds to the extent of $60,000 to 
buy a new site and erect another building. The election took place 
in April, 1908. the bond issue being supported. The new site ex- 
tended from Fifth (Harvard) Street to Sixth (Colorado) and from 
Louise Street to Maryland Avenue. 

On April 18, 1908, a mass meeting was held for the purpose of 
authorizing the sale of the original High School lot. A small syn- 
dicate of real estate dealers had planned to buy the property for ten 
thousand dollars, but a few independent citizens headed by Mr. O. A. 
Lane, who had other ideas of its value, held out against the accept- 
ance of this offer and it was rejected, a committee being appointed 
with authority- to sell at not less than $12,000. The next day the 
property was sold for $13,000 to D. L. Swain. 

The cornerstone of the new building was not laid until November 
28, 1908. The land and building with the necessary equipment cost 
about $75,000, which left the trustees to handle the problem of a finan- 
cial shortage of $15,0(X). The sale of the old site, however, brought 
in about $13,(XX) and made the problem easy of solution. The new- 
building was occupied in September, 1909. At that time the enroll- 
ment was 166, which by the end of the term had increased to 203 
and by January, 1911, to 240. In .August, 1910, there were twelve 
teachers employed and the bonded debt of the district was $55,092. 
The attendance increased steadily and by 1914 had reached 340. 

In the early part of that year it became apparent that additional 
facilities must be obtained and it was decided to ask the voters to 


support a proposition to buy more land and put up additional build- 
ings. The proposition was supported at the polls and an issue of 
$100,000 authorized. An appeal was made to the city authorities for 
the abandonment of Maryland Avenue, from Fifth to Si.xth Streets, 
so that a tier of lots facing the first-named street on the west could 
be purchased and a solid addition be made to the school grounds on 
that side. The city trustees acceded to this request, the street was 
abandoned and the lots purchased. Several houses stood on the lots 
thus acquired and these were sold, adding to the resources of the 
school and making possible the erection of two more substantial 
school buildings. 

In 1920 it became apparent that still further additions would 
have to be made to the jjlant. The voters refused to authorize an 
expensive plan furnished by the school trustees, giving expression 
to an intention to resist the proposition of making any additions to 
the school grounds on the present site. This resulted in the voting 
of a bond issue of $60,000 and the erection of a number of frame 
buildings of bungalow type. At this election the people voted on 
the securing of a new site for the school. Several months of agitation 
followed, a committee of citizens being appointed to investigate and 
make a recommendation. The committee finally made a report, 
recommending the purchase of approximately 21 acres at the south- 
east corner of Verdugo Road and Broadway, about twelve acres of 
the proposed purchase consisting of an orange orchard of 25 year old 
trees, belonging to Mr. J. P. Lukens. There was a lively contest in 
this campaign; another site belonging to Mr. J. R. Grey, near the 
Patterson Avenue park, being favored by a large number of citizens. 
In the voting a large majority was polled in favor of the Lukens site 
and the sum of $85,000 in bonds was authorized to be issued for the 
purchase, which was made after some months delay. In June, 1922, 
a bond issue of $600,000 was authorized to pay for the new plant. 
Meanwhile the ever-increasing growth of the school led the trustees 
to conclude that the sum voted was insufiflcient for the erection of 
such buildings as in the opinion of the school authorities, was 
required for future demands, and amplified plans were prepared and 
the additional sum of $450,000 was asked, making a total for the new 
plant of approximately a million dollars. The voters refused to 
authorize the prt)posed increase and several months' delay resulted 
before work was started for the improvement of the new site. Early 
in 1923 contracts will be let and work begun on what promises to 
become one of the most complete and attractive High School plants 
in Southern California. The following table showing average daily 
attendance at the Glendale Union High school for a number of years 
indicates as accurately as any other statistics that might be given, 
the growth of the community: 1909, 167; 1910, 210; 1911, 245; 
1912, 290; 191.^, .340; 1914, 369; 1915, 482; 1916, 512; 1917, 540; 1918. 
576; 1919, 680; 1920, 812; 1921, 1,188; 1^22, the i.resent year, about 

The force of teachers at present is seventy-two in number. 


One of the original promoters of the High School enterprise 
was Mr. J. F. Mclntyre, a well known citizen of Glendale. who speaks 
of it as follows : 

"I was at that time one of the trustees of the Glendale Grammar 
School district. When it came to planning for the graduating exer- 
cises, we found that we had no auditorium and so it was arranged to 
have the program carried out in the Presbyterian Church, and this 
was done. 

"After the performance was over several of us were discussing 
school affairs and Mr. F. R. Sinclair, another trustee, broached the 
subject of a High School. The suggestion appealed favorably to Mr. 
T. D. Kanouse, the third school trustee. It was decided to go to 
work on the matter and see what could be done. Then we found out 
very quickly that there were not enough school children in Glendale 
to enable us to secure the school. At this time, Dr. D. W. Hunt, then 
president of the Improvement Association, made the suggestion that 
possibly we could combine several of the nearby grammar school 
districts into a Union High School district and it was agreed that I 
should write to County Superintendent, J. H. Strine, and ask if this 
could be done. Mr. Strine in his reply to the letter stated that it 
was entirely feasible and stated that it would be necessary to get up 
a petition and have it signed by a majority of the heads of families 
in the districts to be combined. A few of us met and planned the 
campaign. It was decided to attempt to combine the seven districts 
that were after included in the union district and the ])etitions were 
prepared and circulated. Everybody we approached favored the 
proposition and in a very short time we had the necessary names on 
the petition and then began a campaign to locate the institution in 
Glendale. Tropico, Burbank and Eagle Rock all had similar ideas as' 
to their own sections and quite naturally there was some rivalry. 

"We finally saw that in order to get it established here we would 
have to secure a site and donate it to the district. Mr. John A. Merrill 
had recently secured the Hotel property with about fifty lots and 
nearly all the property on the south side of Broadway north of what 
is now Elk Avenue, and extending from Glendale Avenue to Central. 
Mr. Merrill entered heartily into the project and offered us a number 
of lots, comprising about two and a half acres, at a very low price, 
even for that period, five hundred and fifty dollars. A half dozen of 
us bought the property; others came in afterwards and helped out. 
Having a site to present to the district, which was more than any 
other section had offered, we secured the location of the school." 




The first accompaniment of civilization that follows the people 
wherever they may go to congregate in any considerable number, is 
the post office. It is the friendly hand of our government reaching 
out from its headquarters in the capital of the nation to proffer its 
service to the people in the near and the far away parts of our 
common country. It is the one free and necessary service given 
without price or thought of profit. It belongs as much to the few 
families on the outposts of civilization, whether in distant mountain 
camps, on western prairies, in sun burned deserts of the south or in 
the lonely logging camps of northern forests, as it does to the resident 
of the crowded cities, and its service is not long impeded by the 
fiercest storms. And so it came to Glendale when the people were 
few in number. 

In the latter part of 1883 Mr. Silas I. Mayo, an old employee of 
the railroad, and who assembled the first locomotive that ran into 
San Diego when the Southern California Railroad company ran its 
first train over the road from Riverside down the Temecula Canyon, 
concluded to retire to private life. His wife was a well known artist 
at that time, the family residing in a house on Main Street near the 
corner of Fourth Street, Los Angeles, near the site of the Farmers 
and Merchants Bank. Mr. Mayo bought six acres of land on V'erdugo 
Road, at a point that would now corner on Maple Street, erecting 
thereon a two-story house and a small store building, and opened 
a general store. 

In 1884, a post office was established in that store with Mr. 
Mayo as postmaster. It was named Verdugo and the mail service 
for the first year was semi-weekly. The mail was carried by George 
Washington Gray usually in a lumber wagon, as Mr. Gray lived at 
La Canada and made frequent trips between his home and Los 
Angeles, carrying wood to market. .-Xfter a while the service became 
tri-weekly and Mr. Gray was assisted by his wife who for the lumber 
wagon substituted a two-wheeled cart drawn by a lively "broncho." 
At least the writer can testify to the fact that the animal was lively 
at times if not usually so, for he has a vivid recollection of seeing the 
Gray "stage" rounding the corner of Broadway and Verdugo Road 
upon one occasion when the speed and a too-sudden turn combined 
to overcome the law of gravitation and the cart was overturned and 
the lady quite suddenly upset in the road. 


Mr. C. J. Fox, an Englishman who had accumulated some capital 
in Los Angeles by successfully dealing in real estate, had acquired 
considerable land along both sides of Broadway from the Childs 
Tract line eastward on both sides of the street, extending almost to 
the present limits of Eagle Rock city. From him was bought the 
two lots on which the schoolhouse was built, in 1887, and from him 
Mr. J. P. Lukens acquired a part of his present holdings and the 
portion he recently sold to the High School district. In 1887 Mr. 
Fox built a store building on the southwest corner of Broadway and 
Verdugo Road and Mr. ^Iayo moved into that building with the post 
office. He conducted a store there until 1890 when he retired, his 
mercantile business never having been a success. 

Miss Rachel M. Sherer, a pioneer of 1883, bought out the business 
of Mr. Mayo and conducted the store for a year or two. Mr. J. P. 
Lukens was appointed postmaster, in 1890, and continued to hold that 
position until December 31, 1894. During this time Miss Sherer 
performed the duties of postmistress as a deputy for Mr. Lukens. 
Mr. Herman Cohn had opened a store on the northwest corner of 
Verdugo Road and Sixth (Colorado) Street and to this location the 
postoffice was transferred and Mr. Cohn appointed postmaster. Mr. 
Cohn after two or three years sold his business to a Mr. Hueston, 
who became postmaster. After him came Mr. J. C. Campbell, who 
conducted the store and was the last postmaster at Verdugo, as the 
office was discontinued January 1, 1903, as the post office had been 
established in Glendale on the corner of Glendale Avenue and Third 
(Wilson) Street and, principally through the efforts of Eagle Rock 
citizens, a rural route had been established with delivery from Gar- 
vanza. This seems to have been the first rural delivery route in the 
county as it bears the official designation of "Rural Free Delivery 
Route, No. 1, Los Angeles, California." That portion of Glendale 
east of Adams street and south of Broadway was dependent upon 
this rural service until 1920, when free delivery was given from the 
Glendale post office. 

The second post office in the valley was established on Glendale 
Avenue near the site of the G. A. R. Hall, in the general store of A. 
S. Hollingsworth, who was the first postmaster, in 1886 and was 
officially designated "Mason," until changed five years later. 

The story of what one woman accomplished, fits well just here. 
The people were not pleased with the name "Mason" for their post 
office, preferring the name "Glendale," but the authorities of the 
post office department at Washington (this was under the Cleveland 
administration) refused to accept the name "Glendale," and it was 
therefore, designated "Mason" for reasons known to the department 

On March 4, 189L President McKinley was inaugurated and John 
Wanamaker was appointed Postmaster General. Mrs. E. T. Byram 
(still living in 1922) residing on Glendale Avenue in the house she 
still occujiies, read the newspapers and kept abreast of the times. She 
noted the fact that Mr. Wanamaker was to visit the Pacific Coast and 
was to be in Los Angeles soon after his appointment. 


In April, 1891, he arrived and was properly entertained and took 
occasion to say the usual complimentary things about Southern Cal- 
ifornia, with the customary assurances that he intended to do every- 
thing that was possible to give the people good service as far as his 
department was concerned. Taking this speech for her text, Mrs. 
Byram was inspired to write to him immediately after its publication 
and call his attention to the trouble caused by the name inflicted upon 
the Glendale people. Her letter stated that the people refused to 
accept the name, and that as a matter of fact the most of the mail 
coming to the place was addressed "Glendale" and arrived at its 
proper destination. This letter was dated April 28, 1891. The follow- 
ing replies show that "red tape" can sometimes be cut expeditiously, 
even in the postoffice department at the nation's capital. 

San Francisco, May 2, 1921. 
Mrs. H. M. Byram : 

I thank you for your very kind letter of the 28th of April and 
as the matter of changing the name will have to be investigated at 
Washington I refer your letter to the First Assistant Postmaster 
General who is acting Postmaster General in my absence. In case 
there should he any delay, I trust you will write me again on my 
return home. 

With great respect, I remain yours very truly, 

J. M. Wanamaker. 

Washington, May 11. 1891. 
Dear Madame : 

Your letter of April twenty-eight addressed to the Postmaster 
General has been forwarded to me for consideration and answer. 1 
note what you say in reference to the name of Mason being changed 
to Glendale and also your reference to previous order of the Depart- 
ment declining to grant you the name of Glendale on account of there 
being an office of same name in Colorado. The rule of the Depart- 
ment is against allowing a repetition of the names in these two states 
on account of a similarity of the abbreviation of the names of the 
states. I shall, however, in this case disregard the rule and have this 
daj' ordered that a change be made, and as soon as the necessary 
papers are filled out and your postmaster is commissioned under the 
new name, your office will be known as Glendale. 

Yours truly, 


First Asst. P. M. Gen. 
The office remained in that location for a little over a year, 
when it was removed to the corner of Glendale Avenue and Third 
(Wilson) Street, to the store of George F. Dutton who became post- 
master. This store changed ownership frequently, usually with a 
change of postmasters. Following Mr. Dutton, Mr. Elias Ayers 
succeeded to the mercantile business and became postmaster. He was 
succeeded by Mrs. Mabel Hackman (Mrs. Mabel Tight), who con- 
ducted the office until it was moved to the little concrete building on 
Glendale Avenue, midway between Wilson and Broadway, which was 
erected by Mr. I'^lias Ayers, in 1906, to accommodate the office after 


Mr. Asa Fanset was appointed postmaster. From tliat location it was 
removed to the one story Isrick building on Broadway, owned by Mr. 
William Anderson, opposite the Sanitarium, where it remained until 
removed to Brand Boulevard, January, 1912. In 1909 the office be- 
came attached to Los Angeles office, by which change Glendale 
obtained the advantage of a free delivery system, but in postal affairs 
became merely a branch of the Los Angeles office until 1922, when it 
was again established as an independent office and Captain D. Ripley 
Jackson made postmaster. 

The removal of the post office from its location on south Glen- 
dale Avenue to Third and Glendale resulted in a successful effort to 
get a post office at Tropico, that being established in 1888. Mr. Aaron 
Wolfe being the first ])ostmaster. He was followed by Mr. Clark 
Gilbert. Mr. Gilbert remained in business only a few months and 
soon afterwards left Tropico to make his home in .'\naheim. Mr. 
George Boyer was then made postmaster, serving only a short time. 
Miss Nettie Jay being appointed postmistress. Miss Jay afterwards 
became Mrs. Yaw, marrying a brother of the singer, and has since 
been connected for a portion of the time with the sheriff's office in 
Los Angeles. Mr. Boyer sold his business to Shuler Brothers and the 
latter sold to a Mr. Cristler. but Miss Jay retained the post office 
until December, 1898, when Mrs. Wesley H. Bullis was appointed 
postmistress, retaining the position until 1911. when the post office 
was merged into that of Los .Angeles. 



From the very beginning, which means the period of development 
beginning in 1882. the people of the valley now comprised within the 
limits of Glendale. showed their appreciation of the capabilities of 
the public meeting and the get-together assemblies in the upbuilding 
of the community. The first meeting of this kind that we have any 
record of is that spoken of by Mr. G. D. Rowland, in a letter to the 
editor, in which he says : 

"The second year (1884) I lived with Major Mitchell's family. 
Their home was where the cemetery is now. Owing to sickness in 
the family I had to make a change and spent the balance of the year 
at Mr. Richardson's. 

"While I was at Major Mitchell's a meeting of all the inhabitants 
of the valley was called to select a name for the place. They met one 
evening at the schoolhouse and filled it full. I was honored by being 
made chairman. Several names were suggested and it was decided 
to hold a second meeting. Mr. Hollenbeck from Verdugo Road was 
there, being possibly the oldest one present. He suggested that even 
in that delightful valley one could not live always, and it would be 
well to select a committee to consider the acquiring of a location for 
a cemetery. At the adjourned meeting the name 'Glendale' was 

Aside from the selection of the name of Glendale, two things 
stand out in the above worthy of note. One is that this meeting was 
held in the territory that afterwards became "Tropico" and whose 
people for many years refused to accept the Glendale nomenclature. 
The other is the fact that a son of the Mr. Hollenbeck alluded to, in 
after years became the principal owner of Grand View cemetery. 

Improvement Association of 1886 

This was really the first of these associations which have played 
such an important part in Glendale's upbuilding. In writing this 
history frequent references have been made to its work. It was organ- 
ized August 30, 1886, by the "Citizens of Glendale, Verdugo and 
Sepulveda." The meeting adjourned subject to call of the chairman. 
On September twenty-seventh a permanent organization was effected: 
Mr. E. T. Byram, President; I. N. Clippinger, Vice-President; H. N. 
Jarvis, Treasurer; J. C. Sherer, Secretary. The following members 
were enrolled; L. W. Riley, H. N. Jarvis, B. F. Patterson, J. D. 
Lindgren, A. S. HoUingsworth, E. T. Byram, I. M. Clippinger, H. 
H. Rubens, W. C. B. Richardson, A. A. Wolf. H. J. Crow, J. D. 


BulHs, S. A. Ayres. C. S. Gilbert, J. F. Diinsmoore. Later appear 
the names of Mayo, Buckingham. Williams. Watson, Dutton. 
Wheeler, Moore, Davenport and Banker. 

The last meeting appears to have been held on .\pril 2, 1888. 
The railroad (Salt Lake) had been built and apparently the associa- 
tion felt that it was entitled to a vacation, as adjournment was had, 
"sine die." 

Improvement Association of 1902-06 

This was the association having the longest life of the many that 
have existed from time to time in the valley, until the present 
Chamber of Commerce came into being. It was organized May 21. 
1902. when about twenty of the residents of Glendale met on the 
above date for the purpose of considering the proposition of organiz- 
ing an Improvement Association. Dr. D. W'. Hunt was made presi- 
dent and Mr. E. D. Goode, secretary. Mr. Goode resigned and was 
succeeded August twenty-sixth by Mrs. E. W. Pack as secretary. 
Mrs. Pack served until September 23, 1902, when Mr. W. Prosser 
Penn became secretary. He served until January. 1904, when Mrs. 
Lillian Wells assumed the duties of the position. Mrs. Wells resigned 
in December. 1904, and Mr. G. B. Woodberry became secretary, 
holding the position until January. 1906, when he retired and Mr. R. 
A. Blackburn became secretary, serving until the association dis- 
banded in the latter part of February, 1906. having a fine record of 
achievement to its credit; the principal items being the building of 
the Pacific Electric Railway and the incorporation of the City of 
Glendale. In Januar\', 1904, Mr. Edgar Leavitt succeeded Dr. Hunt 
as chairman. Mr. Leavitt was successfully active in arranging for 
several get-together meetings in which old and new settlers mingled 
to the advantage of the growing community. 

Tropico Improvement Associ.xtion 

W'hile the Glendale association was at work, the Tropico Im- 
provement Association was also functioning, and in the work of pro- 
moting the Pacific Electric Railways' building into the valley was 
acting in harmony with the Glendale committee and possibly in one 
or two particulars, going ahead of it. This especially applies to the 
naming of Brand Boulevard, which was accomplished as follows : 

"At a stated meeting of the Tropico Improvement Association, 
Mrs. David W. Imler made a motion that was duly seconded by Mrs. 
Cora Hickman, that the new boulevard that was being opened in 
Tropico and Glendale be named Brand Boulevard in lieu of the fact 
that Mr. L. C. Brand had been so vitally interested in the building of 
the Pacific Electric Railway into the valley. The motion was unan- 
imously adopted as it seemed a very fitting tribute to pay Mr. 

It has been mentioned elsewhere that when the Glendale associa- 
tion was notified of this action, it immediately approved and adopted 
it. There is not much of a written record of the doings of this asso- 
ciation attainable, but it was organized by Mrs, Samuel Ayres, at her 


residence on Central Avenue. Mr. David H. Imler was the first 
president and Miss Cora Hickman the secretary, serving in that 
capacity four years. 

In reference to the building of the Pacific Electric road, the 
important part played by members of this organization is indicated by 
the fact that the railroad committee on securing rights of way, etc., 
held the most of its meetings at the residence of Mr. D. H. Imler 
who was one of the committee. This committee met at least once 
a week while the campaign lasted, and sometimes oftener. Dr. Hunt, 
the chairman of the joint committee, was usually present, as were 
the following members of the Tropico committee : Otto P. Snyder, 
president of the Tropico association ; David H. Imler, M. M. Eshel- 
man, Dwight Griswold, John Hobbs, C. C. Chandler, H. C. Goodell, 
Joseph A. Kirkham. Other members of the Glendale association also 
attending were R. G. Doyle and E. D. Goode. 

Glendale Board of Trade 

This organization came into being in 1896 or 1897 and lasted 
only a few months. It appears to have left no record of its activities 
except a sample copy of a folder that it issued calling attention to 
Glendale. The matter in the folder is the work of Prof. E. L. 
French, principal of the Broadway school. The pamphlet dwells upon 
the natural advantage of the section described, calls attention to the 
fine quality of the fruit produced and to the orchards that dot the 
valley here and there and emphasizes the quantity and purity of the 
water. Evidently this organization was formed for the purpose of 
getting out this folder and having accomplished its purpose ceased 
to exist; as was the way of many of the similar bodies that have 
existed both before and since that time in the valley. 

The Valley Improvement Association 

This organization came into being about 1909. Its meetings were 
held usually at the K. of P. hall, corner of Third Street and Brand 
Boulevard. Its first president was Mr. J. W. Usilton and the first 
secretary, Mr. E. H. Kerker. It was a vigorous organization and 
did a lot of good work. In 1910, on May fourteenth, it was respon- 
sible for a "May Festival" which brought to Glendale a crowd of 
visitors who were well entertained by the citizens who made a holiday 
of the occasion. The vacant lot on the corner of Glendale Avenue 
and Fifth Street was the scene in the afternoon of a series of per- 
formances, part of the program being carried out by the Vaquero 
Club of Los Angeles, consisting of feats of horsemanship. This was 
followed by a ball game and in the evening at the "Grand Stand" at 
Broadway and Kenwood, there was an interesting program, features 
of which were speeches by Hon. Lee C. Gates and Col. Tom Thorn- 
ton, and an exhibition of Japanese skill in a broadsword contest. 

A similar day's entertainment was given the following year, 
which was also a success. This organization presented to the city 
a fine stone fountain which was originally located on Brand Boule- 

Glcndalc's Blue Ribbon Float at PasaiKna. Jainuirv 1, 192o. 


vard, but had to be removed on account of encroaching business 
concerns and was taken to the Colorado Street school where it is now 
located. At the same time a Board of Trade existed on the east side 
of the town, of which Mr. H. P. Cokcr was president and Mr. G. H. 
Barager, secretarj-. 

First Ch.xmber of Commerce 

The first regularly organized Chamber of Commerce came into 
being about 1912. meeting in the Hurtt building, opposite the City 
Hall. Dr. L. H. Hurtt was the first president. This body was quite 
active for several years. In March, 1913, the membership was run 
up to a high figure by a contest headed by two teams in a search for 
members. The leader of one team was Mr. M. P. Harrison, and of 
the other, Mr. T. W. Watson. The losing team gave a banquet which 
was something of an event in those comparatively quiet times. At 
this time Mr. A. P. Heacock was president and Mr. W. B. Kirk, secre- 
tary. Other presidents of the organization were Mr. E. U. Emery 
and Mr. J. N. McGillis. 

The Present Ch.\mber of Commerce 

In 1921 Mr. J. O. Stevenson and Mr. Ben Schouboa were secured 
to come to Glendale and organize a Chamber of Commerce upon a 
permanent basis. Pledges of membership were secured from 500 
Glendale citizens, at a yearly membership fee of $25.00, which assured 
a good financial start for the organization, something which no previ- 
ous body of the kind in Glendale ever had. 

The directors of the Chamber in looking around for a secretary 
were fortunate in securing Mr. James M. Rhoades, who had been suc- 
cessful elsewhere in managing similar bodies. Mr. Rhoades took 
hold of the work with enthusiasm and is now entering upon his third 
year in this position. It was soon discovered that an assistant was 
needed to look after memberships particularly, and perform other 
duties, and Mr. E. H. Sanders was secured. Fortunately for the 
Chamber this selection was also a good one and the membership has 
been kept close up to the thousand mark and the loyal support given 
by Glendale people enables the Chamber to be of great service to 
the community. 

A report of the year's activities has just been issued by the Cham- 
ber, which occupies several pages. The list of things achieved 
touches almost every field of community activity, from securing bet- 
ter railroad facilities and establishing new business concerns, all 
down the line to the promotion of bond issues for the schools. Al- 
together the record is a great one and proves that the Chamber of 
Commerce has made for itself too large a place in the forward-look- 
ing program of the "fastest growing city," to ever be permitted to 
go backward. 



The Glendale Public Library 

The Glendale Public Library will forever stand as a memorial 
to the discriminating intelligence and untiring perseverance of the 
women of the Tuesday Afternoon Club of Glendale, who inaugurated, 
fostered and supported the nucleus of the same the first eighteen 
months of its existence, when the end desired and advocated, was at- 
tained and a public library was established by city ordinance. 

Preliminary to and during the club year of 1904-05, with Mrs. 
Cora S. Taylor as president of the club, Mrs. D. W. Hunt as chair- 
man of the committee, arranged for a course of lectures to raise 
money to found the proposed library. During the following year 
with Mrs. R. A. Blackburn as president, a state traveling library 
from Sacramento was procured, with the following board who were 
tax payers and were responsible for the same: Mrs. Ella Witham, 
president; Mrs. Lillian S. Wells, secretary; Mrs. D. W. Hunt, Mrs. 
F. L. Church. Mrs. David Imler. Later the board was : Mrs. Ella C. 
Witham, president; Mrs. Lillian S. Wells, secretary; Mrs. E. D. 
Goode, Mrs. F. L. Church and Mrs. R. A. Blackburn. The announce- 
ment of the opening of the library read as follows: "The traveling- 
library has been placed by the ladies of the Tuesday Afternoon Club 
in the store room adjoining Nelson's Bakery, on D Street (now Day- 
ton Court) and Third Street (now Wilson Avenue) and will be open 
from fftur to six P. M. daily." 

In March the number of memberships was 60; the rent, $10.00 
per month, was taken care of by the business men. In May, 1906, 
beside the state traveling library of 50 volumes the club owned over 
70 books. In October. 1907, the City Council passed an ordinance 
creating a public lilirary, and levied a tax of 5j/ cents on one hundred 
dollars which would aggregate about five hundred dollars for the 
year, and the Tuesday Afternoon Club by resolution donated all 
books, and furniture to the Municipal library. 

The first board of the Glendale Public Library was composed of 
the following persons: E. D. Goode, president; Lillian S. Wells, sec- 
retary; Ella C. Witham, Mrs. R. A. Blackburn, Dr. A. L. Bryant and 
Mrs. J. C. Danford, librarian. In 1910 steps were taken to procure a 
Carnegie library building for Glendale, but it was not until 1914 
that the new building was completed and ready for occupancy. The 
new Carnegie Library building was dedicated Friday, November 13. 
1914, the library trustees at that time being: Dr. A. L. Bryant, jjresi- 
dent; Mrs. R. A. Blackburn, secretary; Mrs. J. II. Braly, J. E. Hen- 
derson, W. W. McElroy. The building committee was O. A. Lane, 
city trustee, J. E. Henderson and W. W. McElroy library trustees; 
Paul \^ Tuttle. architect; T. H. .Addison, builder. The handsome 

Public Lib: 


structure stands at the corner of Kenwood and Harvard Streets. 
The material used is cream brick and the structure is one story high, 
with basement which is well above ground giving the appearance of a 
two story building. All the interior finisii is of quarter oak with the 
furniture of the same wood. The walls and ceilings are in leather 
effect in soft tones of brown; stained glass windows add to the 

The growth of the library has been phenomenal, from the time 
when the report shows "o\er 70 books in library." to the present time 
when the number of volumes is 26,000 and the circulation 16,000 in 
the main and branch library; the latter in the Tropico district. For 
the first few months the work was cared for by volunteer librarians, 
Mrs. J. H. \\'ells and son James H. Wells, Jr. and Mrs. R. A. Black- 
burn, serving. They were followed by Miss Mable Patterson, acting 
for six weeks. Mrs. J. C. Danford was elected librarian of the club 
library and was the first librarian of the Glendale Public Library, 
which position she still holds, her untiring efforts, executive ability, 
and rare tact and sympathy have contributed largely to the efficiency 
of the library. 

The trustees of the library at present are the following: Olin 
Spencer, president; T. W. Preston, Mrs. Genivive H. (joss, Mrs. .'\bbie 
P. Barker and Mrs. Flora M. Temple, secretary, .\mong those who 
have been trustees at various times since the library was established, 
may be mentioned. Mrs. John Hyde Bralv, Mr. f. E. Henderson, Mrs. 
F. McGee Kelley, Mr. W. J. Hibbert, Mrs. lluella M. Bullis, Mr. 
Dwight VV. Stevenson. 


The nucleus of the Glendale Public Library branch at the corner 
of Los Feliz Road and Brand Boulevard, Mr. C. H. Gushing, libra- 
rian, was the Tropico Library which had its inception in the latter 
part of 1906. .A.t a meeting of the Tuesday .Afternoon Club held Jan- 
uary 17, 1907, Miss Cora Hickman brought the subject to the atteu; 
tion of the club. Miss Hickman was appointed a committee to secure 
a section of the free state library at Sacramento, which at that time 
was furnishing "Traveling Libraries" to applicants. The application 
was granted and in a short time a consignment of fifty books was 

The first Library Board consisted of Mrs. D. B. Imler, Mrs. W. A. 
Thompson and Miss Cora Hickman. Quarters were secured in 
Logan's Hall, over the store at the corner of San Fernando Road 
and Central Avenue, and the room was kept open three half days in 
the week. Miss Hickman assumed charge, she and other ladies giv- 
ing their services free in attendance. Miss Harriet Myers succeeded 
Miss Hickman, also donating her services, after the latter had served 
for fourteen months. Meanwhile the city of Trojjico had been in- 
corporated and in May, 1912, took over the library, the club donat- 
ing to the city the property acquired. The first directors under city 
control were Mr. C. Carmack. Mrs. Hal. Davenport, Mrs. J. A. Logan, 
Mrs. J. H. Webster, Mrs. W. H. Bullis. Mr. C. H. Cushman was 
appointed librarian which position he has since retained. 


The story of the telephone in Glendale, like the story of every 
other public utility, reads like a fairy tale in respect to its marvelous 
growth. The Home Company was the pioneer. That company put 
up a small building on Broadway just west of Central Avenue, which 
stood out conspicuously with a lonesomeness that was noticeable and 
caused the passer-by to wonder what it was. This was in August, 
1904. There were probably a half dozen telephones in use in the 
valley before the exchange was established. The three physicians 
of the settlement, Drs. D. W. Hunt, A. L. Bryant and R. E. Chase 
had them installed, and there was one in the store at Tropico and 
in the other store on the corner of Wilson and Glendale Avenues. 

When \\'oods Hotel Building was constructed on Brand Boule- 
vard, about 1904, the Home Company moved into a back room on 
the second story and was thought to have quite commodious ac- 
commodations. By that time the company had been acquired by 
Mr. L. C. Brand, who obtained control of the system embracing Cres- 
centa, La Canada, Burbank and Lankershim (then known as To- 
lucca). Mr. Brand sold the lines to a Mr. Bartel about two years be- 
fore the consolidation occurred. 

The Sunset I'elephone Company, known now as the Pacific Tele- 
phone and Telegraph Co., came to Glendale in June, 1906, starting 
operations with sixty subscribers located in Glendale, Tropico and 
Burbank. The first office was located in the rear of a drug store in 
the Watson building, corner of Broadway and Glendale Avenue. 
Starting with one operator, the business rapidly increased until by 
the end of the year there were six employes. In 1918 occurred the 
consolidation of the two companies, the "Home" disappearing in the 

At this time (January. 1923), the number of telephones in the 
Glendale office, 4.161. In 1912, fifty stations were "taken on" in 
Sunland, the company opening there. In 1915, Burbank was cut in 
with 120 telephones and an office opened there. Glendale is now 
headquarters in the San Fernando valley, also in Antelope valley, for 
all telephones. 

Formerly the telephones in Glassell Park and .Atwater district 
were in Glendale control, but are now "cut in" to Los Angeles. Mr. 
Fred Deal was manager in the beginning and still remains in that 
position. In contrast with the six employes the first year, the total 
force employed in the Glendale office now is seventy-seven. The 
company's faith in Glendale is attested by the fact that it has built 
here a three story building, in every way up to date and constructed 
with a view of meeting the requirements of the fastest growing 
city in America ! 

Home Tckphonc Company's Office 
of tlie Past. 

I'acitic TeUplioiH' & Tek'niapli Building. 



While boasting of a climate that is in itself life-giving, there are 
ills that even a genial climate cannot cure, and as long as humanity 
continues to fall heir to them, the sick and the unfortunate victims 
of bodily misfortunes generall}-. must be cared for by those trained 
in this blessed service, and institutions must be provided where the 
healing forces of nature may be aided by such treatment as the long 
experience of mankind may suggest and the latest discoveries of 
science may be applied. 

Glendale Sanitarium 

This has been a Glendale institution ever since 1905, when the 
Battle Creek people bought the Glendale Hotel property on Broad- 
waj' and established a sanitarium founded on the principles and prac- 
tices of the parent institution at Battle Creek, Michigan. The Glen- 
dale Sanitarium has not only been very successful as a place where 
the physically afflicted have been successfully treated, but in the years 
in which Glendale was sorely in need of a Hotel furnishing accommo- 
dations amid quiet surroundings, this sanitarium to quite a consid- 
erable extent furnished a temporary home for numbers of tourists 
who could not find, elsewhere in the community, the home accommo- 
dations that they desired. From which statement it appears that the 
patrons of this establishment have not always remained there for the 
treatment of their physical ills, but often made it their temporary 
home while looking around for a place in which to establish for them- 
selves a dwelling place in Southern California, and not infrequently 
choosing to remain in Glendale. It has also upon many occasions 
been thrown open to the Glendale public for meetings of various 
kinds, requiring facilities for entertainment which no other place in the 
city could supply. The Chamber of Commerce has used its spacious 
dining room for more than one delightful banquet; political candi- 
dates have received the public there ; and various organizations have 
been permitted to hold assemblies there on special occasions. From 
which it will be apparent that the Glendale Sanitarium has filled a 
unique place in the life of Glendale and its rapid e.xpansion in recent 
years, widely advertised as it has been, has been an important factor 
in making Glendale known to the outside world. 

The hospital features of the institution have been amplified dur- 
ing the past two or three years, new buildings being erected and 
modern features added that have rendered its equipment in that line, 
equal to the best to be found in the larger cities. 


The institution is owned and controlled, as it has been since its 
establishment, by the Seventh Day Adventists, the manager for the 
past several years lieing Mr. C. E. Kimlin. About a 3-ear ago, a new 
site was purchased on the hillside east of Verdugo Road and north 
of Wilson Avenue, which aflfords a magnificent outlook over the val- 
ley. This site consists of twenty-eight acres of land upon which is 
now being constructed a magnificent building over four hundred feet 
in length, to be equipped with special features for the treatment of 
patients in accordance with the methods in vogue in these sanitariums 
in various places throughout the United States, and nowhere will 
such equipment excel that of the Glendale plant, nor the surround- 
ings be so nearly ideal. The cost of the improvements that have 
been begun will reach half a million dollars, with anticipated pos- 
sibilities for expansion that will in time far exceed this sum. 

Thorn YCROFT Farm 

In December. 1908, Mrs. Nan Maxwell Miller acquired six acres 
on Ninth Street (now Windsor Road), Glendale, and established a 
"Rest Home." There was an ordinary two story comfortable house 
on the property with very limited accommodations for patrons of the 
institution, and Mrs. Miller at once commenced on a program of cot- 
tage building, which has continued up almost to the present. In 
the beginning the cottages were really nothing more than very com- 
fortable tents with floors and other conveniences not usually found in 
a tent; but by a process of evolution these structures have become 
home-like cottages for the accommodation of one or two persons, 
additions and changes dictated by experience being made from time 
to time so that every cottage at present is furnished with the most of 
the comforts of home, while a new building complete in all the re- 
quirements of the purpose for which it is designed, has taken the 
l)lace of the original structure. In this building are the administra- 
tive offices, dining room, parlors and a few rooms for special guests. 

In 1913, Mrs. Miller added to the equi])ment of Thornycroft 
Farm, a general hospital, modern and fully equipped with surgical 
department, wards for the sick, and all the appliances necessary in 
an up-to-date institution of the kind. The ideal location and accom- 
modations such as they required, secured at Thornycroft a tempo- 
rary home for over sixty of the government's ex-service men, disabled 
in the great war, who came to this place in 1920. They remained 
here until 1922, and during their stay Mrs. Miller, and the people of 
Glendale, also exerted themselves to make the time pass pleasantly 
for the unfortunates who had sacrificed so much for their country. 

The hospital at Thornycroft no longer caters to surgical cases, 
but in other respects serves for general hospital purposes. At present 
a specialty is being made of rheumatic cases, Mrs. Miller having se- 
cured a formula for the treatment of persons afflicted with this pain- 
ful disease, which, it is claimed, has accomplished marvelous re- 
sults. Recently three acres of the original six constituting Thorny- 
croft Farm, was sold, leaving the improved portion intact for the 
continuance of the work for which it is designed. 


The Ciolden West Saiiitarivini. 

ArliDi l\r>l llome. 






.^ T,;^->i|fl#-r-Trr>«^-^c>:^5w«"--"_=^ 


"3i 3i''ia3J'-'!lSu' ; .r-i I 


k:ic) f fiiuf 

\ HniMTH 

The Gleiidale Saiiitariuin and Hosiiital to be Constructed in 1M2,?. 


Arbor Rest Home 

This resort on East Lexington Avenue has been built up from 
a small besjinning by Mr. S. E. and Mrs. Daisy D. Grant who started 
it in 1912. In the beginning the "plant" consisted of an ordinary city 
lot and a six room house. The present day accommodations are dis- 
tributed over three lots and a series of buildings having thirty-three 
rooms. Mrs. Grant, herself a trained nurse, now has four others as- 
sisting her. The buildings are surrounded by a great many fruit and 
ornamental trees, among the former being several avocado trees that 
for a dozen years have been demonstrating the fact that they are 
located in Glendale's "frostless belt." 

Arbor Rest has recently become almost exclusively a home for 
the aged, the majority of its patrons belonging to that class of peo- 
ple, who sufTering from the infirmities of age. desire to secure the 
care and comforts of a home in a place w-here the invigorating effects 
of fresh air and sunshine are appreciated and attainable. 

Research Hospital 

This is strictly a Glendale institution with over two hundred sub- 
scribers to its capital stock. The organization was perfected in 
1920, and the hospital opened for service on May eighth of that year. 
The buildings are located on a plot of ground composed of six lots in 
Piedmont Park, near Lexington Avenue and Adams Street. 

The original investment \vas $100,000 but with the additional im- 
provements and equipment since added, represents the sum of $140,- 
000. The location is ideal, being at an elevation overlooking the city 
with nothing to detract from the naturally prime requisites of an insti- 
tution of this character. It is the object of the hospital to supply the 
best of medical care with all the equipment for surgical work which 
is consistent with the latest discoveries of science, including as a mat- 
ter of course a complete "X-Ray" outfit. The culinary department 
is separated from the main building which contains thirty-eight beds. 
There is ample space for additional buildings which will be erected 
from time to time as necessity demands. Although so recently estab- 
lished the hospital has been a success from the opening day and prom- 
ises a development that will keep it in the first rank of similar insti- 
tutions in the rapidly growing city in which it is located. 

The Board of Directors consists of the following local men : 
Harry L. Hall, president; A. L. Baird, secretary; Dr. T. C. Young, 
R. M. Brown and Roy L. Kent. 

Mission Rest Home 

Situated on San Fernando Road near Park Avenue. These hand- 
some Mission style buildings were erected in 1914 for a hospital by 
Dr. Rockwell, who did not make the venture a success. In August, 
1917, Mrs. M. P. Moberly leased the property with a buying option 
which she availed herself of a year later. The hospital is surrounded 
by over five acres of ground. Mrs. Moberly has improved the build- 
ings by the construction of sky lights and other features which have 


added greatl)' to the cheerfulness and homelike atmosphere. The 
main building is complete in all details, the basement containing 
kitchen, laundry room, store rooms and a gas heating furnace from 
which connection is made to every room in the building. The hos- 
pital features have been abandoned by Mrs. Moberly and the insti- 
tution is now used entirely as a home for the aged. It contains forty- 
two ro(jms, all of which are connected with bath rooms, well lighted 
and comfortable in ever)- respect. The rooms are all filled at pres- 
ent and the accommodations have been in use to the extent of their 
capacity for the past several months. 

Mrs. Mol^erly is a trained nurse and is enjoying the ambition of 
a lifetime in providing a home for aged people in surroundings which 
furnish them with the comforts of life and the care and attention 
which their individual cases require. 

Golden West S.\nit.\rilm 

Five years ago Mrs. Allie Taylor Anderson came to Glendale, oc- 
cupying a small cottage on Harvard Street west of Verdugo Road. 
In these limited quarters she foimd accommodations for two or 
three invalids to whom she gave her personal services. She had ac- 
quired a nurse's training in a Catholic institution in her native state, 
Texas, and her experience in the cottage on Harvard Street demon- 
strated to her satisfaction that she could succeed in larger quarters. 
She secured the two story home on California Street, number 1125 
East, and has built up a business that taxes the capacity of the build- 
ing which is now accommodating twenty-six patients. Both rest 
cure and medical cases are accepted and it will soon be necessary to 
enlarge the capacity of the institution or move to another location. 



Grand Army of the Republic 

The Grand Army of the Republic. N. P. Banks Post, was organ- 
ized September, 1894, in Ayers hall with twenty-one charter members 
as follows: T. D. Kanouse, P>. F. Patterson, Robt. Taylor, Uriah 
Thomas, W, B. Pratt, Moses Black (a colored man), A. B. Hapgood, 
George Cornwell, Ruel Dodd (Presbyterian minister). George Vance, 
E. L. French, Thos. Gillette. James Field. R. M. Sherman. Geo. W. 
Sanford, J. J. Glover, W. G. Watson, John Hodgson, N. F. Reynolds, 
Chas. McCarty and J. \V. Dye. At one time the Post had nearly 100 

Of the charter members, four are living: Rol>ert M. Taylor, (leo. 
W. Sanford. Theodore D. Kanouse and George Cornwell. Of these 
Theodore D. Kanouse was the first Commander. Geo. \V. Sanford the 
first Adjutant. 

The present G. A. R. hall at 902 South Glendale Avenue was hiuh 
in 1891-2 by the Good Templars, later was purchased by Chas. W. 
Winne. who deeded the property to the W. R. C. and Mrs. Cora Hick- 
man Sterns was made life trustee of same, the building to be held by 
them in trust for the G. A. R. 

The old hall has been the scene of many hap])y times. Several 
of the Veterans and their wives celebrated their golden weddings at 
the hall. Notably the donor, Mr. and Mrs. Chas. W. Winne. Nu- 
merous improvements have been made from time to time. 

The N. P. Banks Post numbered at one time 110. The [)rescnt 
membership is 75. 

Its meeting dates are the second and fourth Fridays of each 
month at 10:30 o'clock. Each fourth Friday, luncheon is served to the 
Veterans 1)\' the Woman's Relief Corps. 

Officers for 1923 are: C. M. Barrett, commander; T. C. Fuller. 
vice commander; G. A. Robertson, quartermaster; G. W'. Sanford, 
assistant quartermaster; R. N. Taylor, officer of the day; C. H. Clark, 
adjutant; W. M. Collins, assistant adjutant; C. R. Norton, chaplain. 

Mr. Taylor has held the office of officer of the day for twenty- 
five years, having held it several years elsewhere before coming here. 
Mr. Norton has been installed chai)lain fourteen times. 

Women's Relief Corps 

This patriotic society was organized by the women of Tropico. 
January 13. 1898, as an auxiliary of the G. A. R. The organization 
was made by Mrs. May Hartwell, Post deputy commander, on the 
above date. The original "crew" consisted of the following: Mrs. 


Morella Pratt, Mrs. Mary Gillette, Mrs. Clara Gulvin, Mrs. Adelaide 
H. Imler, Miss Cora Hickman, Mrs. Luella M. Bullis, Mrs. Tessie 
Stine, Mrs. Martha Myers, Mrs. Mary Patterson, Mrs. Hattie Field, 
Mrs. Isabella Mcjore, Mrs. Martha Winne, Mrs. Miranda Crist, Mrs. 
Alice Watson, Mrs. Clara Iman. In 1914 the members numbered over 
100. The organization owns its own hall, which is also the meeting 
place of the G. .\. R. and the two organizations work together almost 
as a imit. 

Sons of Veterans 

This is another patriotic society, an auxiliary of the G. A. R., also 
originating in Tropico. It was mustered in as Camp 22, November 
15, 1913, at G. A. R. hall. The following were the first officers of the 
organization: First officer, J. V. Griffin; commander, Fletcher Pom- 
eroy; senior vice commander, Burt F. Burlingham; junior vice com- 
mander, Robert Danner and Delos Jones; secretary, Henry L. 
Adams; treasurer, W. A. Goss; guide, J. A. Demuth; inner guard, E. 
F. Pomeroy ; outer guard, Ed. M. Shipman ; patriotic instructor, Jos. 
Durham ; color bearer, J. Guy Bixley. 

The present membership numbers forty-eight. The present of- 
ficers are: Commander, C. F. Stuart; senior vice commander, H. A. 
Hall; junior vice commander, Walter Richardson; patriotic in- 
structor, J. V. Griffin; treasurer, A. H. Davis; secretary, R. M. Mc- 
Gee; chaplain, W. A. Goss; color bearer, J. R. Danner; guide, Thos. 
Gillette; trustee, C. F. Parker. 

Daughters of the American Revolution 

The General Richard Gridley Chapter of the Daughters of Amer- 
ican Revolution, was organized in Glendale November 17. 1913, 
with a charter membership of twenty-two. 

The officers elected for 1913 were: Mrs. Mary Howard Gridley, 
regent; Mrs. Minnie Babcock. vice regent; Mrs. Robert H. Kimball, 
recording secretary; Mrs. Thomas Preston, corresponding secretary; 
Mrs. W. Herman West, registrar. 

The meetings are held on the afternoons of the first Thursday 
of each month at the homes of the various members. The Chapter has 
at present a membership numbering fifty. 

In addition to the avowed object of the organization, that of 
fostering and promoting patriotism, the members of the Glendale 
Chapter have interested themselves in various local philanthropic 
and charitable activities. The officers of 1923 are the following: 
Mrs. John Hyde Braly, regent; Mrs. C. W. Huston, first vice regent; 
Miss Ida D. Myers, second vice regent; Mrs. Mable Franklin Ocker, 
corresponding secretary; Mrs. H. A. Strong, treasurer; Mrs. H. But- 
terfield, Burbank, chaplain; Mrs. J. A. Crawford, recording secretary. 

Glendale Chapter American Red Cross 

The local Red Cross was organized in 1916, about a year before 
the United States entered the war and was at first a branch of the 
Los Angeles institution. Later, July 12, 1917, it was organized as 


an independent Chapter with the following oflficers : John Hyde 
Braly, chairman ; T. F. McCrea, vice chairman ; Mrs. Mabel Franklin 
Ocker, secretary; Mr. F. H. Vesper, treasurer; Mrs. H. E. Bartlett, 
purchasing agent. 

In January. 1918, Mr. McCrea was succeeded bj' A. L. Lawshe, 
who was in turn succeeded by Olin Spencer. Mrs. H. E. Bartlett, 
who had been purchasing agent since the organization, succeeded 
Mr. Spencer as acting chairman and in the early part of 1919 after 
the armistice had been declared, when the work was reorganized on 
a post-war basis, she was elected chairman, an office she still fills. 

At the peak of its activities, the membership numbered 3,000, 
practically all active members doing w(jrk at home if not at head- 

Its annual drive for the renewal of the $1 a year memberships 
in November. 1922, Mrs. John Robert White, chairman, resulted in 
a list numbering 2,431 members. 

The officers elected for 1923 are as follows: Mrs. H. E. Bartlett, 
chairman ; Mrs. W. W. Worley, vice chairman ; Mrs. John Robert 
White, Jr.. secretarj' ; Miss Neva Veysey, treasurer. 

American Legion 

Glendale Post No. 127 was organized in August. 1919. It meets 
in its own hall, 610 A East Broadway, every Friday night. Officers 
for 1923 are: Chalmer Day, commander; Mitchell Frug, first vice 
commander; Donald Packer, second vice commander; Attorney W. C. 
Anspaugh, adjutant; Henry Prussing. treasurer; Frank Secrest, ser- 
geant-at-arms ; Rev. C. M. Calderwood, historian; Emil O. Kiefer, 
Attorney Eugene Wix and Robert C. Plume, trustees. 

Women's Unit .\meric.\n Legion 

The Women's Unit of the American Legion was organized in 
March, 1920, and has 100 members. It meets at the Legion hall the 
first Monday night and third Monday afternoon of every month. 

The of^cers for 1923 are: Mrs. Margaret Kaeding, president; 
Mrs. L. T. Rowley, first vice president; Mrs. E. L. Sullivan, second 
vice president; Mrs. Charles T. Jones, secretary; Miss Josephine 
Emery, treasurer; Mrs. E. Wheelon, sergeant-at-arms. 

Spanish War Veterans 

The Glendale Camp of the Spanish War Veterans was established 
in June, 1922. and has a membership of sixty-eight. The officers for 
1923 are: Dr. William C. Mabry, commander and surgeon; L. D. 
Pike, senior vice commander; Cameron D. Thorn, junior vice com- 
mander; Col. J. D. Eraser, chaplain; Herbert Gray, officer of the 
day; Jack Satow, officer of the guard; Samuel Warren, adjutant; 
.Alexander Schmitt, quartermaster; John Clark, historian; Harry 
Girard, musician; Capt. G. L. Rollins, patriotic instructor; Frank 
E. Peters, sergeant major; G. T. Harness, quartermaster sergeant; 
George L. Murphy and Forest E. Hill, color guards; Capt. William 
B. Kelly and Capt. William A. Living, trustees. 



Central Avenue M. E. Church 

This is the pioneer church of the valley. The record shows that 
it was incorporated October 6, 1884. under the name of The Riverdale 
M. E. Church. It was organized previous to this date. The record 
is deficient as to the first months of the organization's existence. 
The facts of its beginning, however, are clearly remembered by one 
of the pioneers who was on the ground. 

In the early part of 1884, the necessity for a church building 
was felt by the group of settlers who had recently moved into the 
neighborhood, as the only building available for public meetings of 
any kind was the recently completed school building which stood 
on the site of the present Cerritos Avenue school. The need was 
felt and acknowledged by the active members of the community who 
were giving much of their time and some of their money to the work 
of providing all the necessities, in the way of improvements of a pub- 
lic nature, which are a necessity in every American community, par- 
ticularly facilities for education of the young and the observances of 
religious worship. 

Among these pioneers were a few church members, particularly 
of the Methodist and the Presbyterian denominations, and a consid- 
erable number who had never been afifiliated with any religious or- 
ganization. All, however, joined in building a church structure 
which was not originally intended to be used exclusively by any par- 
ticular denomination, but should be free to all comers in which to 
hold religious services. The building was located on Glendale .Av- 
enue at a point which would now corner on Windsor Road, that 
road not then being in existence. Among those assisting in the build- 
ing of the structure was a retired Methodist preacher. Rev. H. R. 
Stevens, and almost immediately after the building was completed, 
Mr. Stevens organized his Methodist brethren and took possession 
in the name of his church. There was some good natured talk about 
Mr. Stevens having "stolen a march" on the Presbyterians, but the 
matter was fixed up harmoniously among those concerned. The 
names of those participating in the original organization have been 
preserved as follows: H. R. Stevens, W. B. Warner, B. F. Patterson, 
W. G. Watson, Peter Backman, P. H. Bullis, A. S. Hollingsworth. 
N. B. Huff, G. D. Howland. 

Rev. Stevens evidently served as an irregular volunteer until 
a regular preacher was appointed which the record shows was on Jan- 
uary 1, 1885, when the Rev. M. L. Williams was appointed pastor and 


served until June of the same year. He was succeeded by Rev. J. G 
Sigler, who remained a few months only when Rev. C. W. Tarr suc- 
ceeded him, serving about a year. From that time on the record of 
ministers officiating in this church is as follows: E. J. Inwood, 1886- 
1887; J. M. Hilbish. 1887-1888; Frank M. Johnson, 1888-1889; S. B. 
Woolpert, 1889-1890; F. S. Woodcock, 1891-1893; Jas. M. Hilbert, 
1893-1896; H. J. Crist. 1896-1901; E. S. Chase, 1901-1904; John Pit- 
tenger, 1904-1907; J. H. Henry, 1907-1909; \V. C. Botkin, 1909-1911; 
S. W. Cams, 1911-1914; R. T. Smith, 1914-1915; Dan S. Ford, 1915- 
1917; B. C. Cory. 1917-1918; H. S. Munger, 1918-1919; F. Marion 
Smith, 1919-1920; D. Hunter Brink. 1920-1923. 

In 1904 the congregation obtained a lot on the corner of Central 
and Palmer Avenues and the building was removed to the rear of this 
lot. This building was used until 1913 when the present church was 
erected. As indicating the growth of this church in recent years the 
records show for 1920 an active membership of eighty persons and 
now has increased to 215. 

Glendale Presbyterian Church 

The Glendale Presbyterian Church had its organized beginning 
September 28, 1884. At that time there were but very few settlers 
sparsely scattered over the valley, and the name "Glendale" had not 
yet been assumed. 

The labor of the veteran Rev. J. R. Boat of Los Angeles gath- 
ered together the little group who became the charter members of the 
church. They were the following : Mr. and Mrs. E. T. Byram, their 
daughter. Miss Eva (Mrs. J. M. Banker) and son, Mr. W. D. By- 
ram, Mrs. Byram's aged father, Mr. John D. Miller, his daughter. 
Miss Alice Miller (Mrs. Elias Ayers), Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Ayres 
and daughter Mary G. Ayres, Mrs. Catherine Erskine and her 
mother, \Irs. Rachel Christler, and Miss Adah Z. Coleman. 

Early in 1885, by most earnest effort and self denial, a very simple 
and plain frame building, thirty-six feet square, was erected on the 
old-time Mexican highway which afterwards came to be known as 
Glendale Avenue, at about the point of the subsequent Glendale-Trop- 
ico boundary. Incoming settlers afterwards locating mostly farther 
north, the building in 1886 or '87 was moved and placed on ground 
given by Mr. E. T. Byram and Mr. B. F. Patterson on the corner since 
known as Broadway and Cedar. 

Here the church's history continued, small, modest and faithfully 
persistent, through the years of the valley's infancy, under a succes- 
sion of pastoral care. The first in charge was Rev. W. S. Young, 
who of later years has long been the honored clerk of Los Angeles 
Presbytery and also of the Svnod of California. He was followed bv 
Revs. A. R. Bickenback, Reu'el Dodd. E. R. Mills, D. M. Stuart, C. D. 
Merrill, S. Lawrence Ward, D. D., and Walter E. Edmonds whose 
service began December 11, 1911. 

Early in 1904 a small colony withdrew and formed the church of 
Tropico. In 1907 need was felt of better accommodation for the Sun- 
day school, and extremely modest planning to that end was begun. 


This continued and gradually expanded until it became the plan for an 
entire new church, which many there thought daringlj- and needless- 
ly large. Moving the original building to the back corner of the 
ground, the new was begun on the old spot in November, 1910. This 
was completed and entered in 1911. nearly coincident with the begin- 
ning of the pastorate of Rev. W. E. Edmonds, and most timely for 
the unforeseen great growth of town and church which was ap- 

From that time onward a history has unfolded of continuous and 
ever increasing e.xpansion and opportunity of usefulness. A distinct 
feature in this history has been the privilege from time to time of 
the services of many most valuable men, men of national and inter- 
national reputation. Another feature has been the occasional holding 
of interdenominational Bible conferences, supplied by many speak- 
ers of the highest standing, whose work has had profoundly useful 
and of formative effect. 

The numbers and work of the church rapidly outgrowing the 
building, first steps were taken late in 1920 for providing a much 
larger and more completely equipped church home. A site central 
to the town was chosen at Harvard and Louise streets, and here 
ground was broken on Easter day. 1922. The building is expected to 
be ready for occupation late in 1923. The membership of the church 
January 1, 1923. approximates 1,150; the average attendance at the 
Sunday School, about 600. 

The Episcop.\l Church in Glendale 

The Episcopal Church was organized in Glendale as the Mission 
of the Good Shepherd in March, 1889. The Reverend John D. Easter 
was appointed missionary in charge and Mr. Henry J. Moore became 
warden. Services were held in the chapel of St. Hilda's School of 
which Mr. Easter was rector. 

In 1893 steps were taken towards the erection of a church edi- 
fice. The first service in the new building was held the first Sunday 
after Easter that same year. A Sundaj' School was organized by 
Mr. George Eley who later became rector of the parish. 

In the spring of 1894 the name of the Mission was changed to that 
of St. Mark's Glendale. Mr. Eley was lay reader in charge of the 
Mission from the fall of 1894 when Mr. McKenzie. who had been 
rector, resigned to take up work elsewhere. He continued to con- 
duct the work until 1895 when Mr. Robinson came to assume charge, 
under whose leadership the church was finished. 

In 1900. Mr. Eley, who had in the meantime been ordained to the 
ministry, became rector and continued as such until 1907. In 1914 
during the rectorship of the Rev. C. Irving Mills the church was 
moved from its original site at the corner of Broadway and Isabel 
Streets to its present location at Harvard and Louise Streets. The 
building was enlarged so as to double its seating capacity. 

At present there are between 200 and 300 communicants, a Sun- 
day School of about 150, the organizations such as the Woman's 
(juild. Woman's Auxiliary. The Daughters of the King, and The 

First Methodist (•"piscoiial tluirrh. 

Central Cliristian Cliiinli. 

I'irst I'rcsbvtc'riaii I luuoli ol the I'ast. 


Order of Sir Galahad. The officers of the parish at present are: Rev. 
Phihp K. Kemp, rector; Mr. John Trotter, senior warden; Mr. Alex 
J. Badger, junior warden and Mr. John T. Gate, clerk. 

First Methodist Episcopal Church, Glendale 

In the fall of 1903 the Methodists in Glendale. although few in 
number, decided that it was time to organize a church, as Tropico al- 
ready had an organization of that denomination (the first church or- 
ganization in the valley, as told elsewhere). A coniniittee was ap- 
pointed to wait upon the Presiding Elder. Rev. John Stafford, of the 
Pasadena district. The result of the committee's work was that 
Rev. Stafford came to Glendale to investigate the conditions. It was 
arranged for him to preach in Odd p-ellows Hall, at that time in the 
upper stor)' of the building on the southwest corner of Wilson Ave- 
nue (then Third Street) and Glendale Avenue. The date was Oc- 
tober 11, 1903. The text from which he spoke on that occasion was 
in the words, "Not by might or by power but by my spirit, sayeth 
the Lord." At the conclusion of the service he enrolled thirty-two 
persons as members of the Methodist Church of Glendale. Mr. C. E. 
Russell was appointed class leader. On Monday following he looked 
up Rev. Charles R. Norton and appointed him pastor of the new 
church organization. 

On October 18, 1903. the newly appointed pastor had a good con- 
gregation and spoke from the text. "One thing is needful and Mary 
has chosen the good part that shall not be taken from her." After 
the preaching, a Sabbath school was organized with thirty-five mem- 
bers; Mr. C. E. Russell, superintendent. A short time thereafter 
an Epworth League was organized at the home of Mrs. Hendershott 
with thirty' members; Miss Frances Hendershott. president. .\ com- 
mittee was appointed to secure a location for the church which it was 
proposed to erect, the chairman of the committee being Capt. 
(Rev.) H. H. Hall. At that time Glendale Avenue and Third Street 
was the location around which the principal activities of Glendale 
centered and four lots were secured on the corner of Dayton Court 
and Third Street at a cost of $1,000. Plans were immediately made 
for erecting a church building. The pastor took hold of the matter 
with enthusiasm, personally carrying around the subscription list, 
assisted near the end of the cami)aign by the Rev. W. S. Blackburn, 
a retired minister of the denomination then living in Glendale. .\n 
Aid Society had been formed among the ladies of the congregation 
which assisted greatly in the work, pledging in the beginning of the 
campaign the sum of $300 and later after the building had been com- 
]jleted, aiding with $500 more for furniture and equipment. On 
September 16, 1906, Ur. Robert Mclntyre, of the First M. E. Church 
in Los Angeles, dedicated the new building, complimenting the pastor 
and the congregation by saying that he had never seen the dupli- 
cate of the successful campaign which ended by the dedication of this 
building. Dr. S. A. Thompson, who had succeeded Rev. Stafford, 
deceased, said among other things that the Glendale Methodist church 
building was the best in the San Fernando valley. 


Rev. Norton remained pastor here for four years and saw an 
increase of membership from 32 to 202, and a report to the conference 
at the end of his ministry, states that the church property was worth 
$10,000. Of the charter members of the church the following are still 
residents of Glendale: Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Russell, Mr. and Mrs. 
Joseph Brown, Mr. and Mrs. B. S. Quick, Mrs. Mary Turner and 
Mrs. Hodgson ; while Rev. Norton still survives, one of Glendale's 
most honored citizens. 

In 1907 Rev. N. J. Burton was appointed pastor, continuing for 
the conference year. In 1908 Rev. J. H. Humphrey was appointed 
pastor, remaining for five years during which the church continued 
to grow and prosper, having at the end of that time a membership of 
375. In 1913 Rev. Bede A. Johnson was appointed pastor, serving 
until 1915. 

Rev. B. Dudley Snudden was the pastor for the three following 
years. During his pastorate the new church was built at the corner 
of Wilson Avenue and Kenwood Street. This was erected in 1916-17 
at a cost of fifty thousand dollars, a sum which at that time was un- 
precedented in Glendale for a church structure, but which has been 
demonstrated to have been a most wise expenditure. 

Rev. Charles Scott was pastor in 1917-18. Rev. C. M. Crist 
served in 1921 and 1922. The membership is now over 1,100. 

First Baptist Church 

On July 5, 1904, the Baptists of the valley met at the residence 
of Mr. S. C. Marchant and decided to form a church organization. 
Among those present were Rev. S. C. Ohrum and A. M. Petty. On 
July twenty-fourth the church was organized under the name of the 
Calvary Baptist Church, with twenty-two charter members. A 
present trustee. Mr. J. M. Banker, being the only charter member who 
is now of the church membership, was elected the first church clerk. 

On September 23, 1904, a Council of Recognition was held in the 
I. O. O. F. hall, fifteen pastors and twenty-seven delegates being 
present. At that time Mr. J. M. Banker gave a brief history of the 
church and this was supplemented by a brief address by Rev. S. C. 
Ohrum. On September 25, Rev. C. W. Iller commenced his pastor- 
ate, dividing his time between Glendale and South Pasadena. Ser- 
vices were held in the I. O. O. F. hall on Sundays at three o'clock, the 
Methodist brethren occupying the hall morning and evening. Prayer 
meetings were held regularly at the homes of members. 

A building committee was appointed and on November 13. 1904, 
the trustees purchased two lots on the corner of Third and L Streets 
(the present location) for the sum of $445.00 and with the help of Bap- 
tist friends outside and with the resources of the congregation 
money was raised to erect a good substantial frame building worth 
about $3,500. Many of the members contributed their labor for weeks 
on the structure as but little money was paid out for labor. Mem- 
bers who had teams did the hauling. 

Rev. E. K. Fisher was pastor from July 25, 1905, to April 8, 1906, 


during which time seventeen members were received into the church. 
I'nder Mr. Fisher's leadership the R. Y. P. U. was organized. 

Rev. \Vm. F. Stone was pastor from May 31, 1906. to June 3, 
l'X)8. Under his leadership the church became self-supporting. Dur- 
ing Mr. Stone's pastorate seventj^-two members were received. Rev. 
J. F. Moody was pastor from July 31, 1908, to February 10, 1910, and 
during this period sixty-four members were taken into the church. 
During Mr. Moody's regime, the Women's Mission Circle was organ- 
ized with Mrs. Moody as first president; this organization has been 
one of the most helpful of the church auxiliaries. 

On April 1. 1909, the church was incorporated as the First Baptist 
Church of Glendale, J. M. Banker, H. F. Freyer and James Hoffman, 
of the present membership, acting as incorporators. 

September 1, 1910. Rev. Eugene Haines became pastor, continu- 
ing until April 16, 1913. Under his leadership, 103 memljers were re- 
ceived into the church by letter, twenty-seven by baptism and eight 
by e.xi)erience. During Mr. Haines' administration, and under the 
leadership of Mr. C. C. .Arrow smith, the Sunday School, organized in 
1904, with two classes and al)out twenty children, had outgrown its 
quarters and J. M. Banker, W. F. Wood, C. E. Reed and Mrs. W. W. 
lyicElroy were members of a building committee appointed to take 
charge of the building enterprise, which was conducted successfully, 
the old church building l)eing sold to the Adventists for $1,500. Ser- 
vices were continued at the new location. Wilson and Isabel, for about 
one year, during which the ])resent building was constructed at a cost 
of about $11,000, Mr. J. M. Banker in this, as on former occasions, 
l>roving his loyalty and helpfulness. 

On October 2, 1913, after a period of several months of supplies, 
Rev. Troy became pastor, and according to a letter written by Sara A. 
Pollard, on September 30, 1914, the growth had up to that time been 
lifty per cent of the membership at the beginning of the church year. 
Rev. Troy's pastorate terminated March 1, 1916. 

On July 16, 1916, Rev. Vernon H. Cowsert counnenced his pas- 
torate, continuing until August 1, 1918. During this pastorate, being 
the war period, notwithstanding the many demands made by the gov- 
ernment, the membershij) responded U)yally to all appeals and con- 
tributed their quota to the Million Dollar Drive as well as keeping up 
their regular contributions, both general and missionar}-. 

On July first the present jiastor. Rev. Ernest E. Ford, entered 
upon his duties as church leader, and thus far the indications are that 
the church has entered upon another era of great ])rosperity and use- 

The present membership is 560 with a Sunday School of 500. 
The church is on the eve of building a new auditorium at a cost of 
about $100,000. Lots have been purchased in the .\twater Tract, on 
the edge of Los -Angeles, for another church soon to be erected. 

Tropico Presi!VTeri.\n Church 

This church was organized in January, 1904, by a number of 
Presbyterians residing in Tropico who withdrew from the Glendale 


church to form an independent organization. The organization was 
effected in Richardson's hall with thirty-three members. The first 
elders selected were John Hobbs, F. R. Bear and Nelson C. Burch. 
Rev. D. M. Stewart, who had resigned from the Presbyterian church 
of Glendale, was the first pastor, serving from 1904 to 1907. He was 
succeeded by Rev. .A. W. McConnell who remained until 1909. He 
was followed by Rev. H. C. Shoemaker, who served until 1911. Then 
came Rev. C. B. Hatch, officiating until 1914. Rev. O. P. Ryder 
served until 1921 when the present pastor, Rev. Jas. F. Winnard, 
D. D., was installed. 

The first church building was located at the corner of Glendale 
and Park Avenues. The present house of worship is located at the 
corner of Central .Avenue and Laurel Street. 

Seventh D.w Ad\'entist Church 

The Glendale Sanitarium has ever since 1905 been a Glendale in- 
stitution, playing an important part in the upbuilding f>{ the city. The 
ordinary sanitarium has for its sole object the upbuilding of the phy- 
sical and the mental constituents of the human being, but the sani- 
tariums of the Seventh Day .\dventists add to this service, the de- 
\elopment of the spirit; and it therefore follows that the care of the 
body and the welfare of the soul are blended together in one purpose 
wherever these institutions are found. Following closely therefore 
upon the establismment of the sanitarium by the people from Battle 
Creek in the latter i)art of 1905, came the organization of the church 
body on Januar}' 27, 1906, at 3 o'clock P. M., Elder George \N'. Reeser 
officiating. There were about thirty charter members and the follow- 
ing officers were chosen: Elder, Charles F. Marvin; deacon, M. De- 
roy Learned; deaconesses, Mrs. E. L. Learned, Mrs. Laura B. Hyatt; 
clerk, Mrs. Elizabeth M. Stanley; librarian, Mrs. Elizabeth M. Stan- 
ley; treasurer. The Glendale Sanitarium. 

Services were at first held in the Sanitarium building; then the 
frame church, purchased of the Baptists, was moved onto the lot on 
the southwest corner of Wilson Avenue and Isabel Street. This soon 
I^roved too small for the rapidly growing congregation and a larger 
building was erected about three years ago on the corner of Califor- 
nia and Isabel Streets. At the present time this building is much 
too small for the congregation as the membership now is over seven 

Church of the Hoi.v Famh,v 

This parish was established in 1907 when Rev. James S. O'Neill, 
then stationed in Los Angeles, was called to the office of Bishop 
Conaty and told to "Go to Glendale — hire a hall — establish a parish." 

The splendid church building recently dedicated, and the large 
congregation worshijiing there, testifies eloquently to the fact that 
"Father" O'Neill not only obeyed orders and went, but that he pos- 
sessed good staying qualities, for he is in Glendale yet. The hall he 
hired was the old G. A. R. hall on Glendale .\venue, where services 
were held for nine months, the congregation numbering about sixty- 


five persons gathered from all parts of the valley. Father O'Neill's 
jurisldiction at that time comprised Tilendale. Tropico, Burbank, Van 
Nuys and Lankershim. He held services in Burbank also in connec- 
tion with his Glendale duties and I)uilt churches in both places. 

In 1908, Mrs. Emeline Childs of Los Angeles, donated land in the 
"Child Tract" on East Lomita Avenue where the church building was 
erected that was dedicated by Bishop Francis J. Conaty, as master of 
ceremonies, on Sunday. September 29. 1908. A congregation was 
present that filled the new church to its capacity. The growth of 
the church kept up with the growth of the young city and by 1920 
the congregation comprised some three hundred families, and the 
need for a new building becoming imperative. Father O'Neill went 
to work and got it. The building was completed and blessed in 1921, 
but the dedication was delayed until the erection and occupancy of 
a rectory. The dedication took place on Sunday. September 24. 1922, 
Right Rev. Bishop Cantwell assisted by a large body of priests, offi- 
ciating. After the dedication adjournment was had to the rooms of 
the Chamber of Commerce where a banquet was given in honor of 
the Bishop, addresses being made by Bishop Cantwell, Hon. Joseph 
Scott, Judge Paul McCormick, Hon. Spencer Robinson, Mayor of 
Glendale, and others; the audience representing practically all the 
denominations in the city. 

Rev. James O'Neill was born in Boston, one of a family of ten 
children. He received his education at Boston University, and studied 
theolog)' and philosophj' at St. Bonaventuras College, in Alleghany. 
New York. He was ordained to the priesthood in 1902. Coming to 
California, Father O'Neill was stationed at San Diego, Ventura and 
Los Angeles, from which station he came to Glendale. He has made 
himself a part of the civic life of Glendale. being a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce and of the Benevolent Order of Elks, and is 
always ready to assist any worthy enterprise in the city. 

Early in 1923 ground will be broken for the erection of a parish 
school and Sisters Convent, which enterprise will involve an expendi- 
ture of $50,000. 

West Glendale M. E. Church 

In the spring of 1908, J. C. Lennox of the First Methodist Church 
of Glendale, erected a small building on the lot now occupied by the 
present structure. A Sunday School was organized with L. A. Wood 
as Superintendent. The first preaching services were conducted by 
Rev. N. J. Burton and Rev. W. S. Blackburn and others. This 
arrangement was continued for a few months, or until the advent of 
Dr. A. B. Morrison. Under his administration, on May 26, 1909, the 
West Glendale Methodist Episcopal Church, with a membership of 
twenty was organized. Rev. L. A. Thompson, D. D., Superintendent 
of Pasadena District, presiding. The official members consisted of 
the following stewards: C. F. Smith, J. W. Durham, M. S. Van 
Luven, W. R. Burrington; Sunday School Superintendent, L. A. 


In September, 1910, the foundation was laid for the present build- 
ing. The first service was held in the completed structure, December 
18, 1910. 

The church is valued at $6,000 and the six-room modern par- 
sonage and garage are valued at $3,500. 

Record of Pastors: Rev. A. B. Morrison, •08-'12; Rev. M. R. 
Walton, '12-'14; Rev. H. S. Hartsell. 'U-'\6; Rev. C. A. Norcross, 
'16-'17; Rev. E. M. Crandall. ■17-'18; Rev. W. W. Cookman. '18-'21 ; 
Rev. Harley G. Preston, '21-'22; Rev. H. C. Muller, 1922. 

The present membership is eighty. 

The Chri.sti.\x Church 

In the fall of 1908, Rev. J. W. Utter, then with the Broadway 
Church, Los Angeles, made a canvass of the city of Glendale and 
began a series of revival meetings. His success encouraged him in 
the belief that he had found a fertile field in which to build up a 
congregation and establish a Christian Church. He asked to be 
relieved of his duties in Los Angeles and entered heartily into his 
self-imposed task. He labored with the growing congregation for 
five years, building it up to a church membership of two hundred. 
He was succeeded by Rev. E. E. Francis who remained for three 
years, the congregation constantly increasing in numbers. January 
1, 1917, Rev. ClifTord A. Cole was called from the Compton Heights 
Church. St. Louis, and has remained the minister up to the present. 
This church has now a membership of nearly 700. The congrega- 
tion at first, and for eighteen months, met in the G. A. R. Hall on 
South Glendale .Avenue. The original church was erected in 1909. 
The following named persons with many others participated in its 
establishment: A. K. Crawford, S. P. Borthick, A. B. Heacock, J. 
P. Shropshire, E. H. Learned, Miss Mary Chester. The present 
church edifice was dedicated July 2. 1922. 

The Christian Church is identified in the V. S. Census report 
as "The Disciples of Christ." It is the largest body of Christians 
having origin in the United States and is fifth in numbers among 
Protestant bodies, having a membership of about a million and a 
half. It has spread out over Great Britain, France, Scandinavia 
Russia, Austria and other lands, with its greatest strength in the 
central portion of the United States. 

Cas.a Verdugo Methodist Episcopal Church 

In the Journal of the Southern California Conference, of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, for the year 1910 appears the ff)llowing 
notation : "Casa Verdugo is a beautiful settlement of twelve to 
fifteen hundred people at the end of the Glendale trolley line, about 
one and one-half miles northwest of that city. There is no church 
organization there of any kind, nor was there a .Sunday School until 
Dr. J. F. Humphrey, our pastor at Glendale, and some of his efficient 
workers started fine, which has been successfully carried on and is 
rapidly growing." 


The Journal of the same year records the appointinciu by Bishop 
Edwin H. Hughes, of Rev. C. R. Norton to the pastorate at Casa 
Verdugo. During the pastorate of Mr. Norton, extending to the fall 
of 1913, a society was organized and a chapel erected on a purchased 
lot just west of the present site of their property at the corner nf 
Park Place and Xorth Central Avenue. 

In the fall of 1913. Rev. M. K. Stcme was appointed pastor. 
serving one year, at the expiration of which. Rev. Julius Soper having 
returned from his appointment, made in 1873. as Missionary in Japan, 
was appointed pastor at Casa Verdugo serving the charge for five 
years. The records show that at the close of the pastorate of Dr. 
Soper the membership had reached 90, the Sunday School enrollment 
109, and that the church property was valued at $1,899. 

In October of 1919, Rev. E. O. Thayer succeeded Dr. Soper in 
the pastorate of this church, continuing until October of 1921, when 
the present pastor. Rev, J. C. Livingston, was appointed to the 
charge. During the pastorate of Dr. Thayer the present property 
was bought and the new building erected. 

At the present time the membership has reached 150. The aver- 
age attendance at Sunday Schonl is 145, and the church property is 
valued at $20,000. Situation and environment provide valuable 
assets to this prosperous and popular church. Its future looks bright. 


The story of this church is one of the innumerable cases showing 
the remarkable growth of all Glendale institutions. It was organized 
on November 26. 1911. Preliminary services had been held for three 
consecutive Sundays in the K. of P. Hall, in the second story of the 
building on the southeast corner of Brand Boulevard and Wilson 
Avenue. The organizer was Rev. E. H. Willisford. Twenty-five 
people constituted the charter members. In May of 1912, Dr. Willi.s- 
ford was able to purchase for the congregation two lots on the 
northwest corner of Wilson and Central and the "Bungalow Church" 
was built on that site during that year, the reverend gentleman him- 
self putting in many days' work with hammer and saw. This building 
was dedicated June 30, 1912, and Rev. Willisford formally installed 
at a special service held July first. By December, 1914, the building 
])roved inadequate to accommodate the Sunday School and a wing 
was added on each side of the building. 

In December, 1916, a committee of five was appointed to devise 
ways and means to obtain a more suitable building, but all plans were 
interfered with by the war. Dr. Willisford obtained leave of absence 
to engage in Y. M. C. A. work, went overseas and took active part 
in that work in France within range of the guns. During his absence 
Rev. W. J. Marsh supplied the church very successfully. On Septem- 
ber 5, 1919, the congregation held a celebration and burned the church 
mortgages. The building committee was discharged at this time 
and in June, 1920, Rev. Willisford tendered his resignation and 
accepted a call to the church at Houston, Texas. 


A call was issued to Rev. Charles M. Calderwood, of Lee, 
Massachusetts, who accepted, and preached his first sermon as 
pastor on the first Sunday in November. 1920. In the interim. Rev. 
Clyde Sheldon Shepard acted as pastor very acceptably. Plans for 
a new church building were again taken up and in May, 1921, a 
building committee of five persons was appointed, consisting of the 
following; Blake Franklin, Chas. B. Guthrie. E. D. Yard, Hartley 
Shaw and Thomas White. On January 11, 1922, a detailed report 
was made by the committee and it was decided to adopt plans for a 
building to cost, with furnishings. $80,000. Mr. C. L. Peckham and 
G. H. Schulte were added to the building committee which was given 
full power to go ahead with the work. Services were held in the old 
building and ground broken for the new one, on May 12, 1922, being 
Frida}'. The "services" on this occasion consisted in a social dinner 
and an enjoj-able musical entertainment. On the following Sunday 
the last sermon was preached in the old church. The new edifice will 
be completed and dedicated early in 1923. 

First Church of Christ, 

March 31, 1912, eighteen members of the Third Church of 
Christ, Scientist, of Los Angeles, withdrew their membership from 
that church in order to form a church in Glendale. and on April 17, 
1912, the First Church of Christ, Scientist, of Glendale. was incorpo- 
rated under the laws of the State. 

The Masonic Hall was rented, and on Sunday. Maj' 19. 1912, the 
first church service was held. The large attendance and interest 
manifested gave immediate proof of the need of the new organization. 
All church activities were at once established. A reading room was 
opened for the public in the Rudy block and committees for special 
work were appointed. The new church proved to be self-supporting 
from the start and it was not found necessary to accept the financial 
assistance generouslj- proffered by the Third Church of Los Angeles. 

On September 27, 1912, the reading room was moved to rooms in 
the Parker & Sternberg building on Brand below Broadway, where 
more spacious and desirable quarters were secured and are still 
retained. A building fund was maintained by the church from the 
beginning and had so grown that on April 18. 1913. the organization 
was able to make the first payment on a building site. Two lots were 
obtained at the southeast corner of Maryland Avenue and Second 
Street, having a frontage of one hundred and two feet on Maryland 
Avenue with a depth of one hundred forty-two and a half feet. The 
lots were purchased for twentj'-five hundred dollars and constitute 
an admirable and central location. 

By the spring of 1914 the attendance at church services had out- 
grown the seating capacity of the Masonic hall and it was found 
necessary to have more commodious c|uarters. It was found possible 
to lease the auditorium of the recently completed Masonic Temple, 
centrally located with a seating capacity of about three hundred. In 
this location the attendance increased more rapidly than ever and by 


the spring of 1916 it became apparent that action must be taken at 
once to meet this condition. The construction of a church building 
had become a necessity. The church lots had in the meantime been 
paid for and there were several hundred <Ic)llars in the treasury. At a 
business meeting of the church held January 28, 1916, the Board of 
Directors was empowered to take all necessary steps for the construc- 
tion of a church building. The funds on hand were limited but it 
was thought that by using economy a temporary bungalow church 
could be constructed large enough to meet present needs. However, 
the desirability of a more commodious and dignified structure soon 
became apparent and the decision was taken to proceed with the 
erection of a permanent structure. Not until this step was taken was 
the need discerned of procuring financial assistance from the Trustees 
under the will of Mary Baker Eddy. The work of building the 
church was taken up so vigorously that, within fifty-two working 
days after entering into the building contract, the church edifice was 
completed and ready for use. On Sunday, June 11. 1916, three well 
attended services were held in the new structure. The contributions 
at these services were very liberal and the amount so received, to- 
gether with the sums so unselfishly given during the period of church 
building, were sufficient to enable the immediate application for 
assistance under the will of Mary Baker Eddy. At a business 
meeting held June 16. 1916, it was voted to apply for such assistance 
and on November 3, 1916, a grant was made by the Trustees sufticient 
to discharge all outstanding indebtedness against the church 

The church edifice is a frame structure of classic design with a 
normal seating capacity of five hundred and twenty-five, with an 
additional capacity gained by opening up other rooms. The church 
building, attractive in appearance, sets back thirty feet from the front 
line, leaving room for lawn and flowers, thus making it an adornment 
to the residential district in which it is located. 

First English Lutheran Church 

The First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale was 
organized in the L O. O. F. Mall on Sunday, July 7, 1912, Rev. J. W. 
Ball, of Los Angeles, officiating. On August first, Rev. F. M. Rinker 
was commissioned by the Board of Home Missions to become pastor 
of the congregation. Pastor Rinker resigned the charge on August 
31, 1913. 

Rev. G. Wenning became pastor on January 1, 1914, remaining 
in charge of the congregation for one year. 

Rev. R. W. Mottern became pastor on April 1, 1915. During 
this pastorate the church on the corner of Maryland Avenue and 
Harvard Street was dedicated July 22, 1917. Rev. Mottern resigned 
and relinquished his work on July 1, 1920. 

Dr. H. C. Funk accepted a call to become pastor on January 1, 
1921. Under the direction of the new pastor a Luther League was 
organized at Easter, 1921. The Common Service was introduced 


an adopted b\' the congregation. On January 1, 1922, the congrega- 
tion adopted the use of the robe for the regular services of the 

On August 18, 1922. two valuable lots on Kenwood Street, near 
Colorado, were purchased as a site for a new church edifice. On 
March 18, 1923, the congregation authorized the Trustees to sell the 
church site on Marjland Avenue and Harvard Street. Plans for a 
new church home valued at $40,000.00 are being prepared by a special 
committee. The First Lutheran Church of Glendale is growing 
rapidly and will be prepared to do larger things when the new 
church is completed. 


Free Masonry in Glendale 

The Masonic Lodge in Glendale was one of the pioneers of the 
fraternal orders to be established in the city. Unity Lodge was 
organized in 1904 with Prof. George U. Moyse, then as now the 
principal of the High School. Master. The number of charter mem- 
bers was seventeen ; today the number of members is about 450. 

From the original jurisdiction of the Glendale Lodge, three other 
Masonic Lodges have been formed, namely: Burbank Lodge, Eagle 
Rock Lodge and (ilendale Lodge, U. D. The combined membership 
of the last three is over 400. Jklembers of the Masonic order, acting 
with a few members of the Fraternal Brotherhood, were instru- 
mental in erecting the first brick block in Glendale, the building now 
occupied by the Brand Boulevard branch of the Pacific-Southwest 
Trust and Savings Bank. These two organizations were seriously in 
need of a hall in which to hold their meetings, and a building corpora- 
tion was formed with members of these two bodies as the stock- 
holders. The hall in the second story of this building was occupied 
for several years as the lodge room of Unity Lodge. The Masonic 
Temple at 232 South Brand Boulevard, was dedicated in 1910 and 
has since been the center of the activities of the order in Glendale. 
With the organization of the Order of the Eastern Star, Royal Arch 
Masons, Knights Templar, White Shrine of Jerusalem, Glendale 
Lodge, U. D., Order of de Molay for boys, and the Shrine Club, the 
quarters are no longer adequate for the accommodation of the order 
and plans are now being made for the erection of a magnificent 
Temple which will furnish spacious and comfortable quarters for all 
the Masonic organizations. The ofificers of Unity Lodge, No. 368 for 
the year 1923 are the following: Master. Herman A. Strong; S. W., 
Xewton Van Why ; J. W., A. H. Dibbern ; Treasurer, Dan Campbell ; 
Secretary, Alphonso W. Tower. 

Royal Arch Masons 

Unity Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, No. 116, was organized 
March 2. 1914. The first ofificers were the following: Herbert D. 
Lore, High Priest; Mattison B. Jones, King; David Crofton, Secre- 
tary; Charles L. Peckham, Scribe. This lodge has grown propor- 
tionately with the city and has now 233 members. 

The present officers are the following: Frederick A. Collins, 
High Priest; Thomas F. Carter. King; lien ( ). Wager. Secretary. 


Glendale Commandery No. 53, Knights Templar 

On the first day of April, 1914, R. E. William A. Hammel, Grand 
Commander of Knights Templar of California, granted to twelve 
Commandery members from five Grand jurisdictions, a dispensation 
to organize a Commandery of Knights Templar in Glendale. During 
the first year there were thirteen additions by affiliation and confer- 
ring the orders, making twentv-five members when the Charter was 
granted by the Grand Comma'ndery and on May 7. 1915. R. E. Sir 
Perry W. W'eidner. then Grand Commander of California, consti- 
tuted Glendale Commandery No. 53. K. T. Edward Kenneth Daniels 
was the first Commander and Charles C. Rittenhouse the first 

The Commandery has had a phenomenal growth, until at present 
it has 142 members, with promising prospects ahead. The Sir Knights 
who have lieen called upon to preside at the head of the body, have 
been Edward Kenneth Daniels. Mattison Boyd Jones, Clem L. V. 
Moore, Charles Luther Peckham, David George Crofton. Percy J. 
Priaulx, Daniel Cam])bell. and George U. Moyse. Roy V. Hogue is 
the present Commander and Charles C. Rittenhouse. Recorder. Since 
the organization of the Commandery it has lost by death ten of its 
meml)ers, six of whom were Charter members. 
Glendale Lodge, U. D. 

This lodge is working under a dispensation, having been very 
recently organized. 

Order ok De Molay for Boys 

This lodge is also of very recent origin, and is being sponsored 
by Unity Chapter No. 116. Royal Arch Masons. 

Glen EvRiE Cii.m'Ter, Order of the Eastern Star, No. 237 

Monday evening, January 15. 1906, the following persons assem- 
bled at Palm Villa, the home of Mr. and Mrs. D. H. Imler, on West 
Park Avenue to discuss the feasibility of organizing a Chapter of the 
Order of the Eastern Star. William A. Thompson was then Master 
of Unity Lodge F. and A. M. 

Frank Albright and his wife, Agnes Fiske Albright, William 
Malcolm, secretary of Unity Lodge, and his wife. Florence Malcolm. 
Elizabeth Moyse and Cora Hickman. Of this nuin1)er there were 
four who were tnembers of the Eastern Star, namely, David H. 
Imler of Ramona Chapter of Colorado Springs; liis wife. Adelaide H. 
Imler; her sister. Miss Cora Hickman. nieml)ers of Glen Eyrie 
Chapter of Colorado Springs. Colorado, and Mrs. Elizabeth Moyse, 
member of a California Chapter. Another meeting was held at the 
same place. January 25. 1906. when Ren B. Cartwright, past patron 
of Alhambra Chapter and late Grand Patron of the Grand Chapter, 
State of California, conferred the degrees at sight on William A. 
Thompson, Verne Thompson, Frank E. .\lbright. Agnes Fiske Al- 
bright, W^illiam Malcolm. Florence Malcolm. Dan Campbell, Mar- 
garet McPeak Campbell, Asa Fanset. Annie Fanset and Wesley 

The Elks Club. 


Bullis. The other members of the order present, were: David H. 
Imler. Adelaide H. Imler, Cora Hickman. Luella Marden Bullis, 
George H. Moyse and Elizabeth Moyse. 

At this meeting Miss Cora Hickman was elected Worthy Matron 
and George H. Moyse. Worthy Patron; Mrs. Elizabeth Moyse, Asso- 
ciate Matron; Adelaide H. Imler. Condnctress. and Florence Malcolm, 
Associate Conductress. William A. Thompson was chosen secretary 
and served as such until Mrs. Mary Ogden Ryan was initiated and she 
was then elected secretary of the new Chapter. Frank Albright was 
elected Treasurer; Agnes .'Mbrifjht was chosen as Ruth; Margaret 
Campbell. Esther; Verna Thompson. Martha; Annie Fanset, Electa; 
David H. Imler. Warder; Dan Campbell, Chaplain; Wesley Bullis, 
Marshal; Luella Bullis, organist, and William Malcolm, sentinel. 

The name Glen Eyrie was chosen in recognition of the Chapter 
in Colorado of which Mrs. Imler and Miss Hickman were members, 
having demittcd to organize the new Chapter in Glendale. The 
Chapter then instituted with a membership of 17 now has an enroll- 
ment of over 300 members. 

Benevolent .\nd Protective Order of Elks 

Glendale Lodge No. 1289 has had a phenomenal growth with 
corresponding prosperity and usefulness. It was organized October 
14, 1912. meeting in the Central Building, then recently completed, 
just east of the Pacific Electric buildins^ on the corner of Broadway 
and Brand. The following were the first officers: Peter L. Ferry, 
Exalted Ruler; Wm. H. West. Leading Knight; H. W. Walker, 
Esteemed Loval Knight; S. C. Packer. Lecturer; M. E. Hofer. Sec- 
retary; Dr. S. A. Pollack, Inner Guard; F. J. Willett. Tyler; C. II. 
Boyd. Treasurer; Dr. H. G. Martin, Esquire; W. M. Kimball, Chap- 
lain ; F. B. McKenney. D. L. Greffg. E. M. Lynch. Trustees. 

The charter members numbered twenty-eight and at the end 
of the lodge year the number had increased to 243. March 31, 1913, 
John W. Lawson became Exalted Ruler, the membership growing 
during that year to 419. Under the leadership of Wm. Herman W'est, 
a membership of 500 was attained during the lodge year of 1914-1915. 
On March 31, 1915. S. C. Packer became Exalted Ruler, the number 
of members at the close of the year being 592. Geo. H. Melford was 
Exalted Ruler for the year beginning March 31. 1916 and the number 
of members at the close of the year was 684. March 31, 1917, Albert 
D. Pearce became Exalted Ruler and at the end of the year there 
were 7^7 members. 

On January 12. 1918, the lodge moved into its new home and 
on the fourteenth the first meetinfj was held in the new quarters with 
about 200 members present. The grounds for the new building were 
secured in 1914 at a cost of about $5,000. The financing of the new 
structure under conditicms existing during the Great War period, 
was a serious matter, but it was worked out in a most successful 
manner and a large portion of the debt incurred has been liquidated 
and in addition the lodge has secured lots in the rear on which to 
make extensions as necessary. The lodge building is a handsome 


three-stury slrucliire on Culorado Street, east of Urand Boulevard, 
an ornament to the neighborhood and in every way adapted to the 
use of the lodsje. 

Returning to the figures showing the phenomenal growth of this 
order in Glendale, the follf)wing are presented: Members in 1919, 
763; 1920, 1045; 1921, 1539; 1922. 1554 and on February 1, 1923, 1620. 

Succeeding Albert D. Pearce as Exalted Ruler, were the follow- 
ing: Bert P. Woodard. 1918; Cameron D. Thom, 1919; lohn H. 
Fanset, 1920; Alfred F. Priest, 1921; Arthur H. Dibbern. 1922. The 
activities of the Elks Lodge in the matter of benevolences is not 
generally advertised, but the money given to needy subjects in any 
one year amounts t<i several thousand dollars, and it is distributed 
regardless of any consideration other than actual human need. 

Knights of Coiambus 

The Glendale Council may be said to have had its inception in 
the city of Whittier, on Sunday, May 13, 1918, on which day a 
council of the order was instituted there. There were present Henry 
M. Doll, Sr. and Frederick H. Huesman, pioneer residents of Glen- 
dale, Imbued with the spirit of the order and realizing its great pos- 
sibilities for service, these gentlemen suggested to Hon. Jos. Scott 
and Mr. Joseph Coyle the advisability of instituting a council in 
Glendale. These gentlemen promised to give any assistance in their 
power and the Glendale men went home and consulted Father O'Neill, 
Peter L. Ferry, M. J. Brennan, Will Blackman, Chas. M. Wood, J. 
W. Andre, Leo McMahon, John F. Quinn, J. H. Mellish, Warren H, 
Kerr, A. P. McDonnell, Jos. H. Folz, Stephen A. Gavin, and Niles K. 
Millen, all of whom were members of various councils throughout 
the country. The idea appealed favorably to all and steps were at 
once taken to organize. 

The charter was granted and on September 29. 1918, the Council 
was instituted with sixty-three members, in the Central liuilding on 
Broadway east of Brand Boulevard. Preceding the initiatory work 
a Military Mass was celebrated, in the High School, in the presence 
of several thousand people. Prior to this there was a parade of 
several thousand members of the order from other cities of .Southern 
California. Ff)lIowing the above ceremonies a banquet was tendered 
to five hundred guests at the Elks Club house at which were present 
city officials and prominent members of the order from throughout 
the state. The toastmaster of the evening was Mr. John McGroarty; 
an address of welcome was given by Mayor George B, Woodberry of 
Glendale, other speakers being Hon. Jos. Scott, Hon. Paul J. McCor- 
niick, Mr. W. Jos. Ford, Rev. Henry Walsh, S. J., Chaplain at Ft. 
McArthur and Rev. Chas. Raley, Chaplain of U. S. Navy at San 
Pedro. Grace was said by Rev. J. S. O'Neill. 

The institution of this council taking place during the Great W'ar 
raging at that time, the details of the celebration were of a military 
character. One thing that in itself tended to make this affair a 
notable success, was the participation of city officials, the members 


of the High School board and the liberahty of the Elks Lodge in ten- 
dering their hall in which the ceremonies took place. 

The Grand Knight for the year 1919-1920 was Mr. Henry Doll; 
for 1920-1921, Mr. H. V. Henry; for 1921-1922. Mr. Leslie F. Wright 
of San Fernando. California, the present Grand Knight being Mr. 
Harry Girard. 

The present membership has passed the three hundred mark, and 
the Council has taken an active interest in all subjects of vital interest 
to the welfare of the City of Glendale. The unprecedented growth of 
the Glendale lodge has caused its fame to go throughout the country 
and it has achieved the ditsinction of being alluded to as "the fastest 
growing lodge of Knights of Columbus in the fastest growing city in 

I. O. O. F. 

Glendale Lodge, 388 was instituted January 26, 1901, in the hall 
over the store building on the southwest corner of Glendale Avenue 
and Third Street. There were seventeen charter members whose 
names follow: F. G. Taylor. J. F. Mclntyre, Bailey Hickman, 
Robert Garrett, Constantine Haines, Louis A. Catlin, \Vm. Nelson, 
Edw. W. Smith, Elmer Mitchell, Edwin Vawter. John D. Bliss, O. E. 
Patterson, H. G. Lyman, Geo. D. Hale. E. W. Richardson. Geo. W. 
Haskin. Geo. W. Haskin was elected the first Noble Grand and F. 
G. Taylor. Vice Grand, with J. F. Mclntyre, Secretary. 

The lodge, being one of the first fraternal organizations in the 
valley, was very successful. In July. 1008. it moved to quarters in 
the two-story brick building, then recently erected by Dr. L. H. 
Hurtt on Broadway opposite the City Hall. In July, 1914, the lodge 
erected a two-story brick building on the corner of Isabel and Third 
Streets and moved into its own quarters. The lodge recently disposed 
of this building and now meets at 201 -A East Broadway. It has an 
active membership of 100. The following are officers: Frank Sulli- 
van, Noble Grand; Daniel Hall, Vice Grand; Alfred Raines. Corre- 
sponding Secretary; Elmer Brown. Financial Secretary; Carl Schwit- 
ters. Treasurer. 


This auxiliary of the I. O. O. F. is a flourishing organization w ith 
over one hundred members, meeting on the first and third Tuesday 
evenings of every month. The following are officers: Mrs. Loretta 
Schwitters, Noble Grand; Mrs. Evelyn Hall. V^ice Grand; Mrs. James 
McBryde, Recording Secretary; Mrs. Mabel Goodfellow, Financial 
Secretary; Mrs. Winnie Hartley, Treasurer. 

This lodge was organized in 1902 by the following ladies: 
Mesdames C. E. Patterson, F. G. Taylor. E. W. Richardson, Harry 
Lyman, E. D. Goode. J. F. Mclntyre. Mabel Hunt, Louise Peck, 
Hattie Smith. Mrs. Duncan. 

The first officers were the following: Mrs. Cora Taylor, N. G. ; 
Mrs. Allie Goode, V. C. ; Louise Peck. Recorder; Nina Lyman, Finan- 
cial Secretary; Helen Mathiesen, Warden; Hattie Smith, Conductor; 
Mrs. Duncan, Chaplain, 


Knights of Pythias 

The Glendale Lodge, K. of P. was organized in 1909 in the hall 
of the brick building southeast corner of Third Street and Brand 
Boulevard, which had recently been built by Cole and Damerell. 

The first officers elected were the following: John Collins, Chan- 
cellor Commander; Frank Mitchell, Vice Chancellor; Fred Deal, 
Keeper of Records and Seal. 

The lodge now meets in its own hall, corner of Brand Boule- 
vard and Park Avenue, having held its meetings there since 1916, 
when the Glendale and the Tropico lodges were consolidated. The 
lodge now has 250 active members. Officers at the present time are 
the following: B. E. Metzer, Chancellor Commander; Robert Ed- 
wards. Vice Chancellor Commander; C. E. Rehberg. Prelate; Sam 
Brown. Master of Work; Frank Peters, Keeper of Records and Seal; 
James Smith, Master of Finance; R. Wright, Master of Exchequer; 
C. E. George. Inner Guard; Harold Nicholson, Outer Guard; C. E. 
Valentine, Trustee. 

Pythian Sisters 

Pythian Sisters, the women's au.xiHary in the Knights of Pythias 
lodge, numbers 60 members and meets at the lodge rooms the nights 
of the first and third Fridays. Officers for 1923 are as follows: Mrs. 
Pauline Doose, Sitting Past Chief; Mrs. Rosella JollifTe, Most Ex- 
cellent Chief; Mrs. Mable King, Excellent Senior; Mrs. Melissa 
Dickson, Excellent Junior; Mrs. Laura Chrisman. Manager; Mrs. 
Blanche Wiilett, Mistress of Finance; Mrs. Viola Peters, Records 
and Correspondence; Mrs. Margaret Higgard, Protector; Mrs. Elsa 
St. Clair, Guard; Mrs. Lucy Wilbur, Installing Officer, and Mrs. 
Elizabeth ITaynes, Musician. 

Good Templars 

The Independent Order of Good Templars was organized in 
1891, in the old Cerritos School where they met until the present 
G. A. R. Hall on Glendale was built by them in 1891-1892. Later a 
lodge was organized in Glendale about 1911; after some years of 
more or less disorganization, the two lodges consolidated and the 
present organization was formed. The meetings are held in the 
homes. William K. Wyckoflf is Chief Templar. 

During the earlier years of the settlement, this organization 
was the only fraternal order in the community and very prosperous. 
Hon. T. D. Kanouse, who had occupied several high positions in 
the order, came to Glendale in 1901, and with his family resided here 
for several years. During his residence here he was the head of 
the local lodge, occupying official positions in the order in the state 
at the same time, and taking a great interest in the local lodge was 
the leading personality in all its activities. Mr. Kanouse now resides 
in Los Angeles. 

Modern Woodmen of America 

The Glendale Camp, No. 12886, Modern Woodmen of America 
numbers an active membership of 110. Officers for 1923 are: Dr. 


Bion S. Warner. Consul; Carol L. Hare, Past Consul; Marvin A. 
Bunting, Adviser; Charles A. Buntins:. Banker; I. F. LaRock, 
Escort; A. F. Muske, Watchman; William Griffin, James E. Howes 
and David C. Carney, Trustees. 

The Rov.m. Xiii(".n»oR.s of America 

The Royal Neighbors of America, auxiliary to the Modern Wood- 
men, was organized .August of 1921 and has a membership of sixty- 
three. The officers for 1923 arc: Mrs. H. I.. Hock, Oracle; Mrs. Ida 
I. each, Vice-Oracle, and Mrs. Blanche Ciemmell. Recorder. 



Tuesday Afternoon Club 

This club is an institution of which Glendale may well be proud, 
and without invidious comparison, it may properly and truly be said 
that it is the foremost of the local women's social organizations. 

The story of its beginning is well told in a paper read by Mrs. 
Philip W. Parker at a meeting of the club on Charter Day, November 
9, 1915. Mrs. Parker tells how on her birthday, January 9. 1898, she 
entertained at a social gathering a party of lady friends at her home 
on Belmont Street in Glendale. Those present were the following: 
Mrs. Charles Bogue, Mrs. Joseph Banker, Mrs. \Vm. DolofF, Miss 
Judson Harris, Mrs. John Hobbs, Mrs. John Holland, Mrs. Edward 
HoUenbeck, Mrs. Edith Nourse. Mrs. Lew Wardell. Mrs. Julia White 
and Mrs. Mittie Duncan (Mrs. Parker). These ladies without form- 
ing any organization at that time continued to meet from house to 
house every fortnight for five or six years. For three years the 
club got along without by-laws or any form of organization. This 
condition of delightful informality could not last forever and in 1904 
the club had reached that point in its evolution that a Year Book 
was published with the names of about thirty members and the fol- 
lowing list of officers: Mrs. Frank G. Taylor, President; Mrs. D. W. 
Hunt, Vice-President; Mrs. M. W. Lorbeer, Secretary; Mrs. J. M. 
Banker, Treasurer. 

The incorporation of the club took place November 10, 1908. 
Mr. Edgar Leavitt, a local attorney, prepared the papers for the 
organization as a patriotic service, and was rewarded by being made 
an honorary member, continuing to take an active interest in the club 
until his death, which occurred a year or two later. The Glendale as 
it existed at the time of the club's beginning in 1898, is glimpsed in 
Mrs. Parker's paper very vividly in these few lines: "A community 
of about 300 people, with Glendale Avenue and Third Street the 
center. No gas or electric lights, electric irons or electric cars. Not 
too much water. Only three blocks of cement sidewalk. No private 
telephones, automobiles, jitneys, movies, high school or library. 
There was one church, a livery barn, a blacksmith shop and a meat 
market, and a horseless 'Dummy' by which one could keep in touch 
with the outside world if one cared to." 

It was in these village-like surroundings that the inspiration came 
to two women, and they widows, that resulted in the foundation of 
the flourishing organization of women which today in a city of over 
30,000 people, continues to make history. The Tuesday Afternoon 
Club at this time has about 700 members and i% an organization of 


varied activities. It has reached out into the field of civic and philan- 
thropic activity, holding membership in the following bodies of 
women devoted to welfare work : Children's Hospital, Maternity 
Cottage, Kings Daughters' Day Nursery, Florence Crittenden Home, 
Community Welfare Work. 

The Club had the good fortune to invest in building lots at a 
time when real estate was quiescent, and the advance in values which 
began about three years ago, was taken advantage of with excellent 
judgment and property, rated lower in market value but ccjually well 
adapted to the Club's purpose of erecting a home, was secured, the 
surplus thus acquired enabling the organization to erect a building, 
now nearing completion, which will cost about $100,000 and stand 
as a monument in years to come testifying to the far-sightedness 
and good business sense of this woman's organization. 

The names of the seven directors appearing in the Articles of 
Incorporation, acting for the first year, are as follows: Mrs. E. W. 
Pack, Mrs. Alex Mitchell, Mrs. [ohn Parker. Mrs. C. J. Newcomb, 
Mrs. Lillian S. Wells, Mrs. Ella" C. Witham. Miss Ruth A. Byram. 
The officers for the present year are the following : Mrs. Daniel 
Campbell, President; Mrs. A. H. Montgomery, First Vice-President; 
Mrs. C. W. Houston, Second Vice-President; Mrs. John C. Dunn, 
Recording Secretary; Mrs. Frank .\yars. Corresponding Secretary; 
Mrs. M. E. Plasterer. Treasurer. 

\\'oM.\x"s CiiRisTi.\N Temperance Union 

The national organization of the Woman's Christian Temperance 
Union came into being in the United States in 1874. following the 
Temperance Crusade of 1873-1874. It is organized in every state, 
territory and dependency of the United States and there are a num- 
ber of separate organizations among the colored people. It is in 
existence in over forty of the nations of the world, with a total mem- 
bership of one million. It is organized for service under .six heads, 
viz.: organization, preventive, educational, evangelistic, social, legal. 

The Glendale branch came into existence in 1886. Mrs. Dr. 
Clark was president. The names of charter members do not seem to 
be of record, but it is recorded that in that first year of its existence, 
the local organization sent two members as delegates to a convention 
at San Diego. These were Mrs. Jennie E. Clippinger and Miss 
Rachel M. Sherer. Among the charter members still surviving, how- 
ever, may be mentioned Mrs. Hulda M. Byram. Mrs. Jennie E. Clip- 
pinger and Mrs. Minnie Ayres. The organization worked very 
eflFectually during its first year to keep saloons out of Glendale and to 
its efforts in that direction may be attributed the fact that none ever 
succeeded in getting established in the city, although the attempt 
was made in that direction more than once. 

Reorganization took place in 1905, when a band of women met 
in the Presbyterian church when the following were initiated by Mrs. 
Hester Griffith, of Los Angeles, as charter members: Mesdames 
Ayers, Galloway, Overton, Brown, Grant, Hendershott, Reynolds, 
Rich, Hezmalhalch, Knight, Hober, Fanset. Williams and Wells; 


Miss Harris and Rev. C. R. Nortun. Mrs. D. F. Hendershott was 
made president ; Mrs. W. H. Reynolds, secretary, and Miss Judson 
Harris, corresponding secretary ; Mrs. Mary Grant, treasurer. 

In May of the same year. Mrs. Gulvin succeeded to the presi- 
dency' with Mrs. Hendershott as vice-president. Mrs. Gulvin resigned 
in 1907 and Mrs. Hattie Gaylord was elected president b\' acclama- 
tion, retaining the office for seven years. Under Mrs. Gaylord's 
leadership, with the help of faithful co-workers, much excellent work 
was accomplished and the membership largely increased. One thing 
accomplished during this period, was the placing of a drinking foun- 
tain at the corner of Glendale Avenue and Broadway, at a cost of 
$200. On the occasion of the dedication of the fountain. Mrs. Phelps, 
county president, made an address and the fountain was accepted by 
the president of the Board of Trustees. John Robert White. Jr.. on 
behalf of the city. 

In 1914, Mrs. Ruby Jordan Smart succeeded to the presidency. 
Mrs. Smart had been active in the work for twelve years, having 
acted as state secretary in South Dakota and was well versed in the 
principles and methods of the organization. She is a life member of 
the World's W. C. T. U. and state superintendent of Temperance and 
Missions and World's Work. Mrs. Smart still retains her position as 
president of the Glendale branch of the order. Associated with her 
are the following officers: Mrs. Edith Dockeray. Vice-President; 
Mrs. C. W. Bacon, Corresponding Secretary; Mrs. R. W. Mottern. 
Recording Secretary; Mrs. Sarah E. Thomas. Treasurer; Mrs. Geo. 
Lemon. Assistant Treasurer. The churches are represented through 
the vice-presidents as follows: Adventist, Mrs. I. .A. Ford; Baptist. 
Mrs. Katherine Rowe; Christian. Mrs. C. W. Bacon; Congregational. 
Mrs. Inez Sipple; Lutheran. Mrs. Ida Elfstrom ; Methodist. Mrs. T. 
L. Brown; First Presbyterian. Mrs. J. E. Colvin; Tropico Presbyte- 
rian. Mrs. L. E. Richardson ; West Glendale Methodist. Mrs. Harley 
G. Preston. 

The enrolled members number 180. The county president. Mrs. 
Marie M. Yeoman, is a resident of Glendale and a valuable co-worker 
with the local organization. During recent years the County Con- 
vention has been held in Glendale twice and in May. 1922. the State 
Convention was entertained for five days in Glendale on the occasion 
of its fortieth annual meeting. The Union has always been active in 
the several campaigns to "Make California Dry" and also in the 
long contest waged in favor of National Prohibiti<jn. Through the 
"Do Everything" policy of the organization, the local W. C. T. U.. 
not only has temperance been a special object for consideration and 
action, but all other social, intellectual and moral movements; and 
the constant work for civic betterment has had the active support of 
the organization. 

During the world war. the local body was particularly active in 
working with the Red Cross to help in every possible way the "Boys 
Over Yonder." At present the organization is exerting every energy 
to make successful the campaign for a million members of the W. C. 
T. U. as the final triumph of its fiftieth j^ear. 


This brief sketch of this s|)Ieiidid organization of Christian 
women, may he fitly cUised l)y the words of Miss Anna A. Gordon, 
the World and National President : 

"It is a sacred privilege to count one in the ranks of the Woman's 
Christian Temperance Union ; to become an inheritor of its radiant 
past, a participant in its luminous present and a builder in its bright- 
ening future." 

Till-: Thursday .'\fternoon Ci.ri; 

The Thursday Afternoon Club, known originally as the Tropico 
Thursday Afternoon Club, was organized January 11, 1906, when a 
group of women met at the home of Mrs. John Hobbs on South 
Central Avenue for that purpose and, with Mrs, A. W. Collins jiresid- 
ing, elected the following officers: Mrs. John A. Logan, President; 
Mrs, W. A. Thompson, Secretary; Mrs. J. M. W'ebster, Treasurer. 

There were seventeen charter members. The meetings were held 
in the homes of the members on the first and third Thursdays of 
the month. 

Although the object of the organization was announced as 
merely cultural and social, fr(jm the very beginning the club became 
a factor in the civic, philanthropic and educational life of their com- 
munity and to the original announcement of the object of the organ- 
ization, "to promote the mutual interests of the members, intellectu- 
ally and socially," with propriety might be added, "and to work for 
the general betterment in all lines, in every way." 

The establishing of the state traveling library which was the 
nucleus of the Tropico City library, the installation of the drinking 
fountain at the corner of Central Avenue and San Fernando road, and 
the purchase of a motion picture machine, for the use of the schools 
in South (ilendale, are among iheir contributions to the communitv 

The club keeps abreast with the times, the open forum conducted 
once a month under the direction of Dr. Jessie A. Russell, offering 
an opportunity to discuss matters, civic, legislative and educational. 

Two lots are owned by the club on Cypress .Street near Central 
Avenue and a club home is jjlanned for the near future. At present 
the second meeting f)f the month is held at Mrs. .\. L. Bancroft's, 
1423 South Brand and the first meeting, the open forum, at K. P. 
hall, ctirner of Park and Brand. 

The membership is about one hundred. The officers for the 
present year are Mrs. W, C. Mabry. President; Mrs. E, V, Bacon, 
First Vice-President; Mrs. Kemi)er Cani])bell, Second Vice-Presi- 
dent; Miss Eva Daniels, Secretary; Mrs. Roy Bancroft. Correspond- 
ing Secretary, and Mrs. S. E. Browne. Treasurer. 

The club was federated in October, 1906, 

The p. E. O. Chapters in Gi.enuai.e 
Years ago when the Glendale Union High School was in its 
infancy, and the Tuesday Afternoon Club a very youthful women's 
organization, the first chapter of the P. E. O. Sisterhood in Glendale 
was formed. 



At the home of Mrs. George U. Moyse, on March 11, 1905. 
Chapter L. was orgaiiized by the State Organizer assisted by a num- 
ber of ladies from Los Angeles Chapters. Mrs. Anna Goss, and her 
daughter, Mrs. Emma Burket. having brought their membership 
from Iowa, were sponsors for the Chapter, and there were ten initi- 
ates : Mesdames F. E. Albright, A. L. Bryant. Frank Campbell, F. 
C. Hezmakalch. Melville Lorber, Geo. U. Moyse and C. E. Russell; 
Misses Ednah C. Ballantyne, Ruth A. Byram and Frances Hender- 
shott. Mrs. Moyse was the first president. Cha])ter L. has always 
been interested in philanthropy in our midst, or in the broader field 
outside our community, helping in many waj's. Every year a goodly 
sum of money is given for the Educational Fund of the Supreme 
Chapter which is used for girls or women who need help, to obtain 
an education to be self-supporting. The meetings and programs of 
Chapter L. are as varied as in any women's club. Their meml^ership 
is now fifty. 

CH.\PTER .'i. H. 

Guided by the State Organizers and Chapter L. a new chapter 
was formed on January 19. 1912, at the home of Mrs. John A. Logan. 
There were twelve initiates, and the new chapter was to be known 
as A. H., with Mrs. J. H. Webster as the first president. Chapter 
A. H. has always been very generous in her philanthropic work, and 
has exceptionally attractive programs. Their membership is now 37. 

CH.XPTF.R B. .\. 

Chapter B. A. of the P. E. O. was organized March 11, 1916. at 
the home of Mrs. A. W. Tower, by Chapter L. under the leadership 
of the State Organizer. There were 13 members and the first presi- 
dent was Mrs. Eva J. Cunningham. There are now 33 members. 
Chapter B. A. co-operates with the other Glendale Chapters in work 
for the Welfare Council, True Love Home in Los Angeles, and the 
educational fund, the joint work of all P. E. O. Chapters. Besides 
this they have their own private charities and have two "Philan- 
thropic Days" each year, also two "Ingathering Days" when gar- 
ments, groceries and fruits are collected for those less fortunate. 


On April 9. 1921, many of the P. E. O.'s gathered at the home 
of Mrs. A. S. Chase, to witness the forming of another chapter. The 
State Organizer, assisted by representatives from all the Glendale 
Chapters, organized Chapter C. J. with a membership of 14. Mrs. 
Vernon Putnam was the first president. This new chapter has taken 
up charitable work abreast with the other chapters in Glendale, and 
has her study program as well as her social affairs. Their member- 
ship is 16. 

The P. E. O. Sisterhood is not fraternal in the usual sense of 
the word, nor is it subordinate to any other organization, and a large 
membership is not its goal. The original chapter was formed over 


fifty years ago in a college in Iowa by seven girls handed together 
tor pleasure, study and service. 

Glendale Federation of Parent-Teacher Associations 

The Glendale Federation of Parent-Teacher Associations was 
originally federated February 18, 1910. under the name of The Glen- 
dale Union Federation Parent-Teacher Associations, composed of 
the whole of the Glendale Union High School district, which, at that 
time included Tropico, Eagle Rock, I^a Crescenta. La Canada, Casa 
Verdugo. West Glendale. Washington Park and the Glendale Gram- 
mar School districts, owing to the fact that all the districts, with the 
exception of Glendale, were in unincorporated territory. The federa- 
tion, for the first two years of its existence, acted mostly as a central 
point of information and in an advisory capacity, because, organized 
as it was, nothing of a strictly local nature to Glendale could be 
endorsed or promoted, as the other districts would have had the 
right to the same backing in their localities, which was impractical. 

The Executive Board was representative of all of the districts, 
and the bi-monthly meetings of the board were held in the different 
localities. Great care was given to the appointment of all commit- 
tees in order that due recognition might be given each school during 
these two years. Many of the most prominent educators in Southern 
California were among the speakers of the federation programs, in- 
cluding Dr. E. C. Moore, formerly of the faculty of Yale University, 
now president of the Southern branch of the University of California; 
Dr. Thomas B. Stowell, of the University of Southern California; 
Judge Frank A. Hutton of the Superior Court; Judge Curtis D. 
Wilbur, the first judge of the Juvenile Court; Prof, John H. Francis, 
then superintendent of Los Angeles city schools; Prof E. C. Lickley, 
supervisor of compulsory education, Los .Angeles city schools, and 
many others. The federation always received the most hearty re- 
sponse from musical, dramatic and oratorical entertainers, never 
having been refused any assistance within their power. The law pro- 
viding for the public use of the school building had not yet been 
enacted, but the federation at all times was given the most loyal sup- 
port by the various school boards and faculties. 

During the second year of the existence of the federation, Wash- 
ington Park was annexed to Los Angeles, Eagle Rock and Tropico 
were incorporated as sixth class cities, and West Glendale was 
annexed to Glendale; and so, in the spring of 1912, the federation was 
reorganized as the Glendale Federation of the Parent-Teacher Asso- 
ciations. Much merriment was apparent at the federation meeting 
which planned the reorganization. Because of the unquestioned 
harmony which had always characterized the federation meetings, 
Glendale members did not "wish to move to exclude the other dis- 
trict"; nor did the other districts wish to "move to leave the federa- 
tion." Finally a compromise was effected by a most diplomatic 
motion made by one of the outside districts and seconded by another. 

The year of 1912-1913 was the first year of what is now the Glen- 
dale Federation, and the work proceeded mostly along the line of 


renrganization and careful cciiisideration of policy with regard to 
furthering the influence of the federation and protecting its members 
from complications of various kinds, for this was the first year that 
the women had opportimity to exercise their right of suffrage. How- 
ever, the women, as members of this organization, never had cause 
to regret any ill-advised step of the federation. It was held high in 
the community as strictly a non-partisan, educational and civic organ- 
ization. It had, since its inception, held the highest respect and confi- 
dence of the community at large. It is generally conceded that the 
federation has been a potent factor in the formation of a broader pub- 
lic opinion, in the elimination of factional differences, and in the 
welding together of all forces for a greater city. This is evidenced 
in the fact that when any project of civic importance is contemplated 
the federation al\\a)'S has been among the first of organizations to be 
formall)' recognized. 

The writer wishes that space would permit the mention by name 
of all of the capable women who were the pioneers in this organiza- 
tion. To them is, in a very great measure, due the credit for the 
place given the federation in this community. 

The dates of the organization of the various Parent-Teacher 
Associations are as follows: Broadway, April 2, 1909; Columbus 
Avenue, April 29. 1909; Colorado Boulevard, May 14. 1909; Wilson 
Avenue Intermediate, March 10, 1913; High School, April 30, 1913; 
Acacia Avenue. September 30, 1915; Pacific Avenue, March 24, 1915; 
Doran Street. March 4, 1915; Magnolia, May, 1921; Cerritos, (for- 
merly Tropico School District) 1901 ; Glendale Avenue Intermediate, 
September, 1922. and Grandview, September, 1922. 

The presidents who were serving the various Parent-Teacher 
Associations at the time of federation were as follows : Fourth 
Street (now Broadway) School. Mrs. B. H. Nichols (resigned), and 
Mrs. G. B. Mock; Sixth Street School, (now Colorado Boulevard 
School) Dr. Jessie A. Russell; West Glendale School, Mrs. Alexander 

The first Federation officers elected to serve were Dr. Jessie A. 
Russell, President; Mrs. E. M. McClure, Vice-President; Mrs. J. F. 
Padelford, Secretary ; Mrs. Mary Rehart, Treasurer. 

The schools now represented in this organization have a mem- 
bership of 2,800. The present officers are as follows : Mrs. Eustace 
B. Moore, President; Mrs. L. T. Rowley, Vice-President; Mrs. 
Percy Priaulx, Treasurer; Mrs. Leslie Tronsier, Secretary; Mrs. 
Robert Lord, Corresponding Secretary; Mrs. A. L. Morgan, His- 
torian; Mrs. H. V. Henry, Auditor. 

Gleni).\i-e Business and Professional Women's Club 

The Glendale Business and Professional Women's Club had its 
beginning in the meeting of a few women at the office of Dr. Laura 
Brown, October 6, 1921, when the advisability of organizing such a 
club was discussed. Dr. Brown was made temporary chairman, Miss 
Sara Pollard temporary secretary, and a committee of three, com- 


l>osed of Miss Margaret Cross. Mrs. Margaret D. Higgs and Miss 
Sara Pollard wa.*; appointed to fornuilate a constitution and by-laws. 

About thirty-five were present at the call of the meeting on 
October l.S, held in the headquarters of the Chamber of Commerce, 
when the constitution was adojited and officers elected. Since that 
date the club has grown steadil\'. It closed its charter membership 
November 22 with 110. Its first activitv was to ])rom(>te the estab- 
lishment of two gymnasium classes in the High School "Gym" for 
woinen of Glendale. whether they were employed or not. 

A public ban(|uet at which covers were laid for 200 was given in 
January. 1922, in the banquet hall of the Chamber of Commerce, at 
which plans for vocational guidance work and the placement bureau 
were announced. The next big project was the establishment of a 
club home in an apartment at 2905j South Brand Boulexard to serve 
as a rest room and lunching ]>lacc for members and their guests and 
meet an urgent need on the part of ])usiness women of the city for 
a social rallying place for mutual benefit and advantage. It was for 
the maintenance of these rooms that a series of entertainments were 
given in the Spring of 1922. In August, 1922, the headcpiarters was 
moved to 126 South Maryland .Street and a clubhouse established. 
The club has grown rapidly and has now a membership of 183. 

The officers elected in 1921 were: Mrs. Margaret I. Biggs. Pres- 
ident; Miss Margaret Gross, \'ice-President ; Dr. Caroline Paine 
Jackman. Treasurer; Miss Neva \'eyses. Recording Secretary, and 
Miss Sara Pollard. Corresponding Secretar}'. 

The officers elected for 1923 are: Dr. Laura Brown. President; 
Mrs. Peggy Warner, Vice-President; Mrs. Anita Anderson, Trea- 
surer; Miss Clara Sayre. Recording Secretary, and Miss Sara Pollard. 
Corresponding Secretary. 

College Women's CLtns of Glendale 

The College Women's Club was organized in December. 1922. 
with a membership of about eighty-five. The following officers were 
elected: President, Mrs. A. L. Ferguson; vice president, Mrs. 
Charles A. Barker; recording secretary, Mrs. Helen ^loir; treasurer, 
Mrs. Max L. Green ; parliamentarian. Dr. Jessie A. Russell ; program 
chairman, Mrs. A. W. Tower; publicity, Mrs. Paul Webb; member- 
ship, Mrs. Frank Parr; scholarship, Mrs. A. A. Barton. 



Gleno.m.k Music Club 

This club was organized February 28, 1921. in the music room of 
the High School with Mrs. Mattison B. Jones, chairman. There were 
fifteen charter members. At this first meeting, by-laws were adopted, 
officers elected and the club voted to join the state federation, all in 
an hour and fifteen minutes. The following officers and directors 
were elected: Mrs. Mattison B. Jones, president; Mrs. Catherine 
Shank, vice president; Mrs. Spencer Robinson, second vice president; 
Mrs. L. N. Hagood. secretary; Mrs. Charles Marlinee, corresponding 
secretary; Mrs. Warren Roberts, treasurer; Mrs. Vivian Webb, finan- 
cial secretary-; Mr. (Mayor) Spencer Robinson, auditor. Directors: 
Mrs. Dora Gibson, Mrs. Calvin Whiting and Mrs. Frank .\rnold. 

Within two months the membership had reached two hundred 
and at present the total enrollment, including the Junior and Juvenile 
auxiliaries, is seven hundred. The cluli has given a number of high 
class concerts; the first on April 1, 1922, was an All-.American pro- 
gram given b}' Gertrude Ross, composer; Jessie McDonald Patterson, 
vocalist and Mr. .-Mexander Saslavskj', violinist. Succeeding enter- 
tainments given by the club have been well uj) ti> the standard set 
by the first. 

The Junior Auxiliary was organized .\pril 1, 1921. at the home of 
Mrs. Spencer Robinson, first director, other directors being Mrs. Dora 
Gibson and S. Gertrude Champlain. There were fifteen charter mem- 
bers of this auxiliary which now has a membership of eighty-five. 

The Juvenile Auxiliary was formed May 2, 1921, at the home of 
Mrs. Frank Arnold with Helen Sternberg as president under the 
leadership of three directors, Mesdames Frank Arnold. Eva Cunning- 
ham and Zula Hapgood. Charter members were thirty-one and the 
present membership sixty-five. Other civic organizations have united 
in assisting this high class musical club. 

Shrine Club of Glrndale 
This club was organized December 1, 1921, at the Chamber of 
Commerce hall. Noble C. E. Neale was elected president; Julius 
Kranz vice president and James Rhoades, secretary, .'\mong the 
members signing the roll, numbering in all eighty-two, were the fol- 
lowing, who constituted the various committees: Nobles, Arthur 
Campbell, Julius Kranz, A. L. Baird, Robt. R. McKenzie, Charles R. 
Snider, David Crofton, W. S. Rattray, Edward Waxman, M. M. John- 
son, George Moyse, C. C. Rittenhouse, John Everson, J. J. Burke, 
Alfred Clark, Dr. H. R. Boyer, W. A. Reynolds. The next meeting 


of the club was held January 4, 1922. when Noble Dan Campbell was 
elected treasurer and a fine entertainment was given. From that 
time forward, a business meeting was held on the first Wednesday of 
every month and once every month the club enjoyed a ladies' night, 
featured either by a banquet or ball. 

At a regular meeting held in May, 1922. Noble C. K. Neale ])re- 
sented his resignation and Noble Edwin F. Heisser was elected presi- 
dent of the club. Vice President Kranz and Secretary Gartley also 
resigned and Noble Edwin F. Heissler was elected president and 
Noble Charles F. Hahn. secretary. These officers functioned during 
the remainder of the year 1922. In January. 1923. D. Ripley Jackson 
was elected president ; Charles F. Hahn re-elected secretar\- and 
Noble W. A. Reynolds, vice president. The office i>f treasurer was 
combined with that of secretary. The social activities of the club are 
one of its chief features, being partaken of by members and their ladies 

Glend.ale Credit Men's Associ.vtion 

This is one of those organizations which does not advertise itself 
much, but keeps on doing business most effectively. It was organ- 
ized in December. 1921, and has for members over a hundred of Glen- 
dale merchants who meet every Monday noon at the banquet room of 
the Chamber of Commerce. The association co-operates with the 
Chamber of Commerce and other local civic bodies, the members 
being as a rule, also members of one or more of the i>ther ori^'ani- 

The first secretary and organizer was Mr. Frank 11. Pilling, who 
has been connected with similar bodies in other cities for several 
years, and was selected by the Glendale association because of his ex- 
perience and general fitness. The object of the association is to keep a 
credit list of Glendale people and although only in e.xistence a little 
over a year, it has already nearly 10,000 ratings on file. It is the idea 
of Mr. Pilling that every family head, upon coming into Glendale to 
reside, should report to the association as to their financial standing, 
so that the record may be available when needed. These associations 
are not only a great help to the merchants of Southern California, 
enabling them to find out by inquiry as to whether persons asking 
credit should be given it, but are useful to the individual, particu- 
larly if when absent from his home city he can refer to his record 
that is on file. The membership list is growing rapidly and the goal 
towards which it is bending its efforts, will be attained when every 
merchants in the San Fernando X'alley is a member. 

Officers of the assc)ciation are the following: .\ttorney Owen C. 
Emery, president; H. S. Webb, secretary and treasurer; trustees, 
Owen C. Emery, H. S. Webb. Arthur Parker, W. P. Potter, W. H. 
Hooper. Wm. Moore and H. M. Butts. 

Rotary Club of Gi.end.m.e 
The founder of the Rotary Clubs was Paul P. Harris, an attorney 
of Chicago. It is an organizatif)n of business and professional men, 
with membership limited to one representative of the particular line of 


business or the profession in which he is en^agfed. The first meeting 
of the original club was held on February 23. 1905. in Chicago. The 
name was suggested by the meeting of the club in the different places 
of business of its members. The headquarters of the International 
Association of Rotary Clubs is in Chicago, and it is rapidly extend- 
ing throughout the United States and foreign countries. The motto 
of the club is "Service above self; he profits most who serves best." 
The Glendale Club came into being January 4, 1921. with the fol- 
lowing members : C. C. Cooper, president ; Roy L. Kent, vice presi- 
dent; J. Herbert Smith, secretary; Richardson D. White, treasurer; 
Owen C. Emery, sergeant-at-arms; \V. A. Tanner and W. Edgar 
Hewitt. At present the club members number thirty-five. 

White Siiri.nk of Jeri'sai.e.m 

A number of the loyal supporters of the Order of Eastern Star 
gathered together at the home of Mr. and Mrs. James Phillips on 
March 9, 1922, for a preliminary meeting to make plans to organize 
a White Shrine of Jerusalem, with the result that on March 29, 1922. 
Omar Shrine. No. 9 was instituted by Artaban Shrine of Pasadena. 

To become a member of the White Shrine of Jerusalem, one must 
be a member of the Order of Eastern Star in good standing. The 
secret work of the order is very inspiring and beautiful but the socia- 
bility of the Shrine is much enjoyed by all its members. The order 
is closely related to the Masonic orders in that all these bodies work 
together in case of want, sickness or death and are always ready to 
assist in time of need. 

A very beautiful and impressive ceremony of installation of of- 
ficers was held on July 19, 1922. with the following officers placed in 
the chairs: W. H. P., Orma V. Naudain; W. of S.. E. M. Cutting; 
W. P., Sarah Carroll; W. C, Eva G. Vesper; W. S., Fern A. Roberts; 
W. G., Olga C. Bourne; W. H.. Mae Warrick; W. O., Nana K. 
Custer; First W. M., Alvah H. Leland; Second W. M., Warren Q. 
Roberts; Third W. M., Thos. D. Watson; King. B. Frank Bourne; 
Queen. Sarah Leland; First H. M., Libbie Cutting; Second H. M.. 
fennie Phillips; Third H. M.. Valencia Watson; W. G.. Gertrude 
"McMillan; W. G., Nellie G. Squier. 

The year 922 was a very prosperous one for the New Shrine as 
there were initiated during the short time of its life, thirty-seven new 

The Kiwanis Club 

There is no more enterprising civic club in Glendale than the local 
organization of Kiwanians. Each and every member stands for pro- 
gressive movement of the city — and, although organized less than a 
year ago they have been of inestimable value in promoting civic 

The officers for 1923 are: A. L. Ferguson, president; Herman 
Nelson, first vice president; Dr. T. C. Young, second vice president; 
D. H. Smith, treasurer and Fred Deal, district trustee. The following 


are the board of directors: M. B. Towinaii, O. \V. Aiulreaen. Kay 
Hentley, Dr. Jack Anderson, Harry Macliain. \V. H. Reeves, Bert 

Glendai.f. Rkai.ty Board 

The Glendale Realty Board is one of the progressive factors in 
the development of the community. About seventy local realtors are 
members of this assucialion. They feel that they are more than mere 
salesmen and agents for the sale of property and take a personal 
pride in their activities because they realize that every new home sold 
usually means a more contented family. They have been instru- 
mental in bringing many families to this city and most of them take 
personal resp(msibility in the fact that Glendale is "The P'astest 
Growing Cit}- in America." 

Cameron Dellart Thorn, a Glendale pioneer, who was one of the 
first citizens of this city to awake to its possibilities, is the president 
of this organization. Its secretary is E. P. Hayward. 

Young Men's Christian Associ.vrio.v 

The Glendale Y. M. C. A. has 300 members at the present time, 
but has no building of its own. The young men meet at numerous 
places around the city, at frequent intervals, and their activities are 
extensive. The ortranization is divided into two sections, high school 
and junior. 

The board of directors number the following seven men: David 
Black, president; C. D. Lusby, treasurer; Rex C, Kelly, secretary; 
C. W. Ingledue, H. L. Finlay, W. F. Powers, J. S. Thompson. 

Federated BROTiiERHoon 

This organization is composed entirely of laymen and is a group 
composed of members and officers of ten Protestant churches of Glen- 
dale valley, united for the purpose of exerting a combined effort to 
achieve higher morals and civic standards in the city. The motto of 
the Federation is "A clean city, kept clean." Membership is oyer 
2.000. The following churches comprise this organization : First 
Baptist, Central Christian, Congregational, First M. E., Casa Ver- 
dugo M. E., Central Avenue M. E., Pacific Avenue M. E., South 
Glendale M. E., Presbyterian, Tropico Presbyterian. 

The officers are: G. D. McDill, president; R. F. Kitterman, first 
vice president; James H. Garnsey, second vice president; William D. 
Kirk, secretary; George F. Daugherty, treasurer. 

The executive committee of the Federation comprises the five 
oflficers of each church, plus two representatives at large from each, 
a total body of seventy men. 




When the city was young it would have been an easy matter to 
have covered this subject with an individual account of every member 
of the ])rofessions in Glendale. Among its population of nearly forty 
thousand at present, it is possible to speak of a few of the pioneers 
only, and refer to the directory for the others. 

Of the medical fraternity the writer recalls Dr. Moses Chandler 
of Tropico who arrived there about 1890. Dr. Chandler was a physi- 
cian of the old school with a long experience in his profession and 
being well advanced in years, did not have an active practice although 
he built it up to a point where when he concluded to give up the work. 
he found it necessary to call in a young i)h3'sician latelj' graduated 
from a northern college to take care of his clients. This young man 
was Dr. A. O. Conrad who established a large and successful practice 
in the neighborhood and later removed his offices to Los Angeles. 
Dr. Conrad was early attracted to the use of the X-Ray in the use of 
which he became an expert. He died about 1918. 

.About 1895 Dr. Eveleth came to fJlendale from New York. He 
and his wife became important personages in Glendale social circles 
and the doctor, who was a talented and highly educated man became 
very popular, although his medical practice was never extensive. 

Dr. C. V. Bogue came to Glendale for his health. Dr. Bogue was 
a physician of high standing and a surgeon of unusual skill, having 
come from a large practice in the city of Chicago. He built up a 
good practice in Glendale and was active in community work. He 
lived on Wilson Avenue, corner of Belmont Street. He became an 
owner of Glendale realty, owning for several years the southwest 
corner of Broadway and Glendale Avenue. 

When Dr. Bogue returned to Chicago about 1901 he sold his 
home and his practice to Dr. D. W. Hunt who came to Glendale from 
Redlands. Dr. Hunt was at that time an active and skillful physician. 
He entered at once into the town's activities, becoming the president 
of the Improvement Association, and was one of the effectual workers 
who secured the right of way for the Pacific Electric railroad when 
it came into the valley. Dr. Hunt died in the early part of 1922 at his 
Glendale home. 


The oldest established physician in Glendale is Dr. Raymond E. 
Chase, who came to Glendale as a boy with his parents in 1884, was 
educated in the local public schools and received his medical education 
in the University of California and its affiliated colleges, graduating 
in 1901. He practiced in Los Angeles for three years and then 
opened an office in his home city and began the building up of an 
ever increasing patronage which continues to the present time. Dr. 
Chase was for several years the Health Officer of Glendale. 

Dr. A. L. Bryant arrived in California in 1903 and after a short 
stay in Orange county came to Glendale in February, 1904, and has 
ever since been engaged with marked success in the practice of his 
profession. In addition to his professional work, he has been active in 
civic affairs, having served several years as a member of the High 
School Board of Trustees, and also as a member of the Library Board. 

Dr. Thos. C. Young arrived in Glendale from Los Angeles and 
established himself in an office in the two story brick building oppo- 
site the City Hall, where he is still located, in August, 1909. Al- 
though Dr. Young remains in his original location, the growth of 
his practice has led to greatly enlarged quarters. 

Dr. Wm. C. Mabry arrived in Tropico in September, 1912, and 
began his professional career in the city that afterwards became a 
part of Glendale. He has been active in civic aflfairs and was for a 
long term the Health officer of the city of Tropico. Dr. Mabry has 
been very successful in his profession and is active in the building up 
of his rapidly increasing patronage. 

Dr. H. R. Boyer came to Glendale after several years of pro- 
fessional service in the state of Maryland, in March, 1913. He has 
a large and rapidly increasing practice, and is prominent in civic 
affairs. He has a large circle of friends, particularly among fraternal 

There are many other physicians of whom it may be said that 
they rank high in their profession and as citizens interested in help- 
ing to build on a firm foundation of good citizenship, the city in which 
they have cast their lot. But reference to the recent directory dis- 
closes the fact that they are over fifty in number, and it becomes 
necessary to close the record of this most honorable profession with 
the names above mentioned, of pioneers and those near to them. 

Glendale's professors of the musical art are also too numerous to 
mention, but the daily press bears testimony in almost every issue as 
to their activity and to the high quality of the art exhibited in the 
numerous concerts and recitals given by local talent. Like the artists 
of the theater and the screen, many of them have chosen Glendale as 
their home, and in addition to their work as professionals and ama- 
teurs, they play a loyal part in the building of the city. In times gone 
by, there were a few talented musicians who came to the city of prom- 
ise as it then was, and made a record of friendships which survived 
them when they went to blend their voices in the harmony of "The 
Choir Invisible." There was Professor J. E. Fiske, who had a Los 


Angeles studio where he taught voice expression, but who in the early 
'90's made Glendale his home. The echf)es of his rich baritone voice 
can still be heard by those who at that time listened to him in the 
Presbyterian church and on many secular occasion.s. 

About the same time, Carlyle Petersilea came to (ilendale from 
Boston, where he had achieved a high reputation as a pianist, l^eing 
the author of a method of teaching as well as a performer of almost 
the highest rank. He was generous in playing for local entertain- 
ments, and became by reason of his personal charm, a friend of all 
who knew him. He built the house on Windsor Road, just east of 
Thornycroft Farm, now belonging to Mrs. Greene. 

About 1910 Eugene Noland, a talented \'iolinist, was associated 
with Fordyce flunter (another fine artist) living then on San Rafael 
street, and in addition to his work in the nearby city, found time to 
play at local entertainments. 

To attempt to name any of the many fine artists who are now cit- 
i;'.ens of Glendale, would lay the writer open to the charge of "invid- 
ious discrimination." from which he naturally shrinks. The many 
associations having for their object the furtherance of the musical 
art, give bright promise of securing for Glendale a reputation as one 
of the few musical centers of the Pacific coast; a characterization al- 
ready deserved, if not achieved. 

In literature, at least one of Glendale's citizens has recently 
achieved fame, and that is Frederic O'Brien, whose wife remains at 
their home on South Pacific .\venue while the husband sails the South 
Seas and attends to the publications in eastern cities of the books that 
have made him famous. Mr. O'Brien, while in Glendale some years 
ago, was known as a bright newspaper man who had been connected 
with a newspaper in Manila and told interesting stories of life in the 
lately accpiired possessions of Uncle Sam. He took a lively interest 
in local affairs for a brief period, even acting for a short time as one of 
the members of a special and continuous committee that labored over 
the water question before (ilendale finally went into the business of 
munici]Kil ownership of that utility. He disappeared in the middle of 
that committee's labors, to go adventuring, as the result of which he 
gave the world that fascinating series of South Sea life, beginning 
with "White Shadows in the South Seas." 

Lawyers have also liecome numerous, so that mention may be 
made of only a few of them who were in the city in the days of its 
infancv. Probably the best known and one of the most ])opular of 
these is Mr. Mattison B. Jones who has made Glendale his home for 
several years. Mr. Jones and his acconii)lished wife wlio has also 
achieved a wide popularity through her connection with Women's 
clubs in which she has held high offices, has lately completed and oc- 
cujjied a beautiful home on Kenneth Road, but the family was for 
many years located on Orange Street. Mr. Jones is favoraldy known 
throughout the state and had a statewide reputation even before he 
became the candidate of the democratic ])arty for governor at the last 
general election. 

Mr. P. S. McXutt has also Ijecn a resident of Glendale lor many 


years. He maintained uffices in Lds Angeles while making his home 
in Glendale and had a large practice up to the time that a severe 
physical affliction seized him and compelled him to retire from active 
practice. Mr. McXutt and his wife, who is well known in club circles 
and civic affairs, reside in their pleasant home in Sycamore Canyon. 

Mr. N. C. Burch. who ])assed away about five years ago, was a 
practicing attorney in addition to his many other activities, having 
his home in Tropicf) and maintaining offices in Los Angeles a portion 
of the time. 

Col. Tom C. Thornton, well known throughout Southern Cali- 
fornia as a brilliant lawyer, has been for several years a citizen of 
Glendale and vicinity. Col. Thornton was at one time (|uite promi- 
nent in city alYairs and has a large circle of friends. 

judge Erskine M. Ross, who has had a large landed interest in 
Glendale for the i)ast fifty years, has a state-wide reputation as an 
eminent jurist, having been on the Federal bench for many years. 
Judge Ross made his home in Glendale for several years in the early 
days of its settlement and was active in co-operation with its pioneers 
in working out civic problems. The part Judge Ross took in starting 
Glendale on its forward career, is told elsewhere in this history. 

Mr. Hartley Shaw, now City .Attorney of Glendale, has a large 
practice in the Los Angeles courts with which he has been familiar 
for many years. Mr. Shaw is the son of Judge Lucien Shaw, of the 
Supreme Court of California, and his reputation among his fellow 
lawyers is such that they endorsed him unanimously for the position 
of Superior Judge when he aspired to that position a few years ago. 

Mr. W. E. Evans, for nine or ten years Glendale's city attorney, 
is also a successful attorney and a po])ular citizen. Mr. Evans stands 
high in political circles and is looked upon as likely to attain to an 
honorable political position, should he decide to aspire in that 

Mr. Frank L. Muehlman, also a former city attorney and a trustee 
and acting mayor as well, has a large practice and is looked upon as 
one of the attorneys who are destined to attain high place in the 
jirofession. There are a number of veterans of the bar who have re- 
cently made Glendale their home and are building up for themselves 
an enviable record in their profession. There are several others 
of less experience who have made rapid progress in achieving success 
in the honorable profession which they have chosen. 

Glendale's Thkatkicai. Colony 

Glendale jjoints with especial pride to a representative group ot 
devotees and professors of the mimic art who have chosen it for their 
home and have taken their place in the city's activities. Immediately 
after the advent of the Pacific Electric Railroad in 1905, a few of these 
professionals had the good judgment and good fortune to invest in 
homes in the city and in some cases the recent rapid advance in realty 
values have made the t)wners inde])endent of any further necessity 
for "grinding toil." 


One of these pioneers was that veteran of the stage, Harry Duf- 
field, who built a home on Lomita Avenue under the giant eucalyp- 
tus trees that shade that avenue. Mr. Duffield when he passed away 
a year ago had an unbroken record of fifty-nine years of popular 
service before the public, and his popularity in private life by reason 
of his genial disposition, was in full harmony with his public record. 

Among the other noted actors who came to Glendale early in its 
history, some of whom have gone to other fields of action, and one 
or two of whom have obeyed the Great Prompter's call, may be men- 
tioned Harry Mestayer, Charles Giblyn, Henry Stockbridge and 
Harry Glazier. These were all at one time or another, members of 
the old Burbank stock company. 

In the home on Lomita Avenue originally occupied by Harry S. 
Dufiield, live the Neils, James Neil and Edith Chapman Neil and the 
brother Edwin Neil; the latter for many years treasurer of the Mo- 
rosco Theater. Mr. James Neil has served the public for nearly forty 
years in the theaters and on the screen. This home is noted for its 
hospitality which has been shared by a long list of the notables of the 

Harry Girard and his wife, Agnes Cain Brown, both with a long 
record of vocal triumphs in operatic circles, bj' generous contributions 
to local calls upon their talent, have achieved an enviable measure of 
popularity in the city they have adopted for their home. 

George Melford, who has attained a high rank among the few 
thoroughly successful motion picture directors, was for years the 
manager of the old Kalem company at its studio on \'erdugo Road 
and was a resident of Glendale at that time. He has recently moved 
to Hollywood. He was Exalted Ruler of the local lodge of Elks and 
made many friends while a Glendale resident. 

Among new comers to Glendale are Mr. and Mrs. George Hol- 
lister. Mrs. Alice Hollister has made an enviable record of success 
in character roles; while Mr. Hollister is an artist with the camera 
and has recently assumed the management of the theater at Eagle 

Mr. Herbert Fortie who lives in happy domesticity at 200 Chest- 
nut street, is a veteran of the theater and the studio, now devoting 
himself to the screen. 

Mr. and Mrs. Landers Stevens of North Louise Street, were for 
many years popular members of the Landers Stevens stock company 
well known in San Francisco and the other cities of the Bay, and are 
now both engaged in screen work, having many successes to their 

Mr. and Mrs. Gilmore Walker, at home on North Columbus .Ave- 
nue, both enjoy a wide measure of popularity. Mr. Walker was for 
many years an actor and stage director. He now works exclusively 
for the screen. 

Mr. Lawrence Underwood, of South Everett Street, gave up the 
theater a dozen years ago to try ranch life, but has recentlj' returned 
to his first love and is engaged in a Hollywood studio. 

A pioneer of the motion picture industry is Frank E. Montgom- 


ery, the first manager in Glendale of the Kalem company. He is 
still in screen work, now at Hollywood. 

At 804 East .-Xcacia Street reside Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Brad- 
bury. Mr. Bradbury is a successful director of motion pictures, while 
two clever twin sons have qualified as clever children of the screen. 

Another veteran of the stage is Will M. Chapman, of West Doran 
Street, who has successfully transferred his talents to the screen. 

Mr. and Mrs. Joseph DeGrasse. he is a descendant of that French 
Admiral who assisted the colonists during the revolutionary war, are 
both engaged in screen work, Mr. DeGrasse being a director of 
national repute, while his wife, professionally known as Ida May 
Park, is a well-known writer of screen drama. 

Mr. and Mrs. Al W. Fremont of Lorraine Street are both actors 
of many years' experience, having maintained their own companies on 
eastern circuits. Mr. Fremont is actively engaged in screen work. 

Mr. and Mrs. Jack Gardner, of Mountain Street, have to their 
credit a long list of successes in theatrical productions and in vaude- 
ville. Mrs. Gardner is known to the stage as Louise Dresser. Both 
are still active in their profession and their home attracts many pro- 
fessional friends. 

James W. Home and his wife, Cleo Ridgely reside on Valley 
View Road. He is well known as a successful director of motion 
pictures while his wife is one of the important figures of the screen. 

Pearl Keller Brattain, who is well known as the proprietor of the 
Pearl Keller School of Dancing and Dramatic Art, enjoyed a very suc- 
cessful stage career for several years, in which she played ingenue and 
juvenile leads, before coming to Glendale. 

Mr. and Mrs. Edmund Kull reside on San Fernando Road near 
Colorado. Mr. Kull is a master of the camera and also a successful 
director, being engaged at present with the Robertson-Cole company 
as camera man. 

George Larkin and wife, of South Brand Boulevard, have both 
secured firm hold on public favor in film representations and in vau- 
deville, both being skillful dancers and entertainers of originality. 

Thomas Lingham and wife, of East Acacia Street, both devote 
themselves to the motion picture art. Mrs. Lingham is known to 
stage and screen by her pre-marriage name of Katherine Goodrich. 

Mr. and Mrs. Willard Louis live on Valley View. Mr. Louis 
brings to the screen work a long experience on the stage. Recent 
patrons of the Fairbanks production at Hollywood may have recog- 
nized him as the rotund jolly Frair Tuck. 

Harry P. McPherson, who makes his home at the Elks Club, is 
connected with motion pictures as actor and director. 

George C. Pierce, of West Windsor Road, is a \eteran of both 
stage and screen, with a long and successful record in eastern cities. 
Both he and Mrs. Pierce are now engaged in productions for the 

Mrs. Jack Frear, formerly connected with the speaking stage, 
specializing successfully in "Little Mother" parts, has taken to film 
work in similar characterizations with continued success. 


Mrs. William T. Wallace, formerly known to the stage as Georgia 
Woodthorpe, attached to the old Alcazar Theater, San Francisco, is 
continuing her successful career in the moving picture field. 

Mr. Richard Pennell, who has become a good American since he 
foreswore allegiance to King George, to whom he bears a striking re- 
semblance, when not engaged in studio work enjoys a fine library 
which he has collected, in his home on Commercial Street. 

John J. Tuohy with his family, occupies the house on Lomita 
Avenue, formerly belonging to Mr. W. C. Stone, the theatrical cos- 
tumer, popular with the professionals whom he served for many 
years before his death which occurred five or six years ago. Mr. 
Tuohy is engaged in motion picture work. 

Aside from the above, all of whom are still connected with the 
stage and screen, there is quite a numerous body of retired theatrical 
people who have chosen Glendale as their home. The senior and 
patriarch of this group is Mr. Albert Fisher, who after fifty-four 
years of professional activity has settled down at his home on Salem 
Street. His wife, Maggie HoUoway Fisher, and a daughter share the 
home. The interesting reminiscences of this couple of past professors 
of their chosen art. constitute almost a complete history of the Eng- 
lish speaking stage for half a century. 

Dr. Raymond E. Chase has won to a permanent domesticity, 
Virginia Edwards, of memory most agreeable to theatergoers. Mrs. 
Chase is active in local theatricals, various amateur performances 
being given under her guidance. 

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Carrere live on North Louise Street. Mrs. 
Carrere was formerly Edith Cooper, a successful ingenue of the legit- 
imate stage. She is a sister of George Cooper Stevens and daughter 
of Georgia Woodthorpe, well known, each in their generation. 

In their West Elk Street home, Dan Bruce and his accomplished 
wife, are rearing a family of young Americans under their own vine 
and fig tree. Both Mr. and Mrs. Bruce were favorites in the mimic 

The Edith Woodthorpe. long prominent in Coast theatricals, is 
now Mrs. A. T. Dobson of Melrose Avenue. 

One of the best known of Glendale actors, retired, is Mrs. Fannie 
Stockbridge, who for many years has been living in her home on East 
Lomita Avenue. With her husband. Harry Stockbridge, formerly 
the comedian at the Burbank theater, she won high popular favor as 
a character actress. 

Young Esther Ralston and her brother, now at Hollywood work- 
ing out a promising career, resided in Glendale as children. 

Tom Mix was for a long time connected with the Bachman 
studio on East Windsor Road. His headquarters are now on the road 
to Edendale, across the river. 

Among other film celebrities who in times past made Glendale 
their home and have sought a wider field, may be mentioned Jack 
Hoxie and Marian Sais, who were located on Verdugo Road near 
the southeast city limits. Others who have heard and responded to 
the call of the east are Carlyle Blackwell and Arthur Sherry. 


This sketch cannot be fitly closed without a brief tribute to a few 
members of the theatrical colony, who made Glendale their home for 
years before they passed beyond the reach of earthly plaudits. There 
was William Herman West who died August, 1915. He was known 
as "Billy" to a large circle of friends and admirers. He was a par- 
ticular favorite in the Elks Lodge of which he was for one term Ex- 
alted Ruler. His widow still living in Glendale fell heir to much of 
her husband's popularity, her days of operatic success recalled by her 
songs at many a local entertainment. 

Harry Glazier, St., responded to the inevitable call nearly twenty 
years ago, and is affectionately remembered by many old-timers. His 
widow and son reside on Windsor Road. 

The influenza epidemic claimed for one of its victims, William 
Wolpert who with a brilliant theatrical career behind him, had be- 
gun to achieve fame in motion pictures when the call came that broke 
Bp a happy Glendale home. 



Philip W. Parker 

One of Glendale's most enthusiastic optimists is Philip W. 
Parker, and his opinions are worth consideration as they are those 
of a man who has had rare opportunities for witnessing the growth 
of the country, through a long life beginning across the ocean in 
England. He came to the United States in 1860. just before the be- 
ginning of the Civil War and in the days of the beginning of Chicago. 

"I had a good trade," said Mr. Parker, "that of a cooper, and had 
no difficulty in securing work at good wages. Talk about efficiency ; 
the statistics of production show that a man produces twelve and a 
half per cent more at any given trade in California than he can in the 
east under less favorable weather conditions. In my own experience 
I remember that in winter time back in Chicago on a cold morning 
I would go to work but couldn't really get warmed up until afternoon. 
We worked by the piece, getting a dollar seventy-five for making a 
barrel and my partner and I would make two barrels apiece and call 
it a day. 

"I was in Chicago all through the war. After the war the gov- 
ernment sold all its army supplies by f)ffering them to the public at 
all the principal headquarters and there were great opportunities to 
pick up bargains. I got hold of a fine driving horse and I tell you we 
had some lively horse races. But I started to talk about real estate. 
I have watched Chicago frt.m the day I left there until now and am 
thoroughly familiar with its phenomenal growth, but I tell you that 
Chicago was never in it with Glendale for rapid development. Prices 
may seem high here now. but they are nothing to what they will be. 

"I noticed the other day a sign put up by a real estate dealer fore- 
telling a population of 50.000 in Glendale in 1930, but I tell you it will 
be double that figure, Glendale will have 100,000 by that time. We 
are living in a new age ; things are moving faster than at any other 
period in the world's history and we are just beginning to grow. This 
part of California between the mountains and the sea is destined to be 
the most densely populated portion of the globe. It is the pleasure 
ground of America; not only that, but manufacturers are coming here 
very largely because of what I told you a moment ago, because a 
man's efficiency is at its greatest here. 

"Now about prices. Sixty years ago in Chicago, they thought 
a thousand dollars per front foot for property in the business section 
was more than it was worth, arguing that the most valuable realty in 


America was only bringing, in New York City, $3,250 a front foot. 
Let me give you a little personal experience: I came to Eagle Rock 
thirty-five years ago, buying one-half of a tract of 154 acres which be; 
longed to Schumacher Brothers of Los Angeles. They sold me the 
east half, but when it was surveyed it was found that a little canyon 
which I was to get, with a small stream running through it part of the 
year, was just on the dividing line. So it was agreed that 1 get 
enough on the west half to allow me a road around the hill. I paid 
$2,000 for the property. About two years ago, the west half of that 
property was sold and I received $2,500 for my interest in the west 
half, and you may be sure they were glad to get it at that price for 
they were receiving $90,000 for the property. 

"When I first knew Glendale, some of the best lots in the town 
were selling.or could be bought, for fifty dollars. I need not tell you 
about the rapid advance in values here, but my friend Ed. Goode told 
me the other day that he was offered the entire block between Broad- 
way and Harvard and between Brand and Orange for $3,500. This 
was about 1904." 

Jose Olivas 

"I was born in Los Angeles but came to Glendale to live in 1865. 
I knew Julio Verdugo and family well as I was at their house a 
great deal. I helped take care of them when they had small-po.x in the 
family and they were very good to me. Julio was a little short man; 
he wore leggings and short trousers open at the side with silver but- 
tons and looked rather queer as he rode on a big black horse as he 
did every day. He lived at the house on the hill by the big rock east 
of Verdugo Road in the southeast corner of Glendale. He spent 
a great deal of his time taking care of the vineyard on the west side 
of Verdugo, on the piece of land which afterwards belonged to his 
daughter, Mrs. Chabolla and afterwards passed to Frank ITrquidez; 
was sold by him to Mr. Moore and by him to the Glendale School 

"The oldest Verdugo house that I know of was the one near the 
corner of Pacific .\venue and Kenneth Road ; the ruins were there not 
very long ago. I think the property now belongs to Mr. Clements. 
When a boy, my chum and I used to dig there after night for buried 
money. We had no other light to work by so we burned pieces of 
brea and after we had worked there all night our own mothers 
wouldn't know us, we were so black. No, we never found any money; 
lots of people were digging in old ruins and around old trees in those 
days hoping to find money as some fellows had once found some and 
that led others to think it was buried in lots of places. There was a 
large oak tree standing just south of Mr. Spencer Robinson's place 
west of Verdugo Road until about twenty years ago, but it had been 
dug around so much that it finally died. The digging was all done 
after night; guess we thought it was better luck than in daylight. 
There were three adobe houses along the foothills, west of the Thorn 
property, the first was the Sepulveda place, used a few years ago as 
the 'Casa Verdugo Restaurant'; then came the one built by Sheriff 


Sanchez and the third was the old Verdugo house. Then there was 
the one. still standing in Verdugo canyon, and there was another in 
the canyon on the east side of the road just above the big Glendale 
reservoir. There was one over near Garvanza on the top of a little 
hill. They raised garbanzos (beans) there and from that came the 
name of the place. 

"We used to build houses out of willows and tules. There was a 
patch of tules growing on the east side of V'erdugu road, now the 'Sag- 
amore tract' just south of Glendale. We used o.xen in those days and 
I have cause to remember how they used to get into the tules and lie 
down and hide so that we had to hunt them. The la.'it occupant of the 
adobe house on Verdugo road was Jose Maria Verdugo. whom we 
used to call 'General.' He left there about twenty-five years ago and 
went to San Gabriel where he was killed by a train running over him. 
His widow still lives there. Rafael Verdugo. a son of Julio, died a 
few months ago; he was very old. Mrs. Chabolla. who still lives up in 
the canyon is about 100 years old." 

Samuel Hunter 

"My father, J. D. Hunter, traded the first brick house in Los An- 
geles, at the corner of Third and Spring Streets, for 2.700 acres of the 
Rancho San Rafael, then owned by Lewis Granger, a lawyer, who got 
it from Verdugo. This was about 1850. We moved out soon after- 
wards and lived in an adobe house that stood near the site of the 
Washington school house on the hill near the corner of San Fernando 
Road and Verdugo Road. We lived there four or five years when a 
new house was built down near the river. I remember seeing Julio 
Verdugo and his sons riding by our place almost every day. I think 
they lived at the adobe house along the foothills west of Casa Ver- 
dugo, although Julio did not seem to stay long at any one of his 

"As far as I can recall the house on the foothills was the oldest 
of their residences. There was an adobe on a little hill located on the 
property now belonging to Judge Ross; I think that was built by 
Julio. He spent considerable time at the adobe on Verdugo Road, on 
the hill now in the southeast part of Glendale. I think he died there. 
The adobe houses were not always completed. The one he built at 
Garvanza never had any roof on it except one of brush or willows. 
There was a house near the river at a point now in West Glendale 
west of the San Fernando Road. The Sanchez family had an adobe 
house in North Glendale and a great many fine fruit trees which were 
still bearing and in good condition when the property was sold to 
Wicks about 1881 or 1882. They had a very loose way of doing busi- 
ness in those days when we first saw the valley. Julio Verdugo would 
sell a piece of land without any papers passing. He and the other 
fellow would get together and agree that the land sold was to be a 
certain piece bounded by a line running from a tree to the top of a 
hill and from there down a certain canyon and thence to another tree 
and so on. They piled up a lot of trouble for the people who came 
afterwards and were more particular, but for the time it worked satis- 


factorily and there were not many serious disputes over property 
lines until the lawyers got to coming in. 

"They were not exciting times, although of course there was 
some outlawry. I remember \'asf|uez, the bandit, very well. Except 
for h!s adventure when he attem])ted to rob Rapetto, the sheep man, 
he did not commit many depredations in this section, mostly working 
up north. Rapetto lived out on the Mission road between Los An- 
geles and Pasadena. One day V^asquez and some of his companions 
rode into his ranch and held the old man up. demanding money. 
When he told them he had none. Vasquez told him that might be true, 
but he knew that he had plenty in the bank and made him write a 
check on the Farmers and Merchants Bank in Los Angeles and send 
it in by a boy while they waited for his return with the coin. The 
boy was properly scared and told that his life would not be worth a 
centavo if he didn't keep his mouth shut or failed to bring back the 
money. The boy meant to obey orders all right but his actions at 
the bank were so suspicious that the teller thought something was 
wrong and notified the sheriff. .K posse was quickly got together and 
followed the boy who had been given a portion of the money. Of 
course Vasquez was watching matters closely. The boy got in far 
enough ahead of the ofificers to deliver a small amount of money, said 
to have been a hundred dollars, to the bandit who with his compan- 
ions quickly mounted and got away. Vasquez was as mild a man- 
nered man as ever cut a throat, and except for his liking for other 
people's money and his manner of obtaining it, was a very likeable 
fellow. I've seen him play poker many a night at Elizabeth Lake 
when I was ranching there along about 1868. He was a good sport 
all right. 

"One of his adventures was at Coyote Hole up on the Owens 
River Valley Road near Jaw Bone Canyon. There was a little store 
and a sort of hotel there. A party of about fifteen men rode into the 
place one afternoon ; some of them were peace ofificers who would 
have been glad to have a chance at the bandit whose fame had spread 
pretty well over the state. Along about dusk Vasquez came along 
with one of his men and without letting any of the stage party know 
they were in the neighborhood, took advantage of the travelers being 
inside the store and unhitched the stage horses, or found others in the 
corral, I'm not sure which, fastened tin cans to their tails and turned 
them loose to run past the store. The racket they made naturally 
brought the men inside the house to the outside to see what the noise 
was. The bandits then rushed into the store, got several guns the 
men had left behind, gathered up what money they could find, and 
before the victims knew what had happened, mounted their horses 
and escaped in the darkness, firing a volley as they went to impress 
the party with the idea that they were a much more numerous band 
than they were. 

"In those days the assessing was done in a way differing as much 
as possible from present day methods. There was a deputy assessor 
in Los Angeles named Mike Madigan, whose business it was to ride 
over the country and do the assessing, collect poll tax, etc. He was 


a sort of a 'wild Irishman' given to boasting a good deal in his con- 
versation. One day while out in the neighborhood of Elizabeth Lake 
he was riding along the road when he fell in with another horseman 
traveling in the same direction. They very naturally got into con- 
versation and quite as naturally the subject of their talk was the ex- 
ploits of the dreaded highwayman who was supposed to be in the 
neighborhood. In the course of the conversation Madigan expressed 
himself very freely as to what he would do if he should be held up by 
Vasquez. He was not backward about speaking of his courage and 
was quite sure that if the occasion offered he would show the bandit 
that he had a right good gun and knew how to use it. Presently they 
came to a cross road and Madigan's companion said, 'Well I'm glad I 
met you and as you may not have another chance to assess me you 
had better do it now, as I have to leave you.' Madigan replied, after 
getting his book out ready to perff)rm his duty, 'all right, what is your 
name?' and quite pleasantly the other answered, 'Tiburcio Vasquez at 
your service.' turned and rode leisurely away. Mike used to tell the 
story with full appreciation of the joke on himself, always admitting, 
'Well, he didn't shoot, but he might as well have done it for his answer 
plum knocked me out.' Vasquez was captured at Cahuenga a year 
or two afterwards by Emil Harris. Billy Rowland and some other of- 
ficers who hid themselves in a wagon covered by hay and surrounded 
a cabin in which he was visiting his sweetheart, or one of them. I 
believe he was hanged at San Jose." 

Theodore Kanouse 

"My wife, daughter, son and self, with twenty-five 'standard bred' 
Barred Rocks, two cows and a dog, left Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 
in an 'Immigrant Car' shipped for Glendale, California, where we ar- 
rived on Friday, November 4, 1891. Had arranged with John Hobbs. 
Elias Ayers and Mr. Stein to build a very small, but fwhat proved to 
be) pleasant cottage, at the southwest corner of A and Sixth Street 
where the preceding year, they had secured ten acres, and when we 
reached our destination we found the foundation laid and the stud- 
ding being set up. We camped with Mr. Ayers for a few days until 
the carpenters had the roof on, by virtue of urgency, and we moved 
in, locating in what w^as to be the upper story, reached by a tempor- 
ary ladder for a stairway. The next daj' we had callers, whose errand 
was to welcome us as citizens of the then sparsely settled but prom- 
ising community of Glendale. No time was given us for acclimation 
or any formal reception, but characteristic of hospitable frontier 
men and women, we were made to feel at home at once. 

"We set about cultivating our ten acres, putting in water pipes 
and setting out orange trees, buying a horse, lumber wagon, surry, a 
one 'hoss' plow and cultivator, and began life on the pleasantest little 
ranch in the. to us, prettiest valley in the world. We were all soon 
at work in Sunday school, church, Good Templar lodge. Kings 
Daughters, G. A. R., etc., etc. Everybody was kin to us, and our lives 
were 'One Sweet Song.' The angel of us all left us for the 'Better 
Land' in 1904. and after leaving her in Evergreen' the broken circle 
soon came to Los Angeles, where our home has since been." 






George Engelhardt 

Mr. George Engelhardt came to Los Angeles in 1866 and was ac- 
quainted with the San Rafael previous to his moving out to the Ver- 
dugo Canyon in 1882, having bought about 140 acres of P. Beaudry in 
the Verdugo mountains, building on the extremity of a point of hills 
overlooking the Canada eastward. Pio Sepulveda's mother occupied 
the "Sanchez place" when Engelhardt first came to the valley. 

He was road overseer for the Canada district and built the grade 
around the hill leading up the canyon after the lower roadway had 
been washed away. The county afterwards widened the roadway 
and improved it. 

He was school trustee of the old Sepulveda district, serving with 
J. F. Dunsmoor and H. J. Crow. When the new school house at the 
"Sycamore tree" (Tropico) was built, about 1882 or 1883, the old 
school building was located at a point on Verdugo Road on land now 
owned by G. B. Woodberry just below the old reservoir site. Engel- 
hardt had five children of his own and made a pact with the trustees 
that he would not oppose the building of the new school house if they 
would agree to put a school up in the canyon for the accommodation 
of the children in that neighborhood, the other trustees agreeing to 
the proposition. The building stood on that location until the La 
Canada school district was created when it traveled back to its orig- 
inal location. It was then sold to Mr. W. G. Watson and ended up 
its history as a barn. 

Mr. Engelhardt moved to Santa Monica in 1^4 and soon after- 
wards entered United States service as a deputy revenue collector at 
the port of San Pedro, serving until he was retired about 1920 after 
many years of continuous service. 

Frank L. Muehlman 

"My earliest knowledge of Glendale was in the Spring of 1906. 
Our family removed from Los Angeles to Glendale in the fall of that 
year. At that time there were two electric lights on Brand Boule- 
vard, one on Lomita Avenue and one on Fourth Street, now Broad- 
way. The high school at that time was located at the southeast cor- 
ner of Fourth and Brand. This was later sold and a new site pur- 
chased where the present high school now stands. The only building 
on Brand Boulevard at that time, so far as I recall, was the Pacific 
Electric depot, which was recently purchased by the Security Bank 
of Los Angeles. There were no homes in the tract known as the Val- 
ley View Tract, located west of Central Avenue. The principal ac- 
tivity in building at that time was on Lomita Avenue, where a num- 
ber of actors had purchased lots and built homes. It was one of the 
best known residence streets in Glendale. Ezra Parker lived at or 
near the southeast corner of Brand and Lomita Avenue; Joseph 
Kirkby lived opposite him on Lomita, and Mr. Goodell was living in 
the old Goodell home on Lomita Avenue, which property has since 
been purchased by the Catholic Church. 

"The streets of Glendale at this time were simply sand lots, but 
the Board of Trustees soon took active steps, under the advice of 


Frederic Baker fat that time city attorney), to grade and oil the 
streets, and in a few years Glendale had many miles of what is known 
as petrolithic streets, some of which are still in use, and, considering 
their age, in pretty good condition. 

"Glendale's boundaries were then approximately limited to Cen- 
tral Avenue on the west. Ninth Street on the south, Doran Street on 
the north and Verdugo Road on the east. Tropico was not incor- 
porated. There were four water companies furnishing water to 
the territory that is now within the limits of the City of Glendale. 
There was no gas, and electricity was furnished by a small com- 
pany that required payments for extensions in order to get it in- 
stalled. This had the effect of retarding its use generally. 

"In the fall of 1906 or the early spring of 1907 a move was made 
by some parties to disincorporate the city. This was decidedly de- 
feated. After that the city began to take on new life. Later a bond 
issue was voted to install a municipal lighting plant and a celebration 
was had after the lights were all installed to commemorate this 
achievement. Much civic pride became manifest about this time. 
An association was organized, the moving spirit of which was John 
W. Usilton. This association was given the name of Glendale Im- 
provement Association. Meetings were held regularly and annexa- 
tion of additional territory became the watchword. Barbecues were 
given for several years in the month of May to encourage people to 
join Glendale and much public spirit was shown by the Glendale 
citizens which resulted in a rapid growth. Many of the leading cit- 
izens of the Glendale of today participated in these movements and 
have lived to see their fondest hopes of a greater city realized. Poli- 
tics from the partisan standpoint were lost sight of and men were 
chosen for office purely upon their civic principles." 


Mention has been made of the first settlers along Glendale Ave- 
nue, but in looking back over these pages, the author is struck by a 
sense of incompleteness in the list of these pioneers. Casting his 
mental vision over the scene as he remembers it, that portion of Glen- 
dale Avenue north of Ninth Street (Windsor Road) was in 1883 and 
1884 peopled as follows : On the northeast corner was a ten acre tract 
belonging to Mr. J. D. Lindgren, who lived with his family on the 
west side of the road opposite. Then came the Chase acreage and 
the house they occupied on the east side of the road about Maple 
Street. On the west side, opposite, was the "Crow Ranch" with no 
other house on that side of the road south of Fourth Street (Broad- 
way). Neither was there another house north of the Chase place until 
the home of B. F. Patterson was encountered on the northeast corner 
of Fourth Street and the avenue. Then came the Byram home on 
the northeast corner of Third Street and the avenue. There was still 
no house on the west side of the road, the store building being erected 
the following year (1885). Adjoining Byram on the north was the 
home of G. W. Phelon who sold to J. F. Jones in the latter part of 
1884. North of that was the ten acres of Captain Ford (later the 


Leavitt place), who was killed by his runaway team on the Downey 
Avenue bridge in East Los Angeles. Then came the ten acres and 
the home of S. J. Coleman on the corner of what is now Monterey 
Road. From such small beginnings has Glendale grown. 

Here is the close of the Story of Glendale up to the first day 
of January, 1923, as told by the present writer. A very beautiful 
custom has been established in several of the countries engaged as 
allies in the struggle for civilization during the late great war, that 
is the burial of the "Unknown Hero" with all the pomp and circum- 
stance that the greatest of the nations can show to the heroic dead, 
who is held to be typical of the thousands of others, also unknown, 
whose graves are in the fields of France and elsewhere where the 
great contest left its dreadful trophies. And the writer of this history, 
conscious of its defects, regrets that he has not been able to pay a 
tribute of printed words to the many of Glendale's builders, who aided 
by unselfish effort the laying of the foundations of the city. 

He would, therefore, if he could, raise a monument to the "Un- 
known Builder," without whose efforts, the present splendid city 
would never have risen from the brush-covered valley. And in doing 
this he would not detract in any respect from the honor due the 
builders of today, who are nobly continuing the work of those who 
have gone before ; he feels, however, that the historian of the future 
from his more lofty viewpoint, may be trusted to give to them their 
meed of praise, after their work is finished and the Great Architect 
who plans the building shall have pronounced it all "Well done." 

^'^'P- /GjcyCctyycZ^^in^ 


William C. B. Richardson. The name Richardson is traceable 
back to the Norman conquest and is an example of the most common 
origin of surnames, viz., the addition liy the eldest male of the suffix 
"son" to the father's name, being in this case the son of Richard. 
Richardson is said to have been a common name among the Normans, 
and in fact, to have been exclusively Norman, so that there is no room 
for doubt as to its origin. It is one of those families also, of which 
a history is traceable back almost to its beginning, if not to the identi- 
cal individual who first fastened the "son" on to his father's name. 
It is said that the name is common to almost every county in England, 
and had achieved eminence as early as the sixteenth century. One of 
the first of these was Samuel Richardson, the English novelist, author 
of "Pamela or Virtue Rewarded," "Clarisse Harlowe," and "The His- 
tory of Sir Charles Grandison." A number of the family were artists 
and writers. 

Ezekiel Richardson came to America with Winthrop early in the 
seventeenth century and became the founder of Woburn, Massa- 
chusetts. A number of brothers followed shortly thereafter landing 
in Virginia. Capt. Edward Richardson was one of those who resisted 
the English at Concord and served all through the revolution. Sir 
John Richardson, who died in 1865, was a noted Arctic explorer. 
Major General I. B. Richardson, who was a graduate of West Point, 
made a record in the Mexican war, and was killed at Antietam in the 
Civil War while in command of his division. Albert D. Richardson 
was a noted newspaper man during the Civil War, and the author of 
a popular work on western life, "Beyond the Mississippi." 

Wyman Richardson, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, 
was a native of the Granite State and served as a soldier in the Revo- 
lutionary War, taking active part in many engagements. Hon. 
Elkanah Richardson, the father, was reared and educated in New 
Hampshire, and subsequently moved to Ohio, becoming a pioneer of 
that state. He was a surveyor by profession, and in pursuit of his oc- 
cupation became familiar with that section of the country in the early 
days of its history. A man of much talent, he became influential in 
financial business and legal affairs and for fourteen years served as 
judge of the Circuit Court. His death occurred while he was in the 
prime of life, at the age of fifty-six years. Sophia Belding, the mother 
of William C. B. Richardson, was also a native of New Hampshire, 
and a sister of William C. Beldiiig who was killed in the war of 1812, 
and for whom the subject of this sketch was named. 

William C. B. Richardson was born in Swanzey, New Hampshire, 
October 28, 1815. He was taken when a boy by his parents to Ohio, 
where he was educated in the common schools of Summit county. 
From his father he learned the profession of surveyor, and followed 


it for forty years in Cleveland and vicinity. A straightforward, thor- 
ough-going business man. he met with eminent success in his under- 
takings, acquiring wealth and distinction. He served two terms as a 
member of the Common Crmncil of Cleveland, and was a prominent 
citizen of that place when he came to California in 1868. A brother 
had preceded him to this state in 1849, and was in the habit of send- 
ing back glowing accounts of the El Dorado of the Pacific. It was 
therefore but natural that Mr. Richardson should turn to California 
as the land of promise. The brothers made a tour of the state, travel- 
ing as every one did at that time on horseback. Mr. Richardson se- 
lected and purchased a tract of land containing six hundred and 
seventy-one acres, lying along the Los Angeles river, extending into 
what is now Glendale and named it the Santa Eulalia Ranch. 

Mr. Richardson returned to Cleveland, Ohio, to attend to his 
many interests, remaining there until 1880, when he returned to the 
.Santa Eulalia Ranch to make it his home. In 1873 the ranch was 
placed in charge of Mr. Richardson's son, Elkanah W., who in a few 
years' time had the ranch stocked with several thousand head of sheep 
which were herded on it and adjoining acreage. Soon after the ar- 
rival of Mr. Richardson in 1880, sheep raising was given up and 
dairying was extensively engaged in. Many fruit trees were set out, 
and in 1903 five hundred acres were given over to about one hundred 
Japanese for the cultivation of strawberries, the property being gen- 
erally improved, giving it an air of genuine prosperity. The man- 
agement and improvement of the ranch was due to both the father 
and the son, who worked and planned together harmoniously. 

With the coming of the Southern Pacific railroad in 1872, Mr. 
Richardson gave the railroad company sixteen acres for a depot site, 
and when the Art Tile factory was promoted in 1901 he gave the 
necessary acreage for its site, besides donating a site for the Tropico 
Presbyterian church and the Cerritos Street school. 

At Akron, Ohio, in 1838, Mr. Richardson married Sarah Everett. 
who passed from this life in 1895, having reached her seventy-sixth 
year. Three sons arrived at years of maturity. Omar S., the eldest 
and only one living, is a resident of Glendale; Elkanah \V., a sketch 
of whom appears elsewhere in this volume ; and Burt, the youngest, 
who was a resident of Glendale at the time of his death in 1915. Mr. 
Richardson was a Mason as was his father before him. He was a 
member of the Pioneer Society, and the Historical Society, of Los 
Angeles county. Politically he was a republican, although while in 
Los Angeles county he took no active interest in politics. His death 
occurred July 7, 1908, while in his ninety-fourth year. He enjoyed 
life to the last, his mind remaining clear and alert. He passed away 
at his home on San Fernando Road at Cerritos Street, while quietly 
resting, his demise being unobserved. 

Hon. Cameron Erskine Tho.m was born on his father's plantation 
at Berry Hill, Culpeper county, Virginia, June 20, 1825. His father, 
John Thorn, was a soldier of distinction, a gentleman and a scholar, 
as well as a statesman of marked ability. He was an officer in the 


War of 1812. commanding a regiment of volunteers throughout the 
entire period of military activity. For thirty years he served in the 
State Legislature as Senator and upon retiring from that office was 
commissioned by the Governor, by and with the consent of the Sen- 
ate, to be "High Sheriff" of his county as some partial compensation 
for his many years of service as magistrate. His grandfather was a 
Scotchman of note and distinguished himself at the battle of Cullo- 
den, fighting under the banner of Prince Charles Edward, the Pre- 
tender Stuart, who, in commemoration of his great valor, jiresented 
him with a gold snuff box. 

After receiving his preliminary education in private schools, 
Captain Thom took an extensive course at the University of Virginia, 
including law in all of its branches, receiving a license to practice his 
profession in all the courts of his native state. 

The call of the West, however, was ringing throughout the land 
and the adventuresome blood of military forefathers warmed in his 
veins in response. In 1849 he was one of a party of thirty picked 
young men bound for the Far West, the enchanted Land of Gold. 
The party was well equipped for its trip across the plains, having 
riding horses, eight wagons drawn by mules, plentj' of supplies, and 
eight negro cooks and wagon men. They were in no hurry and took 
plenty of time, finding, as they did, some new interest and adventure 
at every point of the way. They stopped wherever fancy dictated 
and remained as long as they pleased. Their first stop for any length 
of time was at Ash Hollow, Dakota, where they spent si.x weeks 
with the Sioux. A thousand Indians, warriors and squaws, were 
encamped there, and the young men from Virginia found them a 
noble body of men. even hospitable and gentle in their domestic life, 
and well worth}' of consideration and study. These Indians had just 
come from a great battle, or rather a series of battles, with the Paw- 
nees and were celebrating their victories and regaining their own 
wasted strength. Journeying onward, the party passed many herds of 
buffalo dotting the wild plains, now and then pausing long enough for 
an exciting chase. They arrived at Sacramento late in November, 
and there the part)- disbanded, scattering over the new country as 
their fancy called, a majority of them going to Rose's Bar on the Yuba 
river where, in six months, most of them succumbed to tj'phoid. 

Mr. Thom with a party of personal friends, engaged in mining on 
the south fork of the American river, also on Mormon Island, and 
later in Amador county. The price of food products was almost pro- 
hibitive and, although wa.ges were high, the cost of living was so 
great as to make the problem of a livelihood a very vital one. Po- 
tatoes, that winter, sold as high as five dollars a pound, while salt 
beef was two hundred and fifty dollars a barrel, with other things in 
proportion. Mining, under these not too pleasant conditions, soon 
palled upon the young adventurer, and he went to Sacramento and 
o])ened a law office. He l)ecanie an agent for the firm of White & 
Jennings, a lumber and general merchandise company from Oregon, 
on a salary of five hundred dollars a month, his chief duties being the 
collection of their rents and general supervision of their property. 


The great flood of the Sacramento valley occurred in the early 
'SO's and through this Mr. Thorn passed with many thrilling experi- 
ences, his responsibility for the White & Jennings company hold- 
ings adding not a little to his anxieties. A second flood was more dis- 
astrous to his comfort than the first. He prospered in the practice of 
law at Sacramento until the big fire, which burned most of the city 
and destroyed his library. In the fall of 1853 Mr. Thorn left Sacra- 
mento having received an appointment as assistant law agent for the 
United States Land Company in San Francisco, where he had super- 
vision over twenty-five clerks and draftsmen. The next spring he 
was ordered to Los Angeles for the purpose of taking testimony in 
land cases before Commissioner George Burrell. That work finished 
he resigned from the government position and was appointed by the 
council of Los Angeles as city attorney, and by the supervisors as 
district attorney to fill unexpired terms. Later he was elected dis- 
trict attorney three different times, after which followed his election 
by a large majority to the State Senate. 

The fighting blood of Mr. Thom was stirred by the excitement 
of the Civil War, and he went to Virginia and offered his services 
to the Confederacy at Richmond, volunteering in the army as captain 
without charge to the government. He conscientiously did his duty 
at all times and on all occasions. He was paroled at Peterslnirg. and 
returned to Los Angeles, where he was confronted with the statute of 
the state, prohibiting anj'one from practicing his profession who ac- 
tively sympathized with the Confederacy. He had lost everything 
save honor. Shortly after his plight became known he was given a 
pardon from President Johnson, but by whom obtained he was never 
able to learn. His name was all the recommendation that he needed 
in the "Angel City" and his law office was soon doing a thriving 
business. However, his services were needed in another capacity 
and he found himself elected mayor. He served one term in that 
capacity, then returned to the practice of his profession, and gave the 
necessary attention to his real estate, banking and other interests. 

Being a firm believer in a big future for Southern California it 
was but natural that he should invest heavily in real estate, and this 
he did with wisdom and foresight. In 1870 he acquired a large acre- 
age in the Rancho San Rafael (now Glendale) and a few years later 
planted an orange orchard and made other improvements. Part of 
this property he disposed of to his nephew. Judge Erskine M. Ross, 
and the two. besides being law partners for many years, managed their 
ranch property, to a considerable extent, in common. He owned a 
home C)n Main Street, corner of Third, in Los .Xni^eles up to the time 
of his death in February, 1915. Although not residing on his ranch 
property, he kept in close touch with the develoimient of Glendale 
and was very heavily interested financially in the building of the 
Glendale hotel, the construction of the Salt Lake railroad branch be- 
tween Los Angeles and Glendale, and other enterprises which marked 
the era of development that began in the middle '80"s. When the bank 
of Glendale was organized in 1905 he became one of the directors and 
a principal stockholder, taking an active personal interest in the af- 


fairs of that institution. Captain Thom enjoyed the distinction of 
being the largest individual taxpayer in the city of Glendale. 

Mr. Thom married Belle Hathwell, who is now a resident of Los 
Angeles. The four living children are: Cameron D.. of Glendale; 
Catesby C, of Los Angeles; Mrs. .'\rthur Collins, of London, Eng- 
land ; Erskine P. Thom, of Los Angeles. 

Judge Erskine M.^Yo Ross was one of the first Americans to ac- 
quire a large tract of land in the valley, and in connection with Capt. 
C. E. Thom began its improvement and development. In 1872 they 
set out orange trees, some of which are still bearing. This was the 
first orange grove planted on the Rancho San Raphael. In 1883 he 
built a large residence on the ranch, which he named "Rossmoyne" 
and made it his home for many years. In 1883 the Glendale Hotel 
(now the Glendale Sanitarium) was built by Judge Ross, Capt. Thom 
and H. J. Crow, and for many years Judge Ross was prominently 
identified with all activities for the growth and development of the 

Judge Ross is a Virginian by birth, and was born June 30, 1845, 
at Belpre, Culpeper county, a son of William Buckner and Elizabeth 
Mayo (Thom) Ross. His father was of Scotch ancestry and his 
mother of English descent. His early days were spent with his 
parents at their home which was called Belpre (Beautiful .Meadows). 
The first school he attended was one established by a few neighbors 
for the benefit of their children. Subsequently, when about ten years 
old, he went to a military school at Culpeper Court House, where he 
continued most of the time until the summer of 1860, then entering 
the Virginia Military Institute — an institute modeled after West 
Point. At the outbreak of the war the corps of cadets at the institute 
was ordered to Camp Lee. at Richmond, which it reached on the night 
of the day Virginia seceded. The corps was the first to arrive and 
the cadets, of whom Ross was one, were put to drilling the raw re- 
cruits as they came in. Like most of the others Ross was too young 
to be mustered into the army, but acted as lieutenant in various 
commands, and was in several battles with the Confederate forces. 
In 1863 his father insisted that he return to the institute, which he 
did. In 1864 the Confederates were in such straits that the corps of 
cadets was again called out, and the body took part in the battle of 
New Market, sustaining a loss of fifty-five killed and wounded out of 
a total number of one hundred and ninety. At the close of the war 
young Ross returned to the institute and graduated with the class 
of 1865. 

In 1868 he came to Los Angeles, to engage in the study of law 
in the office of his uncle, Cameron E. Thom, who at that time was a 
leader in his profession in the city. In 1869 he was admitted to the 
bar, and in 1875 to the bar of the .Sui)reme Court of the state. In 
1879, he was elected justice of the Supreme Court of the state of Cal- 
ifornia and having drawn one of the short terms, was re-elected for a 
term of twelve years. In 1886 Judge Ross resigned his seat on the 
.•<ui)reme bench, his resignation taking effect October first of that year, 


and resumed the practice of law at Los Angfeles. A few months later 
he was appointed by President Cleveland, as Jud,a:e of the United 
States District Court for Southern California, then lately created. 
During President Cleveland's second term he was appointed United 
States Circuit Judge, which position he still holds. This appointment, 
without solicitation, was given in response to the opinion that he was 
the man for the place. 

Judge Ross has always stood high as a man. as a lawyer, and 
as a judge, ile has that sensitive regard for justice which is the 
crowning virtue of a judge, and without which no justice is thor- 
oughly equipped, however learned he may be in the law. or how bril- 
liant he may be intellectually. Judge Ross" record on the supreme 
bench of the state was most important to the people of Southern 
California, because of his intimate knowledge of the vital question 
of water, or irrigation. His influence with his brother justices in these 
matters was e.xceedingly valuable, and it was gratifying to him to 
know that his services were appreciated by the people. His record 
for thirty-six years as United States Judge has justified the utmost 
confidence of the legal profession and the general public as to his 
ability, fairness and breadth of comprehension in handling the many 
matters which usually come before this court. 

He still owns and operates his ranch property on North Verdugo 
Road, which approximates eleven hundred acres. It is devoted to 
citrus, deciduous fruits, olives and general farming. The ranch has 
its own fruit packing plant and a mill for the making of olive oil. In 
politics Judge Ross has always been a Democrat. He is a member 
of the Episcopal church, and was one of the founders of the Greek 
letter fraternity Alpha Tau Omega. Rev. Otis .Allen Glazebrook, 
an Episcopal rector, who was formerly American Consul to Syria, 
and Capt. Alfred Marshall were the other founders. He is a member 
of the Pacific Union Club of San Francisco and the California Club 
of Los Angeles. 

At San Francisco on May 7. 1874, Judge Ross married Ynez Han- 
nah Bettis. They became the parents of a son, Robert Erskine Ross, 
of Los Angeles. Mrs. Ross died in 1907. 

Ei-ns T. BvRAM was one of the builders of Glendale; one of the 
pioneers who found here a section of beautiful valley covered in the 
most part with growth of sage brush and cactus, and when called 
from the scene of his many years of active up-building, left it an 
ambitious young munici]Kility. struggling valiantly to make good the 
future, for which he and a few others had laid the foundations. 

Ellis T. Byram was the youngest son of William and Abby D. 
Byram, and was born January 8. 1839, near Liberty, Union county, 
Indiana. He was of Puritan stock, a direct descendant of John Alden 
and Priscilla Mullen Alden, of the Mayflower company. William 
Byram was one of the leading men in his section of the state, being 
county treasurer ior several years and prominent in the Presbyterian 
church. The son. Ellis, received a fair practical education in the com- 
inon schools of his native town and during his minority assisted in the 



C^ *^* ' ^ft 



^^^' '^M 





care of the parental homestead. At an early age he joined the Pres- 
byterian church and was active in the work of that organization until 
the last days of his life. In 1864 he married Huldah Miller, gaining 
a help-meet who shared in all of his useful activities and who has 
been active in the valuable work accomplished by the women of Glen- 
dale, particularly during the early days of its history. After his mar- 
riage Mr. Byram settled down as a farmer for a while and then 
moved his family to Perry, Iowa, where he entered into the hard- 
ware business. 

Mrs. Byrani's health failing, the climate of California was recom- 
mended and she, with two sons and a daughter, came to Los Angeles 
in the fall of 1882. Mr. Byram. with the other son and older daughter, 
joined the rest of the family in the spring of 1883. Mr. Byram, with 
B. F. Patterson and George Phelon, in the summer of 1883, purchased 
about 100 acres of the Chikls tract, lying on the east side of Glendale 
Avenue, subdividing and disposing of the same in ten acre tracts, 
which resulted in transforming that section from its natural condition 
into pleasant homes surrounded by orchards and vineyards. Mr. 
Byram selected a home site near the upper end of the tract on Glen- 
dale Avenue, building one of the first two story houses in the settle- 
ment, and in November of the same year the family occupied the 
new home. Near the home site then was a clump of young syca- 
mores, now tall trees. The improvements made on the Thom, Ross 
and Crow properties were, at that time, about all the signs of home 
building existing north of San Fernando Road. 

From that time forward for many years Mr. Byram was a prom- 
inent and leading spirit in every movement having for its object the 
upbuilding of the community. Such projects as the Glendale Hotel 
(now Sanitarium), the Salt Lake railroad, the Pacific Flectric rail- 
road, the high school, the public schools, the churches, the \\ater 
companie.s — in fact everything in the nature of public welfare work, 
requiring the expenditure of time, energy and money, had Mr. By- 
ram's active support. To all of them he contributed more than his 
quota as a citizen. With Capt. C. E. Thom, Judge E. M. Ross, H. J. 
Crow and B. F. Patterson he formed the Verdugo Springs Water 
Company, the first real water comjKiny (owning and distributing 
water) in the valley. He served as secretary and treasurer of this 
company for many years. He was also one of the organizers of the 
Bank of Glendale. He was one of the men who formed the "Glendale 
Townsite" in 1887, thus putting Glendale on the map. Politically, he 
was a Republican, casting his first vote for Abraham Lincoln. He 
was one of the organizers of the Presbyterian church in Glendale in 
1884, being the first elder and serving in that capacity for many years. 
During the last few years of his lite his activities were curtailed by 
his failing eyesight, but even with this handicap he maintained his 
interest in and contributed his influence to the ailvancement of the 
community, keeping up a cheerful mien and setting an example of 
high Christian character and patience under severe trial. 

Mr. Byram passed from this life on May 30, 1908, at the age of 


sixty-nine. A man loyal in friendship, conscientious in service, of 
genuine manline.'^s and true Christian character. 

Mrs. Hulda B\'ram. wife of Ellis T. Byratn, one of the oldest of 
Glendale"s pioneer women, at all times an efficient helper of her 
husband in his many activities, has earned on her account much 
credit for public work for the community. Having preceded her hus- 
band til Calilornia by a few months, she remained in Los .'\ngeles imtil 
the other members of the family arrived a few months later. While 
there she helped organize the first \V. C. T. U. in the city and by her 
letters to them induced Francis Willard and Anna Gordon to visit 
the city and start the temperance work going. Mrs. Byram's suc- 
cessful efforts to get the name of the Glendale postoffice changed to 
its proper designation is spoken of elsewhere. .Mthough handicapped 
by deafness. Mrs. Byram has labored with great efficiency in the 
church and temperance organizations, and for civic betterment during 
her long residence in Glendale. 

Spencer Robinson, Mayor of Glendale and a prominent realtor of 
the valley, is a native of Illinois. He was liorn at Rock Island, March 
11, 1868, a son of Dean Tyler and Julia (Spencer) Roliinson. He is 
descended on both his father's and mother's side from old colonial 
families, members of whom were soldiers in the Revolutionary War. 
His father was a native of Vermont and his mother was born at Rock 
Island, Illinois. His grandfather, John Weston Spencer, with Baily 
Davenport, were the first settlers on the Mississippi river where the 
city of Davenport, Iowa, is now located. Mr. Spencer was the first 
county judge of Rock Island county, Illinois. Dean Tyler Robinson 
was a prominent citizen of Rock Island, where he conducted a retail 
lumber yard ffir man}- years. Mrs. Robinson was a very active mem- 
ber of the Daughters of the .American Revolution, being one of the 
founders of the chapter at Rock Island, Illinois. 

Mr. Robinson sup])lemented his high school education by taking a 
genera! course at Shortridge Academj-, Media, Pennsylvania, later 
graduating frcmi Lafayette College, Pennsylvania, with the class of 
1891. He was a traveling salesman fur tlie Rock Island Plow Com- 
pany, covering the state of Iowa until 1894, when he began his career 
as a professional singer. Early in life he began to show unusual talent 
as a vocalist, and upon reaching manhood developed a splendid tenor 
voice. He studied under various teachers while attending college in 
the east, and later, in Chicago, took vocal training under Professor 
Fred Root. From 1894 to 1912 he devoted his time to his profession, 
doing both concert and operatic work. During the latter part of this 
time he also taught voice culture. He made several trips abroad, 
touring the British Isles and Continental Europe, spending much time 
in study there. His first trip to Southern California was in 1900, 
when he was engaged by Bob Burdette to sing at the old Hazard 
Pavilion on Hill Street at Sixth, Los .'\ngeles. Later he sang for 
Bishop Robert Mclntyre and Bishoj) Charles Edward Locke of the 
Methodist Episcopal church of Los Angeles. 


Mr. Robinson came to Glendale in 1906 and has since resided at 
1234 East Windsor Road where his original purchase was a twelve- 
acre tract. He has since purchased additional acreage, much of 
which has been st)ld for residence sites. Since 1912 he has given 
practically all of his time to the real estate business, in which he has 
been very successful. His office is at 612 East Uroadway. His career 
as a public official began in 1919, when he was elected a city trustee. 
He filled that office until he was elected mayor in June, 1921. thereby 
becoming Glendale's first mayor under the new charter, of \\ hich he 
was an ardent su])porter. Although Mr. Robinson no longer sings 
as a professional, his readiness to aid in every good cause that makes 
a call ui)on him in his home city, has made him a favorite entertainer 
and his voice is often heard in concerts and entertainments given 
for charitable and other worthy public objects. He is a member of 
the realty board, and a charter member of the Kiwanis Club. Fra- 
ternally, he is an Elk. 

At Friend, Nebraska, Mr. Robinson married Bertha Henrietta 
Sonntag. They have three children, Julia, Jean, and Dean Tyler. 
Julia is a graduate of Glendale Union High school and is now taking 
voice culture. Jean and Dean Tj-ler are pupils of high and grammar 
schools, respectively. Mrs. Robinson is a member of the Tuesday 
Afternoon Club, and both Mr. and Mrs. Robinson are members of the 
Glendale Music Club, 

Samuki. a. Avrks, who passed from this life May 17, 1922, was 
born March 12, 1853, at Ft. Madison, Lee county, Iowa. His parents 
came there from Connecticut the year preceding his birth. His 
father's name was Ebeneezer and his mother's maiden name was 
Louisa Anna Overall. He attended the district schools until the age 
of fourteen, when he began clerking in a dry goods store at Musca- 
tine, Iowa. Even at that age he appreciated what education would 
mean in his future so set to work valiantly to earn money to pay his 
way through Benton Commercial College. This took time and cour- 
age as he also had to pay all of his living expenses from his meager 
salary. However, he finally graduated, and obtained a position as 
bookkeeper for Walker Northrup & Chick, of Kansas City, Missouri. 
.\fter a short stop at Ft. Madison he comjileted his journey to Des 
Moines, Iowa, wrote asking him to come and work for him. He 
purchased a pony and started overland for Ft. Madison, and arrived 
there after a difficult journey beset with adventure, having traded 
his pony, which was worn out from the effects of travel, for a horse. 
.'\fter a short stop at Ft. Madison he completed his journey to Des 
Moines, selling his horse, when within twenty miles of his destina- 
tion, taking a note in payment. This note was never paid. 

He remained with Mr. J. V,. Stewart lor a year, then was in- 
duced to go to Council Bluffs. Iowa, to audit the books of a bank. 
That task comjileted, he was taken to Sioux City, Iowa, by George 
Weir to assist in organizing and opening a bank, which was located in 
a log building and did business under the firm name of Wier, Allison 
& Company, ^^'h^le in the empio)- of the bank he was ai)proached by 


a man who had $10,000.00 he wished to invest in a commercial busi- 
ness. Desiring the service of Mr. Ayres. he offered him a $1,000.00 
share in the business, whieh offer was gladly accepted. Soon after 
the business had gotten nicely under way his ])artner took to drink- 
ing heavily. This so disgusted Mr. Ayres that he proceeded to get 
his money out of the business and had just succeeded when the place 
]>urned to the ground and on wliich no insurance was collected. 

Mr. Ayres then enlisted in the Union army, was sent to Jefferson 
City, Missouri, equipped for service and sent on a forced march which 
completely exhausted him, necessitating his being sent to a hospital 
from which he was discharged eight months later as permanently dis- 
abled for military duty. Returning to Des Moines, he became a 
deputy auditor in the state auditor's (jffice, and a few years later was 
made chief deputy auditor. These ]>ositions he filled through the 
successive terms of the different state auditors for thirteen years. 
In February, 1874, because of ill health, he resigned from his position 
in the state house and went to South Sioux City, Nebraska, to re- 
side on land he had pre-empted while in the emploj' of the bank in 
Sioux City, Iowa. He remained there only a few years, then return- 
ing to Des Moines, opened up a large china and silverware business 
which he conducted until 1883. His health again failing he sold the 
business and came to Southern California. He bought twenty acres 
at $80.00 an acre and the residence which he built in 1904, at 1121 
South Central Avenue, occupies a part of that original purchase. 

He built a house on the acreage the first year, which was the first 
residence on Central Avenue. He set out fruit trees and grape vines 
and for several years was a successful fruit grower. In 1890 he sold 
eight acres. Since then the remaining acreage has been sold in acre 
lots, excepting the plot occupied by Y. Goto, for a nursery, and the 
Central Avenue home where his widow now resides. He established 
the first insurance agency in the valley which proved a lucrative 
business for many years and which he disposed of only a few years 
ago. He was a charter member of N. P. Banks Post, G. A. R. 

At Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, December 27, 1866, Mr. .Xyres married 
Minnie Menefee, a native of Virginia, daughter of Philip and Kath- 
erine ( Pendalton) Menefee. Her father was a planter and slave owner 
in the ante-bellum daj's, and she was reared under the watchful care 
of a black mammy. Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Ayres: 
Mary, who became the wife of Harry Banker, died following the birth 
of her child, Marion, who was raised by Mrs. Ayres as her own; 
Edgar S., of San Francisco, who graduated from Stanford University, 
is a consulting engineer; Minnie, is the wife of Charles H. Moser. 
of Glendale; Nelson, who is secretary of the State Dairymen's As- 
sociation, is a resident of San Francisco. Mrs. Ayres is a charter 
member of the Ladies' Aid of the Presbyterian church. Mr. and 
Mrs. Ayres were charter members of the First Presbyterian church 
of Glendale, and transferred their membership to the Tropico Pres- 
byterian church upon its organization, and were also charter mem- 
bers of the Missionary society. Mrs. .\yres in the early days sug- 
gested that their street be named Central Avenue and in due time. 


after being voted on, it was so named. In 1916 Mr. and Mrs. .Aj'res 
celebrated their golden wedding, all members of the family being 

All through life Mr. .\yres was a splendid example f)f enteri)rise 
and courage. His determination and foresight led him to overcome 
obstacles and to win through difiiculties that wnuld have daunted one 
of less spirit. 

Simon Fairdir.v is a \'irginian by birth, having been l)orn May 
16, 1850. in Augusta county, in the Shenandoah Valley. He is a son 
of William and Elizabeth (Funk) Fairl^urn. The l-'airburns are of 
substantial Scotch ancestry. William Fairburn. the great grand- 
father of the subject of this sketch, served all through the Revolution- 
ary War during which he suffered many severe exposures, the effects 
of which caused his death in 1782. William Fairburn, his grand- 
father, served in the War of 1812, and died in the service in 1814. 
The Funks are Holland Dutch. Bishop Henry Funk settled at In- 
dian Creek. Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, in 1709, Henry 
Funk H, the second son of Bishop Funk, was purchasing agent for the 
army during the Revolutionary War. Joseph Funk, the grandfather 
of Mr. Fairburn, was a music teacher and publisher of song books. 
In 1847 he published the first Mennonite hymnal, and the publishing 
of the Mennonite hymnals and literature still remains in the Funk 

Simon Fairburn was reared on his father's plantation in the 
Shenandoah Valley and was one of a family of twelve children. He 
remained at home until he was seventeen, when he was apprenticed 
to a miller, and after serving his ai)prenticeship leased the mill and 
operated it for three years. He went to Parkersburg, West Virginia, 
and became an employee of the Standard Oil Company, remaining 
in their employ for twenty-two years, working his way up to the 
position of representative of all the company's business in Mexico. 
For three years before being sent to Mexico he was superintendent of 
the plant at Parkersburg. In the fall of 1886 he was sent to Mexico 
with instructions to locate, construct and operate a refinery at Mex- 
ico City. In 1889 he built a refinery at Vera Cruz, and upon com- 
pletion of that work was made superintendent of all the company's 
business in Mexico, a position of great responsibility. In 1896, he 
resigned his position and returned to the States, because of a lack of 
educational institutions in which to have his children educated. After 
traveling about the States for a few months he came to the valley and 
purchased a sixty acre tract. His present residence on Tenth Street 
at Alameda Avenue, which he built in 1901, occupies a part of his 
original purchase. He still owns forty acres which is largely de- 
voted to peach orchards. Mr. Fairburn has been very successful as 
a fruit grower. He is identified with the banks of Burbank and has 
been a member of the school board in his district for many years. 
Fraternally he is a Master Mason and politically a Democrat. 

In Washington, D. C, on September 5, 1873, he married Bettie 
M. Williams, a daughter of Dr. R. P. Williams of Bath county, Vir- 


ginia, who was a surgeon in the Confederate army. The children are ; 
Charles W.. a rancher residing near Burljank; Eve E., wife of E. J. 
Young, of Hermosa Beach; Flora E., wife of Charles Rehart, of Fill- 
more, California; Olive W.. wife of J. A. Swalk, of Burbank; Ruth 
H., wife of B. R. Fellows, an employee of the city of Glendale. 

George B. Woodbury, a well known pioneer of Glendale, where he 
has resided since 1884, was born in Monticello, Minnesota, July 21, 
1860, a son of George L. and Anna (Rich) Wondhury, His parents 
were natives respectively of Massachusetts and Maine, and of old 
Yankee ancestry. George L. Woodbury was reared and educated in 
Salem, Massachusetts. He conducted a mercantile establishment in 
his home town for several years, then selling out started for Cali- 
fornia via New Orleans and the Isthmus route. He stopped over, 
however, in New Orleans while his wife went to Minnesota to visit 
relatives, and while she was there the subject of this sketch was 
born. The following winter there was a great uprising among the 
Sioux Indians and Mrs. W'oodbury returned to New Orleans, and a 
few weeks later was bereaved of her husband and left alone with her 
infant son. She decided to leave the South — for there were rumors 
of war and the war clouds hung low — on "Old Ironsides," the last 
boat out before war was declared. Conditions were so unsettled that 
she was not able to realize on her household possessions. 

She made her home in Boston. Massachusetts, for a time before 
going to Pittsfield, Maine, where Mr. Woodbury was educated in 
the Maine Central Institute, taking the normal course. He taught 
school and clerked until 1884 when with his mother he came to Glen- 
dale and bought a twenty acre tract of land on Verdugo Road, and in 
due time built a home and resided on the ranch for some years. His 
mother returned to the East in 1888 and passed away in 1889. 

Mr. Woodbury soon began to take an active interest in local 
affairs. In 1886 he was made superintendent of the \"erdugo Water 
Company, which position he filled until he resigned in April, 1922. 
He was the first city clerk of Glendale and filled that office for eight 
years, declining to be a candidate for re-election. Four years later 
he was elected a trustee, and served in that capacity for four years, 
the last year being chairman of the board. Mr. Woodbury is one of 
the outstanding personalities in the "fastest growing city," and to 
him much of its development and progress in the earlier years of its 
existence may be attributed. The service he rendered in the position 
of City Clerk in the city's infancy, may truly be said to have been 
invaluable; while in the place of Trustee at a later period, his good 
judgment and untiring thoroughness in all that he attempted for the 
welfare of the city, was attended by valuable results. While he has 
voluntarily retired to private life, he is still active in participation in 
civic affairs and is always classed among those who are outspoken 
champions of that which is progressive and yet "safe and sane." He 
is the inventor of the Woodbury Sub-irrigation System which has 
been patented and is a demonstrated success. Machinery is being in- 


stalled to manufacture the device in large quantities. Kratcrnally he 
is a member of Unity Lodgfe No. 368 I". & .\. M. and politically has 
always been a Republican. 

Mr. Woodbury married Alice C. Wright, who is a native of Penn- 
sylvania. They have one daughter, .\nna C who is a graduate of 
the University of California at Berkeley, where she received the de- 
gree of A. B. and was elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. 
She later took a postgraduate year at the University of Southern 
California, Los .Angeles, receiving the degree of .'\. M. 

Edmond J. Valentine, who passed from this life on i\Ia\- 23. 1903, 
was born in Warren county, Pennsylvania, August 5. 1841, a son 
of Edmund and Hannah (DcLong) Valentine. His parents were 
of French-Scotch ancestry. His grandmother on his mother's side, 
whose maiden name was Juliana Scott, was a cousin of Gen. Win- 
field Scott. The Valentine family in America antedates the Revolu- 
tionary War. 

Mr. Valentine attended the pul>lic schools of Warren county, 
Pennsylvania, and at the age of fourteen went to Geneseo, Illinois, 
where he worked on a farm and grew to manhood. In 1863 he went 
to Mitchellville, Polk county, Iowa, where he had a general store and 
was postmaster until 1882, when he went to Mitchell county, Kansas, 
and ranched for four years. Hard times caused him to sell out at a 
loss, and he came to Los Angeles and dealt in real estate until 1889. 
He bought forty acres of land on Kenneth Road where hi.s widow 
now resides. Here he was a pioneer farmer and took an important 
part in the development of North Glendale, especially so in the de- 
velopment of water for irrigation. He became an expert agricultur- 
ist and horticulturist, firmly believed in the future of the country, and 
never tired of doing all within his power for its improvement and 
development. Fraternally, he was a Master Mason and a member of 
the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and in politics was a Re- 

At Mitchellville, Iowa. January 1, 1867, Mr. Valentine married 
Mary Z. DeLong, a native of Crawford county, Pennsylvania. Her 
grandmother, Elizabeth Aughey, was a descendant of the Augheys, 
French Huguenots, who came to .America in the seventeenth cen- 
tury, and who served in the Revolutionary War. The children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Valentine are: William; Edna, who is the wife of Gil- 
bert D. McCann ; John, a civil engineer, who served in France with 
the 603d Engineer's Corps in the late war; and Minnie, who is the 
wife of Professor E. T. Merrill of the University of Chicago. 

Mr. and Mrs. Valentine labored unceasingly in the development 
of their ranch, the result of which is in evidence today. The substan- 
tial stone house which was built in 1900 and the spacious grounds are 
shaded with many kinds of trees, shrubs and vines which give it an 
attractive and alluring setting. Since Mr. V'alentine's death, Mrs. 
Valentine has directed the care of the ranch which now contains 
twenty acres. The family are Episcopalians. 


Mrs. Mary Howard Gridley JIraly. On September 27, 1909, 
Mrs. Mary Howard Gridley came to Glendale, California, from New 
York City. After looking at a number of towns in which to build a 
home she decided on Glendale as the most desirable, it being in such 
close proximity to Los Angeles and the class of citizens superior 
mentally and morally. 

In a short time she was elected President of the Tuesday After- 
noon Club, afterwards a member of the Library board and for some 
time was chairman of the book committee. She loved the work with 
the members of the Library board and never failed to express her 
appreciation of the wonderfully efficient librarian, Mrs. Danford. 
She was on the building committee for the public library and greatly 
enjoyed the harmony of the meetings. 

Mrs. Gridley was a state chairman in the Federated Clubs for 
four years; a member of the Friday Morning Club in Los Angeles; 
and the Woman's Press Club, having brought her membership card 
from New York City, where she was a member for many 3'ears. 
She was also a member of the West End Women's Club of New York 
City in which she was chairman of waterways and forestry; the 
Rubenstein Club; the Forum; the Current Events Club; a director 
of the Crippled Children's Home, and an active worker in many 
lines of charities. 

Being one of the early members of the national society of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution, descended from ancestors 
who were all officers in the battle of Bunker Hill, she first joined the 
"North Shore Chicago Chapter." She was born and raised in Illi- 
nois, in a town founded by her father, Captain Sullivan Howard, who 
was on the Governor's stafT in Boston, Massachusetts. He brought 
a colony of several hundred ])eople to Illinois before the Chicago, 
Burlington & Quincy railroad was built, and founded the town of 
Kewanee, where Mary Howard was born. She was educated by a 
governess (a Mount Holyoke graduate) who fitted her to enter the 
Kewanee Academy, where she finished the academic course. She 
then entered Oberlin College, Ohio, where she completed "the be- 
ginning of her education." She has been an ardent student all her 
life, taking courses of lectures, under many celebrated teachers in 
different places; has been twice to Europe; has studied art and made 
a specialty of antique oriental rugs as one branch of art; also has 
studied the lives of the Persian rug artists. She considers these rugs 
even more decorative to a home than paintings by the old masters. 

After finishing her school life she married James Conger Gridley, 
of Pekin, Illinois, a successful merchant of a fine family, who died 
many years ago, greatly beloved by his friends. Mr. and Mrs. Gridley 
had one daughter who married Charles W. Kirk, and now lives in 
Santa Barbara, California. Mrs. Kirk was educated at a ladies' col- 
lege in Minneapolis, and is an exemjjlary woman. 

Mrs. Braley has been greatly interested in the Parent-Teacher 
Association and thinks it a wonderful organization doing much good 
in demonstrating harmony between parents and teachers in their 
work. She was a member of the State Lectureship Board and has 

TJu^. %iaA^ ^. :^/Uc/M^^f:)/i.. 


spoken at a great number of school houses in Los Angeles county, as 
well as lecturing' before nearly all of the largest women's clubs on 
antique rugs. She became a member of the Congregational Church at 
the age of twelve years and began to teach Sunday School at the age 
of thirteen. She served as church clerk and Sunday School superin- 
tendent for many years in the middle west where she lived before 
going to New York City. She loves Sunday School and Christian 
Endeavor work and was an ardent worker for all these organizations 
until coming to California, when she decided she had earned a rest 
and would leave the responsibility to younger workers. Her home is 
one of the most beautiful in Glendale. She took great interest in the 
architecture, and the building as well as the laying out of the grounds 
and the planting of trees and flowers. 

The Los Angeles Chapter of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution was formed in her home where she was elected regent 
and served them for two years in the city of Los Angeles where 
their meetings were held. In 1913 she founded the General Richard 
Gridley Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution with- 
out taking any pay. 

She is very proud of her Chapter and thinks the members form 
the finest Chapter in the world. She has been elected regent for life, 
also is on the advisory board of the Maternity Hospital in Los An- 
geles and her Daughters of the American Revolution Chapter has 
done some praiseworthy work for thi.s institution, both in making 
articles of clothing for the little babies, putting up fruit and raising 
money to help sustain it. They also work for the Albion Street 
School, helping to Americanize the many foreigners in that locality. 

In 1910 Mrs. Braley became a member of the Fine Arts League 
in Los Angeles, and assisted with their collection of art display at 
Exposition Park. During membership in that League she became 
intimately acquainted with Mr. John Braley who was president of 
that League while Mrs. Gridley was vice president. 

In July, 1914, Mr. Braley and Mrs. Gridley were married in Chi- 
cago and came to Glendale to live. Mr. Braley is the father of Suf- 
frage for California, and was a college president when he was twenty- 
four years of age, having graduated at the University of Tennessee a 
few months before. He has been president of eight banks and built 
the Hibernian Bank building in Los Angeles while he was its presi- 
dent and it was known as the California Savings Bank. He is a very 
well known citizen and a worker in the Anti-saloon League and in 
all progressive enterprises to benefit California and the United States. 

(Written by one who has known Mrs. Braley from girlhood.) 

Cornelius C. Cha.vdler, who passed from this life in January, 
1917, had been a resident of the valley for eighteen years. He was 
born at Concord, New Hampshire, July 13, 1837. The Chandlers are 
an old Yankee family, which dates back to the Colonial days ; some 
coming over in the Mayflower. His fatiier was Jeremiah Chandler, 
and his mother's maiden name was Mercy Merrill. Jeremiah Chand- 


ler was a builder and specialized in building churches, in the East and 
as far west as Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 

The subject of this sketch grew to manhood in the contracting 
and building business, and at the age of eighteen began building on 
his own account in Syracuse, New York. He remained in Syracuse 
only a few years, and then went to Chicago, Illinois, where he set- 
tled and made his home for many years. He became prominent as 
a contractor and builder in Chicago during the years following the 
Civil War, and in the upbuilding of the city after the big fire of 1871. 
For many years he had approximate!)' two hundred men in his em- 
ploy the greater part of the time. He was also prominent in the ranks 
of the Republican party, in Masonry, and as a member of the G. A. R. 
During the Rebellion he served with the infantry of the One Hundred 
Eighty-fifth Regiment of New York Volunteers. He was seriously 
injured while carrying a wounded comrade from the battlefield, 
which caused him to be discharged from the ranks as permanently 
disabled for further military duty. He was a top sergeant when 

After having spent several winters in Southern California, he 
decided to make Tropico his home and moved to that section in 1899. 
He was greatly interested in the growth and development of the land 
of his last adoption. When the tile factory was promoted he bought 
a twenty-acre tract and presented it to the company for a building 
site. He was a charter member of Glendale Commandry No. 43, 
Knights Templar, and was an official of that body at the time of his 
death. At Syracuse, New York, in 1855. Mr. Chandler married Ann 
Elizabeth Denick of that city. To them were born six children: 
Alphonzo L. ; L. O. ; Elizabeth, wife of Edward H. Ellias; l-illian 
wife of Charles L. Peckham ; Cornelius L. ; Flora May, wife of Ed- 
ward H. Weston. AW are residents of Glendale except L. O. Chand- 
ler, who lives at Gorman, California. 

Dr. R.avmond E. Ch.vse has l^cen a resident of Glendale since 
1883, when his parents came here from New York State to make their 
home. The Chase family are of old Yankee ancestry. Dr. Chase was 
born in Rochester, New York, December 14, 1878, a son of S. Everett 
and Ella T. (Harris) Chase. His father was a native of New Hamp- 
shire, and his mother of New \'ork. His father grew to manhood on 
the home estate in New Hami^shire. and then went to Rochester, New- 
York, where he became interested in the manufacture of shoes. 
In Glendale he purchased twenty acres on Glendale .\venue; im- 
proved and farmed it for a time, becoming a fruit grower, raising 
all kinds of deciduous fruits and lemons. He later sold the ranch 
and lived retired for some years preceding his death, which occurred 
in October, 1914. Mrs. Chase makes her home with her son, W. E.. of 
Eos Angeles. 

Dr. Chase attended the grade school of Glendale after which he 
graduated from the Los .\ngeles High School. He then matriculated 
in the medical department of the University of Southern California, 
now affiliated with the University of Southern California, and grad- 



uated with the class of 1901. For three years he i)racticed medicine 
and surgery in Los Angeles, since which time he has been located 
at Glendale. He was city health officer of Glendale for twelve years, 
and for five years was a member of the Lunacy Commission of Los 
Angeles county, as one of its examining physicians. Fraternally, he 
is a Master ^Iason and an Elk. His wife, N'irginia E. Chase, is a 
native of West Virginia and came to Los Angeles as a young lady. 
She spent two years in the Dobhinson School of Dramatics, Los An- 
geles, and later went to New York City, where she had a professional 
career for eleven years, playing ingenue and juvenile leads. She 
is well known and prominent in dramatic circles, as district chairman 
of drama for the Federated Women's Clubs of Southern California, 
and as curator of the drama section of the Glendale Tuesday After- 
noon Club. She is also a member of the Glendale Music Club. In 
1920, Dr. Chase built a modern residence at 239 North Orange Street, 
where they now reside. 

Hon. John Robert White, Jr., who represented the Sixty-first 
California Assembly District in the Forty-third and Forty-fourth 
General Assemblies, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Febru- 
ary 15, 1870; a son of Capt. John Robert and Katie (Ashbridge) 
White. Capt. White was of Scotch ancestry and a native of Mary- 
land, while Katie Ashbridge was of Quaker descent and was born in 
Philadelphia. The Ashbridge family in America date back to 168.S, 
the year following the arrival of William Penn. 

Capt. John Robert W^hite enlisted, at the outbreak of the Civil 
War, with the Eighteenth Pennsylvania Volunteers, served four 
months and re-enlisted at once in Co. G., One Hundred Eighteenth 
Regiment, and went to the front as a first sergeant. At Shepards- 
town, all the company officers were killed, and, by si)ecial orders 
from Major General Fitz John Porter, Sergeant White was made a 
lieutenant. He served with his regiment at Fredricksburg, Chancel- 
lorsville, Gettysburg, the Wilderness, and through many other en- 
gagements to Appomattox, and was advanced to the rank of captain. 

Mustered out of the service at the close of the war. Captain 
White returned to Philadelphia. In due time he became one of the 
firm of Boyd, White & Co., of Philadelphia ; manufacturers, jobbers 
and importers of car]jets and rugs; for many years one of the largest 
concerns of its kind in the country. In 1895 Capt. White sold his 
interests in Philadeljjhia and came to California and purchased a wal- 
nut ranch at Burhank, which he managed for several years before 
retiring. In Philadelphia, Cajjt. White was a director of the Ninth 
National Bank, the Central Trust and Safe Deposit Com])any and the 
Industrial Safe Deposit Company; was a member of the Committee of 
Fifty, organized to promote measures for the benefit of the city; and 
was a well-known member of the Union League, United Service Club, 
Historical Society and other minor societies. Fraternally, Capt. 
White was a Mason. His death occurred March 15, 1915, in the 
eightieth year of his life. The demise of Mrs. White occurred in 


The subject of this sketch supplemented his high school educa- 
tion with a three year course at Wharton School of Finance and 
Economy at the University of Pennsylvania, which fitted him for 
public life. He became an employee of Boyd, White & Co.; first as 
one of the office force, then for one year sold goods on the floor, 
after which he was promoted to the position of buyer of carpets and 
oriental rugs, and served in that capacity until 1895. Then, he 
accompanied his parents to California, and assisted in locating them 
on a ranch at Burbank. Returning to the East Mr. White was a trav- 
eling salesman for a New York City carpet and rug concern for two 
years; after which, he returned to California and followed ranching at 
Burbank for four years. He accepted a position as salesman for 
T. Bellington & Co., of Los Angeles, and served in that capacity until 
1905. He then became buyer and manager of the carpet and rug 
department of the newly organized California Furniture Co., of Los 
Angeles, which position he still holds. In 1906 Mr. White became 
a stockholder in the company, and since 1919 has been on the board 
of directors. 

Mr. White is an ardent Republican, and has been an active sup- 
porter of the party for many years. In 1909 he was appointed to 
fill an unexpired term as city trustee, re-elected in 1912, and chosen 
mayor. He resigned from this position in May of the same year 
because of pressing business activities. During Mr. White's incum- 
bency as trustee and under his administration as chairman of the 
board of trustees, a number of intricate problems were confronted 
and brought to a successful issue. One of these was the lowering to 
grade of the Pacific Electric railway's track on Brand Boulevard. 
This was accomplished only after many conferences with the railroad 
officials, and by the firm and persistent course adopted by the gov- 
erning body of the city, acting generally through the chairman of 
the board and the city attorney. The successful venture of the city 
into municipal ownership in the distribution of light and power, was 
accomplished during this era. In 1918, Mr. White was elected to the 
state legislature on the Republican ticket, and re-elected to the same 
office in 1920. During his first term he was chairman of the com- 
mittee on mileage, and a member of the committees on ways and 
means, education, banking, oil industries, labor and capital. During 
the second term was chairman of the committee on governmental 
efficiency and economy, and a member of the committees on re-ap- 
portionment, ways and means, attaches, civil services, labor and 
capital. He was opposed to the King tax bill which was passed after 
a stormy battle had ensued, and which will go down in history as one 
of the hardest fought battles that ever took place in the State House. 

Mr. White is president of the Association for the Betterment of 
Public Service of Southern California ; an organization that seeks to 
place efficient and capable officers in public service. He is also treas- 
urer of the Federal Discount Corporation of California. He belongs 
to the Flinlridge Country Club; the Los Angeles Athletic Club; the 
Sons of the American Revolution; the military order. Loyal Legion of 
the United States; the fraternity. Delta Upsilon; the Glendale Cham- 


ber of Commerce; and represents the California Furniture Co. in the 
Lo3 Angeles Chamber of Commerce. In Philadelphia he was a mem- 
ber of the Union League Club. Fraternally, he is a Master Mason. 
Since 1905 Mr. White has made semi-annual business trips to New 
York City for his company, and is recognized as an authority of 
national importance on goods in his line; especially on oriental rugs. 
He delivers lectures at the University of Southern California on the 
oriental rug subject and also contributes articles for publication to 
the trade magazines. 

At Burbank, California, on August 31, 1901, Mr. White married 
Rosa A. Luttge, a native of Cook county, Illinois; daughter of Henry 
and Rosa (Wagner) Luttge. The Luttge family came to Southern 
California in 1893 and settled on a ranch at Burbank. Mrs. White is 
well known and prominent in club life in Glendale. .She is past presi- 
dent of the Glendale Federation of Parent-Teacher .Associations, 
secretary of the Glendale chapter of the American Red Cross, di- 
rector and past treasurer of the Tuesday Afternoon Club. She is a 
member of the Colorado Boulevard Parent-Teacher Association, 
which was the first of its kind in Glendale. She is a past president 
of the Columbus Avenue Parent-Teacher Association, of which she 
was also parliamentarian for two years. Mr. and Mrs. White have 
four children: John Robert 3d., a student in Stanford University; 
Douglas Ashbridge, a junior in Glendale Union High School; Ken- 
neth Ashbridge attends the intermediate school; and Gorden Ash- 
bridge attends the grade school. The family home is on Lexington 
Drive at North Orange Street, and is one of Glendale's attractive 

RoiiERT DiviNK, who passed from this life December 7, 1920, had 
been a resident of the valley since 1881, when he purchased a forty- 
six acre tract on San Fernando Road, and made that place his home 
until his death. He was a native of Ireland; born October 30, 1834, 
at Straben, Tyrone county; educated in the national schools; and 
grew to manhood on a farm. At the age of twenty-one he set sail 
on the "Great Western" from Liverpool, and after si.x weeks arrived 
at New York City. After a short stay in the city, where he visited 
relatives, he boarded the "Illinois" for the Isthmus of Panama, which 
he crossed on the railroad, then came up the Pacific on the "Golden 
Age," anchoring at San Francisco, January 15, 1856. He mined in 
California and Idaho for many years; was among the first hundred 
to enter Idaho, from the west, at the time of the Salmon River ex- 
citement. In 1867 he returned to Ireland via the Nicaragua. He 
spent several weeks renewing associations of youth, but, though 
loyal to his native land, returned to California firm in the faith that 
no region approached it, in opportunities afforded to men of energy 
and determination. During his visit in Ireland he secured and paid 
for a life rental of the old home place for his father and gave him 
the greater part of his cash ou hand, enabling the elderly gentle- 
man to live in very comfortable circumstances during his declining 


In 1881 he purchased a tract of land on San Fernando Road, which 
was partly set out to deciduous fruit trees and grape vines. He cleared 
off the rest of the land and built a modest residence the first year. The 
present home of the family at 3464 San Fernando Road, which was 
built in 1908, occujiies a site adjacent to their original residence. The 
acreage is still intact except for ten acres sold to the Coast Lumber 
Company, and land given to the city for Oxford Street. The ranch 
is leased to Japanese for the raising of garden truck. It is one of a few 
large close in properties left, and is very desirable for either residence 
or business sites. Mr. Devine was a Democrat, always active in the 
rank, serving on the election boards and as a delegate to conventions. 

.\t Los Angeles, on May 4, 1874, Mr. Devine married Ellinor 
Chapman, a native of Georgina. York count)'. Province of Ontario, 
Canada. She came to Los Angeles in 1868. They became the par- 
ents of six children: Janet, who died at the age of two years; Mar- 
garet, who died in her twenty-fourth year; Robert, who is a rancher 
at Owensmouth ; Lelia, who died at the age of thirty-si.x, and was an 
auditor in the employ of Parmalee Dohrmann Company, of Los An- 
geles, prior to her death ; Mable, who is at home with her mother and 
assumes the responsibility of the home; and Florence, who is a book- 
keeper in the employ of Andrew Jergens Company at Burbank. The 
family are members of the Episcopal Church. 

Edward Ulysses Emery has been a resident of Glendale since 
1906. He soon became a thorough Glendalian and has taken active 
and leading part in the development of the city. He furnished the 
name "Jewel City" which has been ado])ted as the popular name of 
Glendale. He was born September 9. 1865, at LeGrand, Marshall 
county, Iowa; a son of Jacob B. and Olive Maria (Dobson) Emery. 
His grandfather. John Emery, was a native of New York State. His 
father was born in Newark. New Jersey. The Emerys were pioneers 
in Ohio before going to Iowa, where his father was a pioneer farmer 
and wagon maker. The Dobsons are an old Virginia family and 
pioneered in Indiana before going to Tama county, Iowa, where they 
took up land, later known as Dobson Settlement. Mr. Emery's pa- 
rents were married at Tama county. Iowa. 

The subject of this sketch was the third of a family of six chil- 
dren. He received a common school education, and began his busi- 
ness career at the age of thirteen, by clerking in a general store in his 
home city. Later he accepted a similar position in a shoe store at 
Marshalltown. He was manager of a general mercantile store at Le- 
Grand, before becoming a traveling salesman for Hammond and Bene- 
dict, owners and proprietors of the LeGrand Flour Mills. He re- 
mained with them two years, then for five years held a like position 
with a Marshalltown wholesale grocery house, followed by a position 
of similar cai)acit>' with a wholesale tea and coffee house of Des 
Moines. In 190.^ he moved tf) Birmingham. .Mabama, where he took 
charge of the city business, and was assistant Iniyer for a large whole- 
sale grocery business for three years. 


In 1906 he came to Glendale wliere he has since resided and been 
active in the growth and development of the city. He was one of the 
incorporators of the city, and has been asked to serve as city trustee 
many times, but has always declined the honor. He was a charter 
member of the first Chaml)er of Commerce of Glendale, of which or- 
ganization he has been president, first to fill an unexpired term, and 
then for two succeeding terms. He was chairman of the water com- 
mission that fought for the municipal ownership of water works. He 
was a stockholder and director of the First National Bank for ten 
years, one of the organizers of the Glendale Savings Bank and of the 
First Savings Bank of which he has been a director and vice-president 
and was also one of the organizers and is president of the Citizens 
Building Company. Fraternally, he is a Scottish Rite Mason, an I''lk 
and a Past Patron of the Eastern Star. Politically, he is an old line 

Soon after coming to California he secured a position as sales 
manager with Newmark Brothers, coffee and tea importers and 
wholesalers, of Los Angeles, and has been in their employ ever since. 
In 1920 the business was reorganized and he was made general mana- 
ger. He is a member of the Commercial Board of Los Angeles. 

At LeGrande, Iowa, on March 12, 1890, Mr. Emery married Mary 
Martha Ferguson, a native of Ogle County, Illinois, a daughter of 
Phineas J. and Arabella (Richardson) Ferguson. Her grandmother 
Ferguson was the first white child born in Ogle County, where her 
parents also first saw the light of day. 

Mr. and Mrs. Emery are the parents of five children : Owen C, 
an attorney at law and Justice of the Peace for Burbank town- 
ship, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work ; Waunita May, 
now Mrs. John O. Eaton, supplemented her high school education by 
taking a course in music at the college of music, University of South- 
ern California. She is a member of Chapter L. of the P. E. O. ; Edward 
Gilbert is a high school graduate and is now a student at the Univer- 
-sity of Southern California, and a member of the fraternity Sigma Tau ; 
Josephine Latatia graduated from Glendale L^nion High School with 
the class of 1922; Olive Bell is a senior in the Glendale Union High 
School. Mrs. Emery is a past matron of Glen Eyrie Chapter Order 
Eastern Star, a trustee of the Ladies Auxiliary of the American Le- 
gion, a member of the Tuesday Afternoon Club, Chapter L. of the P. 
E. O., and is active in the Ladies Aid of the First Methodist Church. 
Mr. and Mrs. Emery served faithfully on all war auxiliary work dur- 
ing the World War. The family residence at 329 North Kenwood 
Street was liuill by Mr. l'2mery in UHO, at that time the farthest 
out of any residence on the street. 

David Henry Imler, who passed from this life March 12, 1913, 
was a brilliant scholar and a successful business man. He was re- 
markable for his wise judgment and keen foresight. He led a very ac- 
tive and useful life, giving freely of his time and substance to all 
worthy causes. 


Mr. Tmler was born October 31, 1863. at Bedford county. Penn- 
sylvania; son of Henry and Elizabeth (Harcleroad) Imler. His par- 
ents were American born. His father was a farmer and enlisted in the 
Civil War at the age of twenty-eight, serving with valor, and meeting 
death in action at the battle of Gettysburg. David H. Iniler was 
reared by his grandfather, Henry Imler, a merchant and farmer at 
Bedford. He graduated from high school at the age of fourteen and 
then went to South America with a party of men, where he engaged 
in the cattle business for three years. When a rebellion broke out in 
Argentine, the party returned with less than they had when they 
started out. He then came west, and at St. Joseph, Missouri, en- 
tered the employ of the Chicago & Rock Island railroad, and was 
with the civil engineers in construction work all the way to Colorado 
Springs. His services as an engineer proving valuable, he was re- 
tained for four years in different capacities, and was one of the en- 
gineers connected with the building of the railroad on Pikes Peak 
Later he worked on the construction of the Colorado Midland rail- 
road and tunnel. 

During all this time he was interested in grub staking and pros- 
pecting and met with the usual experiences of miners in alternate suc- 
cesses and reverses. With John Lane and J. E. Hunter as partners, 
they located the Orphan Bell grouj) on Bull Mountain, Crijjple 
Creek. Four claims were located and developed, and were sold for 
$450,000.00. They formed a company of which Mr. Imler was secre- 
tary, and developed other claims, maintaining an office in Colorado 
Springs. He was also interested in a brokerage business before he 
left for California in the fall of 1897. .Some time previous to his com- 
ing to California he purchased a three-acre tract of land in Tropico, 
without really knowing what the i)ro])erty was. There was a small 
house on the acreage, and one year prior to his coming, his father-in- 
law, James B. Hickman, with his daughter, Cora Hickman, came and 
took possession of the place. Mr. Imler built a modern two-story 
residence on the pro])erty at 336 West Park Avenue, which was named 
"Palm Villa," and is now the home of his widow. 

In California, Mr. Imler led a very useful and active life until 
his untimely death. Soon after coming here he became interested in 
mining at Cadis, California, and at Parker, Arizona. In 1900, when 
the Tro])ico Improvement Association was organized, he became its 
first president. He was an important member of the committee of 
Tropico and Glendale in the early agitation for the Pacific Electric 
railway. For a few years prior to 1908. Mr. Imler maintained an office 
in Los Angeles to take care of his mining, real estate and oil interests. 
In the fall of 1908, he made an extensive business trip East, attend- 
ing to many matters of impcjrtance, disposing of some of his mining 
and other interests, returning the following fall. Soon thereafter, he 
went to the Imperial Valley where he became prominently identified 
with the growth and development of that locality. He was one of the 
organizers and a director of the Farmers and Merchants Bank at Im- 
perial ; helped organize and was the first president of the La Verne 
school district ; was president of a water company ; and owner of sev- 


eral hundred acres of land which he improved and used tor the grow- 
ing of cotton, alfalfa and barley. From the time he first went to the 
valley until his death, which occurred suddenly while directing his 
employees, he spent most of his time there, returning home only at 
intervals t(5 be with his family. 

Mr. Imler was a Scottish Rite Mason. He was made a Mason at 
Colorado Springs, later demitting from that lodge to become a charter 
member of Unity Lodge. No. 368, at Glendale. He was a Past Patron 
of Glen Eyrie Chapter Order Eastern Star. In 1903 and 1906 he was 
superintendent of the clay department at the Art Tile Comi)any, at 
Tropico. He was a Republican, very active in the ranks at Colorado 
Springs, but not as an office seeker. 

At Los Angeles. California, on November 17. 1895, Mr. Imler 
married Adelaide Hickman, a daughter of James Bailey and Eugenia 
Adelaide Louise (Wilson) Hickman; a native of Evansville, Indiana, 
where she graduated from high school and taught school. In Glen- 
dale, Mrs. Imler has been prominent and active in lodge and club life. 
She is a Past Matron of Glen Eyrie Chapter Order Eastern Star, a 
Past President of the Women's Relief Corps, a member of both the 
Tuesday Afternoon and the Thursday .\fternoon Clubs, and Mschsle- 
holtzia Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution. Of 
all these orders she is a charter member. She also belongs to the 
W^omen's State Patriotic Institute. 

There are two children : Eugene Henry and Marjorie Adelaide. 
Eugene is a civil engineer in the employ of the Standard Oil Com- 
pany at Bakersfield. He graduated from the California Institute of 
Technology, with the class of 1917, having previously graduated from 
the California Military School of Los Angeles, and the Los Angeles 
High School. He is a member of the Fraternity Sigma Alpha Pi. On 
May 17, 1917, he enlisted in the Radio Transmission Service while a 
student at college, and after his graduation was sent to Camp Alfred 
\'ail. He remained in the service until September 26, 1920, and was 
stationed in many different places and serving most of the time in 
the Signal and the Engineering Corps. At Camp Humphries he was 
assigned to the work of re-surveying the old Fairfax estate, which 
was originally surveyed by George Washington. Many of the old 
stakes were found, and the original survey found correct. At Marsh- 
field, Oregon, on February 22, 1920. he married Florence Flannagan. 
They have a babj' girl, Adelaide Jeanne Imler. 

Marjorie Adelaide graduated with the class of 1922 from the Uni- 
versity of California, at Berkeley, having taken the political science 
and educational course. She had previously graduated from the Trop- 
ico Grammar and the Glendale Union High Schools. She is a mem- 
ber of the Sigma Kappa Sorority. 

Dr. Jessie .A.. Rl'ssell, recognized as one of the most notable 
women of the state, is a native of Chicago, Illinois. She is a daughter 
of the late Robert Logan and Lena Belle (Mackay) Jack. Her father 
was a native of .'\yrshire, Scotland, and her mother was a daughter of 
Duncan and Jessie Mackay, pioneer settlers of Illinois. 


Dr. Russell attended a private school for girls during early girl- 
hood, later taking a teachers' course at the State Normal School, then 
the University of Chicago, where she received the degree of A. B. 
She then went to the Boston Conservatory of Music and Oratory, 
where she completed, with honor, a three-year course in vocal and in- 
strumental music and oratory. 

In 1902 Dr. Russell matriculated in the S. S. Still College of Os- 
teopathy and Surgery at Des Moines, Iowa; and upon her graduating 
from a three year course there, completed a post graduate course in 
medicine in Chicago. She came to Los .Xngeles and maintained of- 
fices there and in Long Beach. In the practice of her profession she 
was most successful, winning national distinction and honor by being 
the first osteopath in the United States to receive recognitiim from 
leading life insurance companies. She was appriinted medical exam- 
iner for four companies of national prominence, holding these ap- 
pointments imtil ill health compelled retirement from professional 
activity. After regaining her health she studied law at the University 
of Southern California and planned to follow that profession, but in 
1917. because of her activity and popularity in several organizations, 
she was elected state president of the California Congress of Mothers 
and Parent-Teacher Assuciations for a term of three years. With the 
nation just entering the World W'ar. Dr. Russell found herself elected 
to four of the most important positions held by women of California; 
including, beside the state presidency, chairmanship of the Los Ange- 
les county Women's Council of Defense; vice-])residency of the Wom- 
en's Legislative Council, of California; and vice-presidency of the 
Women's City Clul), of Los .\ngeles. For the ensuing three years she 
devoted all of her leisure time to public work. 

In 1909, Dr. Russell came to Glendale, where her ability was at 
once recognized. She was the first president of the Colorado Boule- 
vard Parent-Teacher Association and also of the Parent-Teacher F"ed- 
eration upon its organization, being elected to these offices for three 
consecutive terms. Later she was elected president of the Interme- 
diate Parent-Teacher .Association for two terms. She organized, and 
was the first president of the (ilendale Choral Club; the first real co- 
ordination of musical activity in the city. .Always active in civic 
affairs, she has held numerous offices in various civic organizations. 
She is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, chairman of its civic 
committee, a former vice-president of that organization and secretary 
of the park commission. She has been chairman of civics of the Cal- 
ifornia Federation of Women's Clubs, and of the (ilendale Tuesday 
Afternoon and the Thursday .\fternoon Clubs. She is a member of 
the Friday Morning Club, of Los .Angeles, a charter member of the 
Women's City Club, of Los .Angeles, and also of the Women's Re- 
publican Club, of Southern California, of which she is vice-president. 
She held the office of National Chairman of Legislation of the Na- 
tional Congress of Mothers and Parent-Teacher .Associations for sev- 
eral years, during which time she made numerous trips to Washing- 
ton, b. C, and lectured in most of the states in the Union, her services 
as a speaker being in great demand. She is an active member of over 


a score of organizations including the College Women's Club, the 
South Side Ebell, the Glendale Music Club. Order Eastern Star, 
White Shrine and others. 

Politically, Dr. Russell is a progressive Republican. She was ac- 
tive in the suffrage campaigns, and alwaj's has been active in city, 
county and state campaigns. In 1916. she received a distinction never 
before accorded a woman in the nation; that of having a committee, 
including the state chairman of the Republican party from an eastern 
state, come to California and personally extend her an invitation to go 
East, to assist in organizing the campaign. The many interesting 
phases offered proved so alluring, that Dr. Russell accepted and spent 
six weeks in the work. Keenly alert to the needs of the hour. Dr. 
Russell has been a potent factor in women's activities throughout 

In 1898, she was married to I. H. Russell, an attorney of Minne- 
apolis, Minnesota. They have one son, Harold Julian, now attending 
the State University. 

Frank L. Muhlem.\n became a resident of Glendale in 1906. He 
immediately interested himself in civic matters and has served the 
city in various capacities; first as city attorney, then as trustee, and 
later as mayor. He was chairman of the charter commission that 
drafted the charter submitted to the voters of Glendale in 1912. and 
was also a member of the charter commission that drafted the present 
charter of the City of Glendale. 

He is the son of Jacob J. Muhleman. now of Riverside county, 
California. He was born in the state of Ohio, where his ancestors 
settled in the early days. Mr. Muhleman is a lawyer with offices in 
Los Angeles. He is married and has two children. He is now re- 
siding near San Fernando, California. 

Edward Ayers, who passed from this life April 30. 1921, was 
born August 19. 1837. at Danville. Indiana. His parents were natives 
of Maryland, and of old Southern stock. At the age of thirteen he 
was apprenticed to learn the shoemaking trade, at which he worked 
in his home city until he was twenty years old. He went to New 
York city, and from that port took a steamer for the Isthmus of Pan- 
ama. Crossing the isthmus by rail, he boarded the steainer "John F. 
Stevens" for San Francisco, and arrived there after a perilous journey. 
After a short stay in the Bay City he went to Sacramento, where he 
worked at his trade, remaining for two and one half years, then went 
to Yreka. California, and mined until 1861. He followed the t;()ld 
rush into Idaho, and spent about a year in the Clearwater Mountains 
of the Gem State before going to The Dalles, Oregon. Here he re- 
sumed his trade, saved his money, and again went to Idaho, opening 
up a shoe store in Silver City, which business he conducted for nearly 
eight years. Making his way overland to San Francisco, he set out 
for Portland, Oregon, on the same steamer that brought him up from 
the isthmus in 1857. At Portland he worked at his trade in connec- 
tion with conducting a retail shoe store, remaining there until 1878. 


He returned u> San Francisco, and because of somewhat delicate 
health he spent some time recuperating^. 

At San Francisco. September 17. 1881. Mr. Ayers married Mary 
Mactinney. She, a native of New York City, was a milliner before 
coming to California with friends in 1878. In the spring of 188.3 they 
came to Southern Califcirnia. and on .Xugust twenty-fifth of the same 
year they bought a twelve and one-half acre tract in Tropico. at $80 
an acre. It was the second tract sold, and the first to be improved 
with streets, sidewalks, etc. Mr. Ayers opened up a shoe shop in Los 
Angeles, and Mrs. Ayers assumed charge of the ranch, setting out 
several hundred apricot, pear, plum, quince and apple trees. After 
growing fruit for several years the trees were nearly all taken up, 
because of low prices, and the acreage planted to grape vines. In 1884 
the property was subdivided and put on the market as the Ayers tract. 
It is all sold except thirteen lots on East Palmer Street. The)' have 
given in all. three acres for the building of streets, fifteen foot alleys, 
and to the Pacific Electric and Salt Lake railroads. They built a 
home the first year, and since then have built six other residences, 
some of which have been sold. The sub-dividing, selling of lots, and 
the building of residences were all done under the supervision of 
Mrs. Ayers. while Mr. .\yers was attending to his business in Los 
Angeles. He journeyed to Los Angeles and returned each day for 
over thirty years. In the days before the Pacific Electric was built, 
his mode of travel was a horse and Iniggy. He was very much in- 
terested in the growth and development of the valley all his life, 
and willingly supported all movements for the general good of the 

Mr. Ayers was a Master Mason and an Odd Fellow, having 
joined the orders as a young man. His first vote was cast at Yreka, 
California, for Abraham Lincoln, and throughout his long life he 
gave his supjiort to the Republican jjarty. In his many years of travel 
about the countrj' he collected hundreds of varieties of minerals and 
petrified woods, which together with other specimens from all parts 
of the world, makes it one of the most valuable collections of its kind 
in the countrj-. This collection and five hundred and fifty arrow 
points, his family has donated to the Southwest Museum of Los 
Angeles. Mr. and Mrs. Ayres became the parents of three children : 
Wesley John, who died at the age of eighteen months, was the first 
white boy born in Tropico; Evalena, who is the wife of C. C. Melrose, 
of Bakersfield, California, was the first white girl born in Tropico, 
now an accomplished pianist and vocalist, having studied under the 
best teachers in Los Angeles; Edward, who is a well known actor, 
has played on the legitimate stage and also for the moving pictures. 
He was formerly agent for the National Cash Register Company, at 
Sidney, Australia, and prior to that was a sailor for seven years, 
during which time he sailed around the world three times. Mrs. 
Ayres is a splendid example of a business woman, and is held in high 
regard and esteem by her large circle of friends. She is an active 
member of the Thursday Afternoon Club and of the Kebekahs. She 
resides in a new duplex on Palmer street at Glendale avenue. 


Daniel Webster was born at Conway, Carroll county, New 
Hampshire, on December 1, 1836, a son of Samuel and Naamah 
(Swan) Webster. The Webster family is of Scotch-Irish ancestry 
and has been in America since the middle of the eighteenth century. 
Mr. Webster's grandfather. John Webster, was advanced tn the ranl< 
of colonel during the Revolutionary War. and in the French and In- 
dian wars fought under General John Stark. His grandmother. Mary 
(Sterling) Webster, was a niece of General Sterling and also of Gen- 
eral John Stark. Samuel Webster was a second cousin of Daniel 
Webster, the illustrious American statesman, jurist and orator. 
Naamah Swan attended Fryburg Academy when Daniel Webster was 
one of the facult)' of that institution. 

Mr. Webster was reared on his father's farm, and after attending 
the district school, went to Fryburg .\cademy, at Fryburg, Maine, 
which was only a short distance from Conway, New Hampshire. 
After finishing his course at Fryburg Academy, he was employed in a 
carriage and wagon factory at Gilmanton for three years. He then 
went to Woburn, Alassachusetts. where he was employed in the man- 
ufacture of leather goods for several years; in later years acting as 
foreman. In 1860. .\Ir. Webster went to Osage county, Kansas, where 
he pre-empted one hundred and sixty acres of government land, im- 
proved the same and remained there for eighteen years. There he was 
one of the organizers of a school district that was twenty-four miles 
long. Selling his Osage county farm he went to Lebo. Coffy county, 
Kansas, and conducted a general mercantile store and farmed until he 
sold out in 1884 and came to Tropico. He purchased four acres of 
land, his present residence at 1012 South Central avenue occupying a 
part of the original purchase. In 1904 he went to Imperial Valley, 
where he and his oldest son each homesteaded a cptarter section of 
land west of El Centro. They resided there a part of each year until 
1914, when they sold their holdings and returned to their home in 

Mr. Webster was a member of the first board of trustees of the 
city of Tropico; was re-elected and served the second term as presi- 
dent of the board. Mr. Webster married Hannah Sleeper Smith at 
Concord, Massachusetts, December 15, 1857, a native of Gilmanton, 
New Hampshire, and of an old New England family. Their children 
are: Fred, who is the city clerk of Burbank; Josephine, who married 
Griffeth O. Hughes, passed away in 1903, leaving a family of five 
children; Samuel, who died in Arizona of typhoid fever at the age of 
thirty-two; and Jose])h, who is purchasing agent in the light and 
power department of the city of Glendale. 

Mr. and Mrs. Webster are members of the Second Adventist 
Church of Los Angeles. On December 15, 1917, they celebrated their 
sixtieth wedding anniversary. Both have been blessed with good 
health all their lives, and are exceptiftJially well preserved for their 
years. Mrs. Webster is one year younger than her husband. They 
have eight grand children and nine great-grand children. 


William E. Evans, of the law firm of Evans & Pearce, Van Nuys 
Building, Los Angeles, was born in London, Kentiuky. December 14, 
1877, a son of P. M. and Vina Catherine (Jones) Evans. He is de- 
scended from old Southern families on both his father's and mother's 
side. His parents reside at London. Kentucky. 

Mr. Evans was reared on his father's farm, and after graduating 
from the pul)lic schools, enrolled at the Sue Bennett Memorial Col- 
lege, where he took a general course. He read law and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1903, and practiced law in Kentucky until he 
came to Glendale in 1910, where he has since resided. He was asso- 
ciated with Mattison B. Jones in the practice of his profession, with 
ofifices in Los Angeles, until 1917, since which time he has been asso- 
ciated with .Mbert D. Pearce. 

In April, 1911, he was made city attorney of Glendale, and filled 
that office for nearly ten consecutive j'ears. These ten years in the 
life of the city, constituted one of the most important eras in the 
history of the municipality, and the work of Mr. Evans as city at- 
torney was of inestimable value. During that time the city took 
over the management of the water and electrical distribution, thus 
embarking upon an experiment in the ownershij) of public utilities 
by a municipality. The move was fraught with more risk than sub- 
sequently assumed by other cities with a large numl^er of precedents 
to guide them; yet. the enterprise was a success, and its freedom 
from embarrassment and expensive litigation, which in some cases 
follow closely upon the heels of similar ventures, was evidence of 
the soundness of the City Attorney's judgment and his knowledge 
of the law. There were also a number of intricate questions handled 
by him during his incumbency of office, dealing with the railroad, 
gas and telephone companies, which were carried out with marked 
success and resulted in ad\antage to the city. He ai)peared on a num- 
ber of occasions as the representative of the city before the Railroad 
Commission and the Supreme Court of the state, with conspicuous 

He is associated with J. G. Huntly in develojjing real estate, 
putting on high class residential sub-divisions on Kenneth Road. 
The new building occupied by the Pendroy Dry Goods Company was 
built and is owned by Huntly <.K: Evans. It is Cllendale's most i)re- 
tentious building, the cost exclusive of location, approximating 
$150,000.00. Mr. Evans is a leader in the ranks of the Republican 
party of Los Angeles county. He is chairman of the Republican Con- 
gressional Committee of the Sixty-first Assembly District, and a 
member of the Republican state and count}' Central committees. 
Of the latter he is first vice ])resident. Without his making any cam- 
paign for it his name was placed in nomination for United States 
Congressman, at the same convention held in Pasadena in February, 
1922 that nominated Mr. Lincberger. He received sixty-six votes on 
the first ballot to appro.ximately ninety each for both Mr. Line- 
berger and Mr. Flower, who had made vigorous campaigns. Me 
refused to allow his name to appear on the next ballot on which Mr. 
Lineberger was nominated. During the World War Mr. Evans was 

/ / lycZc^^iUxyi^ 

i. iOo 


a member of the legal advisory board for his district. He is the 
attorney for, and was one of the organizers of, the Glendale State 
Bank. He was attorney for the Rank of Glendale at the time it was 
taken over by the Los Angeles Trust and Savings Bank (now Pacific- 
Southwest). He is also attornej' for the Glendale National Bank, and 
was one of the organizers and vice-president of the South Side State 
Bank, in Los Angeles. Fraternally, he is a Knight Templar Mason 
and Shriner, and an Elk. For needed recreation he holds a member- 
ship in the Flintridge Country Club. He belongs to the Glendale 
Chamber of Commerce and the City Club of Los Angeles. 

In the spring of 1907. Mr. Evans journeyed to Los Angeles from 
Kentucky, and on .\pril eighteenth, married Cecil Corinne Smith, also 
a native of Kentucky. She is a daughter of James Dudley and Amer- 
ica (Ewell) Smith. Her father was a lawyer, who, although his ca- 
reer was cut short by death in 1900, while still a young man, had risen 
to prominence not only in his profession, but also as a capitalist. Her 
mother was a daughter of Colonel Richard Leighton Ewell. a veteran 
of the Union army in the Civil War, and of the Virginia branch of the 
Ewell family. The Ewell family is of Scotch ancestry, and was 
founded in America about the middle of the seventeenth century. The 
name in Scotland was spelled Yuille. In America, the name, like 
many other family names, in due time, by some of its members, came 
to be spelled as pronounced, Ewell. The Ewell family is one of 
America's largest and most illustrious. Its name is found in all walks 
of life, and not least is it mentioned in the military annals of the 

Mrs. Evans began her education in the public schools of Louis- 
ville, Kentucky, her parents having moved there when she was nine 
years old. Residing there until the death of her father, she. with her 
mother, came to Los Angeles and continued her education until she 
was in her junior year at the Los .Angeles High School, w hen busi- 
ness called her mother back to Kentucky. She matriculated at Ham- 
ilton College. Lexington. Kentucky, for a course in literature and dra- 
matic art. In 1906. she and her mother again came to Los ;\ngeles 
to live. At present she is an active member of the Tuesday Afternoon 
Club, and was a member of its board of directors for three years. Mrs. 
Evans was one of the organizers, and is a director, of the Glendale 
Chapter of the American Red Cross, and was the first chairman of the 
hospital garment department of that organization. She is a member 
of Glen Eyrie Chapter, Order Eastern Star, and the Ebell Club of 
Los Angeles. She belongs to the Christian church. Mr. and Mrs. 
Evans have one daughter, Catherine Cecil, age nine years. The fam- 
ily home is now at 333 North Orange street, but early in 1923, Mr. 
Evans will build an Italian type residence on Cumberland road, Ken- 
neth Heights, Glendale, California. 

S.\MUEL Littleton Borthick, who passed from this life on May 
13, 1918, had been a resident of Glendale since 1896. He was born 
December 18, 1837, in Johnson county, Missouri, where his father, 
James Borthick, a native of New York state, was a pioneer of 1832. 


Mr. Borthick's grandfather, John Borthick. a native of Ireland, emi- 
grated to America in 1795 and settled in New York state. Mr. Bor- 
thick's mother was Mary (Arah) Borthick, a native of Lexington. 
Kentucky. Samuel Borthick was the fourth of a family of twelve 
children. He attended the district schools of Johnson county and 
then farmed until he was about thirty years old, when he went to 
Warrensburg, and engaged in a mercantile business, remaining there 
until he came to Glendale. He traded property in Warrensburg, for 
a house and lot in Tropico on Park Avenue, between Brand Boule- 
vard and Central Avenue, and made that place his home for some 
time. Later he bought a fifteen acre tract on Windsor Road and gave 
his time to growing berries. He began selling his acreage for home 
sites and soon all of his time \\as given to dealings in real estate, 
which business he followed until his death. Being honest and 
straightforward in his business dealings he soon built ^^^ a large 
clientele and was recognized as a realtor of more than ordinary conse- 
(|uence and ability, and for many years was considered the best posted 
realtor on valuations in the San Fernando valley. He was a charter 
member of Unity Lodge No. 368, F. & A. M., and at the time of his 
death had been a Master Mason for over fifty years. He was active 
in the Central Christian church, of which he had been a trustee for 
many years. He became the owner of much real estate both vacant 
and improved, and was ever interested in the development and 
growth of Glendale, giving his time and substance to all worthy 
causes, truly benefiting the city by his residence and work. 

At Warrensburg, Missouri, Mr. Borthick married Eliza Cleve- 
land, a native of Kentucky. They became the parents of eight chil- 
dren, all of whom arc living, except Ray A. Borthick who passed away 
in December, 1922, and who was one of Glendale's highly respected 
citizens. Those living are as follows: Sally, wife of Ira Tucker, 
of Pomona, California; W^ O., of Glendale; Edna, wife of George 
Byram, of Watsonnville, California; Frank, of San Francisco; Nona, 
wife of E. K. Daniels, of Glendale; Miss Fredonia, of Los Angeles; 
and Ruby, wife of Logan Bowen. of Modesto, California. 

Jesse S. Stixi:. The early histor)- of the Stine family in America 
dates back to the early days of the colony of V^irginia, when three 
brothers settled there. They were natives of Germany, and history 
mentions the name in connection with the reformation and down 
through the ages since that time. The year that the subject of this 
review was born finds his parents on a farm in Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania. His father was I. D. Stine and his mother was Rebecca 
(Coe) Stine. His father was a native of Pennsylvania, and his mother 
of Ohio. His father, early in life, became a contractor and builder and 
continued in that business for many years, in the East. He was born 
and reared in Ohio and Indiana; making Los .Xngeles his home after 
coming to Southern California in 1885. He first came to California 
in 1880 but remained only a short time. In 1895 he retired from the 
contracting business, and was then employed by the city of Los An- 
geles; first as a deputy zanjert) and later as deputy superintendent of 


streets. He is now a resident of Pasadena, where he has lived re- 
tired for several years. He is a member of the G. A. R. and served 
with the 31st Ohio Infantry in the Civil War. 

Jesse E. Stine was born at Fremont, Sandusky county, Ohio. At 
the age of seventeen he had served three years as an apprentice 
plumber, after which as a journeyman plumber he traveled through 
many of the states. In 18S2 he joined Co. F., U. S. Cavalry, at Ft. 
Custer and remained in the army for three years, serving all through 
the Northwest. He then joined his father in Los Angeles and was in 
partnership with him until 1892, when he became a plasterer on his 
own account. 

In 1887 he came to Glendale and has resided here ever since. In 
1896 he and his brotlier-in-law, Wesley H. Bullis. formed a partner- 
ship as plasterers and bricklaying contractors which lasted for twenty 
years without any dissension. E)uring this time they were leaders in 
their line of business in Glendale, Tropico and vicinity. In 1887 Mr. 
Stine bought a five-acre tract in what was then known as West Glen- 
dale, his residence at 514 West Broadway, which he built in 1908, oc- 
cupies a part of this original purchase, of which he still owns three 
acres. Fraternally he is a Master Mason and an Elk. Politically he 
is a Republican. For many years he was a member of the school 
board of West Glendale. 

At Tropico, on June 15, 1888, Mr. Stine married Tessie Bullis, a 
daughter of Philip Bullis, one of the earliest pioneers of the San Fer- 
nando velley. They have one son. Richard, who resides at La Cres- 
enta, and is associated with his father in the plastering business. He 
married V^arnice Gilkin, and they are the parents of twin boys, Philip 
and Jack. Mrs. Stine died in 1910. Mr. Stine married for his second 
wife Ursula M. Goldsworthy, of Los .'Kngeles, a daughter of John (i. 
Goldsworthy, a pioneer surveyor of that city. 

Jesse Pawling Lukens. More than twenty-nine years ago a deli- 
cate man who was told by the doctors "l)ack East" that he could not 
live two months if he stayed in that climate, arrived in California. 
His having a letter of introduction to a gentleman living in Glendale 
brought him to this neighborhood. The Southern Pacific having 
given the impetus to the settlement of Southern California by com- 
pleting its line from the north, the large Spanish land grants were 
already sold and subdivided into ten and twenty acre ranches. Money 
being scarce at that time most of the land was sold on easy terms. 
The ranch industry was having a boom and our tenderfoot caught 
the fever and bought ten acres of sage-brush and cactus, on time. 
The land was not cheap, as the price paid was $250 an acre. Nursery 
stock was scarce. From a ranch nearby he obtained the seedlings 
that had dropped and by hand squeezed out the seeds and planted 
them in boxes, and after grubbing out the sage brush and cactus, he 
set out the small plants in rows for nursery stock. The plants grew 
and thrived and in due time were set out for the orchard. He became 
ambitious and bought ten acres at the same ])rice and on the same 
terms. He was now in debt $5,000. He was also healthy and happy, 


and the work was fascinating. This second ten acres he sold as soon 
as the trees were large enough and this helped lessen the indebted- 
ness. He did this several times, buying bare land and setting out his 
own nursery stock, paying all the way from $350 to $600 an acre. 
In each case he profited. Finally buying ten acres he set out to 
lemons, and kept, with twelve original acres set out to oranges. 
The first orange crop yielded $5.00. The first crop of lemons $25.00. 
It was a long time before the grove began to pay expenses. But little 
by little, year by year, the gain was greater. Increased yield meant 
greater expenses. Dry years meant more water. Much of the coveted 
gain went into a hole in the ground, and machinery. But finally, 
after many ups and downs (principally downs), strict economy, pure 
grit, pluck, and industry won. The goal was reached, the land paid 
for, the trees still beautiful and thrifty. There were many discourage- 
ments and anxious days and nights but he never lost his cheerful, 
hopeful spirit; and his honesty and happy disposition gained for 
him good friends and true, who helped him over some of the hard 
places. He stands today on Easy street an example of sturdy indus- 
try and pluck, a credit to his pioneer ancestors, who came to the new 
world to settle over two hundred and fifty-eight years ago, and who 
left behind them as heritage the sturdiness of constitution which 
triumphed over disease, with the help of the Glendale climate. 

Mr. Lukens was born near Philadelphia, in Delaware county. 
Pennsylvania. His father was Abraham C. Lukens, born in the 
same vicinity. Abraham was the son of Levi Lukens, born in 1770, 
of the fourth generation of the Lukens families, which came to Amer- 
ica with the William Penn colonies for the sake of civil and religious 
liberty. The old house where he lived while in active business, and 
the barn and part of the old tannery are still standing at Penfield. a 
suburb of Philadelphia. The home which he built for his later j^ears 
is still standing and is kept intact, and is now known as the Samuel 
Hibbert property. Levi Lukens was a great business man in his day; 
he had "pit wagons" as they were called, hauling merchandise be- 
tween Philadelphia and Pittsburgh. His horses were famous, so fat 
that they could scarcely walk. 

Levi married Mary Jones, of Juniata county, Pennsylvania, April 
17, 1787, at Haverford Meeting. Abraham, the youngest child, was 
born in 1814. He married Mary Pawling, a descendant of the well 
known Pawling family of New York and Pennsylvania. The first 
Henry Pawling came to .America in 1664 in the Duke of York expe- 
dition. He was a captain in the King's .Army. After fighting the en- 
emies of the King, he, "having behaved himself well, and as became a 
Souldyer" was given his discharge April 18, 1670, "and has now our 
consent to follow his private affayres without any further lett or in- 

He was given two grants of land, one in Pennsylvania, and one 
in New York. He married and settled in New York. In 1720, when 
his two sons, John and Henry, were old enough, he sent them to the 
Pawling grant in Pennsylvania, where they settled. They were the 
progenitors of many hundreds of the Pawlings family scattered 


throughout this country and Canada. The location of this tract may 
be seen on the map. pages 158 and 159, Vol. II, of Fisher's "The Dutch 
and Quaker Colonies of America," where two lots are marked H. 
Pawling. Pawling's ford and Pawling's bridge in the Perkiomen 
region were named after this family. John Pawling, son of the first 
Henry, served in the militia during the colonial period holding the 
rank of Lieutenant, in 1711. When he came to Pennsylvania with 
his brother, he became owner of a large tract of land on the Perkiomen 
Creek, with mills, slaves and considerable personal property. This 
property became famous in Revolutionary history as the camp ground 
of Washington's Army before and after the battle of Germantown. 
Manj' of the Pawling family were prominently identified with St. 
James Perkiomen Church and served as wardens and vestrymen. 
Local history states that the Pawling family was a large and influen- 
tial one and honorably identified with the affairs of Pennsylvania. 
Mary Pawling was a direct descendant of John Pawling. (The above 
notes were taken from "Genealogy of the Pawling Family" by Kath- 
erine Wallace Kitts.) 

The subject of this sketch was the seventh child of Abraham and 
Mary Lukens. He received his education at the Chester Academy, as 
his father was living at that time in Chester township, Delaware 
county, Pennsylvania. Mr. Lukens suffered for several years with 
throat trouble, and finally left Chester, December 23, 1883, for Cali- 
fornia, arriving in Los Angeles, January 1, 1884. There had been no 
rain that fall and he thought it the driest and most uninteresting 
country he had ever seen, but in January the rain began and for the 
next six months he spent the loneliest, dreariest, time of his life. That 
was the year of the floods, when forty inches of rain were recorded. 
The whole country from Los Angeles to the sea was one vast lake, 
while the Southern Pacific was washed out from Burbank to Los 
.\ngeles. For years afterwards the tops of cars could be seen sticking 
out of the sand as they were never salvaged. 

He called with a letter of introduction, on Mr. J. C. Sherer as soon 
as he arrived but did not see him again for many months. In June 
by the advice of phj'sicians he bought a horse and a hunter's outfit 
and started on a trip "into the land of nowhere." He went north 
through Santa Barbara and up the coast as far as the Oregon line, and 
down the middle of the state. His adventures were many and varied. 
The roads were only trails. Many days would pass when he wouldn't 
see a human being. Sometimes he had to wait until the tide went out 
before he could pass some rocky point. Reaching a city he would put 
his horse out to pasture and rest himself for a week or two. He 
stayed in San Francisco for two months. In returning he came 
through the inland valleys. Reaching Yosemite, he left his horse at 
the entrance and went into the valley on foot. He reached Saugus on 
Christmas eve in time to eat a fine Christmas dinner, and was in Los 
Angeles the next day with his throat trouble all cured, .\bout Janu- 
ary 1, 1885, Mr. Sherer met him on the street and asked him to go 
out to Glendale. W^hen he came to California he was in partnership 
with his brothers in the flour, feed and hay business and of course ex- 


pected to go back to it some time, but never did. later severing his 
connection with the firm. 

Feeling so much better he stayed with Mr. Sherer in Glendale 
and worked for him. As everyone was bu3ing land at that time, he 
bought a lot on Pearl Street, Los Angeles, and sjient all he made in 
paying for it. which was the beginning of his land ownership in Cali- 
fornia. He never desired to leave the valley after his arrival. During 
the boom in the late '80"s he and Mr. Sherer went in the pipe laying 
business, all the water before that time having run in open ditches. 
Mr. Sherer withdrew after a time, but Mr. Lukens continued in the 
business for many years, and laid miles of pipe for the Southern Pa- 
cific, the Kern County Land and Water Co., the Sespe Land and 
Water Co., the Azuzu Land and \\'ater Company, the Consolidated 
Mines of Arizona, and many others. Some of the pipe systems he in- 
stalled are still in use. 

At the time of his arrival in Verdugo the only postofifice in the 
valley was in a store kept by S. L Mayo, just north of Mr. Sherer's 
place. The mail was taken to Los Angeles by carrier who came down 
from La Canada. During the boom days of 1887 the postofifice was 
moved to a building at the southwest corner of V^erdugo Road and 
Fourth Street (now Broadway). In 1890, Mr. Maj-o left Verdugo 
and sold his store to Miss R. ^L Sherer, and Mr. Lukens was ap- 
pointed postmaster, John Wanamaker being at that time Postmaster 
General. In 1894 Mr. Lukens resigned as postmaster and the oftice 
was moved to Cohen's store, northwest corner of Verdugo Road and 
Sixth Street (now Colorado). This was the only public office he ever 
held, having all he could do to attend to his own affairs. 

On August 24, 1893, Mr. Lukens married Eoline V. Stratton at 
the residence of Dr. George Worrall in Santa Clara, California. Mrs. 
Lukens is a descendant of pre-colonial Quaker ancestry. Their only 
child, Horace Pawling Lukens, was born in Philadelphia, September 
28, 1897, and came to California with his mother in June. 1898. He 
attended the Glendale public schools and was graduated from the 
Glendale Union High School in June, 1916. From there he went to 
Throop College of Technology until 1918, when he resigned to enlist 
in the Navy; but not being able to register until September 12, 1918. 
the armistice was signed before he could get in. He worked at the 
shipyards while waiting to register. On February 9, 1918, he mar- 
ried Ruth Grey of Glendale. They have become the parents of two 
children : Martha Eoline Lukens and Rodney Pawling Lukens. 

Id.\ M. Waite has been a teacher in the city schools of Glendale 
since 1903. This gives her the record of being the oldest teacher in 
years of service spent in the Glendale city schools. She is a native of 
Chicago, Illinois, a daughter of Loring F. and Olive A. (LeVake) 
Waite. Her father was a native of Vermont, of an old Yankee family 
and her mother was a descendant of John LeN'ake. a I'Venchman, who 
came to America with Marquis de Lafayette and served under him in 
the Revolutionar)- War. Loring F. \\'aite went to Chicago in 1842 
where he became a pioneer dry goods merchant. The big fire that 


j^ "^^ 



^1 1 





burned the greater part of Chicago did not reach his business, and he 
gave succor to many hundreds of sufferers. 

Miss Waite attended the public schools of Chicago, after which 
she graduated from the Chicago Normal School, where she was 
trained by Ella Flagg Young, a teacher of national repute. After 
teaching several terms in the Clark, Wells and Lincoln schools, 
Chicago, she went to New York City for an indefinite stay and re- 
mained four years, enjoying a greatly needed rest and taking part in 
the social life of the city. Returning to Chicago she did private 
tutoring until 1903. when she came to Glendale and accepted a posi- 
tion in the old Broadway school, retaining it until 1909. when she or- 
ganized the Colorado Street School, of which she has since been 

During the World War, Miss Waite was active in au.xiliary war 
work and was chairman of the high and city school teachers war ac- 
tivities. Her work in connection with the draft board in taking 
charge of compilation of occupational cards for the industrial index 
file was noticed in Washington, D. C. and under date of March 21, 
1918, the following letter was sent her from the office of the Provost 
Marshal General : 
Dear Madam : 

In view of the report received from the chairman of Local Board 
No. 7 for Los Angeles county, the Provost Marshal General desires to 
express to you personally his thanks for your prompt, efficient, and 
patriotic service and sacrifice in taking charge of the compilation of 
occupational cards for the industrial index file in this office. This 
task is at present the most vital link in the process of sending our 
army to France fully equipped for its task. Your share in the ac- 
complishment of the necessary work entitles you to the greatest grat- 
itude of the Nation as one who has done her part faithfully and ef- 

By direction of General Crowder, 


Lt. Col. J. A. N. A. 

Miss Waite has traveled extensively, having been to the Orient 
and Alaska, and has also taken several trips East during summer va- 
cations. She is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, the Tuesday 
Afternoon Club, the Glendale Music Club and the Glendale Teachers 
Club. Miss Waite and her work are much appreciated by Glendal- 
ians, many of whom have had the privilege of her wise and kind 

Capt. James Bailey Hickman, who passed from this life Novem- 
ber 6, 1919, had been a resident of the valley since August, 1896. He 
was born in Snowhill, Maryland, June 30, 1832. He was descended 
from old colonial stock, and several of his ancestors were soldiers in 
the Revolutionary War. His mother, Katharine LeKurts, was of 
French ancestry. The LeKurts family was very prominent in Mary- 
land in the antebellum days, being the owners of large plantations 
and many slaves. 


Capt. Hickman received a common school education. He set out 
early in life to make his own living and taking a westerly course it 
brought him to the Ohio river, where he secured employment on the 
river boats. He, in due time, became a marine engineer and in such 
capacity' sailed on many different steamboats on the Ohio. Missis- 
sippi, Tennessee, Cumberland, and Green rivers, before he retired in 
1892. He made his home in Evansville. Indiana, for many years, 
after which he lived in Colorado Springs, Colorado, until he came to 
Tropico in 1896. Here he lived retired, excepting for the time he was 
in charge of setting up the machinery in the Art Tile Factory, when 
that plant was being built. His favorite recreations were fishing and 
hunting. He was an active member of N. P. Banks Post, G. A. R. 
On August 12, 1862, he enlisted in Co. E., 65th Indiana Volunteers 
and served until the close of war. He was advanced on his merits 
to the rank of corporal, sergeant, second lieutenant, first lieutenant, 
and was commissioned a captain shortly before he was mustered out 
of the service. Fraternally he was an Odd Fellow. 

At Evansville, Indiana on June 27, 1864, he married Eugenia 
Adelaide Louise Wilson and they became the parents of two daugh- 
ters, Adelaide H. and Cora Bailey; and one son John James. Ade- 
laide became the wife of David H. Imler, a sketch of whom appears 
elsewhere in this volume. Cora received a normal school education 
and taught school for a time. She has also been society correspond- 
ent for the Los Angeles Times and the Glendale News. She was one 
of the organizers and the first Matron of Glen Eyrie Chapter, Order 
Eastern Star; is a life trustee of G. A. R. Hall; and a member of 
Eschleholtzia Chapter, D. A. R. For three years she was state 
corresponding secretary of the Congress of ^lothers and Parent- 
Teacher .Association, the Tuesday .\fternoon and Thursday -After- 
noon Clubs. She was one of the organizers of the Tropico Improve- 
ment Association and was its first secretary, and one of the few who 
secured the traveling libraries for Glendale and Tropico. 

Miss Hickman was united in marriage to Frank Porter Stearns, 
lune 24, 1922, at Palm Villa, her home in Glendale. Mr. Stearns is a 
native of Paris, Maine, but came west and located in Shawnee, Okla- 
homa, twenty-five years ago. In 1921 Mr. Stearns came to Los An- 
geles where he became identified in the business world. He was 
mayor of Shawnee for ten years and prominently identified with ail of 
the business, ]iolitical and social activities of that city. 

Tno.\i.\s W. W.xT.soN, who was identified with the city administra- 
tion for fifteen consecutive years, was born at Houston, Te.xas, June 
2, 1878, a son of W. G. and Alice Watson. When he was only a few 
months old his parents came to Pasadena, California, where his 
father conducted a meat market until 1895. During the greater part 
of these years, his was the only market in the city. He came to (ilen- 
dale and engaged in the same business, later conducting a seed store 
and a nursery in connection with the market, in which the subject of 
this sketch was a partner, the firm being known as W. G. Watson & 
Son. In 1906 they began developing real estate and erected the two- 


storj- iraiiie building at the southwest curner of Glendale Avenue and 
Hroadway. \\'. G. \\'al.S()n was a member of tlie First Methodist 
church uf Glendale. Several years prior to his death, which occurred 
in 1914. he took a trip to England, being absent from Glendale for two 

Thomas Watson was educated in the public schools of Glendale. 
He was ever greatly interested in local aflfairs and upon the incorpora- 
tion of the city, in 1906. was elected a city trustee. He was a member 
of the board of trustees continuously until he resigned from that body 
and was appointed city manager in Septemlier, 1914. During the in- 
terim from 1906 to 1914. he served two non-consecutive terms as 
mayor. During the seven years that he was city manager, many im- 
prcivements were made and much of the foundation was laid which 
has made possilile the greater Glendale of today. Being a man of high 
moral character and loving the clean things in life, it was but natural 
that his ijrayer should be to keep the city free from vice in all its 
forms, and for this condition he always stood steadfast. Glendale is 
a clean moral city, and as such has attracted the best people as new 
citizens, which fact is in no small measure attributable to the never 
tiring efforts of Mr. Watson. He is now devoting his time to the real 
estate business. While city manager he was active in the National 
Association of City Managers, and the League of California Munici- 
palities. In these organizations he still holds his membership. He 
is a trustee of the First Methodist church of Glendale, and for eleven 
years was superintendent of its Sunday School. 

At Los Angeles, in 1900. Mr. Watson married Anna Helm. I'^roni 
this union was born a son, William, who is a Sophomore in Glendale 
Union High School. Mrs. Watson died in 1909. In 1914 Mr. Watson 
married Belle Helm, a sister of his first wife. They have become the 
parents of four children: Anna Belle, Dorothy May. Thomas W., and 
Wayne G. The family home is at 614 South Brand boulevard. 

James F. McIntyre, who is the commercial agent of the Pul)lic 
Service Department of the city, is a native of Richmond, New Bruns- 
wick, a son of .\ndrew C. and /Vnnie (Gilkey) McIntyre. His parents 
have been residents of Glendale since 1903, and reside at 718 East 
Harvard Street. They are one of Glendale's oldest couples, both 
being octogenarians. They celebrated their golden wedding on June 
1, 1914. His father is a Canadian by birth, of Scotch descent, and his 
mother was born in Houlton, Maine, of old Yankee ancestry. 

The subject of this review is the oldest of a family of five children, 
the others being: Fred W.. Mrs. Helen I. Campbell, Miss Annie L.. 
and Mrs. J. E. Flewelling. All are residents of Glendale except Mrs. 
Flewelling, who resides in New Brunswick. Fred W. is one of Glen- 
dale's pioneer real estate dealers, having been in that business since 
he came to the city in October. 1895. Mrs. Campbell, who has been 
active in club life of the city, was one of the early members of the 
Tuesday .Xfternoon Club, and for several years was a member of its 
executive board. She also belongs to the Glendale Music Club. Miss 
.Annie McIntyre is principal of the Central .Avenue School, which 


position she has held since its organization ; prior to this time she 
was a teacher in the Broadway School. She is a member of the 
School Supervisor's Association of Southern California, and is now 
serving her third year as its treasurer; is legislative chairman of the 
Glendale Teachers Club, and belongs to the Central Avenue Parent- 
Teacher Association, of which she is a charter member; the Glendale 
Music Club and the Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Mclntyre came to Glendale with his brother, Fred W., and 
for five years followed ranching. From 1900 to 1906 he owned and 
operated the Glendale Lumber Yard. For six years he was cashier 
of the Bank of Glendale, and since 1913 has been with the public ser- 
vice department of the city, now acting as commercial agent of that 
department. He took an active part in many matters pertaining to the 
general advancement of the community, viz. : in organizing the Glen- 
dale Union High School, and Glendale's first bank, the Bank of Glen- 
dale; the incorporation of the city; in bringing the Pacific Electric 
into the valley; and other worthy causes. He has been a school 
trustee, and for several years was clerk of the school board. 

At Honcon, Wisconsin, in June, 1891, Mr. Mclntyre married 
Laura B. Roper of that city. Their four children are Percy T., drafts- 
man in the public service department of the city of Los Angeles; Wil- 
mot J., chief clerk of the public works department of Glendale; Edith 
N., a student in the Glendale Union High School; and Laurence S.. 
a student in the intermediate school. Mrs. Mclntyre is a charter 
member of the Tuesday Afternoon Club. The family home is at 135 
North Cedar street. 

Charles H. Toij. is justly considered one of the important men of 
Southern California. A financier of prominence, he has been closely 
identified with the ])rogress of Los Angeles county. He believes 
firmly in the future greatness of Southern California and has done all 
in his power to help in its advancement. Although a very busy man 
he still has time to devote to the welfare of his community. 

Mr. Toll was born at Clinton, Iowa, November 24, 1858, a son of 
Hon. Charles Hull)ert and Elizabeth (Lusk) Toll. His parents were 
natives of New York State. His father was an Iowa pioneer and was 
one of the men who really built up and develoi)ed Clinton as a city. 
He was a manufacturer there, and also held the office of postmaster. 
In all public affairs he was a leader. He was chosen to represent his 
district in the State Legislature and served several terms with dis- 
tinction. At the time of the Civil War he enlisted in the Tenth Iowa 
Infantry, and was in the service until the end of the war. He was 
advanced to the rank of Major after the battle of Chickamauga and 
was put in charge of the Commissary Department. Major Toll died 
in Los Angeles in 1887. 

Charles H. Toll, the youngest of five children, grew up in Clinton. 
Iowa; acquired a public school education and finished in Cornell Col- 
lege at Mount Vernon, Iowa. For a time he was a clerk in the Clinton 
postoffice and later was deputy clerk of courts of Clinton county. Mr. 
Toll moved to Los Angeles in 1885. He was credit man for several 




large firms in the city and gradually became identified with business 
and finance in an ever increasing scope, so as a banker he has met 
with accustomed success and is a recognized power in the local monej' 
market. In 1900 he was chosen cashier of the Southern California 
Savings Bank, and upon its merger with the Security Trust and Sav- 
ings Bank in 1906, was made a vice-president of the latter institution, 
which position he has since retained. He was a member of the city 
council of Los Angeles from 1896 to 1900. He is vice chairman of the 
War Finance Corporation for the Twelfth Federal Reserve District; a 
member of the Glendale and Los Angeles Councils of Boy Scouts, 
being treasurer of the latter. He is a member of the Salvation Army 
Board, of Los Angeles county; belongs to the California, University 
Club; and the Athletic Club of Los Angeles; and the Chamber of 
Commerce of Glendale. He is a director of the Van Nuys State 
Bank; was one of the organizers and the first president of the Glen- 
dale State Bank, is a director of the Goodyear Textile Mills and a 
trustee of Harvard Military School. Politically, Mr. Toll is a Repub- 
lican. In 1911 he moved to Glendale. His residence at 1635 Kenneth 
road is one of the most spacious and attractive in Glendale, the 
residence grounds occupying seven acres. 

At Los Angeles. September 4, 1901, Mr. Toll married Eleanor 
Margaret Joy. She was born in Minnesota and came to California 
at the age of six. She is a daughter of William Henry and Ruth 
Anna (Dougherty) Joy. Her father is a descendant of Thomas Joy 
of Boston, Massachusetts, who came to America on February 20, 
1637, from Norfolk county, England. An architect, Thomas Joy de- 
signed and built the first Town House of Boston, which served as the 
capitol building of Massachusetts from 1657 until its destruction by 
fire in 1711. This historic building (referred to by Emerson in his 
"Boston Hymn") had for its site the open space at the head of what 
is now State Street. Many of the ancestors of Mrs. Toll, on botii 
the father's and the mother's side, served in the colonial forces in the 
Revolutionary, and in the French and Indian Wars, and in the war of 
1812; and her father served with distinction in the Eleventh Minne- 
sota Volunteers, during the period of the Civil War. 

Mrs. Toll was graduated from the Oakland High Schools, and 
took Collegiate work privately with some of the ablest professors of 
two of the leading universities of California. She became a teacher, 
and after a brief experience in the schools of Sonoma county, moved 
to Los Angeles county, where she was a resident at Pomona for a 
brief period, before becoming affiliated with the schools of Los An- 
geles. She pursued this calling for nearly fourteen years and was, at 
the time of her marriage to Mr. Toll, a member of the faculty of the 
Los Angeles High School. 

Four sons were born into the family : Charles Hulbert, Junior, 
now a senior at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Gerald 
Sidney, a junior at the University of California at Berkeley; Maynard 
Joy, who graduated from Glendale Union High School with the class 
of 1922; and Carroll Costello, a student at intermediate school. Mrs. 
Toll counts it as one of the great privileges of her life that she was 


enabled to teach her own hoys for a period of two years each, be- 
fore consigning them to the care of others. 

When her children became older, Mrs. Toll felt the call to the 
service of her community and resultant from her intense interest in 
the affairs of her sons in school, she became vice-president of the 
Parent-Teacher Federation of Glendale, serving in this capacity dur- 
ing the year of 1912 and 1913. She then became president of the Fed- 
eration, which place she filled during the period 1914-15. As Edu- 
cational Chairman for this organization, she in 1916 founded the Mu- 
tual Benefit Reading Circle, under the care of the Bureau of Educa- 
tion at Washington. This organization met for four years, weekly, in 
Mrs. Toll's home. Its numbers increased so greaatly that its two 
hundred members transferred their home to the Glendale Library. 
This Circle has been the motive for much widespread comment by the 
Bureau of Education, as it has been called in numerous bulletins is- 
sued by this department, "a model organization." 

In 1917. ^Irs. Toll was elected to the Board of Trustees of the 
Glendale Schools, defeating her op])()nent, a man. by a large majority. 
She served as president «>f the Board for three years. On the forma- 
tion of the Foothill Club in 1915, Mrs. Toll was made its first presi- 
dent. In 1918, Mrs. Toll became the first vice-president of the Ebell 
Club of Los Angeles, one of the largest, if not the largest. Women's 
Clubs in the United States; which office she held for two years. She 
was then elected president of this organization, and served a complete 
term of office of two years in this well-known club, now being a 
member of its board of directors. In 1920, Governor Stephens ap- 
pointed Mrs. Toll a member of the Board of Trustees of the California 
School for Girls at \'entura, which position she still fills. 

Ch.xri.f.s C. Rittk.niiol'si;, who was the first mayor of Tropico, 
was born in \'an Wert county. Ohio, August 16, 1852, a son of Ma- 
thias M. and Christine (Stock) Rittenhouse. His parents were also 
natives of Ohio. His grandfather. Christian Rittenhouse. was a 
native of Philadeljihia. The Rittenhouse family was established in 
America by three brothers, who left Holland as young men and came 
to Philadeljihia in pre-revolution days. They built the first paper mill 
in that city. One of them was a surveyor and helped survey the 
boundary line between Pennsylvania and New York. 

The subject of this sketch attended the district schot)ls of Van 
Wert county, after which he served an apprenticeship as a carpenter. 
His pay at first was $8.00 a month, and the working days in the sum- 
mer time were from sun to sun. In the winter months he taught 
school. Such was the program of his life imtil 1877, excepting several 
months that he spent in an architect's office at Ft. Wayne. Indiana, 
in 1875 and 1876. Taking a westward course through Illinois, Mis- 
souri, Iowa and Nebraska, he arrived at Hastings, Nebraska, in Au- 
gust, 1877, and soon thereafter opened an architectural office, it being 
the first of the kind established there. He remained there for eighteen 
years, during which time he was a leading citizen of that city. He 
served on the citv council for ten consecutive vears. serving two 


years as mayor. He became very prominent in Masonry. He is a 
Past Master of Hastings Lodge No. 50, F. & A. M.. a Past High 
Priest of Hastings Chapter. No. 21, R. A. M., a Past Master of Hast- 
ings Council, No. 8 and a Past Commander of Mt. Nebo Commandry. 
No. 11, Hastings, Nebraska. He was also prominent in the Grand 
Chapter R. A. M. of the State of Nebraska, and is a Past Grand High 
Priest of R. A. M., and a Past Grand Master of the Grand Council of 
the State of Nebraska. He designed practically all of the public 
buildings which were constructed in Hastings and the surrounding 
country during the time he lived there, which included the Adams 
County Court House, at Hastings. He also invested in farm lands, 
and was for a time engaged in the nursery business on quite a large 

In 1898, he sold out and went to Colorado, where he followed his 
profession at Canon City and Cripple Creek for seven years. He 
came to Tropico in 1905 and purchased a home at 1319 Walnut street, 
where he has since resided. In July of the same year he opened an 
ortice in the Wilcox building. Los Angeles, the location of his ])resent 
office. He has designed and erected many apartment houses in Los 
.\ngeles, although he has not specialized in any one kind of construc- 
tion. Upon the incorporation of the City of Tropico in 1911. he was 
elected a trustee and was made president of the board. In 1915 when 
Glendale Commandry, No. 43, Knights Templar, was organized, he 
became one of its charter members and has been its recording secre- 
tary ever since. He is also a member of Glen Eyrie Chapter, Order 
Eastern Star. 

At Hastings, Nebraska, on November 29, 1879, Mr. Rittenhouse 
married Elvira L. Morse, a native of Iowa City, Iowa. Their children 
are Frank and Chas. C, Jr., of Glendale; Ralph, of Toronto, Canada; 
and Pearl (now Mrs. D. D. Markwith) of Edendale. Mrs. Ritten- 
house passed away in October, 1911. 

Charles W. Young is a native of Henry county, Illinois. He was 
born at Geneseo, May 8, 1865, a son of Walter and Laura (Morrill) 
Young. His father was a pioneer farmer of Henry county, having 
settled there in 1851, after returning from the gold fields of California, 
to which he went during the exciting days of 1849. Mr. Young was 
reared on his father's farm and educated in the public schools, after 
which he attended the Northwest Normal School, of Geneseo, and the 
Davenport Business College, at Davenport. Iowa. He spent a year 
in Kansas, and then returned to the home farm and for several years 
was engaged in breeding, raising, buying and selling blooded horses 
for the eastern markets. In 1902 he went to Kingsbury, South Da- 
kota. Here he did much to raise the standard of life among the 
pioneers who were having a hard struggle in those days. 

In 1905 he came to Los Angeles and conducted a grocery for two 
years before coming to Eagle Rock, where he bought the Ellis home, 
at 906 Rock Glen avenue, and has since resided. He lias devoted 
mucli of his time to real estate dealings, in Los Angeles, Pasadena and 
Eagle Rock property. His activity as a leader in local and civil af- 


fairs of Eagle Rock is of a high order. He was a member of the firsi 
board of trustees, and was the second mayor of Eagle Rock; has 
also held the office of city clerk and has been chairman of parkways 
for a number of j'ears. Mr. Young was a trustee of the Glendale 
Union High School for six years, and during the recent investiga- 
tion of the needs of the Glendale Union High School, he was a mem- 
ber of the committee of fifteen that advocated the purchase of the 
Lukens site, where the new school will be built in 1923. 

At Geneseo, Illinois, November 23, 1899, Mr. Young married Em- 
ma Elinor Hines of that city, a daughter of Henry and Susan (Henry) 
Hines. Her parents were pioneers of Henry county. She is a grad- 
uate of Northwest Normal School, Geneseo, Illinois, and was prin- 
cipal of Annawan School for a number of years. Mr. and Mrs. Young 
have one daughter, Amber, who is a graduate of Glendale Union High 
School, and is now in Virginia College, Roanoke, Virginia, where she 
is taking a course in English. Mrs. Young is a member of the 
Twentieth Century Club of Eagle Rock, and is active in its manage- 
ment. She has made a thorough study of the early Spanish days in 
California, and is considered an authority regarding the old missions. 
She has considerable ability as a public reader and taught elocution 
while doing school work. The family are members of the Congrega- 
tional Church. 

DeLos H. Smith, who is the manager of the Brand Boulevard 
branch of the Pacific-Southwest Trust and Savings Bank, is a native 
of Kansas. He was born at Garnett, January 5, 1874. a son of Herbert 
and Eveline (Coulter) Smith. His paternal grandfather, John Smith, 
was a native of Georgia, who later moved to Pennsylvania and from 
there to Peru, Illinois, where Herbert Smith was born. Herbert 
Smith was a veteran of the Civil War, and served with the Forty- 
second Illinois Regiment of Volunteers. After the war he went to 
Kansas and farmed. He is now living retired at Stuart, Iowa, where 
he has made his home since 1875. 

Mr. Smith is the second of a family of six children: his two 
brothers are, Irwin, of Independence, Iowa, and Harvey of Fresno, 
California; and his sisters are Retta. now Mrs. Leroy Belden of 
Stuart, Iowa; Mable, now Mrs. Frank Wetrich of Stuart, Iowa; and 
Lola, now Mrs. Fred Stark, of Ottawa, Canada. Mr. Smith graduated 
from the grammar and high schools of Stuart, after which he attended 
the Iowa Business College, of Des Moines, Iowa. He became a 
bookkeeper in the office of the Wisconsin Lumber Companj', owners 
and operators of line yards, and later became auditor, and in that 
capacity visited all their lumber yards in the state. In 1898. at 
Archer, Iowa, he organized a bank of which he was made cashier. 
Three years later he went to Primghar, Iowa, and was cashier of 
a bank there for ten years, after which he was cashier of the First 
National Bank of Marcus, Marcus, Iowa, until he came to Los An- 
geles in 1911. 

He lived a life of ease and comfort, spending much time in auto- 
mobile travel through the state, until he came to Glendale in l'n4. 

Y "xf^^i^s—^-^^/v/ xj, 



and soon thereafter bought an interest in the Bank of Glendale and 
was made its vice-president. He was active in the management of 
the l)ank until it was purchased by the Los Angeles (now Pacific- 
Southwest) Trust 1.K: Savings Bank, when he was transferred to the 
Brand Boulevard branch, and a few months later, on December 15, 
1915. was made manager of the branch, which position he has since 
held. Since his taking the management of the bank the institution 
has grown from resources of $-KX).000.00 to $1,600,000.00. This 
growth is attributable in no small measure to the enterprise and ef- 
forts of its jiopular and efficient manager. Mr. Smith is a Knight 
Templar Mason and Shriner. an l£lk, and a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce. He is a Republican, but has taken no active interest 
in politics since coming to California. 

At Marcus, Iowa, Mr. Smith married Lulu Roe, an Iowa girl, 
born and reared at Manchester. Their son, Wayne, is assistant credit 
man for the Paul G. Hoffman Company of Los Angeles. He is a 
graduate of the Universitj- of California where he took a four year 
course. In July, 1918, he enlisted in the Navy at San Pedro, and was 
discharged from the service in December of the same year when he 
returned to his classes at the University and graduated with the class 
of 1919. Mrs. Smith is a member of the Friday Morning Club. The 
family home, at 302 North Maryland, was built by Mr. Smith in 1913. 

Ch.vrles BExN'Tley Guthrie, who is a prominent and progressive 
real estate dealer, was born in Cleveland, Ohio, December 9, 1875, 
son of Dr. James Welch and Adda (Bentley) Guthrie. The Guthries 
are descended from a well known Scotch family whose home was at 
Guthrie Castle. His ancestors have taken a prominent part in the his- 
tory of America, one of them having come over in the Mayflower. 
Captain John Guthrie was a famous Re\'olutionary ^\'ar hero. Wil- 
liam Guthrie, the paternal grandfather of the subject of this review, 
was an Indian fighter as a young man, guarding the frontier which, 
at that time, was what is now the western border of Pennsylvania. 

Dr. Guthrie was educated in medicine at the University of Mich- 
igan at Ann Arbor, Michigan, and graduated in 1862 with the class 
that became famous for placing on the campus the big rock which 
still adorns the grounds. The class was graduated in March to allow 
the young men to enlist. Dr. Guthrie enlisted as a surgeon with the 
Twentieth Ohio Regiment, and served on General Grant's and Gen- 
eral Sherman's staffs for the duration of the war. .^t Bishop's Land- 
ing he had charge of Grant's Hospital. At Vicksburg, with Grant, he 
was wounded while giving aid to the suffering on the liattlefield. He 
was with Sherman on his famous march to the sea. The diary tliat 
Dr. Guthrie kept while in the service, which he titled "Four Years in 
the Saddle with Grant and Sherman," is preserved by members of the 
Guthrie family, and tells of the occasion, on the outskirts of Atlanta, 
when General Sherman uttered his famous epigram regarding war. 
Addressing Dr. Guthrie he exclaimed, "Guthrie, war is hell." 

After Dr. Guthrie was mustered out of the service he returned to 
Cleveland, Ohio, and shortly thereafter was elected city physician. 


which office he creditably filled for several years. During the uar he 
became a close friend of Colonel Van Horn, who, after the war, set- 
tled in Kansas City, Missouri, and became the owner of the Kansas 
City Journal. In 1876. at the instance of Colonel Van Horn, Dr. 
Guthrie became a representative and reporter of the Kansas City 
Journal and spent two years traveling over Missouri, Kansas. Okla- 
home, Texas and Iowa. At Cedar Rapids, Dr. Guthrie was offered, 
in exchange for a drug store owned by him in Clev^eland, Ohio, a sec- 
tion of land which long since has been taken within the corporate 
limits of that city. This offer was not accepted by Dr. Guthrie. He 
nevertheless became greath' enthused over the possibilities of Iowa, 
and returning to Cleveland, disposed of his holdings and moved his 
family to Davenport, Iowa, where he remained for two years. He 
went to Bedford, Taylor count}', Iowa, where he was for many years 
a leading citizen and a prominent physician and surgeon. The latter 
years of his life were spent in retirement near Bedford, where he died 
in 1912. Mrs. Guthrie, before her marriage to Dr. Guthrie, was a 
well known school teacher in Cleveland, Ohio. Laura C. Spellman, 
who later became the wife of John D. Rockefeller ; Mr. Spencer, father 
of the Spencerian System of writing; and Mr. RickofT, author of Ap- 
pleton's school books, were at one time members of the same faculty. 
Mrs. Guthrie died at Bedford in 1910. 

The subject of this sketch is the youngest of three brothers. 
His older brothers being William J., of South Dakota, and Harry L., 
of Los Angeles. Mr. Guthrie graduated from the school at Bedford, 
Iowa, and then for eleven years was in the railway mail service be- 
tween Chicago and Omaha. In 1905 he came to Los Angeles and se- 
cured a position as a clerk in the ofhce of the Los Angeles Abstract 
& Trust Company; in which capacity he served only a short time be- 
fore being transfered to the escrow department which he helped to 
organize and managed for two years. He next embarked in the real 
estate business, with which he has since been continuously identified. 
For two years he was with the Rodman-Guthrie Investment Com- 
pany of Los Angeles. 

In 1913, Mr. Guthrie moved to Glendale and several years later 
transferred all his real estate activities to Glendale and vicinity. His 
business has grown from a small office on Brand Boulevard at Doran 
Street, to seven offices, six of which are in Glendale and one in Eagle 
Rock. Fraternally. Mr. Guthrie is a Master Mason, an Elk and a 
Knight of Pythias. He is a member of the Glendale Realty Board, 
and was its first president; the Chamber of Commerce and the Brand 
Boulevard Improvement Association, of which he is secretary. .'\t the 
Santa Ana convention, he was elected a director of the California Real 
Estate Dealer's Association, and is a member of the legislative com- 
mittee of that body. 

At the time of the Spanish-American War, Mr. Guthrie endeav- 
ored to enlist but was refused permission as he was a government 
employee. During the late war he desired to give his services in the 
ranks, but because of advanced age was repeatedly refused until the 


draft age was raised to forty-five. Then he enlisted and was assigfned 
to the C. I. O. T. C, and sent to Waco, Texas; hut shortly thereafter 
the armistice was signed and he was mustered out and returned home. 
He is a member of the American Legion, and is chairman of the ex- 
ecutive committee. 

At Long Beach, California, on May 22, 1905, Mr. Guthrie married 
Pearl C. Coles, a native of Chariton, Iowa. They have one daughter, 
Catherine, a junior in the Glendale Union High School. Mrs. Guthrie 
is a charter member of Chapter B. A. of the P. E. O. The family 
home is ai 1641 Grand \'iew avenue. They are members of the Con- 
gregational Church. 

Joseph S. Thompson, ex-mayor of Glendale, was born August 16, 
1878, in Hancock county, Illinois, a son of James C. and Esther V.. 
(Shepherd) Thompson. His father was a native of Kentucky and his 
mother of Illinois. His father was a trahied nurse by profession, and 
most of his services were given to the leading hospitals in Chicago, 
where they were always in demand. The last years of his life were 
spent in Quincy, Illinois, where he retired. 

Joseph S. Thompson supplemented his high school education by 
taking a two-year general course at the Christian Church College, Eu- 
reka, Illinois, after which he took a full course in accountancy at 
Gate City Business College, Keokuk, Iowa. He was, for several 
years, in the employ of the Big Four and the Chicago & Alton Rail- 
way Companies. In 1907 he came to Los Angeles and secured a 
position as auditor with the Salt Lake railroad as overcharge claim 
adjuster. In 1912 he became an auditor for the Independent Steam- 
ship Company and remained with them for three years. He next be- 
came manager of the Arden Building Material Company, of Los An- 
geles, and in 1919 was also assistant manager of the Arden Plaster 
Company. For several years, in addition to holding a regular posi- 
tion, he has also dealt in building material, improved and developed 
real estate, and built modern residences in Glendale and Los Angeles. 
More recently his time has l)een given to the Los Angeles Lime Com- 
pany in the capacity of salesman. 

In May, 1912, Mr. Thompson was appointed to fill a vacancy on 
the board of trustees of Glendale, caused by the resignation of John 
Robert White. He was re-elected in 1914, and again in 1916, being 
president of the Iioard the latter term. During his first term as 
trustee he was chairman of the committee on supjily. and during the 
second term chairman of the committee on welfare. He is a Knight 
Templar, Mason and Shriner, and is the representative of the Shrine 
for his district, which comprises the territory of Glendale, Burl)ank 
and Eagle Rock. 

At Peoria, Illinois, on June 14. 1905, Mr. Thompson married 
Hattie Crow, a daughter of John and Margaret (Christie) Crow of 
that city. They have two sons. James Harold and John Russell. 
Mrs. Thompson is a member of the Tuesday Afternoon Club. The 
family reside at 400 West Broadway. 


Philip Walter Parker, now living retired at 624 North Brand 
Boulevard, was born July 25, 1844, in London, England. He is one 
of the eight children of Charles and Susan Thompson Parker. At 
the age of fourteen he went to live with his uncle, Frederick Parker, 
at Burton-on-Trent, England, and was apprenticed to the cooper's 
trade. Two years later he came to America with his uncle who lo- 
cated in Chicago, Illinois. He finished his apprenticeship to his uncle 
at eighteen years of age, but continued at his trade until the big fire 
of 1871. After the excitement of the fire had subsided he went into 
the real estate business, later in a grocery business for ten years, 
leaving this to come to California in July, 1885. After one month in 
Los Angeles, he bought fifty acres of land at Eagle Rock, where he 
became a prominent fruit and vegetable grower. He was the first 
American to build a modern residence north of Colorado Boulevard, 
between Glendale and Pasadena. He was also the first man to make 
large shipments of tomatoes from Southern California to Chicago. 

Mr. Parker took active interest in all matters for the upbuilding 
of the community ; was leader in organizing the first school district 
in Eagle Rock ; and was its trustee for many years. He was the first 
trustee from Eagle Rock for the Glendale Union High School, of 
which school board he was the first president, serving several years. 
The year 1887 he was associated in the real estate business with Ed. 
M. Goode, a well known pioneer of Eagle Rock and Glendale. For 
a time during the early boom days they maintained an office in Los 
Angeles. In 1906. Mr. Parker went to Los Angeles to live and re- 
mained there until 1914, when he came to Glendale where he has 
since resided. He has lived practically retired since leaving Eagle 
Rock, his only activity being an occasional deal in real estate. 

At Chicago, Illinois, in 1867, Mr. Parker was married to Ruth M. 
Orchard, who was born December 9, 1848, in Rochester, New York, 
shortly after her parents came to this country from England. Mrs. 
Parker died at her home "Rosemont," in Eagle Rock, October 20. 
1901. From this marriage there were six children: Alice E., wife of 
Wm. B. Frankelton, of Los Angeles; Arthur O., of Los Angeles, 
whose wife was Mrs. Belle M. Lackey, of Washington, D. C. ; Alia 
May. Mrs. Edward T. Ellis, of Los Angeles; Susan Ruth, Mrs. Louis 
Luc, of Glendale; Edith C. Mrs. Hugh Connvell, of Glendale; and 
Vera M., Mrs. Clarence F. Cf)berly. of Los .\ngeles. Mrs. Coberly is 
a native daughter, born in Eagle Rock. There are twelve grand- 
children and four great grandchildren. In November, 1902, Mr. 
Parker married Mrs. M. L. Duncan (Nettie L. Venable, of Frankfort. 
Kentucky), widow of J. L. Duncan, a pioneer rancher of West Glen- 
dale. Mrs. Parker has three daughters, Katherine L. Duncan, Mrs. 
Sidney W'. Brown, of Eagle Rock; Letie L. l^uncan, Mrs. Wm. F. 
Nash, Jr., of Glendale, and Rose M. Duncan. Mrs. John D. Bolin, of 
Glendale. Mrs. Bolin is a native daughter, born at West Glendale. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Parker are loval Glendalians. 

/^t /^a^?Z<.irfi^ CS/^^ 


Mattison Boyd Jones. Since coming to Los Angeles, in 1900, 
Mattison Boyd Jones has enjoyed a high rank in the legal profes- 
sion, and is also well known as one of the most prominent Masons 
and Baptist laymen of California and the West, and as a citizen 
whose interest goes out to every well-considered movement for gen- 
eral welfare. 

Mr. Jones was born at Tuttle, in Laurel county, Kentucky. June 
15, 1869, a son of Hiram J. and Permelia W. (Black) Jones. The 
Jones and Black families are both old Southern stock, dating back 
over a hundred years in Kentucky and another hundred years in 
North Carolina. The Jones family are of Welsh, English and French 
ancestry and the Blacks are of Irish descent. His mother was a sister 
of Hon. James U. Black, a former Governor of Kentucky. Mr. Jones 
attended the public schools until the age of eighteen, then taught 
school for two years, and took his college work at the University of 
Kentucky, at Lexington. He graduated with honors and an A. B. 
degree in 1894, his graduating speech being delivered in Latin. He 
taught school at London. Kentucky, as principal of the Laurel Semi- 
nary for one year, 1894-1895. In the meantime, he diligently pursued 
the study of law and was admitted to the bar October 17, 1895, at 
London, Kentucky. He practiced a few months at London, Ken- 
tucky, and then resumed his teaching. He was professor of mathe- 
matics and astronomy for two years at Williamsburg Institute, now 
known as Cumberland College, at Williamsburg, Kentucky. In 1898 
he was called to his Alma Mater at Lexington as professor of military 
science and instructor in mathematics. He remained a member of 
the faculty of the University of Kentucky and also continued post 
graduate work there until December 31, 1899, when he resigned. 
Coming to Los Angeles he made the city his home until 1911, and has 
since resided in Glendale. 

Opening a law office in Los Angeles in 1900, he was soon in the 
midst of a busy practice, and in 1905 formed a partnership with E. B. 
Drake under the firm name of Jones & Drake, which was dissolved 
in 1909. He then associated himself with W. E. Evans under the 
firm name of Jones & Evans, .'\fter this partnership was dissolved 
in 1917, he practiced alone until 1920, when the firm of Jones, Wilson 
& Stephenson was formed. This firm has a very lucrative practice. 
He is a member of the Los Angeles County and the American Bar 
Associations, and practices before the U. S. Supreme Court. 

Mr. Jones has had a very thorough military training. On his 
graduation from the University of Kentucky in 1894, he was ranking 
officer of the battalion of cadets. At that time Lieutenant Charles 
D. Clay, a grandson of the noted Henry Clay, and a regular army of- 
ficer, was professor of military science in the University of Kentucky. 
Lieutenant Clay presented Mr. Jones with a dress sword, just before 
his graduation, in recognition of his one hundred per cent military 
record. At different times Lieutenant Clay had to go to Washington 
on military business, and left Mr. Jones in full charge of the uni- 
versity cadets. In 1898, when the commandant was recalled to his 
regiment during the Spanish-American W^ar, the president of the 


University of Kentucky asked Mr. Jones to succeed him; this was the 
first time that a commandant of the university was called from civil- 
ian ranks. Mr. Jones is a man of thorough scholarship and has al- 
ways been a student. As an orator he is much in demand. He took 
post graduate work at the University of Chicago in addition to the 
work done at his Alma Mater. He is president of the board of 
trustees of the University of Redlands. having held that post since 
the university was founded in 1909. 

Since early youth Mr. Jones has given part of his time to church 
duties; being one of the organizers of the Temple Baptist Church of 
I.os Angeles in 1903; president of the Southern California Baptist 
Convention two years; for three years president of the Pacific Coast 
Baptist Conference, comprising all the states west of the Rockies; 
past president of the Los .Angeles County Baptist .Association and 
the Los .Angeles Baptist City Mission Society. 

For many years he has been a deep student of Masonry. He is 
a member of both the York and Scottish Rite bodies and also the 
Grotto and Shrine, and has filled a number of chairs ; being a Past 
High Priest. Past Illustrious Master. Past Commander. Past Grand 
High Priest of California, and at present is General Grand Master of 
the Second Veil of the General Grand Chapter, of Royal .Arch Masons 
of the United States of America. 

In politics he is a Democrat, and served as alternate delegate-at- 
large from California to the Democratic National Convention, at 
Denver in 1908. In 1902, he was nominated for city attorney of Los 
.Angeles on the Democratic ticket, and in 1914. he was strongly urged 
for United States District Judge for Southern California. Being 
strongly urged by leading Democrats of the state. Mr. Jones finally 
entered the primary race for the Democratic noinination for (lovernor 
of California in 1922, but failed to receive the nomination. He is a 
member of the University Club of Los .Angeles and the Sunset Can- 
yon Country Club. In Glendale. he is the owner of valuable property 
on Brand Boulevard, both vacant and improved, including business, 
income and residence pro|)erties. He is chairman of the advisory 
board of the Los .Angeles Trust and Savings Bank branch at Glen- 
dale. a stockholder in the Glendale Daily Press, and was president of 
the Glendale Printing and Publishing Company which organized the 
Glendale Daily Press. He is ])resident of the Brand Boulevard Im- 
provement Association, and chairman of the committee that went be- 
fore the supervisors and the Los .Angeles city council in 1917. bring- 
ing about the building of the bridge that spans the Los .Angeles river 
on Glendale boulevard. 

During the entire World War he served as secretary of the ex- 
emption board of the se\enth district of Los .Angeles county, which 
field of service he values very highly. 

At Louisville, Kentucky, on January 3, 1900, Mr. Jones married 
Miss Antoinette Ewell Smith, a daughter of James Dudley and 
America (Ewell) Smith. Her father was a lawyer by profession. 
Although his career was cut short by death in 1900, while still a young 
man, he had risen to prominence not only in his profession but 


also as a capitalist. Her mother was a daughter uf Colonel Richard 
Leighton Ewell, a veteran of the Union army in the Civil War, and of 
the Virginia branch of the Ewell family. The Ewell family is of 
Scotch ancestry, and was founded in America about the middle of the 
seventeenth century. The name in Scotland was spelled, Vuille; in 
America, like many other family names, by some of its members, 
it came to be spelled as pronounced, Ewell. The Ewell family is one 
of America's largest and most illustrious. Its name is found in all 
walks of life, aiul not least is it mentioned in the military annals of 
the nation. 

Mrs. Jones is an accomplished musician, particularly in piano, 
having attended the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music, at Cincinnati, 
Ohio. In 1898 she graduated from the piano department of the John 
B. Stetson University. Dcland, I-'lurida, and prior to her graduation 
was a student at Daughters College, Harrisburg, Kentucky, a select 
girls' boarding school. She is one of California's prominent club 
women, being a member of the Emeritus Club of California, which is 
made up of past state officers of women's clubs. She is a past presi- 
dent of the Los Angeles district. Federation of Women's Clubs and of 
the Glendale Afternoon Club and a member of the Women's Club of 
Los Angeles. She was the leader in organizing the Glendale Music 
Club, and was its first president. This organization has now over six 
hundred members, though it is less than two years old. Mr. and 
Mrs. Jones have one daughter, Lillian Winifred Jones, who is a grad- 
uate of the Marlborough School, Los Angeles, later attending the 
University of Redlands, at Redlands, California. Like her mother 
she is an accomplished musician. Mr. and Mrs. Jones have resided in 
Glendale since 1911. They now live in their new palatial home "Bel 
.\ir," 727 Kenneth road, known as the "White House" at Glendale. 
They also have a summer home at Hermosa Beach, California. 

Hartley Sh.\w, who is Glendale's city attorney, is a native of In- 
diana, and was born June 2, 1874, at Bloomfield, a son of Lucien and 
Hannah (Hartley) Shaw. His grandfather, William Shaw, was a 
pioneer of southeastern Indiana. His father was born in Indiana and 
his mother was a native of New York state. His father is chief 
justice of the Supreme Court of the state of California. He was 
elevated to that position in 1921, after having been an associate justice 
of the same court for eighteen years. Prior to that time he had 
been a judge of the Superior Court in Los Angeles. 

Mr. Shaw is a graduate of the University of Southern California 
where he took a literary course. He then matriculated at the Hast- 
ings College of Law at San Francisco from which he graduated with 
the class of 1897. He was admitted to the bar in 1897, and has since 
practiced law in Los Angeles. He was assistant city attorney of 
Los Angeles for three years, and for six years was chief deputy dis- 
trict attorney under J. D. Fredericks. In 1911 he moved to Glendale 
and in 1913 moved to Tropico. and was its city attorney before its 
annexation to Glendale. He has been very active and influential in 
all Tropico and Glendale affairs. In 1918 he was elected a member 


of the board of trustees of Glendale, and from April to December of 
that year, was chairman of the board. From January 1, 1921, to Oc- 
tober 31, 1921. he was city attorney, and on April 7, 1922, was again 
appointed city attorney, which position he now fills. 

At Los Angeles, on September 17, 1901, Mr. Shaw married Fern 
E. West, a native of Iowa. They have two daughters and one son. 
The daughters are Dorothy and Evelyn. Both are graduates of Glen- 
dale Union High School. Dorothy is a student at Pomona College, 
and Evelyn is attending the Southern Branch of the University of Cal- 
ifornia. The son. Eucien West, is a sophomore in the Glendale Union 
High School. Mr. and Mrs. Shaw are both very active in the Con- 
gregational Church. He is a member of the building committee of the 
new church edifice now being built. Mrs. Shaw is active in all 
branches of church and Sunday School work. The family home is 
at 212 West Park avenue, where they have resided since 1913. 

LoRON T. Rowley, who is the supervisor of attendance for the 
city and high schools, was born at Portage City, Wisconsin, June 3. 
1860; son of Asa and Hutchinson (Smith) Rowley. The Rowley fam- 
ily in America dates back to colonial times, and its members fought in 
both the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812. Asa Rowley was 
a native of Chautauqua county, New York, and Mrs. Rowley was 
born in Scotland. 

Mr. Rowley is an under-graduate of the University of Minnesota 
where he took the classical course with the class of 1884. He came 
west in 1883 and bought land in Sunland, California, residing there 
until five years ago, when he came to Glendale to live. He was one of 
the early settlers at Sunland, and during that time was a leading cit- 
izen ; being the first postmaster, first president of the Chamber of 
Commerce, and was first to have a general store. This store he 
opened in 1887 and conducted for twenty years, which was followed 
by three years in the hardware business. He drew the petition for 
the organization of the school district in 1884, and for twelve years 
thereafter was clerk of the board of education. In 1899, he drew 
the alignments for the voting precincts. Uncle Sam made him forest 
ranger for two years. He lived retired in Glendale until 1921 when he 
was appointed supervisor of attendance for the city schools. He is an 
Elk and a member of the Chamber of Commerce. The Greater Glen- 
dale Development Association claims him as its second president. 
He has been a member of the Red Cross board of directors, and dur- 
ing the late war was awarded a medal for unusual activity in that 
work. He was also a member of the Legal .Advisory Board of ex- 
emption for the district, and he received letters of commendation for 
his activity in auxiliary war work, from General Boree, in behalf of 
the state and Governor Stephens; from General Crowder, for the 
United States. He is a Republican. 

At Downey, California, in 1883, Mr. Rowley married Virginia 
Newcomb, a native of Mississippi. Five children were born from 
this union ; Eustace, Robert, Dorothy, Marion and Virginia. Eustace 
and Robert are veterans of the World War. Eustace enlisted in the 


navy in June, 1917, and served until July, 1919. He was given a cita- 
tion for unusual heroism in aiding in the saving of sixteen lives at 
the time of the sinking of the liberty boat of the U. S. S. Salem, off 
the coast of Key West, Florida. Stationed at Mare Island at the 
time of the explosion, he was in charge of the company that cleared 
away the debris. Later he was a seaman on the cruiser Marblehead, 
which was one of .-\dmiral Dewey's fleet at Manila in 1898. Robert 
enlisted in the .'\mbulance Corps on .'\pril 17, 1918, and served on 
the Paive, in Italy, and was awarded the Croce de Guerra by the Ital- 
ian Government, for services at the front during the last year of the 
war. He is now a senior at the University of Southern California, 
taking an electrical engineering course. Dorothy is a sophomore at 
the University of Southern California, while Marion is a senior at the 
Glendale Union High Schoi)l. Virginia passed from this life in Janu- 
ary, 1922, at the age of thirteen. Mrs. Rowley is vice-president of the 
Glendale Federation of Parent-Teacher .'Association, historian of the 
High School Parent-Teacher Association and secretary of the Wom- 
en's Auxiliary to the American Legion. The family home is at 334 
Vine street, 

Ch.\rles L. Peckham. of the firm of Peckham, Green & Ray, in- 
surance adjusters, Los Angeles, was born in New York City, March 
17, 1867, a son of Charles Vasser and Amelia (Nichols) Peckham. 
The Peckham family in America dates back to about 1710, and is of 
English ancestry. Many of the Peckham family have been promi- 
nent in public life, among whom is found the name of Rufus Peck- 
ham, an associate justice of the United States Supreme Court, and 
Wheeler H. Peckham of New York City. Captain Luther Nichlos, 
the grandfather of Mr. Peckham, went to Chicago with General 
Winfield Scott in 1832 and fought in the Black Hawk War. He was 
the first overseer of the poor of Chicago. He led the citizens against 
the Lager Beer Rioters in 1857 and received a gold medal for his 
bravery. This medal is now in Mr. Peckham's possession. 

Mr. Peckham was reared in New York City, where his father was 
a prominent insurance man. After graduating from the public 
schools of New York City, he attended Kent Law College, from which 
he graduated with the class of 1894. He established himself in Chi- 
cago as an insurance attorney and remained there for twenty years. 
In 1906, at the time of the earthquake and fire at San Francisco, he was 
sent there to make adjustments, and remained at that work for a year. 
The adjustment on the Palace Hotel, which was the largest single 
adjustment ever made up to that time, the amount being placed at 
$1,250,000.00. was made by Mr. Peckham. He came to Southern 
California, and selecting Glendale for his future home, has become a 
thorough Glendalian, believing in Glendale and declaring it to be the 
best conducted municipality in the country. 

Soon after coming to Southern California he established himself 
in business in Los Angeles. In 1921 the firm of Peckham, Green & 
Ray was formed. Mr. Peckham is well known in insurance circles, 
being the first president of the .'\merican .Association of .Adjusters for 


Insurance Companies, and a charter member of Chapter No. 1, Dis- 
trict of Southern California. The firm of Peckham, Green & Ray are 
the only insurance adjusters in the United States whose business cov- 
ers automobile, fire and marine adjustment. Mr. Peckham is a 
Knights Templar Mason and Shriner. a member of the Shrine Club, 
a Past Commander of Glendale Commandry, No. 53, Knights Temp- 
lar, a member of the Eastern Star, and belongs to both the Glendale 
and Los Angeles Chambers of Commerce. 

At Chicago, Illinois, November 21, 1889, Mr. Peckham married 
Lillian Chandler, daughter of Cornelius C. Chandler, a sketch of 
whose life appears elsewhere in this volume. They have three chil- 
dren : Francis Anna, wife of Oliver Ennis of Glendale; Gladys, a 
senior in Glendale Union High School ; and Vasser, a student in the 
grade school. Mrs. Peckham is a Past President of the Women's Re- 
lief Corps, and its present musician ; Patriotic Chairman of the Glen- 
dale Union High School and Columbus Avenue Parent-Teacher As- 
sociation ; a charter member of the Thursday Afternoon Club, the 
Glendale Mutual Benefit Reading Circle, the Glendale Music Club, 
and is social secretarj- of the Mutual Benefit Reading Circle; a mem- 
ber of the Tuesday Afternoon Club, the Daughters of Veterans, and 
Glen Eyrie Chapter, Order Eastern Star. She is an accomplished 
musician and vocalist, having received her instrumental training 
under Miss Weston, of Chicago, a pupil of Madam Carino of London ; 
and her vocal teacher was Professor Kowalski, of Kimball Hall, Chi- 
cago. Mrs. Ennis is a violinist, having been a student of Professor 
Fisher of Missoula, Montana, and also of Professor Lowinsky of 
Glendale. Gladys is a pupil of Professor Joad .Anderson of Los An- 
geles. The family are members of the Congregational Church, Mr. 
Peckham being a trustee and Mrs. Peckham a member of the choir. 
Their home "Casa de Rosa" is at 615 North Central avenue. 

Charles L. Chandler, who is an attorney of twenty years' ex- 
perience, was born at Davenport, Iowa, May 30, 1878. His father 
died when he was only a few weeks old. His mother, whose maiden 
name was Belle Fischer, was a descendant of the Wilcox family, 
one member of which was a captain and surgeon in the United States 
Navy during the Revolutionary War. He has one brother, W^illiam 
H. Chandler, who is a resident of Los Angeles. The family moved to 
Des Moines, Iowa, when he (Charles L. Chandler) was six years old, 
and later to Pueblo, Colorado. He attended grammar and high 
schools there and in 1892 entered Nebraska Preparatory School, 
studying mathematics under General John J. Pershing, who was 
then a First Lieutenant of the Tenth Cavalry and Commandant of 
cadets at the University of Nebraska. In 1894. returning to Denver, 
he became a student at the Woodworth Business College, and in 1896 
entered the L^iiversity of Denver, where he completed the law course, 
graduating in 1900. He spent the next year at Cornell University, 
Ithaca. New York, where he received the Bachelor of Laws degree 
in 1901. Being admitted to the bar in Colorado, he was associated 
with a prominent firm of attorneys at Denver during part of 1901 and 


1902. He was then employed as lawyer and business representative 
by the Yellow Poplar Lumber Company of Ironton, Ohio. The owner 
and active head of this business was his uncle, the late F. C. Fischer. 
He became ex{)ert in the e.xamination of land titles, and his work 
took him to the timber districts of the southeastern and northwestern 

Mr. Chandler resigned from the lumber company in 190.5 and 
came to Los Angeles. For two years he was connected with the 
firm of Cochran & Williams, and from 1906 to 1916 he was a partner 
in the firm of W'illiams, Goudge & Chandler. This firm represented 
the interests of some large corporations in the West, including the 
Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company, the Broadway Bank & Trust 
Company, and Home Savings Bank. In 1916 he resumed practice 
alone, with offices in the Investment (now Chapman) Building, spe- 
cializing in corporation, probate and title matters. He has been for 
several years the attorney for the owners of "Verdugo Woodlands" 
and at present is associated with Howard Robinson, former Presi- 
dent of the Public Service Board of the City of Los Angeles. Their 
offices are in the C. C. Chapman Building. Mr. Chandler has served 
as president of the Seaboard Land Security Company, the Needles 
Light and Power Company, the Seaboard Metal Works and the Or- 
iand Land Company. He is a Republican, and has served as secretary 
of the Republican County Central Committee of Los .'\ngeles County. 
He is a Scottish Rite Mason, also president of Verdugo Hills Council 
Boy Scouts of America, and a member of the Glendale Chamber of 
Commerce. In Los Angeles he is a member of the City Club and 
the Sons of the American Revolution. 

At Elizabeth, New Jersey, on March 6, 1906, Mr. Chandler mar- 
ried Gisela Pluemer of that city. Their four children are, Sarah 
Fischer, Davis Pluemer, Barbara Belle and Meta Lovell. They 
moved to Glendale in 1913 and lived on North Central avenue until 
they moved to "Los Ritos," their home in the Verdugo Canyon. 

Dr. Kate Shepardson-Blj\ck is a native of Greenfield, Indiana, a 
daughter of Otis and Catherine (Wade) Shepardson. Her father was 
a native of Vermont, of old Yankee ancestry and her mother was born 
at Lincroft, England. She attended the public schools of Greenfield, 
and of Sturgis, Michigan, her parents having moved to the latter place 
when she was twelve years old, and where her father was a hardware 
merchant for many years. At the age of si.xteen she entered Oberlin 
College, Oberlin, Ohio, for a four-year literary course, a member of 
the class of 1869. She taught school for a few terms and then en- 
tered the Homeopathic Hospital College, Cleveland, Ohio, for a full 
four-year course, graduating in medicine in 1S74. She practiced med- 
icine at Columbus, Ohio, for four years, during which time she mar- 
ried Dr. S. S. Black, having become acquainted with him at college. 
They went to F"redericton, New Brunswick, where they practiced 
medicine for seven years. Dr. Black was born at Moncton, New 
Brunswick, July 8, 1846, a son of Charles and Margaret (Stedman) 
Black. He is a graduate of Putte Medical College, Cincinnati, Ohio, 
having graduated with the class of 1875. 


In 1883 they came to California and bought land in Pomona and 
in North Glendale, remaining in California for a year and a half. Re- 
turning to the East she went to Fredericton, New Brunswick, to 
care for a patient. Later she rejoined her husband in Buflfalo, New 
York, where he had, in the meantime, established a practice. In 1888 
they returned to California, she going to Pasadena where she prac- 
ticed medicine for fifteen years. She then decided to move to their 
property in North Glendale, where he was in charge of the ranch on 
Kenneth Road, having made his home there since 1893. Dr. Kate 
Black is a member of the Southern California Homeopathic Society, 
and is an honorary member of the Shakespeare Club of Pasadena. 
She recently built a $10,000.00 residence at 715 Kenneth road. 

Daniel E. Fuller was born in Brunswick, Maine, February 2, 
1846. His parents were Daniel and Olive (Norton) Fuller. The 
grandparents of Mr. Fuller were Aaron and Hannah (Pond) Fuller. 
Aaron Fuller was born at Newton, Massachusetts, February 26, 1757, 
and died October 18, 1841. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
War, and responding to the alarm as a minute man he fought at the 
battle of Lexington, and also participated in the battle of Bunker 

Mr. Fuller's birthplace was the Methodist parsonage at Bruns- 
wick, Maine, where his father was pastor. Brunswick is the seat of 
Bowdoin College, and during the days of clipper ships was the home 
of many active and retired sea captains. John and Roscoe, elder 
brothers of Mr. Fuller, as captains of vessels, made several trips 
around Cape Horn to the Pacific coast. There was, also, a brother 

As a young man Mr. Fuller learned the carpenter's trade, which 
he followed for many years, acting as foreman for builders and con- 
tractors, and engaging in business of his own in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, and nearby cities. He later operated a transfer business in 
the center of Boston. 

In 1903, he sold his holdings in the east and came to Los Angeles. 
A few days after his arrival he purchased a twelve-acre ranch at the 
head of Central Avenue on Kenneth Road, North Glendale, where 
he has since resided. He built the residence at the head of Central 

At Brunswick, Maine. November 22. 1877. Mr. Fuller married 
Emma Blaisdel. There were two children: Bertha and Edward S. 
Fuller. Edward S., a musician here and in Los .Angeles, was well 
know when he died in 1908. The daughter is the wife of Walter L. 
Cheeves, an artist, who was born and reared in Maiden, Massachu- 
setts. They are the parents of three children: Consuelo, Bertha 
Olive and Mary Victoria; the latter are twins. The home is at 1116 
North Louise street. Mr. Fuller's wife died in 1885 and in 1888 he 
married Mary Emma Grossman. 

In 1870, Mr. Fuller was made a Mason and became a member of 
United Lodge, No. 8, F. & A. M. at Brunswick. Maine. He served 
his lodge as master in the years 1875. 1876 and 1877, and is justly 


proud of his record, being the oldest Past Master of United Lodge, 
with which he is still affiliated as a life member. He is also a Past 
High Priest of the Chapter Royal Arch Masons. 

Clarence W. Walton was born at Belmont, Massachusetts, Jan- 
uary 17, 1856, a son of Edmond M. and Miranda CFrost) Walton. 
He is descended from an old colonial family which lived in Massa- 
chusetts in 1630. Eleven members of the families of his ancestors 
were soldiers in the Revolutionary War and were residents of Massa- 
chusetts in the vicinity of Lexington at the time that battle was 
fought. His grandfather. Jonathan Walton, was a miller and market 
gardener. The subject of this review received a common school edu- 
cation, and remained on the home place until twenty-eight years old, 
working at gardening and carpentering with his father. In 1884 he 
went to the Hawaiian Islands and remained there for twenty years, 
during which time he made two trips to the old home in Massa- 
chusetts.. During this period he went through three revolutions and 
assisted in the forming of first, a provisional government, then a re- 
public, and lastly, annexation to the United States. He worked at 
his trade for three years, was head overseer of a large sugar planta- 
tion for seven years, manager of a smaller plantation for two years, 
and the last eight years was manager of the Pahala Sugar Plantation 
at Kau. 

In 1904, he returned to the States and after spending some 
months at Santa Barbara, San Diego and Hollywood, came to Glen- 
dale and bought a five-acre peach orchard in which he built his pres- 
ent residence at 1031 North Central avenue. It was the first resi- 
dence on that street north of Tropico. He arrived in Glendale on 
the day following the arrival of the first Pacific Electric car in the 
city. He built and sold residences, and for several years was quite 
extensively engaged in the poultry business. He is now living re- 
tired. His home is a profusion of all kinds of plant life, trees, shrubs 
and vines. He is a Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner. Mr. W^alton 
was vice-president of the Bank of Glendale for seven years, and 
since that institution was taken over by the Los Angeles (now Pacific- 
Southwest) Trust and Savings Bank has been a member of its ad- 
visory board. 

In 1878 Mr. Walton married Muna S. Towne. a descendant of an 
old pilgrim family. She died in 1896, leaving one son Monroe L., of 
Glendale, who married Hazel Grover and they have one son Donald. 
In 1897 Mr. Walton married Bertha Kimball, of an old colonial fam- 
ily, her ancestors having come to America in 1636 and settled in 
Salem, Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Walton are members of the 
Church of the Open Door of Los Angeles. 

Mary Ogden Ryan is the principal of the Broadway School, 
which position she has filled for seventeen years ; the eight years 
prior to which she had been principal of what was then known as the 
West Glendale School ; a record of twenty-five years continuous 
service as a teacher of grade schools in what is now Glendale. Dur- 


ing the first twenty-three years she never missed a day from her 
school room, which is another record seldom equalled. 

She is the daughter of Hiram and Marie (Whiteaker) Ogden. 
The Ogden family was established in America in the pre-revolution- 
ary days by three brothers who left England and came to the col- 
onies. Two of them remained loyal to the King and went to Can- 
ada, but after the war, returned to the states and founded Ogdens- 
burg, New York. William, the great grandfather of the subject of 
this review, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and afterwards 
settled in Pennsylvania. Hiram Ogden was born in Huron county, 
Ohio, and as a young man made his way to Oregon, arriving there 
November 27, 1851. He drove an ox team from Keokuk, Iowa, to 
Portland, the journey taking six months to the day. His compensa- 
tion for driving the ox team was his board and medical attention. 
He had one sick spell lasting two weeks. He walked most of the 
distance. The caravan consisted of five trains at the outset, each 
train containing three wagons, hauled by five yoke of oxen, one 
yoke of cows and a team of horses. After crossing the continental 
divide, the caravan divided, two of the trains going to California. He 
remained in the great Northwest for nineteen years, where most of 
his time was devoted to ranching. He fought in the Indian wars 
in the Yakima country. While residing on a ranch near Walla Walla, 
Washington, in the short space fif less than one and one-half years, 
the family suffered the loss, by death from epidemics, of their four 
oldest children, their ages ranging from three to nine years. This 
terribly discouraged the parents, so in 1870 the family moved to 
Fairbault. Minnesota, where a large farm was i)urchased. The jour- 
ney from Walla Walla to Ogden, Utah, was made by stage, the dis- 
tance being over five hundred miles. They remained in Minnesota 
for five years and then came to T.os Angeles, arriving here on May 
8. 1875. 

In Los Angeles county Mr. Ogden ranched and developed real 
estate. He owned a home on Seventh street at Charity Street (now 
Grand Avenue), Los Angeles. Later he owned a residence on Sixth 
Street, between Broadway and Spring Streets, where the Chocolate 
Shop is now located. Selling the city property he invested in a large 
vineyard at Cucamonga and later moved on a ranch at Rurbank. His 
death occurred in March. 1920, at the home of Mrs. Ryan in Glendale, 
while in his ninety-first year. Mrs. Ogden passed away in 1904. 

Mrs. Ryan was born at Walla Walla, Washington. .She attended 
the grammar schools of Los Angeles, graduated from the Los .'\ngeles 
High School, and from the State Normal School. In Los .'\ngeles 
she married William A. Ryan. To this union was born one daughter, 
Evelyn, now the wife of Dr. C. E. Hyde of San Francisco. Mrs. 
Hyde is a graduate of the Glendale Union High School and of the 
Southern Branch of the University of California. 

Mrs. Ryan is a member of the Tuesday .'\fternoon Clul), the Glen 
Eyrie Chapter, Order Eastern Star, of which she is a Past Matron 
and a former .Secretary, the Business and Professional Women's 
Club, the Glendale Teachers' Club, of which she is first vice-presi- 

t, }^, J^^^^oUuf^-y-cLd,-^^^^ 

EjLtcx. 2v. /^cA^<x.^h--'tf^^<i----^'^^< 


dent, the Glendale Music Club, and is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. During the war she was active wherever duty called, as- 
sisting more particularly in questionnaire and Red Cross work. 

The West Glendale School was Mrs. Ryan's first school, since 
which time she has resided in Glendale. Her present home is at 
316 North Maryland street, a duplex which she built in 1921. Her 
life work has been well applied and fully appreciated by her pupils 
and the school board. In the building of Glendale no one has played 
a more important part, for truly it can be said of Mrs. Ryan, that 
she has built character and ideals in her pupils which will perma- 
nently affect the city. 

Elkanah W. Richardson, son of William C. B. and Sarah 
(Everett) Richardson, was born at Cleveland. Ohio, November 6, 
1849. He was fitted for a business career by having his public school- 
ing supplemented with a business education, after which he credit- 
ably filled a position as bookkeeper for a time, before being sent to 
California, via Cape Horn, to look after matters pertaining to the 
Santa Eulalia Ranch, which was purchased by his father in 1868. He 
worked his passage as a sailor from New York City to San Francisco, 
and went directly to the ranch, arriving there early in the fall of 
1871. After fulfilling his mission at the ranch, by a stay of a few 
weeks, he returned to Cleveland, stopping over at Chicago, where 
he saw the devastation caused by the big fire of that year. He re- 
mained in Cleveland, assisting his father with surveying in that city 
and vicinity until June, 1873, when he came to California, and on De- 
cember first, assumed charge of the Santa Eulalia ranch. This was 
wholly under his supervision until 1880. when his father and mother 
came to make it their home. Then followed many years of successful 
operation of the property, with the father and son working and plan- 
ning together. 

Mr. Richardson was one of the organizers and incorporators of 
the city of Tropico, and was one of its first Board of Trustees. He 
was also one of the organizers of the Glendale Union High Scht)ol, 
and was one of its first Board of Trustees ; a member of the Glendale 
Valley Club and the Pioneer Society of Los Angeles county. Fra- 
ternally he was an Odd Fellow, and a Past Grand of the subordinate 
lodge, also a member of the Encampment and the Kebekahs. Mr. 
Richardson died .April 22, 1911, after having been a resident of the 
valley for nearly thirty-eight years. The Americans living in the val- 
ley in 1873 were few, and it can be safely said that he was the first 
American to come to the valley and make it his permanent home. 
Although others had lived in the valley, their residence was only 

At Los Angeles, California. November 2, 1887, Mr. Richardsf)n 
married Ella Weekly, fifth child of Labon and Mary Jane (Dunn) 
Weekly. Her parents were natives of Ohio, and of old Yankee an- 
cestry. Her father was a teacher of music and voice culture and her 
mother had been a school teacher. To benefit Mr. Weekly's health 
the family came to Los Angeles to live. Mr. and Mrs. Weekly passed 


away soon after coming to Los Angeles and Ella Weekly was left an 
orphan at the age of six years. She was reared in the homes of Mrs. 
John Blossner and Mrs. Charles Woodhead, of Los Angeles, and later 
made her home with W. C. B. Richardson. Mr. and Mrs. Richard- 
son became the parents of five children: Eulalia R. (now Mrs. Shives 
Mitchell), of King City, California. She is a graduate of Stanford 
University. In 1913 she took a trip around the world on the steam- 
ship Cleveland, sailing from San Francisco and landing at New York 
City nine months later. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell are the parents of two 
boys : Billy R. and Ferguson. E. Will is a graduate of the University 
of Maine. He is a veteran of the ^^'orld War, and was with the army 
of occupation on the Rhine at Coblenz, Germany, after the armistice 
was signed. He is now a rancher and insurance agent at Lanker- 
shim. In February, 1922, he married Helen Fletcher of Hollywood. 
Omar Burt is a contractor and builder of Los Angeles, a sketch of 
whom appears elsewhere in this volume. Paul Eddy, a junior at Stan- 
ford University, recently returned from a trip around the world as a 
part of his curriculum at the university. The voyage was made on 
the Admiral Line steamer Kasson, on which he was assistant en- 
gineer during the latter part of the trip. John Henry graduated from 
Glendale Union High School with the class of 1922, and is now at- 
tending Virginia University, Richmond. Virginia. 

Mrs. Richardson is one of Glendale's leading women. Besides 
attending to her various business interests, she finds time to take an 
active interest in politics, civic affairs and club life. She is a member 
of the Republican County Central Committee, was the first President 
of the Child's Student Club, a charter member of the Colorado Street 
School, Parent-Teacher Association, a member of the Tuesday After- 
noon Club, an official of Glen Eyrie Chapter, Order Eastern Star, a 
charter member of the Lester Meyers Chapter of War Mothers, a 
member of the Women's Relief Corps and of the Chamber of Com- 
merce. She is a Christian Scientist, and a member of the Mother 
Church, the First Church of Christ Scientist, Boston, Massachusetts. 
She was one of the organizers of the First Church of Christ Scien- 
tist, Glendale. She has traveled in many states, and for nearly a year 
was a resident of Brookline, Massachusetts, while her sons were at- 
tending the Universities of the East. Philanthropic and benevolent, 
she is always ready to help any just cause, but greater than her gen- 
erosity in worldly goods is her wealth of kindness and sympathy. 
She resides at 317 North Brand boulevard. 

Dr. Fay G. Stone was born October 5, 1892, in South Glendale. 
He has, therefore, the distinction of being one of Glendale's oldest 
American native son, and is the only professional man in the city who 
has been a resident of the valley all his life. He is a son of A. P. and 
Ella (Cornwell) Stone. His father was born near Springfield, Mis- 
souri, and his mother was a native of Arkansas. They came to the 
valley in 1890, from Springfield, Missouri, and settled on the Santa 
Eulalia Ranch, where they lived for sixteen years. They are now 
residents of Modesto, California. 


Dr. Stone is the youngest of a family of four children. The 
others are: .'Mta. wife of Robert Cofifin, of Modesto, California; 
Alma M., wife of Daniel Kelty, of Glendale; and Ral])h, a resident of 
Astoria, Oregon. He attended the Tropico Grammar School, the 
Glendale Union High School, and graduated from the Dental Col- 
lege of the University of Southern California with the class of 1914. 
and within thirty days thereafter was established in his profession 
in Glendale. In September, 1917, he was commissioned a Lieutenant 
in the Dental Corps of the army and was sent to Camp Fremont. 
At the time the armistice was signed he was at Camp Mills, equipped 
for duty over-seas. He was later sent to Camp Stewart where he 
was mustered out of the service on January 28, 1919, and returned to 
Glendale and his practice. He is an Elk and a charter memlier of 
the American Legion. 

At Los Angeles, on June 19, 1919, Dr. Stone married Bernice 
McCann, of Los Angeles. They reside at 636 North Central avenue. 

Dr. J. E. EcKLES, Glendale's efficient health officer, was born No- 
vember 27, 1876. at Mawuokita, Jackson county, Iowa, a son ot 
Joseph C. and Ida (Edwards) Eckles. The Eckles family, in Amer- 
ica, dates back to 1760, and is of Irish descent. Many of the Eckles 
family have been professional men. Dr. Eckles' grandfather, James 
W. Eckles, was a pioneer physician of Iowa. Early in the Civil War 
he recruited a regiment of soldiers, at the close of which he was a 
Lieutenant Colonel. After the war he practiced medicine for a num- 
ber of years, until failing health compelled him to retire. He was a 
prominent Democrat of Jackson count)'. Dr. Eckles' father was a 
native of Pennsylvania, and was for many years Justice of the Peace 
and a member of the Board of Education at Stromsburg, Nebraska. 
He is now living retired at Polk, Nebraska. 

Dr. Eckles was the oldest of three children. His sister, Mirna, 
and his brother, Charles, are residents of Polk, Nebraska. He was 
educated in the public schools of Polk, Nebraska; his parents having 
moved there when he was three years old. Later, he graduated from 
Bryant Normal University. Stromsburg, Nebraska. He taught 
school for ten years and then became a postal clerk at York, Ne- 
braska, where he remained for eight years, during which time he 
was appointed examiner for the district. In 1912, he came to Cali- 
fornia and studied medicine at the College of Osteopathic Physicians 
and Surgeons, and later graduated from the Pacific Medical College 
at Los Angeles. Coming to Casa Verdugo he maintained an office 
until 1918, since which time he has had his office in the Paters Build- 
ing, Glendale. 

Dr. Eckles has been health officer since 1919. He is a member of 
the Physicians' Club, of Glendale, the Los Angeles County, California 
State and the Western Osteopathic Associations, and the Chamber of 
Commerce. Fraternally, he is a Master Mason and an Elk. He is a 
stockholder in the Glendale Press. 

Dr. Eckles was married at Arborville, Nebraska, in 1896, to Jen- 
nie W. Dorsey of that city. They had a family of five children. The 


first born, Merle J., died November 5, 1919, from the efifects of inocu- 
lations given him while in the service. These caused infection after 
he had been out of the service nearly a year, and death came sud- 
denly. He enlisted in April, 1917, in the National Guards, was trans- 
ferred to Battery A., 1st California Artillery, in the Motor Mechanics 
Regiment. He went to France and was attached to the air service. 
He had qualified as a pilot and was about to be commissioned when 
the armistice was signed. He returned home in July. 1919. and was 
a student in the Glendale Union High School at the time of his 
death. The other children are : Mable, Marguerite, Ralph, and Gilbert. 
Mrs. Eckles is a member of the Lester Meyer Chapter of War Moth- 
ers, and of Glen Eyrie Chapter, Order Eastern Star. The family- 
home is at 328 North Orange street. 

Richardson D. White, who is the city superintendent of schools, 
was born in St. Louis, Missouri, February 2, 1874, a son of Edward 
and Gertrude M. (Douglas) White. The W^hite family was estab- 
lished in Virginia by the great grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch, W'illiam Henry White, who came from W' estmoreland county, 
England, in 1765. He was a soldier in George Washington's army 
during the Revolutionary War. The Douglas family came from the 
north of Ireland. William White, the grandfather, was a jeweler at 
Fredricksburg, Virginia. Edward White was a soldier in the Civil 
War for four years, and fought with both Lee's and Johnson's armies. 
He was with Johnson's army at the time of its surrender. After the 
war he then went to St. Louis where he was an attorney for many 

Richardson D. White is one of a family of six children. The 
others in the family are: Chester B., a mining engineer, of Buenos 
Aires. Argentine ; Margaret D. Longly and Gertrude Jones, both resi- 
dents of Glendale; Edward E., who died in Chicago, Illinois, in 1909, 
and left two sons; Allison, who died at the age of fifteen years. 
Mr. White attended the public schools of St. Louis, after which, to 
please his father, he matriculated at Hampton Sidney College. Vir- 
ginia, where he took a classical course, graduating with the class of 
1893, with the degree of A. B. He then became a teacher in the Cen- 
tral High School at St. Louis, where he taught for eleven years. 
During this time, he studied law at the law school of W^ashington 
University, St. Louis, where he received the LL. B. degree. He 
also took post graduate work at the University of Chicago and Har- 
vard University. In 1908, be became professor of mathematics at the 
State Normal School at Cape Girardeau, Missouri, which position he 
filled for three years. 

In 1911, he came to Glendale and was at the head of the mathe- 
matics department in the (ilendale Union High School for two years. 
He was next made supervising principal of city schools, which posi- 
tion he now fills. With the adoption of the new charter in June, 
1921, his position automatically became that of City Superintendent 
of Schools. In the summer of 1913, he took post graduate work at 
the University of California at Berkeley. Mr. White is well known in 



educational circles, being a member of the National Educational As- 
sociation, the California Teacher's Association, the School Master's 
Club of Southern California and the Glendale City Teacher's Club. 
He is a Master Mason, a charter member of the Rotary Club, and a 
director of the Chamber of Commerce. He belongs to the American 
Legion, and is a member of its building committee. He joined the 
army but was not called until October 15, 1918, when he was sent to 
Ft. MacArthur and attached to the Heavy Artillerj'. He was hon- 
orably discharged from the service on December 15, 1918. 

At. St. Louis. Missouri, on August 15, 1908, Mr. White married 
Helen Morse, who was born and reared in Kansas. They have one 
daughter, Helen Morse White. Mrs. White is a member of the 
Women's Auxiliary of the American Legion and of the Tuesday Af- 
ternoon Club. The family are members of St. Mark's Episcopal 

W. E. Hewitt, who is the owner and proprietor of the Glendale 
Laundry, was born July 15, 1875, at Brantford, Ontario, Canada, a 
son of Thomas C. and Martha S. (Miller) Hewitt. Mis father was a 
Canadian and his mother was descended from an old New York- 
State family. His grandfather, Thomas Hewitt, was a native of Ire- 
land and a pioneer railroad man of Canada, who for many years held 
the post of Division Superintendent of the Grand Trunk railroad. 
His father has been identified with big business all his life, the latter 
years of his active business career being given to a large jjrinting 
business of which he was vice-president. 

Mr. Hewitt attended high school in Canada. He spent one year 
in a law school and then for a year was a traveling salesman. He 
moved to Detroit, Michigan, taking a position with the Detroit Water 
Works where he remained for eighteen years, starting first as a clerk, 
and studying nights on an engineering course of the "International 
Correspondence School," he fitted himself for the splendid position of 
acting chief civil engineer. He was inspecting engineer when the 
water tunnel was constructed. This tunnel supplies all Detroit and 
is considered a very wonderful piece of work. In Detroit he was a 
member of the Engineers Society and was in the Naval Reserve for 
three years. 

Early in 1913 he came to Southern California and soon ihere- 
after bought the Glendale Latnidry. in j)artnership with his brother- 
in-law, Charles Wouters. who was. and now is, one of the largest 
laundry operators in Chicago. In two years he bought out Mr. 
Wouter. The business has grown with the city until the plant has 
been enlarged to its present proportions of 18.000 square feet of floor 
space. It gives employment to fifty people. Miss Holm is in charge 
of the office; Mrs. Ingale, of the operating room; George Tyrr)r, en- 
gineer; Ed Moffat, in charge of marking and sorting; and Frank 
Patch is head driver. These employees have been with Mr. Hewitt 
since he first had the plant. 

Mr. Hewitt is a stockholder and director in the First Xational 
Bank, the First Savings Bank, and is a member of the advisory board 


of the Glendale Avenue branch of the Los Angeles (now Pacific- 
Southwest) Trust and Savings Bank. He was a stockholder and di- 
rector of the Bank of Glendale for several jears before it was sold to 
the Los Angeles Trust and Savings Bank. He is a charter member 
of the Rotary Club and was a member of its first board of directors, 
a member of the Elks Club, Chairman of the Industrial Committee 
of the Chamber of Commerce, and Chairman of the City Sewer Com- 
mittee. He was formerly a vestryman of St. Mark's Episcopal 
Church. During the war he was chairman of the Casa Verdugo Lib- 
erty Bond Drives, a member of the Home Guards, serving also 
in other auxiliary war work. 

He has traveled extensively, and unlike most Americans, has 
visited all the states. His latest trip was to the Hawaiian Islands 
during the winter of 1921-22. He was sent as the representative of 
the Chamber of Commerce to Mexico City, for the inauguration of 
President Obregon, entering the city on the Obregon Special from 
Nogales. Mr. Hewitt's father is a resident of California, as was his 
mother, prior to her death in June, 1922. They spent a great deal 
of their time with him at his residence at 911 Randolph street. 

James M. Rhoades, who is secretary of the Glendale Chamber of 
Commerce, is a native son, having been born at Placerville, Cali- 
fornia, May 27 , 1871, a son of Josiah and Bessie (Ashford) Rhoades. 
His parents were natives of England and came to America as chil- 
dren with their parents. Josiah Rhoades was a carver of marble stat- 
uary. He was a Forty-Niner, and remained in California until June, 
1871, when he returned east and locating in Cincinnati, Ohio, fol- 
lowed his profession until his death in 1897. Mrs. Rhoades died in 

The subject of this sketch went to sea at the age of seven as a 
bell hop on the New Orleans and Liverpool liner Crescent, under 
Capt. R. M. Evans. In this capacity he crossed the Atlantic thirty- 
two times. Upon the retirement of Capt. Evans he went to San 
Francisco and was employed on a liner under a brother of Capt. 
R. M. Evans. Before quitting the sea he made fifty-seven trips to 
the Orient, and was assistant purser on the liner City of Yokohama, 
which position he had held for some time. During the years he 
sailed the Pacific he was practically a ward of Capt. Evans, who gave 
him an education amounting to a high school training. Returning 
to Cincinnati, Ohio, he took a business course at the Ohio Business 

In 1888 he went to Dawson county, Montana, where he en- 
gaged in the live stock business. In 1894 he was elected assessor 
of Dawson county for a two-year term. In 1896 he was appointed 
Receiver of the United States Land Office at Dawson, Montana, by 
President McKinley, and four years later was reappointed by Presi- 
dent Roosevelt. Resigning the office in 1902, he went to Missoula, 
Montana, and engaged in the real estate and insurance business. 
He was a member of the State Legislature during 1903 and 1904, 
where he represented the Missoula County Assembly District. In 


1912 he was elected mayor of Missoula for a two-year term, which 
office was filled with credit and honor. He went to Bozeman, Mon- 
tana, in 1914. and was secretary of its Chamber of Cornmerce for 
two years. The year 1916 found him in San Diego, California, en- 
gaged in the real estate and insurance business, where he remained 
for a year. The call of the Chamber of Commerce of Everett, Wash- 
ington, took him to that city as its secretary for nearly three years. 
Returning to Southern California he became a resident of Long Beach 
where he remained until March, 1920, when he became secretary of 
the Glendale, newly reorganized. Chamber of Commerce, which posi- 
tion he has since efficiently and effectively filled. 

Mr. Rhoades is a Knight Templar Mason and Shriner, also a 
member of the Eastern Star, being a Past Patron of the latter or- 
ganization. He is an Odd Fellow of high standing, being a Past 
Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of the State of Montana, and has been a representative to 
its Sovereign Grand Lodge. He has filled practically all of the chairs 
in the Subordinate, Encampment and Canton Lodges of Odd Fel- 
lows. He is a life member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, holding his membership in Hell Gate Lodge, No. 383, Missoula, 

At Glendive, Montana, on October 21, 1890, Mr. Rhoades mar- 
ried Nellie Scott of that city. Their two children are James and 
Bessie. James is the custodian of the Citizens Building and resides 
at home. Bessie married Ernest Hubert, who is a professor in the 
University of Wisconsin. Mrs. Rhoades is a member of the Order 
Eastern Star. The family home is at 459 Hawthorne street, Glen- 
dale, California. 

Joseph C. Beldin. The J. C. Beldin Sheet Metal Works is one 
of the oldest business establishments in Glendale. Mr. Beldin came 
to Glendale before the city was incorporated, bringing his wife, Etta 
C. Beldin, and two small sons, Kenneth and W^endell. His purpfisc 
in locating in Glendale was not because of its prosperous, or even a 
hopeful, business outlook, but because he deemed it his duty to rear 
his boys where the water, the air, the morals of the community, and 
the prospects for the future were the best possible, and after travel- 
ing more or less in every state in the Union, he was persuaded that 
Glendale was the ideal spot. His capital in stock was largely his 
abiding confidence in his own ability as a mechanic, and a determi- 
nation to accomplish the purpose that brought him here, and in justi- 
fication of that confidence, he tells that, from the first day his shop 
opened he has never been without work. 

Mr. Beldin was the seventh of a family of eight children, and 
was the first of the family to be born south of the Mason and Dixon 
Line, being born at Dardanell, Arkansas, in the wonderfully inter- 
esting and beautiful Ozark Mountains. His father, S. D. Beldin, 
left his native state of Vermont when a very young man, partly be- 
cause of the rigid climate and partly because of a natural desire for 
travel and adventure, which had followed the family from the high- 


lands of Scotland, where the same impulse of his ancestors had in- 
spired Scott's terse poetic words, "If the path be dangerous known, 
the danger itself is lure alone." After traveling on horseback as far 
south and west as Dallas. Texas, he returned to the frontier settle- 
ments in Illinois. There he met and married Mary A. Bennett, a 
lineal descendant of Jonathan Carver, who, as an English General be- 
fore the Revolutionary War, negotiated some very important treaties 
with the Indians of the Northwest for the English and French gov- 
ernments, receiving for his services a grant of land 100 miles square, 
including the territory on which the cities of St. Paul and Minne- 
apolis now stand. 

The Civil War found the Beldin family in Arkansas, and being 
Union sympathizers, the family record of those dismal years would 
be long to tell and sad to hear. At the close of the war, the father, 
S. D. Beldin. and three older brothers became prominent in political 
affairs of the state, and held many important official positions. 
Among other positions, the father was a member of the Constitu- 
tional Convention, a member of the Legislature, and Probate Judge 
of the county. The eldest son, L. D. Beldin, was Circuit Judge of 
his district for many years. The second son, D. P. Beldin, was 
State Senator for twelve years. The third son, Ziba Beldin, was 
clerk and recorder of his county for twelve years. 

In the spring of 1879, J. C. Beldin answered the call of adventure 
and went to Leadville, Colorado, and for many years made his home 
in the Rocky Mountains from New Mexico to the British line. Dur- 
ing this time he reared a family of four children for a widowed sister 
at Anaconda, Montana, the youngest of whom is George R. Cooper, 
a member of the State Senate at the present time. Mr. Beldin has 
never desired political prominence, but on several occasions, when 
the best interests of the community seemed at stake, his opponents 
have learned his knowledge of affairs political. In Glendale when the 
question of municipal ownership of water led perhaps to the hardest 
fought battles in the history of the city. Mr. Beldin took an active 
part in the fight, and was one of the speakers at the huge mass meet- 
ing which decided the issue in favor of municipal ownership. 

Mr. Beldin's early confidence in Glendale as a fit place to rear his 
boys has been justified, for in its pure atmosphere and progressive 
schools, the boys have grown to clean and stalwart manhood. Indeed 
the history of Glendale cannot be truthfully written without the name 
of Kenneth Beldin, for he was one of the two boys who stood beside 
the guns on the firing line, in the battle for municipal ownership of 
water, until the finished contest told that the victory was won. In 
the beginning of his graduation year, Kenneth became ambitious to 
start a high school paper, but the authorities in charge wf)uld not per- 
mit him to do so, fearing that it would become a financial burden to 
the school. His ambition would not down, however, and finally when 
he obtained permission to start the paper as a private enterprise, he 
became so elated that a friend warned him not to explode. "Thanks," 
said Kenneth, "that is a good name for my paper, I will call it the 
'Explosion'." So firmly did he set the enterprise on its feet, with a 


cash capital of $12.00 and a good reserve fund of energy and abHity, 
that at the end of the term his cash balance sheet showed $50.00 
profit, several hundred dollars' worth of experience and the honor of 
being the founder and first editor of the Glendale Union High School 
"Explosion." Wiien he left high school for college, he made the 
student body a graduating present of the $12.00 original cash capital 
and the entire paper, which had already taken its place as part of 
the institution, and has continued a factor in the wonderful growth of 
Glendale's Union High School. Wendell, the younger son, besides 
being a sheet metal worker of more than ordinary skill, became an 
expert in the oil well shooting business before he was of age and 
traveled extensively from Mexico to Seattle in charge of important 
work in that line. His beautiful new model Cleveland, the result of 
his own energy and ability, makes all Southern California his play- 
ground and demonstrates that Glendale is not a bad place to raise 

James F. Tri-eman was born in Truemanville, Nova Scotia, 
October 26, 1849. He is a descendant of William Trueman, who emi- 
grated to America in 1775. from Yorkshire, England, with his wife 
and son, and settled in Nova Scotia. In 1785, William Trueman 
built a brick house, which up to the time it was torn down in 1920 had 
housed nine different generations of the Trueman family. The True- 
mans had been farmers in Yorkshire, and all these years in Nova 
Scotia they have been farmers and millers, with both grist and lum- 
ber mills. ' Members of the family have also been prominent in the 
professions. The Truemans had been Methodists at home and intro- 
duced Methodism in Nova Scotia. To them and other Yorkshire 
families of the settlement was due the loyalty to England at the time 
of the American War of Independence. That part of Nova Scotia 
settled by the Truemans is known as Truemanville. 

The subject of our sketch, James F. Trueman, had a common 
school education supplemented by attending an academy. He lived 
at home until he was married November 10, 1872, to Mary Alice 
Tupper, a daughter of David and Charlotta (Green) Tupper. Her 
mother was a daughter of Sir Elveen, of Shygo. Her cousin, Sir 
Charles Tupper, was Premier of Canada. Mrs. Trueman died at 
Truemanville. Nova Scotia, August 9, 1888, leaving a family of four 
sons and one daughter. They were: John, who died at the age of 
thirty-four; Winnie Louise, who died at the age of thirty-two; Henry 
N., who is a steamboat captain residing at Vancouver, British Colum- 
bia; Austin Earl, who died at the age of twenty-nine from the effects 
of an attack by highwaymen near Santa Monica two years previous, 
and Benjamin, a prosperous miner of Kern county. California. 

Mr. Trueman left Nova Scotia, in 1889, and went to San Fran- 
cisco, where he remained for a few months before coming to South- 
ern California. He bought the ranch at La Canada where Ex-Gov- 
ernor Wallace now resides and remained there for one year in part- 
nership with Dr. Moore. Moving to Burbank, he rented a ranch for 
two years before buying the thirty acres where he has since resided. 


The tract was a wilderness of sage brush, but he set out fruit trees 
and grape vines and was soon reaping the results of his labors. The 
ranch is located on Glendale Road at Vine Street and is now being 
subdivided. He was at first identified with the Democratic party, but 
soon, thinking that a protective tariff was necessary to the fruit 
growers, became a Republican. Active in politics, a worker in the 
ranks, but never an office seeker. He is a member of the Methodist 
Church at Burbank. 

In September, 1919, Mr. Trueman returned to Truemanville for 
a grand family reunion. There were assembled over three hundred 
guests, representing the various branches of the family. Mr. James 
F. Trueman, as chairman, delivered the address of welcome. He 
told how the Truemans had grown to a family of fifteen hundred 
members, and how they had prospered. He quoted the saying of 
Judge Morse, "The Yorkshire men did three great things; they made 
the country, preserved the flag and founded Methodism in Nova 
Scotia." Truly no man can reckon the value to the New World, of 
an emigrant of the calibre of William Trueman, founder of this family. 

Dr. Henry R. H.\rrower is the founder of The Harrower Labora- 
tory, an institution developed nearly five years ago from an ideal of 
long standing into a reality. It has become internationally known 
through the untiring, persistent and consistent activity of its founder 
in educating the medical fraternity in general practice, in regard to 
internal secretions and the possibilities of glandular therapy. 

Dr. Harrower is a native of London, England, and was born 
April 30, 1883, son of Robert Percy and Susan (Flynn) Harrower. 
At the age of seventeen he had received the regular schooling in the 
common schools, and had taken special courses at the Birkbeck In- 
stitute and at the North PoI)-technic Institute, of London. He went 
to Scandinavia, and for three years, in various places, made a thor- 
ough study of massage and Swedish manual movements. Coming to 
America as an expert masseur he worked his way through the Amer- 
ican Medical Missionary College, at that time connected with the fa- 
mous Battle Creek Sanitarium. After four years there he located at 
Chicago for a time, then returned to Europe, where he spent much 
time in travel, visiting many institutions of research and learning. 
Returning to America he located as a general practitioner, at Kankar 
kee, Illinois, and after a short stay, went to Chicago where he was 
put in charge of the research department of The Abbott Laboratories. 
He was soon invited to connect with the medical department of Loy- 
ola University, Chicago, and for over two vears was Professor of 
Clinical Diagnosis (1910-12). 

In 1912, he again went abroad, remaining for two and one-half 
years, where most of his time was given to the study of his special 
ideals and to literary work. During this time he wrote his first large 
book "Practical Hormone Therapy." which was published by Bail- 
liere, Tindall and Cox, in London in 1914, and later in New York 
City upon his rfturn to America. After a short stay in New York 
City, he came to Southern California in the fall of 1915, and soon 



thereafter to Glendale where he has since made his home. In 1917, 
he founded an association, of international scope, for the study of 
internal secretions. Of this he has since been the secretary. Up 
to 1918, he divided his time between Glendale and Los Angeles in 
the practice of his profession. In 1918, he founded The Harrower 
Laboratory, which has shown a rapid and remarkalile j,'rowth from 
its inception. Branches are maintained in New Ycjrk City, Chicago, 
Baltimore. Kansas City, Denver, Dallas and Portland, Oregon. A 
branch office has recently been established at 71 Wigmore Street, 
in the heart of the "medical district" of the north end of London. 

Dr. Harrower is a man of exceptional personality. The enthusi- 
asm which made possible the establishment and development of The 
narrower Laboratory, against great odds, is apparent at all times. 
It is contagious and extends, not only to his employees, but to many 
thousands of members of the medical profession who have become 
interested in his branch of medicine. To many he is known as "Har- 
rower the irrepressible." He is a linguist of no mean order. This 
has helped him, to a remarkable degree, in fathering the data from 
the various sources which have helped in the development of his 
work. He is a big, vigorous man and has a big, vigorous brain — and 
those who know, say that his heart is just as big. He is a member 
of the Glendale Chamlier of Commerce, Treasurer of the East Glen- 
dale Advancement Association, a Director of the International E.x- 
change Club of Glendale, and his interest in civic affairs is above the 
ordinary, being neither niggardly about the time or money he spends 
in furthering the interests of his community. 

At Battle Creek, Michigan, on March 18, 1906, Dr. Harrower mar- 
ried Besse I. Waggoner, of Oakland, California. Dr. and Mrs. Har- 
rower have one daughter, V'erne Irene. They are members of the 
Seventh Day .-Xdventist Church. The family home is at 1510 East 

Albert G. Cornwell, of the firm of Cornwell & Kelty, hardware 
merchants, at 107 South Brand Boulevard, has been a resident of 
Glendale since 1892. He is a son of George and Mary (Riggins) 
Cornwell. His parents are natives of Tennessee, and have also been 
residents of Glendale since 1892. Mr. Cornwell is one of a family of 
eight children, the others being: Ella, wife of A. P. Stone, H. E"., 
W. C, Hugh, Jennie, Carrie B. and L. May Cornwell. The latter is 
principal of the Acacia Street School. 

Mr. Cornwell is a graduate of Glendale Union High School. 
After leaving school he was employed as a clerk in a hardware store 
in Los Angeles. In 1911 he formed a partnership with Daniel Kelty 
and they opened a hardware store on Brand Boulevard, where they 
have since been located. No other hardware business has been undfer 
the same management so long, which gives them the distinction of 
being the oldest hardware merchants in Glendale. Fraternally, Mr. 
Cornwell is a Scottish Rite Mason, an Elk, and a member of Glen 
Eyrie Chapter, Order Eastern Star. He is also a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce. 


At Glendale, on February 18, 1913, Mr. Cornvvell was married to 
Lillian A. Goetz, of Laramie, Wyoming. They have a son, Glen Allen 
Cornwell. Mrs. Cornwell is a member of the Eastern Star. They 
reside at 343 North Central avenue. 

Dk. William C. Mabry, who is an internist in the practice of his 
profession, maintaining offices in Glendale and Los Angeles, is a 
native of Donellson, Montgomery county, Illinois. He was born Oc- 
tober 29. 1871, a son of William Dudly and Irene (Button) Mabry. 
The Mabrys are of Scotch, Irish and English ancestry and the family 
was founded in America in 1665. Robert Mabry was a Major in the 
Revolutionary War serving with the Virginian troops. He was a 
pioneer in Southern Illinois, where he became a large land owner and 
a man of big business. Joseph Braxton Mabry, grandfather of Dr. 
Mabry, was a soldier in the Mexican War. As a young man he, with 
an older brother, made the trip to Puget Sound, two years before the 
Lewis and Clark expedition crossed the continent. Mabry's Landing, 
a town on the Ohio river, was named after the Mabrys. They were 
owners and operators of a line of boats on the Ohio and Mississippi 
rivers. They were large slave owners, but gave all their liberty before 
Illinois was admitted as a state. 

William Dudley Mabry is a resident of Washington, D. C, 
where he is at the head of a bureau in the United States Treasury. 
He is a veteran of the Civil War, having served with the Second Illi- 
nois Cavalry for the duration of the war. He has been a government 
employee for twenty-five years, his first government appointment, 
under President McKinley, in the ordnance department. Dr. 
Mabry's parents moved from Illinois to McGregor, Iowa, when he 
was seven years old. He attended the public schools of McGregor, 
after which he enrolled at the I'pper Iowa University, at Fayette, 
and graduated with the class of 1892, with the degree of A. B. Min- 
ing called him to California, but after a few years of it he returned 
East and matriculated at Western Reserve Medical College, Cleve- 
land, Ohio. At the outbreak of the Spanish-American War he en- 
listed in the Hospital Corps and served until the end of the war. 
Returning to his studies at the medical college he graduated in 1900 
and returned to the Army Medical Service. Being sent to China and 
the Philippines for the campaigns there, he obtained, incidentally, 
an extensive experience in troi)ical diseases. Returning to the 
states he served in various posts of the army until 1905, when he 
accepted a position as mine surgeon and as assistant surgeon for the 
Sonora Railway Company in Mexico, remaining in that country for 
seven and one-half years. 

He came to Tropico to live and has since given his time to his 
profession there and at Los .Xngeles, excepting for the time he was a 
Captain in the Medical Corps during the late war. He was in ser- 
vice from July, 1918. to September, 1919, and was stationed at Camp 
Lewis and at Fort Douglas. He was a member of the exemption 
board for district No. 9, before receiving his commission. Dr. Mabry 
is a life member of Woodward Lodge, No. 508, F. & A. M., Cleve- 


land, Ohio, an Elk, a Knights of Pythias, the Sons of Veterans, the 
American Legion, and a charter member of the United Spanish War 
X'eterans. Before Tropico became a part of Glendaie, Dr. Mabry was 
its health officer. He also had been President of its Chamber of Com- 
merce and Superintendent of Playgrounds. During the time that 
Thornycroft Farm and Sanitarium was given to the care of disabled 
World War veterans Dr. Mabry was its house physician. 

At Salt Lake City, Utah. September 7. 1904, Dr. Mabry mar- 
ried Bessie Mayne, a daughter of Alvadus H. and Janet Mayne. Her 
father was a well known mining man of Utah. Mrs. Mabry is of 
notable Yankee ancestry on both her father's and mother's sides, 
iioth families having been established in the Colonies in the pre- 
revolutionary days. She is a graduate of the University of Utah. 
She is active in the social and club life of Glendaie. lieing president 
of the Thursday Afternoon Club, a member of Chapter A. H. of the 
P. E. O., Women's Auxiliary to the United Spanish War Veterans, 
American Legion, and various other societies and clubs. Dr. and 
Mrs. Mabry are the parents of three children: Janet Elizabeth. Bettie, 
and William Braxton, all natives of Glendaie. The family home is 
at 115 East Acacia avenue. 

Alphonso Welker Tower is a native of Tower. Indiana, a small 
country town near the Ohio river and not far from Louisville, Ken- 
tucky. The Towers are an old American family tracing their an- 
cestry back to John Tower, John Adams and John Stark of New 
England fame. .\t Hingham, Massachusetts, stands a monument 
erected in honor of John Tower, the founder of the line in America. 
Gotten Tower, the great grandfather of the subject of this review, 
settled in Southern Indiana when a young man and for him. Tower, 
Indiana, was named. To C. R. Tower and Luzetta (Henry) Tower on 
January 16, 1878, was born a son, who for some reason best known 
to them, was christened Alphonso. Young Mr. Tower attended the 
country schools of the neighborhood and at the mature age of sixteen 
was licensed to teach in the public schools of Crawford county, which 
he did for three j-ears. He then entered the .Academy of De Pauw 
University at Greencastle. Indiana. Graduating from the academy 
he then entered the university, from which he graduated in June, 
1903. While in college he was a member of the Sigma Nu Fraternity. 
.After graduation he came to Los Angeles and for a time taught in 
a boys' school, but shortly entered the University of California, at 
Berkeley, for post graduate work. He was elected to Sigma Xi, an 
honorary scholarship society, while at the university. 

In September, 1905, he came to Glendaie, as vice-principal of the 
Glendaie Union High School, and served in that capacity for two 
years. For the next twelve years he was head of the Biology de- 
partment of the Polytechnic High School. Los Angeles. In 1918- 
1920 he was vice-principal of the Polytechnic Evening High School, 
which then was, and still is, the largest night school in the world. In 
1920, Mr. Tower associated himself in business with the firm Void, 
Tower & Lee. Printers, Binders and Engravers at 4,^1 W^all Street, 


Los Angeles. In August, 1922, Mr. Tower and Mr. Wilbur E. Lee 
purchased the interest of Mr. Void in the business and organized the 
Tower-Lee Company, Commercial printers. 

Mr. Tower served as a trustee of the City of Glendale for four 
years (1912-1916), as Chairman of the committee on public welfare 
and a member of the finance committee. During his term of office, 
Mr. Tower introduced the city manager form of government for 
Glendale, which has since proved so popular. 

He is a member of Unity Lodge, No. 368, F. & A. M., Unity 
Chapter, No. 116 R. A. M. and Glendale Commandry, No. 53, 
Knights Templar, and has been secretary of Unity Lodge, No. 368, 
since 1910. He has always taken an active part in all public affairs 
and is a member of the Chamber of Commerce in Glendale and Los 
Angeles, also the Los Angeles Merchant's and Manufacturer's As- 
sociation, the Los Angeles City Club, the Advertising Club and the 
Los Angeles Masonic Club. In the religious life of Glendale he has 
also taken an active interest, having helped to organize the Federated 
Church Brotherhoods. He is a member of the First Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, of which he is Sunday School Superintendent and a 

June 28, 1906, at Ishpenning, Michigan, Mr. Tower married L. 
Pearl Collins. Mrs. Tower is also a graduate of De Pauw University 
and a member of the Alpha Phi Sorority. She is a Past President of 
the Tuesday Afternoon Club, having served for two terms. 

Fred Deal, who recently rounded out a quarter of a century of 
continuous service as an employee of the telephone company, now is 
the proud possessor of a jewel which the company gives for such 
service. He was born at Bucyrus, Ohio, February 12, 1869, a son of 
Martin and Sarah (Lilly) Deal. Both parents were natives of Penn- 
sylvania; the father of Gettysburg and the mother of York. During 
the Civil War Martin Deal was a railroad employee and, as such, 
was not allowed to enlist in the service. After the war he moved to 
Bucyrus, Ohio, where he was successful in the manufacture of mill 
machinery for many years. A man of deep religious conviction, he 
gave liberally of his wealth to the support and building of Methodist 
Churches. He was an early and ardent advocate of prohibition. 

The subject of this review was the eleventh of a family of four- 
teen children, and after attending the public schools set out to make 
his living which he did by taking up telephone and electric light 
work. Being of a roving disposition and desirous of seeing the coun- 
try, the year 1893 found him in San Francisco in the employ of the 
General Electric Company. He was ordered to go to Chicago and re- 
port to the World's Fair Commission, which consigned him to the 
electrical department for the duration of the fair. He was superin- 
tendent of the Missouri Power & Light Company at Marshall, Mis- 
souri, for two years, and then went to Marshalltown, Iowa, where 
he was assistant manager for the Iowa Telephone Comjiany until he 
came to Southern California in the summer of 1905, to become man- 
ager of the telephone exchange at Santa Monica. In March of the 


following year, he was transferred to Glendale to build up the busi- 
ness there, and on June 6, 1906. an exchange was installed with sixty 
subscribers. Mr. Deal has been manager of the exchange ever since. 
The Glendale district now has five central offices and fifteen agencies, 
comprising a territory of twenty-eight hundred square miles in the 
San Fernando and Antelope valleys. The district furnishes employ- 
ment for nearly half an hundred people and the monthly payroll 
approximates seven thousand dollars. The building on South Brand 
Boulevard, owned and occupied by the Telephone Company, is of 
fire proof construction and the equipinenl throughout is the best, giv- 
ing Glendale and vicinity telephone service second to none. 

At Marshalltown, Iowa, on November 4, 1897, Mr. Deal married 
Cora Anson. Her grandfather, Henry .Anson, was the father of Mar- 
shalltown, its first mayor, and his principal business was a large 
brick manufacturing plant of which Mrs. Deal's father was in charge 
for many years. Capt. Anson, of National League baseball fame, 
was an uncle of Mrs. Deal. She is a member of Glen liyrie Chapter, 
Order Eastern Star, the Royal Neighbors and the Tuesday .After- 
noon Club. Fraternally Mr. Deal is a Royal Arch Mason, a Knigh't 
of Pythias, a modern Woodman of the World, a charter member of 
the Kiwanis Club and a member of the Eastern Star. Their resi- 
dence, which was built by Mr. Deal in 1908, is at 237 North Louise 

Roy L. Kent, who is one of the most progressive of Glendale's 
younger business men, was born at Edinboro, Erie county, Pennsyl- 
vania, March 31, 1886, a son of Charles W. and Emma (Metzen- 
bacher) Kent. He received his early education in the public schools 
of his home city, which was supplemented by taking a business 
course at Davis Business College, Erie, Pennsylvania. He was em- 
ployed in his father's planing mill before taking the business course, 
and afterwards became timekeeper in the plant of the American Steel 
& Wire Company, at Sharon, Pennsylvania, where he remained two 
years, serving in many branches of the business, and being assistant 
paymaster at the time he resigned from their employ. He came to 
Los Angeles, in 1905, and secured a position in the plant department 
of the Title Guarantee & Trust Company, where he remained for three 
years, being assistant manager of the department when he left them. 
During these three years he gave his evenings to the study of archi- 
tecture, having in mind the desire to become a contractor and builder. 
He next entered the employ of the Weaver Construction Company, 
remaining with them for two years, serving in turn in the capacities 
of architect, estimator and superintendent of construction. 

In 1910, he joined forces with his father, and opening an office in 
Glendale. they began contracting and building, doing business under 
the firm name of Chas. W. Kent & Son. They at once became prom- 
inent in their line of business in Glendale, and reaching out for busi- 
ness extended their activity to other cities. In Glendale they built 
the Parker Building, the Glendale Theater, all of the present group 
of high school buildings, with the exception of the administration 


building, several grammar schools and many residences. They built 
the Owensmouth High School and grammar schools in Culver City. 

In 1919, Roy L. Kent purchased his father's interest in the busi- 
ness, and has since been doing business under the name of the Roy 
L. Kent Company. The business has expanded in several directions 
and now consists of general contracting and building, architecture, 
insurance, and the sub-dividing and improving of real estate. His 
business approximates a turnover of $500,000.00 yearly, in which em- 
ployment is given to about one hundred people the year around. R. S. 
Henry is his outside superintendent, A. L. Baird is in charge of the 
real estate and insurance department, while the architectural depart- 
ment is under Charles Cressey. The Glendale Plumbing Company, 
which is owned by the Roy L. Kent Company, is managed by P. J. 
Sheehy. In 1920, Mr. Kent opened a lumber yard, which he owned 
and managed until it was sold to the Fox-Woodsum Lumber Com- 
pany. He built the Huntlet & Evans Building, which is now occu- 
pied by the Pendroy Department Store, and the store building at 121 
South Brand boulevard, was built and is owned by Mr. Kent, and 
on the site of which he secured a ninety-nine year lease, it being 
the first long term lease given in Glendale. 

Mr. Kent created the industrial section along San Fernando Road 
at Colorado Street. One of the first concerns to locate here was the 
Standard Oil Company, which built a large distribution plant for 
their products. The International Chemical Company purchased 
two and one-half acres, erected a two-story factory building, and are 
manufacturing printers' ink in large quantities, their product being 
used by the Los Angeles Times and other large newspapers of South- 
ern California. The Glendale Engineering Company leased two 
acres in this district and purchased a two-story I)uilding 75 by 175 
feet, which was erected by the Roy L. Kent Company, and are mov- 
ing here a machine and manufacturing business from Modesto and 
one from Oakland. The Roy L. Kent Company secured a ninety- 
nine year lease in November, 1922, for a large additional acreage at 
this point and will extend Colorado Street through their holdings. 
Mr. Kent promoted and developed "Glendale Gardens" and is the 
owner of considerable property on Brand Boulevard. Maryland and 
Orange Streets. 

His interest in civic, club and church affairs is more than ordi- 
nary. He is a director of the Glendale Chamber of Commerce, the 
Citizens Building Company, the Research Hospital, the Golden State 
Building & Loan Association, the Glendale Engineering Company, 
the Sespe and Oakmont Country Clubs, the Hazen J. Titus Company, 
of Los Angeles, and in 1922 was made a member of the board of di- 
rectors of Redlands University. He is a charter member and presi- 
dent of the Rotary Club, and is superintendent of Sunday School in 
the First Baptist church. Fraternally, an Elk ; and politically, a Re- 

At Los Angeles, in 1908, Mr. Kent married Elizabeth M. O'Con- 
nor, of that city. Their three children are : James Wesley, John 
Howard and Ethelwyn. Mrs. Kent is a member of the Tuesday .^fter- 


noon Club and Chapter C. J. of the P. E. O. The family home is at 
552 North Central avenue. 

Dr. H. R. Bover, one of Glendale's prominent physicians, was 
born in Accident. Garret county. Maryland. He is one of twelve 
children — his father, ninety-one years of age, is still living. Dr. 
Boyer took a four-year course in medicine and surgery at the Uni- 
versity of Maryland, graduating in 1903. He was an interne in the 
University hospital for ten months. From this time he practiced his 
profession in his native town until 1908, when he came to California 
on a vacation, and being favorably impressed, decided to make this 
state his home. He returned to Maryland and closed his business 
there. After taking a post graduate course at Bellevue Hospital in 
New York and at the Policlinic in Chicago he returned to California 
and, passing the State Medical Board examinations, opened an of- 
fice in Oakland in 1909. He remained there until 1911, when he came 
to Los Angeles and entered the County Hospital for post graduate 
work. After spending eighteen months in this institution he came to 
Glendale and has had offices in the First National Bank building since 
the time of its completion in 1913. In 1917, Dr. Boyer went East and 
again took post graduate work at Johns Hopkins ; also at the Mayo 
Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. 

Mr. Boyer is a life member of 1289, B. P. O. E.. a Knights 
Templar Mason, and holds a life membership in Al Malaihah Shrine. 
He belongs to the Los Angeles County Medical Association, and is a 
member of the American Medical Association, and of the Glendale 
Medical Club, of which he was President for the year 1921. In Los 
Angeles, on April 8, 1913, Dr. Boyer married Elizabeth B. Stebbins of 
Kenosha, Wisconsin. Mrs. Boyer. who is a talented musician, re- 
ceived her education at Kemper Hall, Kenosha, and is a life member 
of the Tuesday Afternoon Club of Glendale. On March 1, 1922, Dr. 
and Mrs. Boyer left Glendale for a trip to Europe, where the doctor 
took a post graduate course at the famous University of Vienna, re- 
turning to Glendale the following August. 

Sidney E. Grant, who is the owner and proprietor of Arbor Rest 
Home, at 1209 East Lexington drive, was born at Henderson. Ken- 
tucky, December 11, 1858, a son of John and Elizabeth (De.Asker) 
Grant. His father, a native of Scotland, came to .America as a young 
man and was for many years a ])r(Mninent citizen of Henderson, Ken- 
tucky, conducting a combined lousiness of a general mercantile store, 
flour mill and a tobacco warehouse. 

Sidney E. Grant attended the public schools of his native city, 
after which he took a business course at Evansville, Indiana. He 
learned the trade of marble and stone carving and made that voca- 
tion his principal occupation for many years. It took him from 
Chicago, Illinois, to the Gulf of Mexico; from Cincinnati, Ohio, to 
the Pacific and return. From 1879 to 1882, he was in California, at 
Sacramento and San Francisco. In 1906 he left Shawnee, Oklahoma, 
where he had been a dealer in monumental and building stone the 


past year, for Old Mexico, and located about one hundred miles in- 
land from Tampico where he dealt in. and improved real estate by 
setting out many acres of oranges and pineapples, remaining in Mex- 
ico until he came to Los Angeles in 1912. 

At Ottumwa, Iowa, on October 20, 1883, Mr. Grant married Miss 
Virginia E. Sisson. They became the parents of four chidren : Ray, 
of St. Louis. Missouri; Horace, of Shawnee, Oklahoma; Mrs. Enid 
E. Crosthwaite, of San Antonio, Texas; and Miss Vera of Glendale. 
Mrs. Grant died in 190L Mr. Grant married Daisy Dean, of Des 
Moines, Iowa, in March 1905. She is a trained nurse l:)y profession, 
having done public nursing for several years prior to her marriage to 
Mr. Grant. In 1913 Mr. Grant purchased a seven room residence of 
J. P. Lampert, at 1209 East Le.xington drive. This property is now 
known as Arbor Rest Home, and is in charge of Mr. and Mrs. Grant. 

Mr. Grant is a Master Mason an Odd Fellow and belongs to the 
Chamber of Commerce. Both Mr. and Mrs. Grant are members of 
the Eastern Star and the Rebekahs. 

Arthur J. Van Wie, Glendale's efficient City Clerk, was born at 
Mason City, Iowa, January 15, 1880. a son of Jacob H. and Addie M. 
(Case) Van Wie. His parents were both natives of New York State. 
When the call for volunteers was given in 1861, Jacob H. Van Wie 
was in Wisconsin. He forthwith enlisted in the Nineteenth Volun- 
teers Infantry, serving with that contingent for nearly two years 
and then was discharged from the service because of disability 
brought about by prolonged illness. After regaining his health he 
went to Mason City, Iowa, where he was a contractor and builder 
until he retired and came to Los Angeles in 19n. 

Arthur J. Van Wie received his education in the public schools 
of Mason City, Iowa. He was a member of the State Militia of 
Iowa at the time the Spanish-American War broke out, but because of 
ill health, was not mustered into the regular army with that body 
of troops. For six years Mr. Van Wie was in theatrical work, play- 
ing in stock companies and vaudeville. During the summer months 
of three of these years he filled engagements with circuses, taking 
part in side show activities. His leisure time, beginning with his 
school days and for several years thereafter, was given to learning the 
printing trade, and from 1897 to 1913. he was an itinerant journey- 
man printer in the west and middle west. He bought the Tropico 
Sentinel of Ella Richardson in 1913, editing it for three years, during 
which time he sponsored many progressive movements for the city, 
chief among which was the construction of jiaved streets and cement 
sidewalks. He opposed the annexation of Tropico to Los Angeles 
and favored its annexation to Glendale during the different annexa- 
tion campaigns. In 1917, he was appfiinled City Clerk of Tropico. 
and upon its merger with Glendale in the fall of the same year, was 
given a position in the desk service of the Glendale Police Depart- 
ment. Serving in diflferent capacities in the City Hall until October 
17, 1921, he was appointed City Clerk, and has since filled that posi- 
tion with courtesy, credit and honor. 

'^'-< /^^/^ 



Fraternally, Mr. Van Wie is an Elk. He is a member of Sons of 
Veterans, N. P. Banks Camp, No. 22, of which he is a Past Com- 
mander. At Chicago, Illinois, April 30, 1911, Mr. Van Wie married 
Dorothy Spencer, of that city. Their two sons are Spencer and Ed- 
win Case. Mr. and Mrs. Van W'ie attend the Christian Science 
Church. They reside in their new home at 620 North .Xdams street. 

Dr. T. C. Young, who has practiced medicine and surgery in 
Glendale since 1909, was born at Winterset, Iowa, November 7, 
1883, a son of H. R. and Edna E. (Osborne) Young. His father was 
born in Pennsylvania of Irish and Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry. 
His mother was born in Vermont, a descendant of an old Yankee 
family which dates back to the Plymouth Colony. Dr. Young was 
reared on his father's farm, attended the district schools, graduated 
from Winterset High School, Winterset, Iowa; studied medicine at 
Des Moines, Iowa, for two years; after which he came to Los Angeles, 
where five more years were given to the study of medicine and sur- 
gery. In 1909 he came to Glendale and opened an office in the l-'elger 
Building where he has since been located. This gives Dr. Young 
the distinction of being the only person in Glendale who has had 
the same business address for the last thirteen years. 

Dr. Young is one of Glendale's prominent physicians and 
surgeons. He is a director of the Glendale Research Hospital, and 
a member of its medical staff, also a member of the Glendale Medical 
Club and treasurer of the Pathological and Clinical Society of Glen- 
dale; a charter member and director of the Kiwanis Club, and a mem- 
ber of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He was one of 
the organizers, and is a director of the Sespe Country Club at Fill- 
more, California. For many years he has been interested in, and is 
considered an authority on, outdoor sports, fishing and hunting. 

In 1910, Dr. Young returned to Winterset, Iowa, and married 
Garnet Baird, a daughter of James and Lydia Baird, both members 
of pioneer Iowa families. Mrs. Young is a member of the Tuesday 
Afternoon Club and of Glen Eyrie Chapter. Order Eastern Star. 
Their home, which they built in 1920, at 400 North Kenwood street, 
is one of the finest in Glendale. 

Joseph Pagliuso, who for thirty-one years has been foreman of 
the ranch owned by Judge Erskine M. Ross on North Verdugo 
Canyon road, is a native of Artelia, Italy, and was born July 6, 1863. 
His father was a farmer and fruit grower of prominence, and the 
training received by the son, in the care of citrus fruit and olives, 
while on the home farm served well to qualify him for the position 
he has so ably filled all these years. 

Mr. Pagliuso attended the public schools after which he served 
three years in the Italian Army. In five months' time he was ad- 
vanced to the rank of corporal ; three months later saw him a cor- 
poral major, and before his enlistment expired he was advanced to 
the rank of sergeant. He remained under the paternal roof until he 
came to America in 1888. New York City held him for a short time 
before he started his westward course which brought him to South- 


ern California in November, 1890. On his westward journey across 
the continent he made many stops, most of the time, however, was 
spent in Colorado, at Denver, Pueblo and Silverton, where he worked 
at railroading and in the mines. 

Shortly after arriving in Southern California he secured employ- 
ment at the Ross ranch, and eighteen months later was made fore- 
man, which position he has filled ever since. The ranch is devoted to 
citrus and deciduous fruits and general farming, several hundred acres 
being under cultivation; it has its own fruit packing plant and a mill 
for making olive oil. Mr. Pagliuso is the owner of a ten-acre apricot 
orchard on North Glendale Avenue. In 1920 he gave a contract for 
the erection of a modern brick building on South Brand Boulevard, 
which since completion has been occupied by the Glendale News and 
of which the cost of construction approximated $16,000.00. He is 
a stockholder in the Glendale Research Hospital, having subscribed 
and paid for five shares of stock at $100.00 a share and is a member 
of the Chamber of Commerce. 

At Los Angeles on September 20, 1909, Mr. Pagliuso married 
Catherine Emigart, a native of France. She came to America in 
1900. They are the parents of two sons: John and Robert. The 
family are members of the Roman Catholic Church. 

Antonio Carpi became a resident of the valley in 1897, when he 
purchased an eleven-acre tract in Tropico, on which he lived until 
his death in May, 1911. He was born in Genoa, Italy, April 8, 1837. 
He received a common school education before coming to America in 
1853, and after a short stay in the east came to San Francisco where 
he remained for nearly ten years, employed most of the time as a 
gardener. He went to La Pas, Lower California, where he had a 
saloon until 1891. Returning to the states he located at Nogales, 
Arizona, and did teaming. He was successful in business life, and 
after coming to Tropico gave his time to the cultivation of his ranch 
for several years. The latter years of his life were spent in retire- 

Early in the year 1887 Mr. Carpi journeyed to Genoa, Italy, and 
claimed for his bride Sentina Garbarina. They became the parents 
of ten children, all of whom are living, except Mary, who died at the 
age of six. The others are: Angelo, Antonia, Manuel, August. 
Thressa, James, Peter, Sentenia and Katherine. .'\11 are members of 
the Catholic Church. The widow resides in the spacious home at 
1611 South Glendale avenue. 

Edward B. Ellias, residing at 1304 South Orange street, has been 
a resident of the valley for twenty-four years. He was born at Al- 
bany, New York, January 27, 1870, a son of Doctor and Henrietta 
(Craw) Ellias. His father was a native of Prussia, where he was ed- 
ucated in medicine and surgery before coming to America in 1848. 
Practicing his profession in Albany until 1872, he went to Onarga, 
Illinois, where he remained a few years. Henrietta Craw was a 
daughter of Elder Lyman Craw, and Laura Gavitte of Greenville, 


Green county, New York State. Dr. Ellias was a charter member of 
Temple Lodge, No. 14, of Albany, New York, of the F. & A. M. 

Mr. Edward Ellias was educated in the public schools of Chicago, 
after which he attended Cook County Normal, and the Baptist Theo- 
logical Seminary. In the latter, now the University of Chicago, he 
took a course in languages. He was a bookkeeper and an accountant 
for three years, then became a contracting agent for the Chicago 
Telephone Company, and remained with them until he came to Los 
Angeles in 1897. Securing employment with the old Sunset Tele- 
phone Company, he remained with them for twenty-one years, serv- 
mg in various capacities. Since 1918, he has been doing a general 
photographic business, specializing in baby portraiture and com- 
mercial photography. In this branch of the business he has an en- 
viable reputation, as he also has in the development of camera films, 
receiving work from corporations whose activities carry them far 
and wide. 

Mr. Ellias is a Democrat, and in Chicago he was active in the 
party work in the 31st ward. He is a Master Mason and a member 
of the Chamber of Commerce. At Chicago, Illinois, on July 27. 
1889, Mr. Ellias was married to Ellen Elizabeth Chandler, a daughter 
of Cornelius C. Chandler. They became the parents of two girls; 
Lillian, the wife of Lt. Edward Wheeler Davis, of Sacramento, Cal- 
ifornia; and Emily, the wife of John Newton Smalley of Glendale. 
Emily passed away in March, 1918, leaving a daughter Lillian 
Louise. Both girls were graduated from the Glendale Union High 
School. Lillian later attended Stanford University, where she re- 
ceived the A. B. and M. A. degrees, and Emily attended the Los .\ii- 
geles Normal. Both girls were successful in the teaching profession. 
Emily having spent two years and a half in the Tropico Grammar 
School, while Lillian taught in the Sacramento High School, also 
holding the office of chairman of Sacramento Guardians' Association 
of Camp Fire Girls. 

George Mitchell was born at .\berdeen, Scotland, April 28, 1859, 
son of George and Barbara Jane (Shives) Mitchell. He was educated 
in the district grammar schools of Aberdeen. His life has shown him 
to be the possessor of those sterling qualities, which have made so 
many Scotchmen leaders in business and pioneer builders of our 
western country. 

Mr. Mitchell came to America when twenty years of age. He 
remained in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, one year and then went to Wy- 
oming. He bought land in the vicinity of the present site of Wheat- 
land, Wyoming and was soon recognized as one of the leading men 
of that part of the state. In 1888 he built the first building in Casper. 
He was that city's first mayor, serving successive terms. He was 
elected to the State Legislature on the Democratic ticket in 1886 
before Wyoming was admitted to the Union. He was a member and 
chairman of the County Central Democratic Committee for many 

Senator Mitchell first came to California in 1904, when he bought 


ten acres of land where he now resides on Kenneth Road. Half of 
this has recently been sold and is being subdivided. He built his 
present residence in 1907. He spends the summer months in Wyo- 
ming attending to his vast business interests of cattle and horse rais- 
ing and large land holdings. For several years he was also engaged 
in the lumber business. He is a Scottish Rite Mason and a member 
of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. Senator Mitchell is a 
highly respected and honored citizen of both Wyoming and Glen- 

In 1894 he returned to Scotland and married Jeannie Moir, a 
native of Aberdeen. Their three children are Ruth, wife of A. B. 
Fancher of Long Beach, California; George Robert, who is associated 
with his father in his varied interests; and Margret H., a senior at 
Marlborough School at Los Angeles. 

D. Ripley Jackson, Glendale's efticient and popular postmaster. 
is a native of West Orange, New Jersey. He was born December 10, 
1877, son of Samuel and Grace Scarlet (Covert) Jackson. His parents 
were natives of New York state and of old Yankee stock, antedating 
the Revolutionary War. His great great grandfather, Adam Brown, 
with his brother built the Perry Fleet on Lake Erie, and also fought 
in the Revolutionary War in Washington's army. Mr. Jackson's 
father was an importer, who passed away when D. Ripley w'as only a 
few years old. The subject of this sketch supplemented his high 
school education by attending Le Master's Institute, New York 
City, where he took a general business course. He became an ac- 
countant and in pursuit of that calling became acquainted with 
prominent bankers and big business men of New York City, later 
engaging in business of his own and becoming very successful in 
transactions in W^all Street. 

In 1917 he closed out his business in the East and came to South- 
ern California to make it his home, intending to reside in either 
Pasadena or Hollywood. On the train coming west he was told about 
Glendale, and soon after arriving in Los Angeles visited that city and, 
being very favorably impressed with the city, decided to make it his 
home. He soon became acquainted with the forces that were direct- 
ing the war activity in the state and was made a member of the Legal 
Advisory Board of Los Angeles county, and also became active in 
various other branches of Government work, passing final examina- 
tion for Captaincy in the Quartermasters Corps too late for activity. 
He invested in Glendale property of the income type and was about 
to make business connections when it was announced that Glendale 
was to be given a postoffice. He circulated a petition to become 
Glendale's Postmaster and in a few days time had the required num- 
ber of signatures. The paper was sent to Congressman Lineberger 
at Washington, D. C, who promptly presented it to Postmaster 
General Hayes and in a short time a message was received announ- 
cing that he had been named Postmaster. He took charge of the 
office on December 28, 1921. It was then a fourth class office, but on 
January 1, 1922 it received its proper rating as a first class postoffice. 

^.^t^ ItU^e^ (f3i.aM!r^ 



Mr. Jackson at once started agitation tor a new building and accord- 
ingly drew plans for an office suitable to the demands of the fast 
growing city. The new post office is now in use and was built in 
accordance with plans submitted by Mr. Jackson without any ma- 
terial change. 

Mr. Jackson is a Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner; vice-presi- 
dent of the Shrine Club, of which he is also musical director. A mem- 
ber of the White Shrine and the ICastern Star; of the board of direc- 
tors of the National E.xchange of Glendale; the Chamber of Com- 
merce, and is chairman of its entertainment committee ; the Los An- 
geles Athletic Club; St. Mark's Episcopal Church. He is a singer of 
note, having a splendid tenor voice. In New York City he was a 
soloist in various churches for many years. Politically he has always 
been a Republican. 

At West Orange, New Jersey. June 28, 1899, Mr. Jackson married 
Grace A. Coddington, daughter of Edwin and Anna (Belden) Cod- 
dington. They are the parents of two children : Kenneth Ripley, a 
student in Glendale Union High School; and Grace Anna, a student 
in Cerritos Street School. Mrs. Jackson is a member of the Tuesday 
Afternoon Club, the White Shrine and the Eastern Star. The family 
home "Jersey Villa" is at 1800 South Brand boulevard. 

Pearl Keller Br.\tt.\i.\. The Pearl Keller School uf Dancing 
and Dramatic Art, located at 109-A North Brand boulevard, is in 
everj' particular essentially a Glendale Institution. Mrs. Pearl Keller 
Brattain, the founder and director of this school is a descendant of a 
long line of people who have been famous in the profession, both as 
performers and instructors of the dance and of the dramatic arts, and 
at an early age. Pearl Keller began the traininsf that laid the founda- 
tion for the work that she has so successfully carried on in later 
years. After years of training she took up the professional stage 
career and for a number of years appeared in Chicago, Brooklyn and 
New York, and has toured the United States and Canada with many 
of the famous dramatic companies, playing ingenue and juvenile 
parts. During this period of active work on the professional stage, 
she pursued a continuous course of intensive study under the best 
instructors that could be had. 

In 1914. Miss Keller came to Southern California and after look- 
ing over the field very carefully, located and opened her first school 
of dancing and dramatic art in the former home of Mrs. A. L. Ban- 
croft on South Brand Boulevard, in what was then Tropico. The 
school was conducted at this location for four years and during this 
period Miss Keller specialized in the instruction of children, with the 
result that her success was so marked along this line that her entire 
efforts since have been directed towards the training and instruction 
of children exclusively. During the years of 1916, 1917, and 1918. 
besides attending her regular classes, she also held classes in dancing 
in Los Angeles, at the Garden Court .'\partments at Hollywood, the 
St. Catherine School for girls in Los .Angeles, and at the Los .Angeles 
Military Academy. During this period of the World War her pupils 


were actively engaged in giving entertainments and benefits for the 
Red Cross and other patriotic organizations. In addition to these ac- 
tivities, her classes of children have appeared in feature films, furnish- 
ing the dancing and ballet numbers for the "Butterfly Man" at the 
Gasneir Studio, in which Lew Cody was starred. 

The first pupil of Miss Keller to turn professional was Robert 
Lehman, the well known thirteen-year-old prodigy who has been 
playing the leading vaudeville circuits as a female impersonator under 
the name of the "Miniature Flapper." He was discovered by Miss 
Keller and received all of his training under her, as well as his book- 
ing on the stage. Many of the younger motion picture actors and 
actresses are former pupils of Miss Keller and received their training 
in her school. Some of the best known are Babj' Marie Osborne who 
was one of the first child stars in the picture world; Howard Ralston, 
who has played several note-worthy parts with Mary Pickford ; 
Esther Ralston, whose latest picture was with Jackie Coogan in 
"Oliver Twist"; Lolita Parker, who has appeared with Charlie 
Chaplin ; many others not so well known at present but who are 
rapidly coming to the front. 

The annual recital which is given by the entire school, has now 
become a feature of entertainment which is offered to the people of 
Glendale. It is looked forward to with great anticipation by all who 
have been fortunate enough to witness one of these productions in 
the past. 

Miss Keller conducts her school over regular terms for nine 
months of each year and then closes her school for three months dur- 
ing the summer. During this period of vacation Miss Keller travels, 
to secure new material for her work, and also studies under the best 
dancing instructors of the country in order to keep abreast with all 
that is most advanced in the lines of her work. She spent over a year 
under the direction of Miss Marion Morgan, who is the creator and 
director of the famous Morgan Dancers, who are well known the 
world over and yearly tour the Orpheum Circuit. Miss Keller, through 
special permission of Miss Morgan, has adopted the Morgan tech- 
nique as the standard for her school and this is taught to all pupils. 
The Pearl Keller School offers and teaches all the different branches 
of dancing and the instruction given is of the latest and most ad- 
vanced type. 

Pearl Keller Brattain. is a life member of the Tuesday Afternoon 
Club of Glendale, also a member of the Glendale Music Club, the 
Glendale Chamber of Commerce, Glendale Business and Professional 
Women's Club, the Ladies Auxilliary of the .\merican Legion and 
the Indian Welfare League, of Los .'\ngeles. 

O. E. Von Oven is a native of Illinois, having been born in Naper- 
ville, April 10, 1870, a son of Adelbert and Anna (Heynen) Von Oven. 
After completing his education, he associated himself with the well 
known firm of Hibbard, Spencer, Bartlett 6v: Company, wholesale 
hardware dealers of Chicago, Illinois, This association extended over 


a period of fifteen years, ten of which were spent as a traveling sales- 
man, covering a great portion of the United States. 

In 1912 he came to Glendale where he has since resided. From 
1912, to 1919. he was connected with the business management of the 
Young Men's Christian Association at Los Angeles. Since 1919 he 
has been associated with Charles B. Guthrie, prominent Glendale 
realtor, as manager of his different branch offices. He is a Mason, 
Knight Templar and Shriner. and is now serving his sexenth year as 
Prelate of Glendale Commandry. Xuml)er 53. Knights Templar. 

At Chicago, Illinois, on June 1, 1904, Mr. Von Oven married Ida 
M. Nonamaker, of Chicago. Mrs. Von Oven is a member of the Tues- 
day Afternoon Club. Mr. and Mrs. Von Oven are active members of 
the Congregational Church. They reside in their new home at 317 
West Maple street. 

Attorney James Fambrough McBryde, a highly respected citi- 
zen and prominent club man was born in Kingston, Bartow county, 
Georgia, on February 12, 1888. He is the son of Newton W. McBryde 
and Lula F. McBryde. After graduating from Piedmont Institute 
in Georgia, he moved to New York, where he was connected with the 
Wabash Cabinet Company for four years, then came to Glendale, 
California, in 1913. After studying law at the University of Southern 
California, he was admitted to practice on July 22. 1915. opening his 
office at that time in Los Angeles, in the Haas Building and later in 
the Los Angeles Trust and Savings Building. When entering the 
service of the United States Army he closed his office in Los Angeles, 
and upon his return opened an office in Glendale, which he has since 
maintained. His was the first law office in the City of Glendale. 

On June 21, 1918, he married Helen Elaine Mosher, the youngest 
daughter of Mrs. Sarah Jane Mosher. Miss Mosher came to Glendale 
to make her home in 1910, and graduated from Glendale Union High 
School in 1914. Both Attorney and Mrs. McBryde are active in local 
organizations. Mr. McBryde is at present Commander of the local 
Post of the American Legion, a member of the Kiwanis Club, Esquire 
in the B. P. O. Elks, No. 1289, a member of the local Masonic order.